We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet retreat with friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Lomani met our expectations as an inbetween a modest and a luxury resort. It was lovely and quiet and both the pool and the beach were great.
The following are some small things that could've been improved on but overall we were happy;-
- the complimentary laundry was a nice touch but twice things came back unfolded (screwed up straight from the dryer) and still so damp they needed hanging out to dry.
- weirdly the loungers around the pool had only two cushions for all of then so it was a care if first in first served (other quest also mentioned this) In saying this the covered day beds were good.
- don't bother with ringing the buzzers around the pool loungers/daybeds for drinks or service as no one comes. Might pay to have staff ask for drinks every hour or so as we would have bought some had we been asked.
- the last thing was the food which though we went with low'ish expectations we were still disappointed. The meals were inconsistent day to say even when ordering the same thing, often only like warm and missing ingredients. We ended up waking 15 mins to Musket Cove for dinner 50% of the time as it was better quality (and slightly less expensive bit that wasn't the reason we went)

Again the above wouldn't put us off returning as it was a lovely holiday but they could make a difference.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 762 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

WOW – this resort is the definition of paradise – it will take your breath away from the scenery, to the exceptional service to the billions of colourful fish on the reef on a snorkel trip!! This resort is WELL worth staying at, you are able to choose from a range of activities each day like reef snorkelling, dolphin safaris, islands trips, bike hires or just smashing up a coconut and eating it – there’s so many of them!!! - Or just laze around on the sun loungers on the beach, pool side huts, hammocks or swim in the infinity pool.

Pethelli our activity guide took us to different snorkel spots each time which was great including a ship wreck on the reef! There are kayaks, hobie cats, stand up paddle boards and wind surfing equipment available whenever you want it which is great for flexibility! The limited amount of guests’ this resort accommodates for is spot on, it's very quiet and intimate and on the plus side only guests 16 and over can stay (no screaming kiddies!) – just what you want on your relaxing get away!!! The dining experience from brekkie to dinner is of high quality fresh food, with a menu changing daily, each night there is live Fiji music which complements the candlelit dinning overlooking the ocean.

If you are considering staying here – make sure you stay on a Wednesday night, this is the traditional Kava Ceremony and Lovo oven BBQ night, there is traditional dancing, singing and cocktails and a chance to taste the traditional Fijian drink KAVA! The food from the Lovo oven is to die for– make sure you are here for this!!!

Can not praise the staff enough for their exceptional hard work each and every day – you’re ALWAYS greeted with a beaming smile and a warm friendly attitude, nothing is too much trouble. Special mention to Emele, Lavina, Lucy, Linda, Mika (brilliant on the guitar!) Orisi and Petherlli. You guys did a fantastic job and made our holiday we will definitely be back!
Thank you from Kate, Sarah and Neil ☺

Room Tip: The Hibiscus suites have a great view overlooking the beach and very spacious with a big front deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place is an amazing gem. I have just returned from spending six nights in the Deluxe room on my Honeymoon. Being just a small resort it is so peaceful and the staff are so friendly you feel like family by the time you leave. The breakfasts are fantastic and so much to choose from and all included in the room rate. Just loved that you could choose to either just spend your day on the day bed by the pool or down by the beach relaxing or there where activities free of charge for those who wanted too. The snorkelling trips where just stunning and a real highlight. My husband is already planning our next trip and we only got home today! Also a must is a massage down by the beach front!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank owlesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at Lomani at the end of March for 7 nights for our honeymoon. We were in room 11 – a Hibiscus Suite. A lot of research went into selecting a place to stay and we can say, without a doubt, we’re so glad that we chose Lomani.
The service was always, without exception, amazing. We arrived at around 1130 via the Malolo Cat and we were greeted on the wharf at Plantation. A few short minutes later we were travelling on the back of a golf cart and delivered directly outside Lomani to a beautiful song. We were given a coconut drink, cold flannels to cool down and we were given an overview of Lomani. Even though we were earlier than their stated check-in time, we were shown to our room approx. 30 mins later. They take care of your bags for you and deliver them straight to the room so you don’t need to worry.
Our room was located really close to the reception/restaurant area – maybe 25 -30 metres – but was very private with a garden surrounding the deck. The room was very spacious with a gorgeous 4 poster bed and the most amazingly comfortable lounge suite. The room was also stocked with 4x 1.5L bottled water (you cannot drink the tap water here) which is replaced daily. The only issues that we had with the room is that for such a large room, there is very little space for unpacking – the wardrobe is tiny with only 4 coat hangers and there are no drawers. I don’t normally care about unpacking but as we were there for 7 days, it would have been nice. Also, the inside shower is very dated and it was quite an ordeal getting it to stay in a position that you could actually shower under. Fortunately, the outdoor shower was amazing and I used that everyday instead. Other than that, the room was perfect and a great escape from the heat.
The free bikes are a great way to see the Island as you can get a bit of a breeze while you bike. It became our morning ritual to go for a bike ride to Plantation Island after breakfast for a yummy iced coffee (it was too hot for this coffee addict to have a normal daily hit). We were able to keep our snorkelling gear outside our room for the duration of our stay which was really handy. We took it out every day – there are some great reefs within swimming distance of the island (or you can kayak out to the pontoon and tie your kayak up – there is a great reef just below).
We also did the free reef snorkelling trip that the resort does daily – we were taken to a spot called ‘Lomani Garden’ and it was absolutely beautiful. It was only about a 15 min boat ride out from the island. We also tried the hand-line fishing but we weren’t lucky enough to catch anything.
We had purchased the Kana Levu meal deal (FJD$450 each) and this covered ALL of our meals for the duration of our stay at both the Lomani restaurant and both the restaurants at Plantation. I am also pretty sure that this covered the room service snack menu but we didn’t order anything off this. I think that this is only available in the ‘off-peak’ season. It was definitely worth it and we would highly recommend this. The prices on the menu at Lomani were really expensive so had we not had the meal plan, we would have eaten at Plantation or Musket Cove. Most of the mains were approx. FJD$60 each and above (the lobster was FJD$150). Most of our dinner bills at Lomani came to around FJD$250 including a drink but we did order 3-course meals as this was included in our plan. Lunches were probably about $160. If this plan is an option, we highly recommend it. We found the food to be a little bland at times but overall, the food was average to above-average. The meal is different everyday so there is definitely a lot of variety.
Drinks aren’t included in the meal plan and are also quite pricy but as we were on our honeymoon, we didn’t let that stop us. Next time we will definitely make sure that we take some duty-free wine with us and also some beer. I have a bubbles drinker and there was only two options available on our stay; one very expensive and the other I didn’t really enjoy so Husband went to Plantation Island and managed to buy a nice Australian Sparkling for the same price as the cheaper bottle at Lomani. The beer at Plantation is a lot cheaper than at Lomani as well (I think Heineken/Corona was $16.50 at Lomani but only $10.50 at Plantation). If you like to drink a few beers, I recommend taking some of your own if you can. Also, Husband said that the Fiji Premium tasted similar to Corona so that’s a good option as well.
The one excursion that we did pay for was the Island Hopping which I believe is independently run (you can sign-up at Plantation). This was FJD$85 each and was a waste of money in my opinion. I really wish we had just stayed at Lomani for the day (which is such a beautiful place to just relax). It comprised of a snorkelling trip to Honeymoon Island, then we were dropped off at Mana Island Resort (a 3 star run-down resort) for 3 hours and then we were taken to Castaway Island for some more snorkelling and a quick look around. The Castaway stop was definitely the highlight but I think you can do this just by doing the Afternoon Delight which is only 3 hours, not 6.
We both used the spa – I had a 30 min massage, a facial, a body wrap and a foot massage and the beauty therapist, Kumar (?) was amazing. She made me feel so relaxed and I wish I had used this service more. My husband had a 30 min massage and then and hour deep-tissue massage the next day. The lady who did his massage (Ramona?) was amazing – Husband thought she was a miracle worker and he has very very tight muscles so needs someone with a firm hand. The prices for the spa treatments were very reasonable as were the prices for the Pure Fiji products (cheaper than you can buy in NZ).
The grounds were amazing – the staff does such a great job at keeping Lomani looking amazing. The beach is cleaned daily so all the crud that the tide brings in is removed. Every single person that works there goes out of their way to make Lomani special and to treat every customer like family.
My favourite things to do were lounge in the day beds, kayak, snorkel and bike ride. We thought we might get bored being there for 7 days but there was no chance of that. Even after dinner there was fun to be had searching for frogs, bats and lizards.
We can’t wait to go back. It’s all I can think about. The only things I will do differently next time is spend the money to upgrade to a Bure and make sure that we take some duty-free wine with us.
Thanks Lomani – Can’t wait to come back :)

Room Tip: Room 11 is spacious and private but close to all facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JessMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went to Lomani Island resort in February 2014. This was our second visit – my birthday is in February and it is our special celebration treat. We enjoyed it so much last year, we decided to return.

Lomani is an adults only resort, which is one of the main reasons we love it. No kids under the age of 16. Quiet and peaceful with lots of free activities if you choose to participate. (This year we met two male guests from Russia who thought “Adults Only” meant ‘clothing optional’. No, guys, please keep your clothes on!)

Lomani’s location is great for us because we can get there in a day’s travel from the Brisbane airport. The new Malolo Cat ferry vessel is wonderful. Less than an hour boat ride from Port Denarau and we’re at Lomani in time for dinner.

Lomani’s staff are so friendly and attentive. They treat you as ‘family’. It is amazing how quickly the staff pick up on what your likes or habits are and go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. For example, we enjoy a beer with lunch after our morning excursion being out on the water in the hot sun – a really COLD beer. The beer served initially wasn’t as cold as we liked. A couple of times we asked for it to be put in the freezer for a few minutes before serving. After a couple of days of not so cold beer, Dels, the Food and Beverage Manager, brings out two of his personal beer coasters which became ‘ours’ to use for the duration of our trip. THAT is personal attention! A little thing, perhaps, but very much appreciated. And, problem solved.

You won’t go hungry during your stay at Lomani. We opted for the meal package and found it to be excellent value. The food this year we felt was much improved. There is a new chef on site and there were lots more fresh vegetables at meals as well as an assortment of sauces to suit the menu, e.g. home made chili and other sauces with just the right amount of spice. Lomani’s kitchen now produces homemade cheese, which is featured in a number of dishes. Very tasty.

We are water people and had planned on SCUBA diving again this trip, but, frankly, the water visibility was exceptional during our 11 day stay and the daily snorkeling excellent, so we opted for the free daily trips and not have the hassle and added expense for diving from another company at the end of the island.

There are activities each day, which are all FREE. Snorkeling which we took advantage of daily, dolphin safari once a week, village visits, fishing and other activities depending on the tides.

Free use of kayaks, stand-up paddleboards, kite-surf boards are all available for guest use daily.

Weekly Dolphin Safari- while there is no guarantee of dolphin sightings - we were very lucky to have a pod of adult and juvenile dolphins ‘play’ and interact with us and the other guests during our excursion. There were two boats and the mammals jumped and dove between the boats and seemed to have as much fun as the rest of us. Everyone with camera got lots of nice photos. It is great to see these magnificent animals in their own environment rather than in captivity in a theme park or a zoo somewhere.

One of the guests we spoke to was going to another more expensive resort, after their stay at Lomani. They said all of the activities offered at this resort were at an additional charge – which makes Lomani look even more appealing.

And, if you’ve had enough of activities, treat yourself to a Lomani Spa treatment.

We enjoyed last year’s trip immensely and didn’t know how it could improve. With Resort Manager Lusi’s suggestion, we opted for a particular bure. While this room was a bit older, as it was the first one built, we enjoyed it because it was closer to the water and a bit more private.

Go for a beach bure if you can afford it. You have a private view of the water and can swim or snorkel right in front of your room. Or simply sit on the deck and read a book. Some of the many honeymoon couples there during our visit only appeared for meals!

Free laundry service is available to guests, so we didn’t take as many clothes this year as last.

One of the highlights for us is the beautiful music played and sung by the staff nightly. Their guitar skills are excellent and their voices exceptional. We are told a CD has been cut and will be available soon. I’d love to have that as a reminder of our visit!

With the exceptional treatment we received this year being ‘returnees’ one can only wonder what the treatment would be being a ‘double returnee’. Will let you know next year. Stay tuned…

Room Tip: Go for a beach bure if your budget allows. And suggest taking advantage of the meal package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LindaJabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after 7 nights at the Lomani Island Resort. Words cannot express how amazing this place is. From the moment you step off the boat and greeted with the Bula song until you get back on the boat to return home you are treated like royalty. We stayed in a Beachfront Bure and had fantastic views of the ocean from the room. It was spacious, had a large comfortable bed and everything you needed for a relaxing holiday. The staff and management were amazing. The friendliest people I have ever met. There are daily activities you can choose to do or just relax by the pool or ocean to unwind. The only disappointment we had was having to leave the resort to return home but the memories will remain forever. A huge thank you to Lusiana and the staff at Lomani Island Resort for making this the best holiday we have ever had. We will definitely be returning for another holiday here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susygeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

the view is stunning, the staff are wonderful, this place has a magic quality, we've never been more relaxed, perfect honeymoon spot.
The beach front massage for couples is a must.
I also celebrated my birthday here and the staff know how to celebrate and make you feel special.
We will be back for sure

Room Tip: beach front bure all the way!! out door shower is stunning also bed sooo comfiortable and huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bekpozega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
626 reviews
11 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
0 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
905 reviews
0 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $319 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing