We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place”
Reviewed June 19, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from our second trip to Lomani. It was as good if not better than our last trip a year ago. We stayed in the brand new accommodation. These rooms are spectacular, they are really close to the sea and the rooms are enormous. They have a beautiful bathroom with both indoor and outdoor shower (standing starkers under the stars with a glass of bubbly is just fantastic).The view from the room is superb although we both found the bed rather hard (this is our only complaint). There is a new head chef and the food is wonderful (he also sings LaBamba wonderfully well after dinner each evening if he is pressed). The restaurant was full most nights with guests coming from Plantation Island resort for dinner because of the food.
The staff still know everyone's name by the end of your first day and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Of course because the bay is tidal the scenery is not as good at low tide as it is very shallow and a bit yuck but it does not detract from the fabulous time you have at Lomani. The pool is huge and is never crowded (the resort only has 17 rooms) and the guests form good holiday friendships with each other. We definitely recommend it for a holiday as long as you are not expecting a raging night life. The pace is slow and relaxed. Mesu and Amose the singers are superb, I could have listened to them all night long (during the day one is a gardener and the other a maintenance man)their voices really are incredible. There are bicycles, catamarans, canoes, snorkelling and fishing trips so there is always something to do apart from drink Nancy's Heaven and Toblorone cocktails, if you can drag yourself away. We will definitely be back next year again. If you go, accept that the pace of life in Fiji is slower than normal, you may have to wait for a while for your order but hey its Fiji time and you are on holiday so relax!!!!! you cant change it so go with the flow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsygirlCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    93
    30
    13
    14
See reviews for
28
601
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We arrived to Lomani and were greeted by warm, genuine, fun people
The room was outstanding and we had a terrific view
We hiked, snorkeled and completely decompressed - everything was beautiful
Loved everything
Wished Lomani/Fiji were closer

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petebriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is an adults only resort, lovely peace and quiet. Staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Very warm welcome and send off with a song by the staff.
Free snorkelling and hand line fishing, a friendly member of staff will take you in the beautiful clear blue waters straight off the resort.
At low tide a perfect white sand atoll appears that is great to snorkel to when you are out there, they have weddings on this also.
Beach has no waves, crystal clear blue water and white sand but a fair bit of coral so makes shallow swimming a bit hard with the sharp 'coral' sand. You can charge what you eat and drink at the sister resort of Plantation Island Resort (next door) back to your Lomani account, although we enjoyed the food and service better at Lomani.
Breakfast buffet not to be desired much ( a lot of flies and humid) I recommend ordering something from the kitchen.
Room was clean and they do your laundry for free! air con only in bedroom so thats the room you spend your time in as it was very humid in February.Tv's don't have reception so they have a dvd player in the rooms and free movies at reception, but out of 100 movies (burnt ones) we only recognised about 20! So bring your own.
Staff played live fiji music at dinner (candelit).
Beautiful pool with plenty of room for privacy and you can dine by the beach at a table if you get in early, although they were all taken and they set an extra one up for us!
Overall a great place and secluded/romantic, when I think of relaxation I think of Lomani. we gave a generous tip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthwindwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Bula, My new husband and I got a chopper to Malolo Lailai island, and were met with shell necklaces by a very friendly man who took us for a guided tour through PLantation Island resort (sister resort of Lomani). We were then taken by golf buggy to Lomain where we were greeted by the staff singing, and a big coconut filled with drink. Despite the long journey from Perth, we were awake again and excited by the amazing staff.
WE were the first people to stay in one of the new Hibiscus Suites and it really was 5 star service for the entire week we stayed. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The staff could not have been more helpful, the food was brilliant (I definitely recommend the meal plan, great value for money for big eaters) and the setting was more than we'd hoped for.
Every day was sunny, warm and because the resort only has a small number of rooms, it felt like you were the only people there. If you are looking for total relaxation, snorkelling, beautiful beaches and lots of reading time, Lomani is the ideal place to go. For action, you can always head to Plantation Resort, where there's lots of kids and activities going on all the time. We are already planning our 5th Wedding anniversary there, if we can wait that long...Kirsty and Brenden

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alohacribby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

My first tip for Fiji - slow down, relax. Everything on Fiji happens at a slower pace than "normal". When you first arrive, you wonder why the boat is late, why the food is taking so long, why has the waiter not visited my table for 10 minutes??

This is what my partner and I thought at first. But then we stopped and thought, why are we in such a hurry to have "a good time". So we chilled out, got into the Fijian vibe and enjoyed ourselves. Embrace the slower pace.

Now, to the resort. Yes, things happen at a slow pace, but who is in a hurry? The staff are exceptionally friendly, We were on first name basis with most of them within a couple of hours. They show genuine interest in making sure you are relaxing. Lucy was always warm and took good care of us.

The rooms are simply decorated, and although set back from the beach a little, you have quite a good view. The frangipani flowers & chocolates on our beds were a treat. We could not complain about the housekeeping, it was always a high standard.

The rooms are very big and spacious, and our big long lounge was perfect for an afternoon rest. Not that you want to be in your room much. The grounds of the resort are well maintained and you will find a quiet spot on the beach or in a hammock to enjoy yourself.

That brings me to the best part - no children allowed!!! This is wonderful for enjoying quiet time with your partner. All of the other couples during our stay were friendly, and would often join tables at dinner, or have a drink together before/after. The staff ran a day of games by the pool, where you could join in or watch (or if you preferred, just nick off to the beach and not join in!).

My only disappointment was that the food could have been a bit better, but that said, I found the food in other resorts to be of a similar standard. I just don't think the food in Fiji generally is ok a good standard. Stick to fresh fruits and cocktails and you will be fine.

The activties are good, they will take you snorkelling out on the reef, or give you a bike to go exploring around the island. Both are highly recommended. Skip the spa - go to one of the big franchised resorts (like the Shangri-La) if you want luxury treatments.

In summary - the best part was the quietness, the lovely & welcoming staff, the lack of children, the drinks at the bar. The only disappointment was the food, but I think that is a Fiji-wide problem, not limited to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bondibubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Our stay at Lomani was meant to be for 7 nights during our honeymoon. On day 1 of arrival we were completely disappointed.
- We were left waiting at the air strip because they forgot to pick us up. We waited for 45 mins before someone from a different resort drove past and offered to take us to Lomani.
- The resort foyer was not clean and had a terrible smell to it. After waiting for 1 hour for our room to be ready (even though there were only 1 other couple staying there at the time!), while one of the staff stood there staring at us in silence, we found our room to smell so baldy of bleach that we could not spend any length of time in the room, oh and the air-con and tv were not working.
- A cyclone had passed by 2 weeks prior, and no attempt had been made to clean up any of the beach which contained copious amounts of rubbish.
- The quality of the food was poor, dry, tasteless and the bread was stale - yet they still served it to us! Breakfast buffet also had no coverings over the food, and to me it's not appealing to eat something that has had flies all over it, so we didn't (but of course still had to pay for it as we had included the dining package as part of our stay).
- The staff didn't seem to understand the "Do Not Disturb" hanging on our door, as they kept coming in anyway when we were there waking up & while we were showering etc.
- Our complimentry massage each, they weren't able to book this in until day 3'ish of our stay, again even tho we were the only guests by then. By day 3 we were out of there anyway.
- We checked out on day 2 instead of day 8 and went back to the first resort we were at.
- I don't recommend resorts boast about their DVD collection so we can watch movies in the room, when the DVDs are pirated/copied movies - some of which weren't even out on DVD, so clearly they were downloaded & burnt to dvd.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank euphoricdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hraffe, Owner at Lomani Island Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
We sincerely apologize for not being at the airstrip to pick you up upon arrival. Unfortunately there was a communication breakdown between our reservations department, who are based on the mainland, and the Lomani Island Resort reception staff. Your booking was made by our reservations department only a few hours prior to your arrival (apparently you were not happy with the hotel you were staying in at the time, hence the urgency of your Lomani booking). Unfortunately the reservations staff did not contact the resort to notify us of your impending arrival by plane. Because the arrival notifications had already been printed for the day, no one on property was aware of your arrival. This is also the reason why your room was not ready upon check in. We have since reiterated to our reservations staff the need to contact the resort by phone in the case of same day reservations, and have also asked the Malolo Lailai airport staff to please contact Lomani reception of guest arrivals if on the rare occasion that we are not notified of our guests' arrival by plane. We apologise that this situation was not fully explained to you by our reception staff upon check in.

Regarding the air-conditioning and television, as far we knew these were in perfect working order at your time of check in. If you had raised any concerns regarding the room or its facilities with management, these issues would have been rectified immediately.

After cyclone Mick hit the island we did our best to clean up as quickly as possible, but we are a small resort with a small workforce, so it did take some time to get through the 66 acres of gardens and 4 km of beach that had been battered by the storm. Although we did not receive any other guest complaints regarding the conditions of the grounds, we apologise if the cleanliness of the beach was not to your satisfaction, and ask that you understand that cyclones in the islands are a rare event that do tend to create excess debris.

We are constantly striving to improve the quality of the food that we offer at Lomani and welcome any comments and feedback from our guests. Our newly appointed executive chef has prior experience at Qamea and Wadigi, and our sous chef worked previously at Likuliku lagoon. We do in fact bake our own fresh bread daily, so stale bread should not be a problem. It's a shame you missed out on our breakfast during your stay - the breakfast buffet is custom built with six covered chafing dishes, offering fresh fruit, yoghurt, muffins and pastries and hot food is freshly cooked to order. Breakfast is complimentary for all Lomani Island Resort houseguests, regardless of whether they buy the dining package.

Our housekeeping staff do understand the meaning of the “Do Not Disturb” sign, and although I'm sure their intentions were to be helpful, I'm sorry if you were disturbed by our housekeeping staff during your stay. After your feedback we have reminded them not to enter the rooms of guests who hang this sign outside their door.

Unfortunately during your short Lomani stay, our masseuse fell ill and had gone to the mainland for treatment. We have since employed a second masseuse, so this should not be an issue in the future.

I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of our DVD collection. Because of your feedback, we will be going through the DVDs to ensure that all of them are of a high standard. Eventually we hope to do away with DVDs in favour of digital set boxes that will not be affected by scratches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We spent 7 beautiful days at Loman. I will recomand the mealplan. Perfect service, great food and the best massage I`ve ever had. Absolutly fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knut_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
586 reviews
3.8 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,389 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
897 reviews
12.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Property: Lomani Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing