We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtakingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
canthox
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly good”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were booked in for 2 nights in one of the new beachfront bures, after the first night we booked for another two and did not regret a second of it.
We stayed in Beachfront Bure 15 which was very new and bright with an excellent bed (if you can't be bothered to walk the ten yards from your room to the beach to watch the sunset you get an excellent view from the bed).
The staff were amazingly cheerful and friendly at all times, the singers are great and they run a terrific kava party. The food was absolutely first class and the snorkelling trips were truly astonishing - I have never been completely surrounded by literally thousands of fish in every direction and I have scuba dived on the great barrier reef and the reef off Roatan.
Lomani is adults only and the joy of having a very large and well designed pool that you can actually swim in or lie beside without being subjected to incessant screaming is wonderful. For those of you who miss the screaming you can walk the 100 yards next door to Plantation Island to get topped up.
It is useful having Plantation Island next door, it has several bars, restaurants and shops although we never felt the desire to miss out on Lomani cooking.
In addition it has an excellent nurse, I was taken ill with an ear infection and she had me back on my feet in a couple of days.

So you know, the beach is perfectly formed but it the water is shallow and when the tide goes out it goes out quite a way, It is beautiful to walk along particularly at night when the stars are amazing.

In all, we have never been happier to stay somewhere and will try to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canthox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    90
    30
    11
    13
See reviews for
28
584
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Our recent stay at Lomani Island Resort was nothing short of sensational. The location, resort itself, staff and food were all amazing! The relaxed nature of the resort (limited room numbers and age minimum) made for a truly relaxing break. While most rooms seemed occupied, there were always tables at the restaurant, beach chairs, equipment and a near-empty pool. Given previous reviews of Lomani (and Fiji in general) I was surprised that I never noticed any lack of attention, or inordinate waiting for service at any time – aka ‘Fiji’ time, although maybe I was so relaxed that I was on Fiji time too! The Deluxe suites were fantastic and we were more than happy with this room type, but for extra luxury the more remote new beachfront bure’s would be great. Note that some of these are a bit more of a walk away from reception/restaurant – the price of more privacy I guess.
We were on the meal plan, and even though we did not have lunch often, we still ended up slightly in front than paying for meals directly. The Flame Tree food was very much to our liking, and surpassed some of our usual Sydney haunts. There was plenty of variety and found no need to look at other restaurants for variety. The Old Copra Shed at Plantation (also on meal plan) ambience did not make much of an impression to pull us away from the Flame Tree. The staff found nothing too difficult and were great in arranging a day trip that involved a bit of island hopping on private boats. Lomani, like Plantation is on the lee side of its island, protecting the beach in front from trade winds that more affect resorts like Malolo, Mana etc which are on more easterly aspects. We took the Malolo Cat to get there, which was very well organised and pleasant way to travel. Waiting times between flights and transfers was arranged so we stayed at the resort’s Nadi sister hotel across the road from the airport, which made life that much more pleasant. Note that the beach in front of Lomani, like many Fiji resorts, is unusable at low tide. This also means that some equipment like hobie cats etc cannot be used. We were still able to swim at low tide off the pontoon in front of Plantation (a few mins walk up the beach). All tide snorkelling with plenty of fish is available there too. Off course the wonderful pool is always available.

During our stay at Lomani we were made to feel like family, and were very sad to leave. It was our first trip to Fiji, and to Lomani. It will definitely not be our last.

I would HIGHLY recommend Lomani to anyone travelling without children wanting a relaxing break. To Lucy and her wonderful staff, a sincere thank you for a wonderful holiday. Vinaka!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinchey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We've just come back from a 4 night stay on Lomani. We were looking for a quiet, relaxed and calm holiday after a stressful and frantic year. We couldn't have found a better place. The food was wonderful and the staff were friendly,helpful and attentive without being intrusive. The accommodation wan't flash but the view was spectacular. What a joy to sit on the beach in front of the room and watch the sun set over the water!
A very special experience - we'll definately be going back.
Thyansk you Lomani!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KETSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from our second trip to Lomani. It was as good if not better than our last trip a year ago. We stayed in the brand new accommodation. These rooms are spectacular, they are really close to the sea and the rooms are enormous. They have a beautiful bathroom with both indoor and outdoor shower (standing starkers under the stars with a glass of bubbly is just fantastic).The view from the room is superb although we both found the bed rather hard (this is our only complaint). There is a new head chef and the food is wonderful (he also sings LaBamba wonderfully well after dinner each evening if he is pressed). The restaurant was full most nights with guests coming from Plantation Island resort for dinner because of the food.
The staff still know everyone's name by the end of your first day and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Of course because the bay is tidal the scenery is not as good at low tide as it is very shallow and a bit yuck but it does not detract from the fabulous time you have at Lomani. The pool is huge and is never crowded (the resort only has 17 rooms) and the guests form good holiday friendships with each other. We definitely recommend it for a holiday as long as you are not expecting a raging night life. The pace is slow and relaxed. Mesu and Amose the singers are superb, I could have listened to them all night long (during the day one is a gardener and the other a maintenance man)their voices really are incredible. There are bicycles, catamarans, canoes, snorkelling and fishing trips so there is always something to do apart from drink Nancy's Heaven and Toblorone cocktails, if you can drag yourself away. We will definitely be back next year again. If you go, accept that the pace of life in Fiji is slower than normal, you may have to wait for a while for your order but hey its Fiji time and you are on holiday so relax!!!!! you cant change it so go with the flow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsygirlCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We arrived to Lomani and were greeted by warm, genuine, fun people
The room was outstanding and we had a terrific view
We hiked, snorkeled and completely decompressed - everything was beautiful
Loved everything
Wished Lomani/Fiji were closer

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petebriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is an adults only resort, lovely peace and quiet. Staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Very warm welcome and send off with a song by the staff.
Free snorkelling and hand line fishing, a friendly member of staff will take you in the beautiful clear blue waters straight off the resort.
At low tide a perfect white sand atoll appears that is great to snorkel to when you are out there, they have weddings on this also.
Beach has no waves, crystal clear blue water and white sand but a fair bit of coral so makes shallow swimming a bit hard with the sharp 'coral' sand. You can charge what you eat and drink at the sister resort of Plantation Island Resort (next door) back to your Lomani account, although we enjoyed the food and service better at Lomani.
Breakfast buffet not to be desired much ( a lot of flies and humid) I recommend ordering something from the kitchen.
Room was clean and they do your laundry for free! air con only in bedroom so thats the room you spend your time in as it was very humid in February.Tv's don't have reception so they have a dvd player in the rooms and free movies at reception, but out of 100 movies (burnt ones) we only recognised about 20! So bring your own.
Staff played live fiji music at dinner (candelit).
Beautiful pool with plenty of room for privacy and you can dine by the beach at a table if you get in early, although they were all taken and they set an extra one up for us!
Overall a great place and secluded/romantic, when I think of relaxation I think of Lomani. we gave a generous tip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthwindwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Bula, My new husband and I got a chopper to Malolo Lailai island, and were met with shell necklaces by a very friendly man who took us for a guided tour through PLantation Island resort (sister resort of Lomani). We were then taken by golf buggy to Lomain where we were greeted by the staff singing, and a big coconut filled with drink. Despite the long journey from Perth, we were awake again and excited by the amazing staff.
WE were the first people to stay in one of the new Hibiscus Suites and it really was 5 star service for the entire week we stayed. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The staff could not have been more helpful, the food was brilliant (I definitely recommend the meal plan, great value for money for big eaters) and the setting was more than we'd hoped for.
Every day was sunny, warm and because the resort only has a small number of rooms, it felt like you were the only people there. If you are looking for total relaxation, snorkelling, beautiful beaches and lots of reading time, Lomani is the ideal place to go. For action, you can always head to Plantation Resort, where there's lots of kids and activities going on all the time. We are already planning our 5th Wedding anniversary there, if we can wait that long...Kirsty and Brenden

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alohacribby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.8 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
12.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Property: Lomani Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing