We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long weekend retreat...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Musket Cove Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A long weekend retreat...”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at Musket Cove, on a long weekend break from Sydney. With a day travelling either side (flights, transfers, jet cat), I enjoyed a simply perfect two days on Malolo Island at Musket Cove. The accommodation was ideal – I had a two bed villa over a private lagoon, with a private pool to share with the other 9 villas. But all of the accommodation looked great. If it was just myself and gf we’d probably go for a beachfront bure. The food was great, the service was impeccable and the weather held for two sensational days. We enjoyed the free snorkelling trips too. Standing on a sandbar in the middle of the ocean was crazy. What a place. Would definitely return. Oh, and the pool is huge – with the beach just the other side. A huge Bula Vinaka to all at the Cove who made this long weekend break so memorable….

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReggaeBuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    239
    43
    15
    12
See reviews for
276
290
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Ignore the 'terrible' comments as most seem to be from 2008 - 2010. This place must have had major improvement since then. This was my third time to Fiji and is one of the best places I've stayed in.

The food is great and the curry is a true fijian curry.

We had the privilege I looking at most of the rooms as we were shopping for a wedding venue. All rooms are spacious and clean. The only exception is the bathroom in the 'hotel' rooms, they are a little small.

Facilities are modern. This island cleverly makes you feel like you are the only person on the island.

Staff are great and not too over the top like staff at Denaru. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi fiji
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We spent the weekend at musket cove and had a very relaxing time the food at musket cove is some of the best in the mamanucas and service is fantastic! Definitely one of the better resorts in the mamanucas, a must visit for anyone coming out this way!

Room Tip: The Armstrong villas overlooking the water are well appointed and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

These outer Islands are just a gorgeous location. White sandy beaches along with the sunshine and warm breezes. The accomodation at Musket Cove Resort is great. Individual little houses called bures are spaced out under the shady trees. They are spacious and clean with everything you need. There is a little shop that sells foodstuffs so you can make a light breakfast or lunch with fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread and cheese and crackers.. They also had coke and spirit mixer for our duty free supplies. The food generally was good but a few of the dinner meals were less than acceptable just a change of chef perhaps. There is plenty to do but you can also just relax in the peace and quiet. The Activities staff could do with some training. Some of their advice was completely wrong which spoilt a couple of trips out. The Island hopper didn't stop at many islands, just one. The sign did say a stop at Beachcomber and others and I particularly wanted to go to Beachcomber. I was told it was closed but when we returned to Denarau we were able to go there so not ure what that was about. The lunch stop at Mana was like going next door to Plantation Island a budget place. Loved the location

Room Tip: Beach front are nice but saw other types of rooms and they all were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeler11, General Manager at Musket Cove Island Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Bula Serena
Thanks for your feedback, it's invaluable to our development.
Re the excursions, absolutely no excuse. We should have done better and will. As an aside. Island hops are restricted by other resorts allowing visitors. Some block visitors when they have high occupancy. But still, this is not an excuse.
Food, no apologies on this one. I know we are not perfect and I can only judge on what guests say. And the overwhelming feedback is that our food is excellent. As can be confirmed by reading previous Trip Advisor comments.
Appreciate you taking the time to write
Vinaka
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We actually stayed at the neighbouring resort on the island but as soon as we found Musket Cove we were sold and went for every dinner (and some lunches) there. This is what you are looking for when you go to Fiji. Gorgeous ambience, great staff, exceptional service, brilliant food, laid back great entertainment. We will go back. No ifs or buts on this one (which we couldn't say for our resort which was woeful). Wish we had booked here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeler11, General Manager at Musket Cove Island Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Bula and thanks for all the great comments lately. A lot of effort continues to be put into our food and beverage department. And it seems the hard work is paying off. We're not there yet, but we are definitely heading in the right direction.
Our commitment to improvement continues. We recently took delivery of 12 new kayaks and 60 Beach cruiser push bikes and our new Island Bar is receiving rave reviews. Now with electric cook your own BBQ's. A fantastic informal and relaxed dining option.
Our new website is under construction and if anyone would like more information please email me gm@musketcovefiji.com
Vinaka
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Totally recommend this hotel... Beautiful well kept grounds amazing staff an the best food we had in Fiji.

everyone was extremely nice, helpful and friendly. Loved it!

We stayed at Plantation Island (dump) but spent all our time here. Try to make the pig roast wonderful meal and wonderful experience

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Butchpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After a delayed flight and an expensive water taxi, I arrived at the resort at 7.45pm. I was greeted by Nai at reception and taken to my garden bure. It was so nice to walk into a small home. It was clean, tidy, plenty of towels and toiletries. Unfortunately the power wasn't on at the points but before breakfast the next day the maintenance man switched the mains on and all was working well. I did have to ask for tea, coffee and sugar but that was all I had to ask for. There was always plenty of water and the maid service knew I drank a lot of water so very nicely left an extra bottle.
I loved my stay, the garden bure was in the first row so it was a short walk to the beach to get wet. I didn't stay at the pool very long as I just wanted to relax alone and read and enjoy the beautiful garden.
The Spa was fantastic. Laite, the girl who massaged me twice was wonderful. I really enjoyed my treatments and I also had a pedicure and manicure. All worth the really inexpensive cost of having someone pampering me.
The food was abundant, fresh and well laid out. There was plenty of variety and I advise you to pay for your meals before you go. I paid for a continental breakfast which consisted of cereal, yohurts, fruit, toast, pastries, tea, coffee and juice - more than enough to eat and I paid for dinner which you could choose from al a carte or the buffet each night. Most nights were theme nights so you got variety.
I was able to swim the cove at high tide and it was safe and enjoyable.
I can't recommend Musket Cove resort highly enough. All the staff were wonderful, they would welcome you at each meal by name and made you feel special. As a solo traveller, it was a perfect place to relax, swim, walk and just enjoy the solitude if that's what you wanted. If you wanted company then you went to the pool area where I did meet some very nice people who included me at dinner for a couple of nights.
I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the end garden bure closest to the airstrip in the front row just across from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Edwina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
715 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
585 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,678 reviews
15.3 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,389 reviews
3.7 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musket Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musket Cove Island Resort

Property: Musket Cove Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Musket Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Musket Cove you'll find the pace of life smooth and unhurried. The resort consists of 55 bures and villas scattered along the beachfront and throughout our tropical landscaped gardens. All rooms are spacious with separate living rooms and quality inclusions. What sets Musket apart is space, with 400 acres of rolling hills and palm fringed beaches to explore there is never a sense of crowding. Muskets world class marina offers a vast selection of water-sports and activities. Or for those wanting to relax, our dedicated Makare Day Spa is a true haven of tranquillity. Musket offers several gourmet-dining options headed by renowned chef Peter Becker and over 150 warm and friendly Fijian staff ready to welcome you to our island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Musket Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musket Cove Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Hotel Musket Cove Island
Musket Cove Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing