We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bula” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musket Cove Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Musket Cove Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

After staying fancy on Denarua island we were happy for the change of pace. This resort was way more our speed. We stayed in apt. style rooms with air and a fridge that was constantly supplied with Fiji water. The staff was super nice and remembered our names daily. The salt water pool was awesome! Although they were located right on the beach the tide went super far out daily so swimming was not always an option. When the tide was in we did tons of snorkeling and stand up paddle! My Husband hired a capt to take him to the local surf breaks every morning. When it rained they let us borrow movies to watch in our rooms. For the price it was exactly what we wanted for our classic Fiji experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cera206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    228
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
261
274
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went to musket cove for our friends 50th birthday, there was 10 couples. Right from the start everything was just perfect. Coming into the cove on the ferry looking at the island was just magic. Greeted by the wonderful staff with a huge Bula.
The accommodation was great we were in the lagoon Bures
Really nice overlooking the lagoon (manmade)
The food was to die for , always well presented and always great variety. We met the new food and bev manager he's doing a fantastic job and should be proud of his staff they are just wonderful. They made our stay so good, always friendly and took care of a group of 20 people with such ease
Not a job we do well here in Australia!!!!
The smiles and helpfulness of all staff is worth everything
The spa was to die for and i advise taking time to go there
The dive shop was so professional and made my boys feel so welcome, they had the best time.
Vassa the gentlemen at the activities desk was such a great host thank you for all your help. The bank that played at night was great and i an sure we taught them some new lyrics!!!
I cant say enough about how wonderful this place is, wasn't worried about the tides as everything else made up for that
We will be there again i am sure
Thank you musket cove for making it a memorable 50th birthday
If your thinking of going just book now!!!!!
Bula

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malabarmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Please, please get rid of those wild dogs. My husband and I were having a lovely 2nd visit to Musket Cove in July this year. We like to do the 10km walk around the island, and have done it several times on previous visits to both Musket Cove and Plantation Island. Three dogs rushed us from behind, and the only thing that saved us from attack was the fact we ran into the sea. The dogs only stopped when out of their depth. They would not allow us to get back onto the beach until we were practically at the airstrip. On complaining to management, we were told everyone was being warned on arrival. Well we weren't, and nor were any other people we asked. I know for a fact that people have been bitten. We certainly would have been, had we not been able to get into the water - it was high tide. For the general manager to say that this is happening away from the resort is unacceptable. Many people walk around the island. So, please man up and warn people.

In saying that - we love Musket Cove, and are planning another week there next July - and bringing family as well.

I hope the Trader is up and running again by then - it's a great shop! The temporary one obviously can't carry all the product lines that it did before the fire.

A suggestion - why can't beach towels be exchanged at reception or the pool area? (Other places do it this way). It was a pain wanting clean beach towels for the day, but having to wait for housekeeping to arrive to change them, usually mid-morning when they serviced the rooms. Most days I went in search of them. We were often away for a good part of the day. That's my only (minor) complaint.

One other thing - could the access steps into the water at the end of the island be repaired? It's a good place to swim at low tide, but access it difficult now the steps have collapsed. I believe that was a result of last summers cyclones?

We have had many trips to Fiji over the last 10 years, and Musket Cove is a place we really like. The food is good, and the resort has not been over-developed like a nearby resort has done. The spacious grounds and gardens are so nice to stroll about in, especially in the evenings. Even if the resort is fully booked, as it was when we were there, it is still very peaceful.

The staff are friendly and welcoming, and do a really good job. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The back row of garden bures have a lovely outdoor shower (as well as an inside one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyholiday99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is actually for a trip from Dec 2012 but I hadn't gotten round to it ...

We arrived in Nadi three days after a cyclone and had very low expectations - how could an island so remote, with so few resources recover from a horrific cyclone so quickly?

We were greeted off the boat at Musket Cove to hotel staff welcoming us with flowers and traditional music before taking us on a golf cart to our room.

We stayed in a beach hut villa, which was fabulous. Spacious with a kitchenette / bar and lounge area, huge bed, day bed under a conveniently placed ceiling fan (!) and large bathroom. The room was large, traditional and clean and 3 meters from the sand!

The resort itself was immaculate, it was a mircale how quicjkly they had the place in shape following the cyclone, the only visible damage was to the the trees and foliage.

the pool is saltwater and refreshing (the sea temperature was about 30 degrees!) with plenty of shaded areas.

Break and dinner buffet was brilliant with a different cuising each night, restaurant menu for daytime meals was extensive and delicious.

The service was fantastic, we were made to feel like friends as opposed to guests and have recommended the resort to multiple couples since returning home.

Room Tip: Some of the beach huts are actually set back from the beach (!) for privacy, so if you insist on nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeler11, General Manager at Musket Cove Island Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Bula from Musket
For yours and the previous wonderful comments a big Vinaka vaka levu. Our team will be over the moon.
Like all things, we do trip up on occasion and our ambition to to constantly keep improving. But it's comments like yours that confirms that we have a great product which is moving in the right direction.
Thanks again, it means a lot.
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've recently returned from a weeks holiday at Musket cove where I celebrated my 50th with 18 people. We all had different accommodation From Garden , Beachfront, lagoon Bures & Resort Villas. Everyone was more than happy with their chosen accommodation, clean well maintained & in easy walking distance to everything. The gardens around the resort are lovely.The staff are so helpful & friendly & nothing was a problem. The food was great, I heard no complaints from our group. Yes the tide was out in the morning, no problem we used the beautiful pool & by the afternoon the tide was back in. The snorkeling is a must in the beautiful clear water. Even though the shop at the marina burnt down they have put up a temporary shop that has everything from soft drinks to vegies & toiletries etc.I had the best relaxing holiday
I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you are thinking of staying in a beachfront bure, some of the front garden Bures closer to the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippingit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 8nights at Musket Cove. We stayed in a lagoon villa, it was beautiful. Separate lounge , kitchen area, which opens onto a lovely deck, which over looks the lagoon. Our bedroom was large and had plenty of natural light. The bathroom was modern .
I would recommend Musket Cove resort, the staff are very helpful and cheerful. The food was lovely.
The added convenience of having The Trader supermarket

We will return, this was our third holiday at Musket Cove.


Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 108b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I can't emphasis the importance of checking when the tide will be out before you book. This might sound mad but this resort goes from the pretty good to the damn right ugly depending on whether the tide is out. So if you check your dates and find the tide will be out during the middle of the day I wouldn't bother going, there are better places where you can enjoy the sea all day every day. When the tide is out the mud is goes on for 100s of meters and is pretty ugly

If you want to check tide times for future months you can just google it or use a sight like this http://www.bom.gov.au/oceanography/projects/spslcmp/tidecalendars.shtml

When you come to pick accommodation it really depends whether you want to be able to cook. If not I'd definitely recommend the hotels cheapest option of staying in the 'hotel' rooms. These are situated at the back of the resort in the gardens. They're huge and airy, and because of the location are quiet.

The restaurant was varied when we stayed. Sometimes brilliant but when the main chef was on the buffet stations the food in the kitchen seemed to take a nose dive. I'd recommend investigating the BBQ options when you're there, on the main night (Sunday maybe) there are excellent value options available that include meat and salads. That said the roast beef on the sunday roast was exception and from new zealand.

Let me finish with a safety tip: DO NOT WALK AROUND THE ISLAND particularly to the left of the airstrip as you cross from the resort side. There is a rubbish dump there which is frequented by wild dogs. These attacked several guests and I heard a doctor at the next resort had been bitten too. When the attack was reported by my friends to the reception they claimed everyone was being warned but no-one I met had been told anything about the dogs. Serious injuries or death could result. If you do want to go for a walk I'd avoid the dump area and make sure you carry a hefty stick to beat any dogs off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeler11, General Manager at Musket Cove Island Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Bula and thanks for your comment.
Having managed island resorts in numerous destinations. I must confess that everywhere I've ever worked is tidal. Including ALL island resorts in Fiji.
However your right, at low tide the sand bank in front of the resort is exposed. But it is not mud. In the ideal world we'd love to have no tides, But mother nature has a different opinion.
To compensate we have a large pool, a deep water designated snorkelling area directly off Smith Island, which adjoins the resort, and we offer 2 free snorkel trips to the reef and sandbank every day. We're also developing some private cabanas on our private beach on the back side of the island.
Am glad you enjoyed our hotel rooms. These are well suited for those travelling on a budget.
Musket is an island of approx 400 acres and yes, we do have to dispose of rubbish. But the way you describe it makes it sound out of control. We have an organic farm where food waste is composted, we recycle bottles, plastic and aluminium (money raised goes to the staff fund), we collect garden debris for chipping and used throughout the gardens. Then we burn the rest. Yes, sometimes the recycling doesn't happen 100% as planned. But I personally inspect the area weekly and to be honest I think your comments a bit harsh.
Yes, there are 3 or 4 dogs living in the vicinity on the back side of the island, and we are removing them. But it must be mentioned that NOONE has been attacked or bitten during my tenure. Granted they must be removed. And I would recommend a level of caution in this vicinity. But it should also be mentioned that this area is about 1km from any guest area.
Thanks for taking the time to write. I also thank Trip Advisor for the right to respond.
Vinaka
Garry Snodgrass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
3.7 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
15.3 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musket Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musket Cove Island Resort

Property: Musket Cove Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Musket Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Musket Cove you'll find the pace of life smooth and unhurried. The resort consists of 55 bures and villas scattered along the beachfront and throughout our tropical landscaped gardens. All rooms are spacious with separate living rooms and quality inclusions. What sets Musket apart is space, with 400 acres of rolling hills and palm fringed beaches to explore there is never a sense of crowding. Muskets world class marina offers a vast selection of water-sports and activities. Or for those wanting to relax, our dedicated Makare Day Spa is a true haven of tranquillity. Musket offers several gourmet-dining options headed by renowned chef Peter Becker and over 150 warm and friendly Fijian staff ready to welcome you to our island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Musket Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musket Cove Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Hotel Musket Cove Island
Musket Cove Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing