We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel/resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Can't ask for anything more, wished we stayed longer.
Staff are very friendly, had the perfect view of the beach and sea from our hotel room. Room was clean, we only had the B&B deal but, when we arrived, we were told laundrey was included too, didn't have to go back with too much dirty washing.
Did the dolphin watching, that was great to see, that is a must do, they have activities every day, need to see the board in the mornings, these are free and worthwhile doing.

Alcohol is expensive, you can take your duty free or take a walk to plantation where you can purchase drinks etc.

Best not to visit the first 2 weeks of December as thet have students over there and you can't go to plantation, you would have to walk the long way round.

They have drink called cava, always worthwhile having a go.

Make sure you book the malolo cat boat transfer and keep an eye on the times of transfer. When you arrive at Nadi airport, pass customs, make sure you ask where you need to go at the airport for the pickup.

The resort is for adults only which is nice.

You have to pay for wifi, think they should give this for free, specially after how much it costs to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank din26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
There are newer reviews for Lomani Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 736 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

The staff were rude, condescending and un helpful and the politics in house was a disgrace .The bikes had to be back at 6pm, so therefore you could not ride down to Muscot Cove if you wanted to try a different restaurant for dinner, The food was the worst I have ever eaten and for the price which was very expensive it was so not worth it.. The menu needs to be changed more often and have more variety. Also we asked if we could get a lift down to Muscat cove to the beautician to get a wax done as they don't do do it at Lomani and they refused, They will not go out of there way at all, if you need a drink at the bar you virtually need to scream to get one as they are not switched on nor do they answer the bell if you ring it at the bar. We asked many times for lifts and were refused but funny enough the son one of the owners had one to drive around at his leisure, I would never go back and don't think clients should be treated this way........ we stayed at viwa which was much cheaper and got treated like Royalty... when we went to leave we asked where our ticket was for the boat and were told you don't need one its all booked and had a huge drama when we got on hence no ticket and a bigger drama when we got off... I am very disappointed and had a horrible time at this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank princess905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIR_BOD, Owner at Lomani Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Princess905,

We're very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us at Lomani. We do appreciate all of the feedback that we receive and I would like to address some of your concerns that you had during your stay.

We do offer bikes to use on a complimentary basis by our resort guests. The reason these need to be back by 6pm is because they do not have lights on them. Not all of the paths around the island are lit up at night, and there are potential hazards such as ditches, speed humps, etc, so it would be irresponsible of us to allow guests to use the bikes after dark. We do offer golf buggy transfers around the island for all of our guests. We were unable to provide a transfer one evening at 8:30pm as the porter had gone home and there were no other licensed drivers on shift. We sincerely apologise that the buggy transfer was not available on this occasion, and will try to rectify this in future for other guests. We are unable to lend out golf buggies to guests for insurance reasons. All of the other golf buggies on the island are privately owned (the children of the owners are under 6yrs, so the person you saw driving a buggy was probably an island resident).

The fact that we are on a larger island with two other resorts is a wonderful benefit for our guests. We do encourage our guests to use the other facilities around the island at Plantation Island Resort and Musket Cove Island Resort as these other properties are only a 5-10 minute walk away, and offer more choices for restaurants, bars, gift shops and activities.

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the food at Lomani. We changed our menus last November from a fixed menu to daily changing menus in order to offer more variety for our guests. We are also very flexible when it comes to catering for food allergies, diets, or any other general requirements to meet the needs of our guests. We were aware that you were not happy with one of the meals provided, however our Chef Pat did speak with you to rectify the meal, which you had indicated you were very happy with. If you were unhappy with any of the other offerings provided during your stay then we sincerely apologise.

We do try our best to ensure that our service is at an optimal level with regular training and "Bula Buttons" placed at our day beds so that guests can call for drinks service by the pool. We are very sorry if you found the service to be lacking and will address this at our next training session.

We are disappointed that Lomani did not meet your expectations, however we are grateful for your comments in helping us to improve the resort experience for our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I stayed there for 5 nights to have a very belated honeymoon and renew our wedding vows. Everything about Lomani was perfect . We stayed in a beachfront bure and it was like we had our own island. Recommend for couples as a must visit! We biked around the island, snorkelled, lazed by the pool and used the free water sports. Food was amazing and there isn't a more romantic experience than dinning on the beach while amazing Fijian band plays! Xxx just perfection! Staff were amazing ! We hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The most beautiful white sands and the tranquility of lomani was awesome. We went to rarotonga last year and thought that couldnt be beat but Lomani was something else. Couldnt fault the experience. We stayed for christmas and new year and the staff were just fantastic. Will go again in a heart beat

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carrie-Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a fantastic and very relaxing time on our stay. I found a package through Expedia and it was very good. We stayed at the regular suite and had an amazing view from our room. Better second floor of course and the last one had the best view.
The beach bures looked good but not all of them have a great view.
Our suite was perfect :-)
We did a little of everything and tried their amazing food at the restaurant. Breakfast was very nice and filling and we only had fresh juices and awesome Yucca Fritters for lunch. Dinner was awesome.
We looked forward for the special of the night and was very pleased with the local plates that the chef suggested!
Everybody was extremely friendly and helpful.
We walked along the beach and had a fantastic time, took the sea kayaks and were great, did some snorkeling and was awesome, took the bikes around the island and stopped for a drink at the little village and was an opportunity to see the houses around the island, used the pool to cool off, took the tour to one of the villages and did some shopping, what else...did everything and had a lot of fun.
Highly recommend dinner on the beach! Just take mosquito spray and you'll be fine.
We thought that food and drinks were overpriced but food was worth it. About drinks we're good because we took wine and champagne from the Duty Free and enjoyed them from our balcony and had an occasional beer or fresh juice with dinner.
They should have someone coming to the beach and the pool area to offer you something to drink and put little tables next to the sun chairs at the beach. I'm sure that they will sell more.
Also never understood why we're not able to order a snack at lunch time to enjoy at the beach because it was only "lunch time"...funny...
Make sure if you order breakfast in your room that they will take it because we order it once and never showed up...
We had a fantastic stay!! second honey moon...
No kids in the hotel...YES!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Lomani over the New Year. We had a beachfront bure which was superb, very functional and effective air-conditioning which is essential at this time of year. The location is fantastic just a short 50 minute ride by hi speed cat from port. the bures are exceptionally well appointed, spacious and very clean.
All the staff working at Lomani really care for the clients and this comes through with genuine warmth and concern that the holiday is enjoyed.
All sporting amenities are well appointed, well monitored and the equipment from canoes to paddle boards are in excellent condition.
The menu has been revitalised since our previous visit and is a step up from a year ago.
In essence an excellent small resort, big on genuine care and wonderful warmth displayed by all who work there.
As returnees we were made to feel as if we had revisited the family.
Exceptional in all regards, book your holiday at Lomani, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Beach front bures are best
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samueljohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights with friends. We had bures side by side. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Beautiful water and sunsets. Pool very warm but so is the beach! Very relaxing massages.
The bures were lovely and spacious, clean and cool. Great selection of movies if you need some time out of the sun.
Really enjoyed the time

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
607 reviews
11.0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
886 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,443 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $358 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing