We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Lomani for our 27th Wedding Anniversary. Absolute paradise. Everything about our stay wax perfect.Relaxing but active! That's if you want it to be. Thank you To all the staff. We will be back :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DownunderLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 776 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was my first trip to Fiji and it was one i will never forget! My now husband proposed one year and 4 months earlier in Bali and our experience of Bali was not a good one (except the proposal of course).
We wanted to get married over seas and have our honeymoon at the same time, kill two birds with one stone so to speak. Not to mention cut a tremendous cost! I wanted a beautiful tropical setting like something on a post card, and while scanning every resort in close by fiji - i soon learnt that the affordable resorts were on the main land which isnt all that nice (the beaches in particular) and the lovely resorts on beautiful islands that offer a wedding package were way out of our price range...BUT then i found Lomani - on a breath taking island and affordable luxury accomidation AND....Wait for it.....A FREE WEDDING PACKAGE! I was stoked!
First the accomodation. We stayed in the beach front bure, very new and modern. Large flat screen tv with bult in up to date movies for when youve had too much sun. Very modern indoor bathroom and also an out door shower (really made me feel like i was on a tropical holiday). Large comfy bed and aircon. We had our own deck with arm chairs facing the beach which was literally 20 steps away. It was like we had our own little back yard on the beach! There is also complimentary aeroguard and bug spray in the bathroom...remember you are in the tropics and you have to expect some ants and mozzies. There is only 30 or so rooms total so it isnt crowded at all and it is an adults only resort, so no kids under 16! :) There is also bikes to hire for free while you are at lomani, i suggest to take one for spin around the island explore a bit. And also, as soon as you arrive at lomani, check the black board down on the beach in front of the restaurant for the daily free activities, you need to put your name down at reception to attend these activities...such as reef snorkelling, dolphin watching, kava ceremonies etc. I suggest do them all if you can to get the most out of your holiday.
The restaurant was just lovely, the food was good and the staff are all very friendly. While we were there the resorts manager Lusi was adding flame torches around the deck of the cosy restaurant, after a couple of days it was finished and really gave a sense of romance to the "flame tree restaurant".
The staff - all staff were very friendly and helpful, they could help with just about anything you need. In particular, the resorts manager who is also the wedding director was amazing...She is a lovely warm woman who put together our wedding day and made it absolutely perfect.
Although lomani is more of a relaxing resort with free relaxing activites, if you want a little more thrill and are willing to spend some money, you can go next door to plantation island resort...just a 5 minute walk down the beach (they are owned by the same people as lomani but is a family resort) Here you can go parasailing, scuba diving, banana boat riding and much more. Simply tell them your room number at lomani and they can charge it to your room.

Okkkk now to my wedding day.....I was a bit concerned in the weeks leading up to our departure, i had tried communicating with the manager about the details of my day but had a hard time getting a clear idea of what had been arranged and also had hard time hearing back via email to confirm that every thing was set. A family member told me i need not worry as the fiji islands run on "fiji time" and that everything was most likely going to work out. All my worrying was for nothing of course because the day after we arrived, i met with Lusi and everything was all organised and my day was going to be a day to remember! The day came and once me and my dad were being escorted down the isle buy 4 fijian warriors..i knew i was going to cry...tears of happiness ofcourse :-) It was just magical, one of the warriors blew on a large shell horn to announce our arrival to a few family guests and them very slowly guided us down the isle, all the while some of the lomani staff were in attendance and singing a fiji island love song and playing the acoustic guitar...a great touch! Lusi the manager was there with a comforting smile on her face. And the isle and bridal arch was AMAZING! (Refer to photos). Honestly if you wanted a set up like this here in Australia, you would be looking at paying thousands and you still wouldnt get the tropical back drop that the island provided.
I would recommend it to anyone that wishes to marry overseas or elope on your own. But my only tip would be...dont use the make up ladies from plantation island...the ladie that done my hair was quite good but the other ladie who did my make up was not trained at all ( but then i wasnt epecting them to be i guess). The foundation she used did manage to cover up my aweful sunburn but i ended up having to rub the eye makeup off as it wasnt done properly (a big thick layer of black eye liner underneath my eyes, and one shade of purple eye shadow).
But thats not lomani's faultm or anyones for that matter...extras like that cost money but i do suggest to get your hair done (unless youre good with hair) And i do suggest to use the resorts suggested photographer if you want shots from a good camera and not just your digital one.

In summary, great resort - friendly staff - gorgeous island and magical wedding... Thank you Lomani!! :-)

Room Tip: If you are budget savvy but still want something private and beach front...You could go with a hibis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missbreeza1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just spent a week on Lomani at the end of a very long trip so our expectations were extremely high. We weren't disappointed as the location is as close to Paradise as you can get on Earth. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite that overlooked the perfectly white, daily swept sandy beach, with the clearest turquoise waters that gently lap, with no other noises or distractions other than the abundant bird life that cheerfully chirped and bounced all over the velvety green immaculate lawns (no children under 16 allowed). The suite was huge, had a TV with 500 films programmed into it, a fridge with free bottled drinking water and an inside and outside shower which was very useful for having space. The air conditioning was highly necessary as the weather was never less than 30 degrees in the day. The gardens are so pretty, full of Hibiscus, Frangipani and palm trees and the staff keep it well swept and trimmed. Everyone was so friendly asking how you are and saying 'Hi' or 'Bula' wherever you see them but they leave you to relax and are not constantly bothering you or asking questions. The food was fresh and we particularly enjoyed the American style breakfasts that were included in our package. Lovely fluffy pancakes and crispy bacon, eggs and hash browns, arriving quickly and hot, but there were simple choices too and a whole cold buffet also of fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants, toast and cereals if a cooked breakfast seemed too much. The lunches were enormous and we needed to share, especially after a large breakfast, which was economical and satisfying. The evening meals were varied and had a very home made feel which we loved. I loved the Indian Thali, which is a collection of tiny pots with three different, mildly spiced, meat and vegetable curries, accompanied by homemade roti bread and rice and poppodoms with all the relishes such as raita and tamarind chutney. My partner liked the Chicken Korma, but it is not all spicy ethnic food and we enjoyed steaks, salads, vegetarian and gluten free dishes also. We are extremely fussy about food and could not fault it. The daily activities were all free of charge which was very refreshing and we particularly enjoyed the dolphin safari and reef snorkelling and were lucky enough to see 6 pods of happy dolphins jumping and weaving around the boat. The coral reef is quite a ride away (about 45 minutes) but very pretty and lots of colourful fish. Not as spectacular as we had experienced on Mana Island a few years ago but certainly we saw plenty. I made the most of the two free sailing boats and 3 different grade windsurfers which were in good condition (nearly new) and the staff gave me free advice and guidance on how to sail. There are lots of kayaks, paddle boards, and you can borrow snorkelling gear and flippers for free if you don't have any. We used the free bicycles to potter over to the other 2 resorts, which is a lovely idea. Musket Cove and Plantation Resort allow children, so expect busier restaurants, children dominating the pool and talent shows etc which provides entertainment and noise if you really need it, while Lomani allows you to escape to peace and quiet when you fancy something calmer. The entertainment was lovely at Lomani, most evenings having guitar and singing, a cultural Fijian dance show and a cocktail party with the staff if you like mingling, but its not compulsory and you can be as anonymous as you like.The hotel couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and a real plus was the free wash and fold service we got for our clothes so we came home with virtually no washing to do. We also received two free massages and a candlelit beachside 3 course meal which was the height of indulgence. Some people have said how expensive it is, but compared to other Fijian resorts we have been to this had all the charm and beauty you look for in a tropical island, with just enough entertainment and activity for you to feel satiated but not dominated or dictated to. We definitely agree this is for people wanting a very idyllic, indulgent and romantic holiday, but not for those wanting parties and all-nighters. We will definitely be back and have already recommended Lomani to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view suite or a bure as the beach is just perfect and you will want to walk out in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank popsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a fantastic place Lomani Resort is! The service is amazing, the staff are very friendly and welcoming and it was a beautiful place to unwind for a week. To be welcomed and when departing with Fijian traditional music was a really beautiful and touching thing to do.

Some of the meals were very good and other meals were very ordinary, my lobster was tough which meant it was overcooked, and the lobster mornay was served with rice and bok choy, very strange combination of Asian and European food. The steak was cooked to perfection, and I had a couple of lovely chicken dishes too. There was music nightly which was lovely to listen too while you enjoyed your meal. My only other negatives would be that the bar prices are too high to have more than a couple of drinks and the reef where we went snorkelling was not really worth seeing as it was very damaged.

I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing and beautiful holiday, with beautiful people in a divine environment. The accommodation is clean and very well appointed the grounds are beautifully maintained and the child free environment was blissful.

Room Tip: The beach huts do not have the storage room that the deluxe accommodation have, the views are just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left i was in heaven. We stayed in a first floor deluxe room which were modern, clean, large and beautiful. The grounds were a picture and the beach delightful. We had the meal inclusive option and found everything we ate to be superb. Fiji night memorable and fun and easily beat the other Kava ceremonies we attended while staying in Fiji. Our air con started to leak during our 7 day stay it was fixed immediately and we were given their sincerest apologies. The pool area magnificent,, peaceful and you could always find either a hut or a lounge. There was so much to do or not, bikes, canoes and day trips were fantastic.
However the jewels in the Lomani experience were the staff and i cannot say enough about them. Whilst i cannot name everyone i certainly remember our regulars. A big THANKYOU to Delai, Jope, Petueli, Alipate, Serena, Mere, Finow, Arizzi and Shannel all lead by Lusi (forgive my spelling). Never to forget the voice of an angel Mes- I await your CD. Whilst we were just another couple you made us feel special. We will be back- Kate and John.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateofhowlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner and I visited Lomani in early August 2013 for 8 days. It was amazing. The resort is set in the most beautiful location. The staff work hard to keep the pool and grounds in such mint condition. We stayed in the Beachfront Bure which was lovely worth the expense with it beautiful interior, indoor and outdoor showers and privacy with views on the beach - amazing at sunset. There are also two other resorts near by if you want a change of scenery, Lomani's sister Resort - Plantation Island Resort near by allows you to charge back to your room which was handy and also allowed you to use their facilities. I unfortunately woke up sick on our first day of the holiday and was lucky that Plantation Island Resort had a medical centre fully equipment with some lovely nurses and medication. Antibiotics in hand I was still able to enjoy my time at the island, relaxing, swimming and working on my island tan.

The staff are what make this resort exceptional. They are friendly, warm, caring, helpful and always smiling. I was extra spoiled throughout our stay with special hot tea of Honey and Lemon once the staff found out I was unwell . Much like all the other reviewers say you can do as much activity as you like or simply relax. The resort offers a dolphin and snorkel tour for free to all guest which is worth taking. Food was good, we are not big eaters so did not take up the meal plan offer, which for us worked out best cost wise. Most lunches we were able to share as they are a large serve. Especially after a buffet breakfast which also included fresh cooked eggs etc..

The island offers you a romantic, peaceful location surrounded by beautiful scenery. You almost feel like your stranded on a deserted island but with all the mod con's and some truly beautiful people who want to make your stay an easy, relaxing and enjoyable one.

Cant wait to revisit - this time fit and healthy so I can get into all the water activities!

Room Tip: Beachfront Bure are perfect for views and privacy, if your budget can extended to them. We walked p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawnW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful adults only resort. Stylish white bures it had almost a Mediterranean feel.
It is very peaceful, friendly but unobtrusive staff and good restaurant including tables on the beach.
A nice place to chill out and unwind.
They have a small spa and gym at the moment but are expanding this.

Room Tip: they are all good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Malolo Island
651 reviews
11 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,772 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,535 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $332 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing