We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Plantation Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lomani Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Six Senses Fiji(Malolo Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tropica Island Resort(Malolo Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Likuliku Lagoon Resort(Malolo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malolo Island Resort(Malolo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Navini Island Resort(Navini Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Castaway Island Fiji(Castaway Island (Qalito))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Tavarua Island Resort(Tavarua Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveler rating
470
254
51
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
254
51
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon burearmstrong villasdick's placetrader cafeorganic farmmalolo catfishyacht clublow tidefree snorkel tripsself cateractivities buremain restaurantcurry nightstir frylaid backfiji water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 805 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our group of 12 adults & one 9mth old, stayed for 7 nights at Villa Marau at Musket Cove Island resort in June. 5 Adults came from California, while 2 Adults from Perth, 5 Adults & the Baby came from Melbourne.

The Villa:
It is a 5bedroom/5bathroom Villa (use to be 6bed/6bath – but owners changed the number of rooms available a few months before our stay – this forced us to have to also book a Hotel Room at Musket Cove to cater for our number).

The Villa is beautiful! It consists of 3 buildings. The main building houses the full kitchen, dinning space, lounge room, laundry, toilet and large wrap around deck. This building looks out over the Cove and has some stunning views of the marina & whole island. The next building houses 2 bedrooms, each with their own ensuite & large walk in robe. The third building has the other 3 bedrooms, with ensuites and robes. The buildings surround a central courtyard. Slightly lower on the hill is the horizon pool, with another covered eating area.

This Villa provided the perfect space for a very relaxing holiday and gathering. Everyone could be in the Villa, but there was still always somewhere to find a place to sit and relax!

Each bedroom had a king bed – with a few being able to split into 2 singles.

Food:
Before we headed over to the island, we had done a supermarket shop in Nadi, so had a few boxes & bags of food and drink (water we picked up at the airport, and we took from home with us some recycle ‘green’ bags rather than risking breakable plastic bags). This worked well, as where self catered most of our breakfasts and lunches. We restocked at the Musket Cove supermarket (which burnt down a few weeks before we went, but they where just finishing up building their current one when we where there) or the airstrip market.

Over the week, various lunches where had at Dicks Restaurant, which we found quite nice, very filling and well priced. We had most dinners at Dicks as well and everyone enjoyed these. We pre-arranged a special birthday dinner for one night and they set us up under the hut on the beach. It was very special indeed! It was for my brothers 26th birthday and he was very surprised and impressed with the effort all the staff went to. We organised a cake as well, and it was wonderful and not expensive at all (was surprised when the cost showed up on the account! Thought it would have been more) it was also HUGE!! The 12 of us spent the next 2 days eating it!

We did two self-cater dinners at the Villa. For one we arranged to get BBQ packs from the supermarket, these where pretty good. For the other dinner (on our last night), we got meat from the airport market (snags etc) and tried to use up the last of our food (made fried rice & salads etc).

The Coffee shop was regularly visited by some in our group, who thought it was wonderful to be able to get good coffees out on the island.

Resort area:
With 12 adults, over the course of a week, each walked most of the island. It was nice to be on an island where we could go for a walk (or not if you didn’t want to).

We mainly used our Villa pool, but the resort pool was nice too. Its large and has different areas (zero entry area, pool bar area, lap area etc).

The beach is tidal (as all beaches are) it just seems more exaggerated as the Cove is pretty shallow. This doesn’t worry us as we have been visiting Musket Cove for many years now, so know what to expect.

Activities:
We went on the free snorkelling trips. The sandbar trip is nice for those who get bored with actual snorkelling quickly (or who like me, don’t actually snorkel but enjoy just sitting on the sandbar, although this time with baby in tow who had a great time on the sandbar).

We went on the sunset cruise with Take a Break Cruses which we would all recommend. It was wonderful.

Some in our group also did an island hope to Castaway & Mana Island, they really enjoyed that.

Some also did a scuba dive, which for most was the first time they had done so and they could not stop raving about it when they came back! Those that had scuba dived before (including a master diver) commented on the professionalism of the staff running the dive shop.

We all did the village visit. It was a great opportunity for everyone to see what a village is like & visit the ‘market’ and school. When organising this trip, I had made suggestions on things that could be donated to the village if people had space in the suitcases. We had lots of school supplies, some clothing and sports equipment (including a small hand pump for pumping up balls). These where all very appreciated.

Transfers:
We used the Malolo Cat both ways, and as always, a very professionally run trip.

Travelling with a 9mth old:
It helped that we have been to Fiji many times, so we felt comfortable going there. The Villa allowed for us to have a bit more freedom than a normal bure might allow, as when it was ‘naptime’ we where still able to be in the pool, or else where around the Villa as we had brought our baby monitor with us from home. The use of the Kitchen was perfect as well as there was always food/drink on hand if she wanted it. It was easy to make up bottles when needed. And the laundry meant there was peace of mind should anything disastrous happen! We took a bedroom in the building with the 2 bedrooms (we where given first choice of rooms as we had the baby & also because I had organised/coordinated the whole trip) as these rooms had large walk in robes, that almost acted like a small bedroom where we set up our travel cot (we have the Baby Bjorn travel cot – fabulous!!) as it still gave the two of us some privacy.

We have a water baby, who does swimming lesions at home (with 2 parents who had been swimming teaches/coaches along the way), so she was in the pool often. She also loved the ocean, and it was nice that its not too deep in the Cove. She enjoyed going out to the Sandbar on the snorkelling trips, as she could crawl around and play in the water. They have baby & child life-vests at the activities bure, which get used when ever a baby/child is on a boat (sandbar, village visit etc).

As you would expect the staff where wonderful with the baby. They loved seeing her at dinner, and often would take her around for a visit with the other staff.


We enjoy visiting Musket Cove, and have I have been a number of times over the years (in my teens with my parents, and now as an adult). This was my husbands first visit there, and he very much enjoyed it, and said he would very happily come back again (it’s his way of positively complementing). My parents & brothers where with us for this trip and it has been about 8 yrs since they have been, but absolutely enjoyed going back and remembering ‘old times’. For our American friends, it was their first visit to Fiji, and I think we have them hooked now!

This was our first experience staying in a private villa at Musket Cove, and it was perfect. We will be back!! In fact, we have already booked Villa Malolo (a 3bedroom villa) for next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Swimmer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Musket Cove Island Resort in October. From the moment we stepped off the Malolo Cat we knew it was going to be a great and relaxing holiday! We were greeted by the staff playing the guitar and singing, it was lovely. We were given a mini tour of the resort on a buggie and then taken to Dick’s place to ‘check-in’ and were given a refreshing iced tea to sip on whilst we filled out our paper work.

We chose to stay in a beachfront bure, which was just perfect, right in front of the beach & each room had its own hammock outside too! Our bags were already in the room once we were taken there and the room was very clean and loved the little flowers they put around the room and bathroom and also the ‘Bula and Welcome’ message on the bed! The room also had 2 bottles of water which they replaced every day.

The staff at Musket Cove are just amazing! (Thank you Lithey, Mama Lesi, Will, Susie, Vere, Raymond (Roosters!), Nai, Walter, Ima and everyone!! - sorry if i left anyone out) They were so friendly and happy all the time and they remembered our names from first meeting us! Their service was great, always attentive and we never had an issue. Really, they felt more like friends to us – thank you to the beautiful staff for making us smile every day!

Although our room didn’t have a TV (which was great actually!) there were lots of things to do on the resort. We made use of the water activities – snorkelling, kayaking etc! We walked up to the organic farm and looked around, we also walked to the end of the airstrip to the other side of the beach and walked all around the beach and through to Lomani and back to Musket Cove which was a great walk! (We walked through Plantation Island also and we were so happy we made the right choice by booking Musket Cove!). Even at low tide, it was nice to just walk out as far as you can, and seeing the little star fish & crabs! The resort also has a Trader Shop full of fresh organic fruits & veggies, cheeses, bread, drinks, snacks etc. There is also a coffee shack, they make a nice coffee! The resort also offers lots of activities off the island; we did the Island Hopping Tour – Fantastic!, the Village Tour – which was beautiful to see the locals and how they live, and the children are just adorable! & Cloud 9 – which was great and relaxing too! We had no complaints at all regarding the food in the restaurant, it was delicious & fresh. We had the buffet themed nights a couple of times too and that great. We ate The Pier one one night, it was just perfect and decorated with candles! It was also nice having the band playing throughout the night. Full breakfast was included in our package and we enjoyed that too.

On our last day we were fortunate enough to be there for Fiji Day Celebrations which was special to be part of their National Day.

Overall we had a fantastic time; we would recommend Musket Cove to everyone and Thank You again to the staff for making our stay enjoyable and for our (emotional!) farewell song! We left with great memories and friends too! We can’t wait to come again sometime!!

Maria & David

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MG27Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We came here on honeymoon on 2005 and had an amazing time. We always promised ourselves we would return and eventually we did, all be it eight years later and with our five year old son in tow. Before we arrived, we were concerned that we had built it up too much in our memories and of course being on honeymoon is different from holidaying with a small child, but we needn't have worried, it was still just as perfect. We had stayed in a lagoon bure on honeymoon which was fantastic, but this time we had a garden bure. We had requested one in the front row and got 56 which is almost on the beach and had wonderful views and is set in gorgeous gardens. it's the little touches which we love about Musket, the pure Fiji toiletries, the welcome flowers on the beds, the wine and fruit platter as a thank-you to returning guests (even after eight years). I know from forums that some people think Musket is not a resort for kids, but for one like ours, who is not a fan of kids club or resorts with lots of kids, it was perfect. We kayaked, swam in the pool every day, went snorkelling to the sandbar twice, did the shell village trip and visited a school where his age class (rm 1) did a Haka! There were a few other kids in the resort that he made great friends with, and were on some of the trips as well which added to his enjoyment of them. We also did the dolphin boat trip and spent ages with the dolphins while they bowsurfed with our boat before snorkelling near the surf break. Musket is such a family place and a wonderful mix of guests, people on honeymoon, some families, some independent travellers, a mother and daughter on holiday together. We met some great people and everyone always compared notes as to what they had been up to that day and recommended this or that over dinner at Dicks's place - which is as good as ever. I'm still craving the curried eggplant from the curry buffet - must be one of the nicest things I've ever eaten.

On our last evening a few of us got bbq packs and watched our last Fijian sunset at the island bar with a cocktail while the kids played in the sand, compared shark tooth necklaces from their village trip and swapped addresses - a perfect ending to an amazing week.

A massive thank-you to the staff who looked after us and made our trip so memorable (whether it was checking if there were any more mini boxes of coco pops on our last day at breakfast and finding one!) or making our son a boat from a coconut leaf which he adored. The snorkelling boat captain who played with our son on the sandbar drawing pictures in the sand with him so my husband and I could snorkel together. All the staff knew our son's name (and even of that of his pet monkey!) Vanaka Musket Cove - we will be back and hopefully won't leave it eight years next time :-)

Room Tip: G56 is a garden bure and is nearly as close to the beach as some of the beach bures.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Pip_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our first time taking our 10 month old daughter overseas and I am so glad I picked Musket Cove. From the moment we stepped off the boat everyone was so helpful and friendly.
Musket Cove is in a beautiful spot. Ive seen others complain about the low tide but it really is not that bad. If we wanted to go snorkelling or swimming at low tide we just went around to plantation.

We stayed 6 nights in garden bure 65. Nice room with everything we needed. It had king size bed, 2 singles and they provided a cot. There is a dividing door between the king bed and the singles. The air conditioning worked well which was also good because it was quite hot.

We ate all our meals at Dicks Place. There is good variety on the menu as well as different theme nights. The food was great, no complaints at all. The staff in the restaurant are lovely. If Amelia was whinging, one of them would take her for a walk in her pram or pick her up. Everyone knew Amelia, even the other guests.
We liked the fact that this place is much quieter than the big family resorts. Much more personalised. The staff knew who you were and took the time out to stop for a chat. It was also nice to chat to the other guests.

It would be nice if they allowed children in the beachfront bures because Amelia would have her 3 hour naps and we'd sit outside on the patio. There is a bit of a view but it's not as good as being right on the beach.

Overall we had a great holiday and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been coming to the island annually for many years staying at the TimeShare next to Musket Cove, but always have access to all the Resort facilities. First came to the Island in 1979 long before much development and some of the original features including the old swimming pool are still there. We love the atmosphere and the staff, but have to remember that everything is "on Fiji Time" there. Knowing a lot of the staff does help but they are busy, and yes some could benefit by more customer relations training. This year with the Trader Shop operating out of temporary facilities after the original building burnt down earlier in the year some 'stores/groceries" were limited, but we got by OK. Resort closes down for a month shortly while major reconstruction takes place and we look forward to the new building with offices, reception, shops, etc all in one place. The new larger Malolo Cat fast ferry operating from Denarau is great too, much better. Check out Musket Cove on Facebook for regular updates. Will be back again next year...Vinaka Vaka Levu....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billJE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews