We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit and Finish Not Up to Price of Stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lomani Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fit and Finish Not Up to Price of Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2007

We were extremely excited to stay at a luxury resort, but the actual property didn't look as good as what it cost to stay there. For our second week, we stayed at another place that was $150 USD less a night and was much nicer.

Issues we saw were these: Our Hibiscus suite had a partially obscured view of the water (we saw more of the service entrance to the lobby). The cleaning staff didn't clean our bathroom very fully, did not sweep the porch, and neglected to provide fresh cups for the coffee bar. There was paint on the floor and walls near where they had recently touched up the door. The sliding door did not lock properly. Also, we came to this resort to use their water sport equipment, but the Hobie was in bad shape and the windsurfers were improperly rigged. When we asked if we could use the better equipment at their sister resort, Plantation Island, they said we'd have to pay extra although when we emailed they said it was part of the package.

The food was mediocre and missing ingredients, especially fresh vegetables.

On the other hand, the service from the staff was stellar: they were non-intrusive but extremely helpful and kind. The free snorkeling was fantastic, and staff would take you to whatever spot you liked. The only bad service was the manager didn't pick us up at the Malolo airport for at least 40 minutes until we asked a Plantation Island employee to find us a ride. Also, the girl at the desk doesn't speak English well enough to book activities. Although I didn't use the "spa" services, another couple had to be taken to a different resort to get a massage.

We loved how quiet and tranquil this resort is (we didn't want to be at a bustling or party resort). They've done a great job letting each couple find a quiet private place on the beach and grounds.

  • Liked — Gorgeous beach
  • Disliked — Shoddy room and food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eilers78751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    86
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
27
564
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

Lomani was without a doubt the worst holiday experience we’ve ever had. The nightmare started upon our arrival. We’d booked 3 rooms for 5 nights. Effectively what we had arrived to was a booking for: 1 room for 5 nights, 1 for 4 nights and the 3rd room wasn’t booked at all. We were then told that we may have to move to Plantation Resort and we need to speak to the manager to sort the matter out. The manager then spent the next 4 days arranging times to meet with us, only to abandon us continually. The majority of the holiday was spent trying to catch up with him and we had no idea whether we had to pack up and leave or if we could keep our rooms. On our second last day we were actually locked out of our rooms without any notice. All this made for an extremely unpleasant feeling amongst us, and in turn the holiday was ruined. Activities were also booked, but never followed up, leaving people missing their trips. Last of all, the Mosquito’s were unforgiving cannibals!!!

Very poor management indeed --- NEVER AGAIN.

There will be only one clear choice for us in the future and that will without a doubt be Matamanoa island resort a place that we've been to again and again and have never been disappointed with.

  • Liked — The pool is huge
  • Disliked — The vanishing manager (we nicknamed him the
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anne1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hraffe, Director at Lomani Island Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2007
Dear anne1313,

I am sorry that the situation you were faced with upon arrival with was not properly explained to you on property, and that this in turn affected your holiday experience with us at Lomani. For whatever reason, we only received a reservation request for two Deluxe Suites for your group's booking. As we were 100 percent booked out for that evening, this created an overbooking situation for us. For this reason, our general manager asked if you would be willing to stay in Plantation Island Resort nearby in exchange for free meals and beverages. When you declined our offer, another couple staying at the resort was approached, and this couple happily accepted the offer.

According to our general manager, you returned to reception the following day as you had reconsidered the offer and were willing to move. Unfortunately the general manager had actually left the island for his leave which is why he couldn't meet with you. The receptionist that we had at the time displayed extremely poor judgement, and did not inform our general manager that you were trying to meet with him, nor did she refer your complaint to the manager on duty. I deeply regret if her actions disrupted your holiday plans. Needless to say, this receptionist is no longer employed by Lomani Island Resort.

If you have any further feedback or issues regarding your stay at Lomani, please do not hesitate to contact management through our website.

Kind Regards,
Hannah Raffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Lomani at the end of September as the final leg of our honeymoon. We were hoping that we had saved the best until
last, as this was the most expensive part of our trip, and looked as if it was going to be the most luxurious.

The resort certainly looks very nice, and we stayed in one of the hibiscus suites, which are slightly larger with a living area. Part of the problem for us was that they are not very traditional - rather
than being beach front bures with thatched roofs, etc. they are white
concrete terraced affairs set back in the gardens. They are certainly
well appointed, just a bit cold and without character.

This is also what we found about the resort as a whole. Although we were told it was fully booked, the place always seemed really empty, and on both the nights we ate there, we were the only ones in the restaurant! The food was OK, but not as nice as some of the other resorts we have visited in Fiji, and there seemed to be a habbit of leaving off certain items from a dish listed on the menu! (Beef with onions arrived without the onions, a curry with bhaji arrived with the bhaji, etc).

We also found the service a bit cold and sterile, almost as if just by being there we were being a nuisance to the staff! To be fair this
was not always the case - the guy who takes you out on the snorkelling trips for instance was very friendly and helpful.

In conclusion this would be OK for anyone wanting very clean and modern accomodation, and piece and quiet, who are not necessarily after a more traditional Fijin experience. On our last night we walked around to Musket Cove Resort, also on Malolo Lailai, for drinks and dinner, and found this to be far more amospheric and buzzy, but still very romantic.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Fella-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

We just loved Lomani. The staff were really great. Make it a point to learn their names and they will remember yours. The tide will take the beach away mid day, but all you have to do is go five minutes left or right and will have beautiful beach. Also the pool is very large and usually pretty empty. During low tide, a sand bar will appear. We took the canoe out twice (10 to 15 minutes of good rowing) and ended up in paradise. Take some drinks, sun screen, snorkeling gear in your canoe and have a blast. There is decent snorking on the island side of the sand bar. Just be careful because the tide can get pretty low and the reef can be sharp. The food was good, though it would have been nice if the menu changed a bit more (you can go to the Plantation restaurant also). Be sure to get the meal plan. It is a good deal since you can order anything off the menu for each meal. Breakfast was the best with made to order eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, breads, juices, coffee. The lobster thermidor and chili crab (the crab was not on the menu, so ask) were highlights. We took the bikes out for a long ride around the island and up to the top of the hill. The views were spectacular. Be sure to bring water. It can get quite hot. Also, bring mosquito repellent. No one else was attacked, but me. Be sure to go out at sunset with your camera and a cocktail. Amazing!

Lomani really is a special place. Very quiet place with no children. It took me a full day to get in the spirit of just relaxing. Once I did, I found it hard to leave. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Peaceful serenity, clean, friendly.
  • Disliked — low tide takes away the beach, but a nice beach is only five minutes walk away
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2007

We stayed at Lomani for our honeymoon and everything was perfect from the start! We booked online at Journey Pacific, and our travel agent Colette really new her stuff. We told her what we were looking for and she managed to recommend the perfect resort for us, plus gave us some great tips for things to do on our trip which I think really made the experience for us. When we first arrived we were given fresh green coconuts to drink! Then we were shown to our huge room! There was a lovely four poster bed, big couch, bath robes and "real" coffee as well. We really loved the personal service at Lomani. It's a small hotel so we would often have the pool to ourselves! My husband and I would sleep in late, have a big breakfast (which is free!! I ate pineapple and papaya every day!), then kayak out to the sand island that appears out of nowhere at low tide. The snorkeling was fantastic out there and you feel like you are the last two people on earth because it is so quiet! If we were feeling energetic we would bike to the top of the hill over on the Musket Cove side. There is a cute little gallery there where I bought hand dyed sarongs and shell jewelry. Most of the time we would just laze the afternoon away in a hammock or take long walks on the beach. One afternoon my husband told me we were going for a walk, and instead he had organized a table to be set up on the beach for a romantic dinner! There were flowers sprinkled around the table and we watched the prettiest sunset while sipping champagne and eating fried coconut! The staff were amazing at Lomani. They are so warm and friendly and accommodating without being overwhelming. They knew when my husband and I just wanted to be alone. Nato was very entertaining as well telling us about his culture and also singing to us during dinner at night. We loved every minute we spent at Lomani and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Liked — The comfortable beds and free laundry service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jancal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2007

Lomani Island Resort is a piece of heaven on earth. This property is an oasis – lined with tropical palms, white beaches, aqua seas and unforgettable sunsets! There are just 13 rooms on Lomani Island Resort – so the resort is never crowded and feels quite exclusive.
The Lomani Island staff are amazingly friendly – they are very proactive and always ready to assist.
Our top four favourite Lomani Island Resort holiday experiences are: 1) Intimate dinners on the beach at sunset. 2) The scuba dive experience – Fiji definitely has awesome scuba locations – second to none! 3) Being accompanied on the sunset cruise by a pod of curious dolphins – an experience I will never forget! 4) Relaxing and enjoying each others copy – in our room, by the pool or in the beachside hammocks!
This is the 3rd time we have visited Lomani Island Resort – Fiji and Lomani Island Resort is our non-negotiable annual retreat. My partner and I find Lomani Island Resort the perfect place to relax, unwind and enjoy each others copy. We cannot wait to visit again in 2007!!

  • Liked — The rooms are modern, spacious and had all the facilities I required - they exceeded my expectations.
  • Disliked — Not applicable - the accommodation exceeded my expectations.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank JRMainprize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWKES BAY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

Simply wonder! We love the surroundings and the staff. June 2008 will be our third year at Lomani. We can't wait for the intervening time to pass.


Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KOJAK8950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
12.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Property: Lomani Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing