We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Lomani resort for our honeymoon towards the end of March, it was beautiful and the perfect place to relax! We loved it as it is a small resort and the staff are so warm and friendly, the added bonus is it is kid free! We went for a walk to check it Plantation island and Muscat resort and came running back. We stayed in the deluxe room on the top floor which was great it has a big comfy lounge and balcony which faces the water and is great for watching the amazing sunsets .You can also do daily activities such as snorkelling which I highly recommend or do nothing by lie by the pool in one of the huts. If you do get tired of the food there are other options at plantation and muscat resorts. We loved Lomani and will come back for sure!!,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcahill78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    90
    30
    11
    13
See reviews for
28
584
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Lomani and we selected it after reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor which are usually spot on. Not this time. I'll start with the positives. We stayed in a Beach Front Bure and the room was very clean and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and always tried to be accommodating. On the negative side, we had a couple of days of rain so sought out to use the gym and spa. The gym is not really a gym. It is a small room with a few pieces of old exercise bikes and equipment. The tread mill was broken. The spa is non existent either. It is a small room with a table and shower. There is a nice massage table/cabana beach side. Pool towels are thin and old. If you like to eat healthy, you may struggle with the breakfast and dinner menu. We didn't get common things like yogurt. The fresh fruit at breakfast disappeared early and it wasn't replenished two of the mornings we were there and we were normally at breakfast by 8am. We found the food served at dinner to just be "ok", nothing great. There were limited choices (which did not vary) on the menu regarding types of seafood, although what was served was fresh. I also found it was a struggle to find something "light" for lunch. Lomani can definitely use some improvement in the areas mentioned.

Room Tip: Beachfront Bures are quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank californiaheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIR_BOD, Owner at Lomani Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so sorry that Lomani was not all that you expected it to be. We did have quite a bit of rain in March which can affect the complimentary day trips and water sports activities that we offer. We have purchased high quality commercial gym equipment including a treadmill, elliptical, upright bike and multi-gym which will be arriving in a few weeks from NZ. We are in the process of updating our menus, so your feedback has been very helpful and we will be sure to add more healthy/light meal options. We usually do have yoghurt and plenty of fresh fruit available for breakfast, so we will look into why it wasn't available during your stay. Our spa is very tiny, however our therapists and Pure Fiji treatments available are excellent. We do have plans to build a proper spa in the next 6-9 months. We do aim to exceed the expectations of the guests that visit our shores, so we thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as it will help us to improve the resort facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Lomani in September 2012. It was just beautiful.
Firstly the people/staff there are wonderful and so helpful, caring and fun. We stayed for 10 nights and it was the perfect amount of time although we didn't want to leave. Many people were staying for only a few nights but we were lucky enough to spend the time to really slow down. By the time we left we were on first name basis with the staff and felt very much at home.
We had a number of massages and I would recommend having one at sunset at the outside massage bed by the water. It's perfect and so relaxing. Great massages!
We ate at the flame tree restaurant morning noon and night and didn't get tired of it. The breakfast buffet could probably do with a bit of a scrub but otherwise lovely. We did venture to muskat cove and plantation on long walks and contemplated eating there but to be honest we went to Lomani for the peace and quiet... there are SO many kids at the other resorts that we simply turned on our heels and came back to paradise to eat in the tranquility of our paradise. We had a romantic dinner by the beach 2 or 3 times and it's just so nice. Do it as much as you can. you wont regret it. They supply you with mozzi spray at the front entranceway so grab some before you head down to the water.
There is an activity board with a few things to do every day. Do as much or as little as you like. We went snorkelling every day (apart from a couple of rainy days) and loved every minute. The sandbar is just so beautiful for snorkelling and just the spot itself out in the middle of the reef if this sandbar where you can swim, sunbake if tide is out a little the water is like crystal and the sand is perfect (take a camera)! We would have liked to have been able to snorkle right off the beach but it's a bit reedy and a few sea snakes. Instead we took the paddleboards or glass bottom kayaks out and took snorkelling gear out to the pontoon and did some snorkelling there too which was good fun. Others who were even more active were taking the kayaks across to different island but I wasn't game because of the ferries coming through and strong tidal currents.
The beach is quite tidal so if your after the perfect beach holiday, possibly not, but we found that we loved lazing by the pool, reading in the hammocks watching the sunsets on the beach, eating, going for long walks - we honestly were never bored. Dolphin watching was one of the most incredible experiences - we saw more than 50 dolphins in numerous pods and they swim around the boats when you travel at high speeds and dive out of the water around you. Just incredible. We were aparently very lucky as some trips you will see no dolphins at all...
Drink water. On arrival you will be notified that you can use the water for brushing teeth and showering. I did follow that and did get a stomach bug. Luckily it was on the rainy days so i was able to recover in the room watching DVD's and didn't feel that I was missing out except for the night where they had the kava ceremony and banquet night... shame... You will be provided with unlimited bottled water in the room so just use that. If you are drinking cocktails etc I believe it's ok because they have purifier behind the bar and use that water for ice.
We had room number 5. It isn't a beach bure, but we were SO happy we had this room. Their rooms are actually larger than the beachfront bure and we liked the additional privacy and also it was nice to have a separate loung and bedroom. Ours was the deluxe. Not the hibiscus or bure. In addition, you still have a balcony overlooking the water and we were on the second /top floor which meant we were high up and for some reason I liked that. There is a massive mango tree in fronthe view but trust me - when that sun sets, you will want to be on the beach taking photos. We took some photos where the colours are simply unreal. We really loved it and were glad to have not spent the additional money on the other rooms so we could stay longer...you don't spend much time in there anyway. The couch is better in the rooms as it's an L-shape rather than the strait lounge found in the bure. We would ask for the same if we had our time again.
Maybe you should just go and see for yourself...

Room Tip: We had room number 5. It isn't a beach bure, but we were SO happy we had this room. Their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmos76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent 9 nights in a Beach Front Bure at Lomani Island Resort in February and had a FANTASTIC time.

The resort is modern and beautiful; our bure was less than a year old. It is spacious and modern with a comfortable king size bed with a view of the ocean. The bathroom was huge and you could shower indoors or out - depending on your preference or the weather. There is a laundry line in the outdoor shower area to hang your wet items on in private. Alternatively, the staff will do your laundry for you each day, for free. I loved the Pure Fiji toiletries which were replenished daily. Coconut milk shower gel, body lotion and shampoo and conditioner.

The gardens were on their way to recovery after the cyclone at Christmas 2012. The flame trees were in full bloom which, we were told was unusual - as the normal period was around Christmas. The staff had worked very hard -- and were continuing to do so to get the resort back to normal.

The staff -- every single one of them -- were friendly and incredible. They went out of their way to smile, say 'Bula' and make you feel right at home. They couldn't do enough for you - and enjoyed doing it. Resort Manager Lusi has done a wonderful job with her staff and they all enjoy working with her.

We particularly enjoyed Jonathan - who fills a number of rolls. He works in dining and seems to be at every meal with a smile on his face. He also is a florist - and the gorgeous flower arrangements you see at reception and on your dinner table is his handiwork. I asked him to put together some flowers for my birthday dinner and ended up wearing a Fijian flower tiara for the evening! It made me feel very special! A birthday to remember, for sure!

Jonathan also is the director of the kava ceremony - giving you a hit of Fijian history while encouraging the guests to engage in a lot of fun.

Elenoa and Selina in the Spa give excellent massages and other body treatments. You can be pampered and spoiled on the beach or in their spa room.

Pascale is an excellent boatman and Activities Director. He'll get you to the best spots for snorkelling or dolphin spotting. Stand Up Paddle boards, kayaks and other water toys are available on the beach to use for free.

If you are an avid SCUBA diver, the dive boat leaves from the end of the island – not in front of the Lomani Resort. It is a short walk down the beach, but if you have a lot of gear (dive and underwater cameras) like we did, it could be a bit of a trek. No problem – the staff of Lomani are happy to take you to the dive boat in their resort buggy and pick you up at the end of your diving adventure.

Food was good and plentiful. We had the full meal plan - and even though we didn't eat that much it is more cost effective than paying for meals a la carte. Included with our stay was dinner for two on the beach - where we enjoyed the sunset and ambiance of Lomani Resort.

All of the staff can sing and sing beautifully. Besides the ‘Welcome Song’ and the ‘Goodbye Song’ the staff often sing in the evening with Del and the rest of the ‘boys’ who play guitar and entertain during dinner. It was such a treat to listen to each evening’s entertainment and appreciate the exceptional talent of the staff. The music was truly a highlight for us.

In summary, we had a wonderful experience and it was a great birthday trip! We enjoyed it so much we are going back again next year!

Room Tip: Go for the Beach Bure if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaJabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdwood, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lomani Resort is amazing!
The food was absolutely incredible, our room was gorgeous and the view was amazing. We loved our stay and would definately go back. Cannot recommend it highly enough.
The website does not do it justice. We were blown away!
We did the food package & that was fantastic.
I miss it there already.

Room Tip: We had a beach front bure. It was amazing. Peaceful and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our second time at Lomani. It really is perfect. The resort is beautiful and the staff are amazing. The activities that are included are well planned, timed and organized. You are never bored and spend much of your time in awe of this amazing place. What really sets Lomani apart are its people. Pate, Delay, Bougainville, Peceli, Jonacani and all the rest are always happy and eager to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The new Bures are a great addition as well. They give you that individual experience and privacy that you really want when you come to a place like this. The adults only policy also makes it that much more enjoyable. If you are going to come Fiji and want that unique, quiet and private experience Lomani is the place.

Room Tip: The Bures are the way to go a Lomani.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 77Kevin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the first moment you are greeted at Lomani you know you are in for a real treat. Pertouli greeted us with a big open Fijian smile and is an asset to the management staff.

Bure 24 was were we spent our 7 days, such luxury, so much space and the bed was huge, everything and more than the pictures show. The way the bures are set out with their own access to the beach and a view so beautiful to wake up to.

The food was exceptional, although we did not take the meal deal on offer we were always full after our complimentary nibbles from the chef, with main meals quite large and a shared dessert as we had no room left for 2 servings. The wine list is quite good and reasonablly priced.

The pool was lovely to soak in and cool down and a cabana to lounge on in the shade. Drink waiters cruised around the pool to make sure no was about to dehydrate.

The snorkling was great especially when we went to the reef near the sand bar and feed the fish and incredible experience. The snorkling from Plantation Islands pontoon back to the resort is good as well but you have to follow the reef around.

We walked to Plantation Island which is only a few minutes down the beach to see if we missed anything by not going there and were very pleased that we chose the right resort. Plantation is a nice resort but we knew we were in the right place at Lomani with it's spacious and well thought out surroundings and bures.

All in all, if you want the best then go to Lomani you wont regret it.

I have to mention some very specially people who work long hours and always arrive at work with a smile on their faces, Jonathon (sorry about the spelling) who seemed to be at every meal sitting, overseeing the Lovo and his beautiful singing. Zac who I nick named Mr Cheeky as he was always in the mood to play and had a real cheeky grin on his face especially around Serona and what a lovely girl she is, always smiling always happy. I must also mention Pate, he was shy at first but he opened up and was a delight to talk to about his village and the island.

Thank you to the management who were always helpfull and especially thank you for creating such a lovely environment to have a holiday in.

Lastly, I cried when I left after the singing of the farewell song and the big hugs by the staff because I really felt that I had truelly met the nicest people in Fiji.

Room Tip: I would choose any of the bures, they are so very roomy and the verandahs with their own lounges, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.8 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
12.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Property: Lomani Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing