We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I were looking for adults only accommodation in Fiji in order to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We saw the great reviews on TA and decided Lomani sounded the ideal place.

We booked a beach bure and they are as big and lovely as everyone on TA has already stated so I will not repeat what others have already said. However, I will stress how fantastic the outside showers are!. The water pressure is really powerful and it was great to have a shower at the end of the day to wash off suncream and sand whilst hearing the birds chirp and seeing the beautiful sunset colours above.

We did have a couple of niggles with the bures. These were that the sun loungers on the deck do not come with cushions which made them quite uncomfortable to lie on, however it just took one call to reception (well a couple due to Fiji time) for them to find us a couple of cushions which we appreciated. We also had an issue with the drains in the bathroom. If the water was not run regulalry i.e overnight, the smell was quite bad. We did not raise this with the hotel, if we had I am confident they would have looked into it, however once we had run the taps in the morning the smell disappeared.
We also found that whilst the bed was comfortable (and huge!) the pillows were extremely lumpy.

We really appreciated the complimentary bottled water that housekeeping leave daily in your room. The inspect repellent was also a nice touch too.

As has being mentioned numerous times on TA the staff are great and really make the holiday, nothing is too much trouble for any of them and you are always greeted with a friendly "Bula". There were a couple of occasions where drink orders were forgotten and we had a mix up with a lunch order one day but these were rectified once raised.
The singers at meal times are also great and just add to the chilled out ambiance.

The daily activities are a nice touch and the fact that they are complimentary is a bonus. We participated in Reef Snorkelling, Dolphin Safari, Coconut Demonstration and the Kava Ceremony, all of which I would recommend.

We had booked a romance package which included 2 x 30minute complimentary massages. These were conducted by the waters edge, we felt so relaxed having fantastic massages hearing the sound of the ocean that we booked in for 2 x 60 minute massages for later in the week. Rebecca was my masseuse, I'd go back again just for that massage!.

The food receives mixed reviews on TA so we were a bit apprehensive. Breakfasts were great, there is a selection of fruits, toast, cereal, muffins, croissants, you can also order a hot breakfast. We found that breakfast usually kept us going till dinnertime so we elected not to go onto the meal plan. The food was inconsistent some meals were fantastic whereas some were just ok. However, we did not have any bad meals so we were generally happy with the food. As part of the romance package we also had dinner on the beach for our anniversary which we would definitely recommend.

I would give Lomani a rating of 4 and a half if I could, it was just a couple of minor points mentioned above that stopped me making it a 5 (everything has to be perfect for me to award a 5!), however I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Lomani or visiting again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brisbane_Catlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    90
    30
    11
    13
See reviews for
28
584
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and my wife spent 8 days at this hotel. The attention was amazing! It is not a family Hotel (you have to be 16 years or older to access) but it is a great facility if you are looking for peace, beauty and relax. The staff was very friendly with us and we enjoyed the daily trips for snorkeling to different places around the barrier reefs. We enjoyed the local cooking as well as the the restaurant. We walked around the island (there are at least 3 other resorts on it). Highly recommended for people looking for peace and relax. Bula !!!

Room Tip: Anything with beach view ! If you can afford a beach bungalow, then do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from another wonderful stay at Lomani. It was just as wonderful. This is a small childfree resort on a Fijian island. It is not a perfect five star resort. It is comfortable, friendly, fantastic location. The meals are mostly very good ( a couple of misses though). the activities are superb, snorkelling, fishing, wind surfing, paddle-boarding, kayaking, or simply doing nothing at all. The staff are led by manager Lusi who is a fabulous lady. We would like to thank Lusi and all her staff for a fantastic 10 days at the resort. Special thanks to Delai, Kavi, Peceli, Ako, young Lusi, Levana and especially Mesu and Micka who entertained us every night with wonderful music and song ( listen to Mesu on youtube and hear his fabulous voice, it's like melted chocolate, its soooo smooth! )

There are three different levels of accommodation , we have stayed in all three and we honestly believe even the Deluxe suites, which are the least expensive are excellent to stay in. Yes the beachfront bures are great (especially if you are on honeymoon) but the other suites are all great to stay in too, you are never more than 50 metres from the beach in any of the suites, you can still watch the fantastic sunsets and hear and see the ocean.

This was the sixth year in a row we have gone to Lomani and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Thanks again Lusi and all your wonderful staff xx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gypsygirlCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We chose Lomani based on it’s good reviews and that it is an adults only resort.
We flew direct from Brisbane with Virgin, the flights were fine and included food and drinks.
We had previously contacted Lomani and arranged a transfer on the Malolo Cat, so upon arrived at Nadi airport we found the Muscat Cove/Malolo Cat booking office. As we had some time to spare, we left our bags at the office and had our first Fiji beer in the café on the concourse. The bus transfer from the airport to Port Denarau didn’t take too long. Once at the port there was enough time between being dropped off and getting on the Malolo Cat to get some water from the supermarket.
On the Malolo Cat we got a great view of sunset and didn’t take too long to reach The Plantation Island Resort jetty where a representative from Lomani was waiting to transfer us, it only took a few minutes via golf buggy to get us to our welcome drinks and refreshing towels awaiting us at Lomani.
Our Beachfront Bure was just as nice as it looks in the photos, it was dark outside when we arrived so we had to wait to see the view.
The Bure was clean, tidy and spacious. A decent size bathroom with indoor and outdoor showers. Both the showers had excellent water pressure and heat, it was especially nice using the outdoor shower.
The bed was a good size, comfy and clean, the pillows were a little lumpy but OK. Nice touches I liked were the bottle of insect repellent and the daily supply of bottled water, both very helpful. In hindsight we probably didn’t need all the extra water from the supermarket in Denarau.
Once daylight arrived the next day we inspected our view, it was great! A great view on to our deck, lawn, loungers and then the beach and sea!
The warm sea was so clear and as it was gently shelved, you could walk out a fair distance. There were plenty of places to snorkel nearby and daily trips out to snorkel as well. I enjoyed using the kayaks and stand up paddle boards when the tide allowed. The snorkelling equipment was in good condition.
I was a little apprehensive about the food as it had mixed reviews. Breakfast was good, usually enough to last us until an evening meal. The food for evening meals was always good, generally not excellent nor bad. That said it did seem to improve over the week we were there. The highlights for me was the tuna and many of the desserts. Dinner by the beachside was nice too.
We both had massages while we were there, both were good and it was nice to have them while hearing the ocean lapping away in front of us.
The pool area was nice, enough loungers and some cabanas, though we didn’t really use them as we had our own loungers outside our Bure. Personally I would have expected the loungers by the pool and ours at the Bure to have had cushions to lay on. To complement the service though, we did ask for some for ours at the Bure and they did provide some for us which was excellent. Beach towels were available at reception too.
We had a couple of drinks at Plantation Resort which is easily reached along the beach, there is a small supermarket down there and some tour operators at the jetty offering boat trips, parasailing etc.

Around half way through our stay we were thinking Lomani was maybe a four or four and a half, but by the end of the week the friendly staff really made this review into a five. The staff were always friendly and helpful and although there was occasions of ‘Fiji time’ we couldn’t really fault the service.
We would both be happy to return to Lomani for another holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the beach front Bure for 5 nights and a deluxe suite for 4 nights and for us the beach front was definitely worth the extra money. This place was perfect for sitting on the beautiful sand enjoying the peace of an adults only resort. Most days they have complimentary 2hr trips snorkelling to the reef which is amazing. The boat driver is very knowledgeable of the area. Perfect blue water! I went out 5 times and it was amazing. We went in early July, and out of 9 days only one was windy. The rest were just perfect. Food can get a little repetitive but it's very nice and there are other options 10mins walk away. Just remember to use the complimentary mozzie spray.
We loved all the staff members, they were absolutely amazing. So friendly and warm.
I'll be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for a week in July 2012 which was not long enough.Our beachfront bure was imaculate a newd very well appointed. Each had an individual well tended garden which was so tropical. The food was great , so great I stacked on a few kgs lol, staff great, location great. Lots of activities to do or not. Very sad to leave. Id recommend at least 10 days as you lose 2 days travelling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillipa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I have just spent a relaxing week at this resort.
Just about everything has already been written before but we also loved our stay. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They were always about but not in an overbearing way.
We stayed in Deluxe Suite, and although we didn't go inside the other room types, we needed nothing more than was provided in these rooms. The suites are huge, airconditioned, a tv with movies and a bar fridge to keep the wine cold! Great sunsets, rooms serviced daily and only steps to the beach. Not sure it would be worth the extra cost of the other rooms. After all, how much time do you spend in the room anyway?
We loved the breakfasts and ate dinner 5 of the 7 nights at the restaurant. All of the meals were thoroughly enjoyable. Only the Lovo Dinner was not totally up to scratch and thought it was a little over priced for the food served. In saying that, we had a great night trying Kava, meeting other guests and watching the traditional Polynesian dancers.
Activities are provided free of charge if you wish to join in. We went snorkelling out on the reef which was amazing and then had lunch and a cocktail at the Cloud9 Bar. A great day.
We kayaked, paddle boarded, rode the bikes around, lounged at the pool and swam in the clear blue sea.
Overall a lovely stay and ending with the beautiful farewell song by the staff.
Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Only one of the beach bures was right on the beach. The others are set back a bit. Deluxe suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debgeorge8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.8 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
12.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Property: Lomani Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing