We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lomani”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Lomani was just perfect. All of the 18 suites / bures had a beach-front view - some of the bures were actually closer to the beachfront than the garden suites, but they all had a beautiful view of the beach.
Our delux suite for the first 4 nights had a seperate, large king bedroom with 4-poster-bamboo surrounds - very nice. The bathroom and lounge room were also spacious and very comfortable with all the necessary inclusion (TV, video, AC, safe) plus our own bottled water dispenser. The bathroom products (shower gell, shampoo, conditioner & moisturiser) which they provided were made from local Fijian coconut and were absolutely beautiful on the skin. Very comfortable.
The beach front bure, though smaller than the delux suite, still had more than ample room for the all-in-one bedroom / lounge room (TV, video, iPod dock, AC) with beachfront views and both an indoor and outdoor shower. Very comfortable.
We went snorkelling almost every day, plus we went kyacking, walking, push-bike riding, swimming in the fresh-water pool, we visited 2 villages on neighbouring islands, we had a coconut demo plus the all important Kava ceremony, and for the rest of the time we acquainted ourselves with Fiji time - we love Fiji time !
All the staff were also just perfect - they were very warm and welcoming, helpful and accommodating in a very genuine & relaxed manner, and they all made a point of remembering your name - a very personal approach to service - very nice. The staff also ensured that our 30th wedding anniversary was beautiful memorable.
The fact that guests were all over the age of 16 was also just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mort1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 762 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I were looking to unwind after a hectic and stressful year and wanted a short break to recharge our batteries. On the recommendation of my sister-in-law, we booked at Lomani Island Resort. And we are glad we did!

We stayed in a deluxe suite (#12) which is a large, freshly painted and air conditioned villa, with separate living area. The king size bed was very firm, but comfortable enough. Pillows were a bit flat for my liking, but I'm very picky about that. The bathroom was clean and functional. There was also an outside shower, but we didn't use it. Couldn't beat the view - overlooking the water! You could get room service for all meals at no extra cost, which is a nice touch.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were greeted with singing and left with singing. The management and staff seem to really care about your experience and are always asking if you need anything. I had read some complaints about slowness - or 'Fiji-time' - but we didn't have any problems. We only noticed slow service once at lunch, and think it was due to short staffing because of the lovo ceremony and dinner that was being prepared for the night. The staff were apologetic and did their best. The food was of very good quality and quite fresh - again, against all expectations.

Lomani has an absolutely fabulous location, facing west so you can watch the sunset every night. We were luckily enough to have great weather the entire time (in the wet season), and did some activities such as reef snorkelling and fish feeding, and kyaking, which were complimentary. There are also bicycles, dvds and books on offer (there is no tv reception on the island). You can do as little or as much as you like.

If you're feeling isolated or bored, Plantation Island and Muscat Cove are a short walk or bike ride away. But the appeal of Lomani is the small intimate setting, no children under 18 restriction and the blissful knowledge that when you wake up, you really don't have to do anything at all!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powdering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Perfect location, perfect setting for us. No kids under 16, mostly couples/honeymooners (Lomani means love). Plenty of included activities - kayaks, bikes, snorkeling trips, etc, mostly under-used by guests. On a quiet stretch of beach, with the best view on Malolo Lalai, especially during sunsets. Good snorkeling a short paddle or swim away. We had a great time exploring the island and bays, nearby restaurants and bars. Very welcoming staff and great personal attention - certainly the best we experienced anywhere on our trip to Fiji Lots of little touches and extras throughout our stay that made our stay memorable. Nothing fancy, but very welcoming and comfortable, plus truly good value for money. We spent the whole of the stay at our next resort looking over the sea to Malolo Lailai wishing we were back at Lomani!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKcanUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My wife and I visited the Lomani Island Resort just before Christmas 2010. We read the reviews on trip advisor and were confident that it would be a good place to relax.

We arrived in the afternoon on the launch from the mainland and when we got to the resort we were given a quick 10 min debrief on the facilities and how the resort operated. We were told about the free snorkeling trips to the reef, free cycle tours, free fishing trips and more. This was impressive as most resorts in Fiji charge for some of these special organised trips.

We were then shown to our suite. We stayed in one of the Hibiscus Suites and we both agreed that it must be one of the largest bures we have ever stayed in the South Pacific. There were three large rooms. One is the bedroom with a king size bed, a lounge area with couches and another lounge/dining area. There is also a coffee making room, bathroom and outdoor shower. No TV which is fantastic but if the weather is bad you can borrow some DVD's from the reception. We didnt have any bad weather and the TV stayed off. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed in the world and sagged in the middle but we made the best of it.

The staff at Lomani are fantastic. They make you feel part of their family and we talked regularly about their family life and ours. We met some really lovely genuine people with a passion about the resort and the islands.

The food is really good here at Lomani and if you have a meal plan you will not go hungry. The food is well cooked and presented nicely by all involved. On the menu you can choose from reef fish to sirloin steaks and even lobster. We recommend the meal plan which you also use at the Plantation Resort if you wish to dine there so it gives you flexibility.

The resort is for adults over 16 years old. So it is very quiet. The beach is lovely with soft white sand and gentle waves moving up and down. The resort provides the beach lounges and hammocks to sway the day away listening to the sounds of the waves.

The pool is massive and well kept. With only 15 or so bures there were never more than 6 people in the pool at any one time.

I would also recommend the spa. It kept my wife busy for the 6 days that we were there and the prices included 2 for the price of 1 deals. While she was getting her spa treatment I dived with Subsurface (based at Musket Cove). The diving was great and the staff at Subsurface are professional and love their work. The price list for the SCUBA dive/courses are in the resorts info book.

Although we did have 2 x 30 min massages included in our stay and it was so relaxing that I fell asleep on the massage table!! They are really really good.

We thoroughly recommend Lomani Island Resort to anyone who wants a relaxing getaway or wonderful honeymoon. The staff and location will make this a trip well worth taking.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cintrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We are Back to HK now n we still miss the every aspect of Lomani Island Resort!

Our Honey moon stay in the Resort was between 18-23/12. The weather was thankfully excellent there with just 1 or 2 days of rain shower in the afternoon.

The resort gives us an impression of Paradise on earth. People over there are nice n friendly. We also make some good friends around the world.

The resort is actually consists of about ten independent beachside houses with excellent views of the sea n sunset. Room and housekeeping services are excellent.

The food although is not gorgeous n luxury but delicious. n hospitality there is their strength.

For example there is a Fiji Night every Wednesday with a cultural event named Kava Ceremony. Being elected as the Chief, I am responsible to say a few words in the ceremony. The ceremony is spectacular n a good way to
exchange different cultures.

Last but not the least, the resort offers excellent well planned daily activities free of charge most of them to guests. I.e snorkeling, fishing,Guide hiking, kayaking etc are excellent!

P.s: I still missed the smile of all staffs n live music performed by the band in Lomani.... A definite choice for honeymooners...

We love the people, service, activity, food , beachside bure,

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We chose this resort on the strength of positive Trip Advisor reviews and it certainly lived up to its reputation. We stayed a week in one of the beach front bures. Decor in the bures is modern, with clean lines with a light touch when it came to traditional Fijian embellishments. The outdoor shower with coconut palms and frangipani trees overhead was just gorgeous. The decking facing the beach had sun lounges, then a little lawn was all that was between you and the ocean. The daily laundry service was great as it meant your bure was free from drying clothing and left you free to do more interesting things.
We loved the friendly staff - even the pool attendant knew our names!
Flame Tree resaurant was open air, tables set for two, with torches and around its' perimeter and hurricane lamps with candles on the tables. When these were lit each evening and the breeze was blowing in off the water there was no better place to watch the sun set. We were on a meal plan which was excellent value. There was a good variety of fresh and delicious choices, including prawns, fish and calamari at lunch and the addition of lobster at dinner. Vonu beer was a welcome change from Fiji Bitter and a reasonable choice of Australain and New Zealand wines was on offer.
Good solid bicycles are available which we used almost daily - the view from the top of the ridge behind Plantation Island Resort and Musket Cove Resort was sensational.
Free daily activitities included snorkelling trips out to the reef (wonderful variety of tropical fish), kayaking, windsurfing and trips to nearby local villages which were interesting. There was plenty to do when you had finished reading by the pool.
Spa treatments were available and whilst we were there a "two for the price of one" offer was running, making a one hour deep tissue massage @ F$125 pretty good value!
Being an adults only resort with a small number of rooms (18) we found Lomani to have the most relaxing atmosphere. There is no piped music dominating the pool area. A musician or two quietly played in the restaurant each evening.
Thanks to Luciana and her team for a really lovely time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a one-week stay at Lomani for our honeymoon, and after staying at the amazing Navutu Stars Resort in the Yasawa Islands we were a little disappointed. The resort just seemed to miss the mark, the food was generally good but it was a bit hit and miss, although the meal plan we had was a very very good deal. The staff were mixed, while the massage girls were sensational (gave great massages and were super friendly), the lovely reception ladies always went out of their way to be helpful, and the housekeepers were incredibly hard working but the bar staff and waiters (mainly the men) seemed bored, over worked and at times rude. The waiters constantly forgot meals, every lunch time we ordered a main and a dessert and every lunch time they forgot our dessert, then when we asked for it brought us a melted puddle of ice cream. And the meals often did not match their description in the menu, with ingredients substituted or totally changed. The bar staff were also SLOW, served us the wrong wine then overcharged us for their mistake. After we told the waitress that they charged us for the wrong wine she corrected our bill, we signed and went to our room, however shortly after we were rudely distured by the bar man who banged on our door - which had a do not disturb sign on - and demanded that we pay for the more expensive wine - even though they served it to us by mistake, we could NOT believe the big deal he and management made over a mere $2 a glass when we were paying $630 a night, especially the fact that they couldn't even wait until the morning to discuss the bill. Barging in on a couple on their honeymoon is just not on. We also had to ask to change our room because the one they put us in was right next to a construction site, but this they did very quickly and offered their appologies. The staff also failed to tell us about an amazing reef full of tropical fish, 50 metres from the beach, luckily we stumbled upon it and then told other guests who were greatful that we did - on that subject the snorkelling gear is just put away without being cleaned after guests use it - then given to the next guest unwashed (this disgusted many of the resorts guests). While we did enjoy our stay, especially the snorkelling, for the price Lomani charges we probably wouldn't recommed staying here when there are so many other amazing resorts around.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mcbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hraffe, Owner at Lomani Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We investigated the issues raised in your review, and we are very sorry that you were disturbed by one of our waiters after you had retired to your room for the night. The matter was not brought to management's attention. The individual waiter in question decided to take matters into his own hands and made a very bad judgment call. We agree that guests should not be disturbed after hours for such trivial matters, and this is the first time an incident such as this has occurred.

Unfortunately you didn't tell us about your issues regarding the food until after you checked out, however upon reading your comment sheet, we did address these concerns with the kitchen staff and waiters.

The construction you referred to in your review has been completed. We were very careful to be as mindful as possible of our guests' comfort while this project was going on. As a result we received only 4 complaints in 12 months, and those guests that did complain were immediately moved or upgraded.

Our snorkelling equipment is sanitized before being put away in the cupboard - there is a big blue bucket next to the cupboard and the snorkelling gear is thoroughly washed in the bucket before being placed back in the cupboard. Upon reading your review, we did follow up with our activities staff to ensure that this procedure was being followed.

Lomani might be a bit more expensive than some other resorts, but this is because there are so many free inclusions - e.g. cooked to order breakfast, daily laundry service, daily outer reef snorkelling trips, dolphin safari, village tours, handline fishing trips, glass-bottom kayaks, bikes, windsurfers, hobi-cats e.t.c. The resorts that are "cheaper" usually charge a lot for activities or other services. The Kana Levu meal package that you were booked on also included all of your meals for your meals for your entire stay for just FJD$250.

We are sorry that your Lomani stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been. We strive to ensure that every guest has an amazing time, and we are disappointed that we let you down on this occasion. Your TripAdvisor review was the first we heard about the incident with the waiter coming to your room. We can assure you that we have taken this incident very seriously and the staff member involved has been reprimanded. If you had brought this to management's attention during your stay, we most certainly would have removed the drinks charges from your bill completely, and it would have given us an opportunity to apologise properly so that you would have left on a high instead of on a sour note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
626 reviews
11 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,505 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $317 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing