We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weather and water:)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Musket Cove Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the Armstrong Villas because our daughter has a life threatening food allergy and these were the only self catering accommodation on the island. There was a lounge room/ kitchen area and then 2 bedrooms each with its own onsuite which was great. A nice outdoor balcony over the water. Would be perfect for 2 couples.
Dicks Place was the best of the 3 places we ate on the island. Staff were mostly helpful re food ingredient questions - just have to ask the next person of the first seems a little vague.
The people are very friendly.
The free sand bar snorkle trip was AMAZING!! Our friends at Plantation Island had to pay $15 each to go on it from their resort. Free snorkel trip to a different reef each day too:)
We also had friends staying at Plantation Island and would walk over to them everyday (15 mins - hot walk too) as the beach there near Lomani was much more beautiful in our opinion.
Weather was awesome and water is some of the most beautiful I have ever seen.
Got 'Fiji Belly' despite using only bottled water even to clean my teeth with:(
Looking at Internet our rooms were $850 a night now (definitely not worth that) and they were the furthest away from reception etc - If you have no food issues the beachfront rooms would be the pic I think.
Overall it is probably a good resort for couples looking to unwind. I would probably stay at Plantation Island with teenagers as all of the action and entertainment was there:)
Beautiful holiday destination.

Room Tip: Self catering option in Armstrong villas is good, however beach front rooms probably have the best l...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
There are newer reviews for Musket Cove Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 762 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This would have to be one of the hardest reviews to write, mainly because I can't quite figure out if I really liked the place or not.

Let me begin by saying we had a great holiday at Musket Cove celebrating the wedding of two of our best friends. It was a great week, in a great location with awesome weather and very friendly staff! The bride and groom did a great job of ensuring there was plenty to do while also offerng heaps of space to relax as a family. The resort and surrounds helped in being able to achieve all of this.

Firstly, if you are looking for somewhere to go with the main objective to be to come away feeling relaxed, it is perfect. The setting and location are amazing with beautifully clear blue water and white sand being the backdrop for nearly every direction you turn. Dick's Place serves as the epicentre of the resort, which is sort ofa bar/restaurant/pool area; it , of course shares the views and is a perfect place to sit back and relax.

The booking process. We were travelling with a large group (90+) who all booked in different ways and had mixed results. We booked directly with the functions coordinator, so will only comment on that simply by saying a final booking confirmation in a standard format clearly outlining what was and was not included in your stay would be beneficial for all, it is time to get passed a pile of emails between the resort and the guest all stappled together as a form.

We were in two types of room during our stay - Garden Bure and Hotel Room.

The Garden Bure is simply appointed with all the furnishings you will need on your stay. There is a wide expanse of lawn between you and the water, but if you are lucky enough to score one of the ones in the front row of bures, you will be greeted with the perfect view every morning when you open your louvres. I got to see most of the types of rooms during our stay, and I would have to say I was NOT disappointed with the garden bure. They have easy access to Dick's Place, are quiet, have good a/c and plenty of space. With a king and 2 single beds the room is divided into half by a sliding door of sorts. These woudl be PERFECT for a young family to share together.

The hotel rooms are equally nicely furnished, however the couple of downsides include: you can't see the water, you share a balcony with the other 5 hotel room guests, and there are a few mosquitoes but they don't bother you that much.

Food: The selection of food on the island is minimal, with Dick's Place and a pretty small coffee shop serving the main options. The large supermarket was burnt down recenly when struck by lightning, and the resport has done an excellent job of building another one as a temporary solution. The supermarket (aka Trader) has everything you will need to keep going.

While on food, it is one of the main reasons I can't settle easilly on my final thoughts on this place. The quality of the food does not marry up with what you will pay for it. You won't go hungry, and the buffets are great but the quality is just not there. Between us and the 90 other guests for a week long wedding, we tried everywhere (including other resorts) and with the exception of the restaurant at Lomani resort, Musket Cove is still probably the best of the rest. Low quality food seems to be a trend with a lot of people who come back from Fiji... It would be a major contributor in deciding to return or not... expect to pay FJ$50-70 for a 2 course dinner, FJ$15 for a simple lunch; FJ$5.50 for local beer; FJ$6 for a small softdrink.

Service. Never before have I encountered a place where the staff are so keen and excited to be serving you but just so bad at it! It takes a LONG time for anything to happen in Fiji. Live with it. But when you're the only person at the bar outside of the 5-6 staff working it, and you order a toasted sandwhich and a cocktail and it takes more than 45 minutes, you have to ask some questions. While Fiji and this resort serve as places to go to relax and unwind, waiting an age for a simple request does not contribute to the relaxation... it hinders it. They really need to improve on the quality of the service - the intent is there but "Fiji time" at a restaurant or bar is really really annoying!

The island bar is a must for a laaaaaaate night bountry rum and guava juice (if you're feeling brave.

Musket Cover shares Malolo Lailai Island with a couple of other resorts, mainly Plantation Island Resort and Lomani. Friends of our were at Lomani, and found it to be a bit nicer but much more expensive. Plantation Island is revolting with more than 200 bures all jammed in together. It is highly commercial and too family friendly! Dont stay there. Musket Cove is by far the better of the two!!!

In a nutshell, if they could improve on the execution of the service and the quality of food without drastically increasng prices, I would be likley return one day, otherwise I might consider somewhere else (other than Fiji) for our next tropical holiday.

Room Tip: Always think 20 minutes ahead to avoid disapointment; book here instead of Plantation Island Resort...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 17,646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in a beach front bure for 10 nights from 8th to 18th June. I am writing on Trip Advisor only because I would have expected a reply from management to my comments I submitted when I left the resort. Generally the resort was good. The BF Bures were really nice and staff also very good. The food at the coffee shop was excellent and so was the hygiene of the staff. What let the place down was the restaurant food at Dicks. We ordered a "Grilled Scotch Fillet" and got a tough old piece of rump steak full of gristle and sinew. Our neighbors good the same sort of steak the same night. Simply not good enough for a resort of this quality. We tried another meal or two then found the "Black Coral" restaurant at Plantation Resort where we got a real Scotch Fillet. I see they are advertising for an Executive Chef which the resort badly needs. Please check your final account. We were being charged $53's for food we never brought at the Supermarket and they never even had a docket for!!! We were also being charges $38's and $6.50 for food other people had signed for. So be very careful when checking out. We had $117's deducted!! Pity really as quite a good place but not for too long especially as the bay drains out totally 4 hours either side of the tide and the fact that the Traders Supermarket has burnt down.

Room Tip: We had Bure 17 which was good.Further away from the restaurant the better ie; up to B24, because the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Douglas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent the first 4 nights of our 10 night Fijian holiday in an Armstrong Villa at Musket Cove and had a fantastic time. Our villa comfortably fit 5 of us and despite other reviews, was very clean and in very good condition and did not need any maintenance or repairs. We loved being over the water and the view from our deck towards the marina was beautiful. We didn't find the walk to the restaurant or other resort facilities too far, and due to the layout of the resort, we felt a bit like it was a little village. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always had a 'Bula!' for us. The free kayaks and snorkelling trips are a fantastic idea. Although the water at the beach is shallow it is a great place to have a go at paddle boarding or a quiet kayak. It is handy having 'The Trader' available to pick up bits and pieces during your stay and we can imagine once it is rebuilt and fully operational again it will be even better. We absolutely loved our time at Musket Cove and found it to be so relaxing. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited Fiji for the first time mid June 2013 & are very thankful that we chose to stay at Musket Cove. Amazing!!
Our Beachfront Bure had all we needed & just a short stroll to the beach, pool, restaurant, marina, Island Bar, Cafe, & activities place.
We were pleasantly surprised at the cost of meals at Dicks Place and ended up having all of our evening meals & breakfasts(included in package) there. Choice of cooked eggs, poached, omelette, scrambled had just been added to the breakfast menu. The specialty nights were great & good value @ $50fjd for 3 courses. Pig on spit, Asian stir fry(my favourite) & Indian Curry night(not so good if you don't like hot & spicy). the menu on other nights is a bit limited, but new manager mentioned that they are working on improving this. Really appreciated the invitation to Managers cocktail night & enjoyed chatting to Staff & other guests.
The musical entertainment most evenings was a treat. Especially my personal Happy Birthday serenade.

Having the new Trading store completed will be an excellent addition. As there were limited supplies in the temporary trader.
It would have been great to be able to buy some fresh fruit.
But by far the most memorable part of our week in paradise would be the lovely staff. So genuinely friendly and happy to assist with anything. Looking forward to a return visit in the next year or so.
Vinaka to all @ Musket Cove!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank JenniGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a total of 2 weeks in fiji with the first 8 days in Taveuni and the last 5 days at musket cove. We absolutely loved the first part of our trip and were expecting Musket cove based on photo's to be the luxury end to our beautiful holiday. Upon arrival we were very dissappointed. We stayed in the upmarket armstrong villa's and upon arrival after travelling all day in the heat, our fridge was not working no cold water and the room was very old and unmaintained. the staff are lovely and the location beautiful but definately time some maintainance was done on the villa's. Bed was very old and uncomfortable, no varnish on the cupboards, verandah all rotten. very dissappointed will not go again to musket cove. the shop had burned down in april but we were not informed prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeler11, General Manager at Musket Cove Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Such a shame to read your comment. You are right about the fridge not working. This should have been checked prior to your arrival. I can only put this down to simple human error, for which I apologise. However the fridge was replaced immediately.
Upon arrival you informed us that you weren't happy with the aspect of your villa for which we gladly offered to relocate you. But you declined.
As much as we regret receiving negative comments It is unfair to say our rooms are very old and unmaintained. Our owners invest hundreds of thousands constantly upgrading and we have dedicated teams just for maintenance.
Our goal is to ensure everyone has a memorable stay. And I am truly sorry you felt disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just spent 6 wonderful nights at Musket Cove. What can I say, we love this place. And the main reason is the wonderful, friendly staff. I’m not sure what previous reviews are on about when they say that the people are unfriendly and unhelpful. From the moment you are greeted off the malolo cat (by 4 or 5 staff members serenading you) to the time you leave, you feel like part of their big family.
Musket Cove is a beautiful, relaxing place, situated in a very picturesque cove. Lovely, sandy beach (yes it is tidal, but still beautiful) and fantastic pool. Plenty of activities for everyone, especially great is the daily snorkelling trips out to the sandbar, absolutely stunning,
We chose to BBQ most nights at The Island Bar. Great BBQ packs available ranging from $20-$30. Great atmosphere and just great fun. Menu at Dicks Place very limited but they do have great themed buffet nights, especially on a Thursday, pig on a spit night. Vina’s Coffee Shack is wonderful for a quick bite or lunch, try a sausage roll $3 or stuffed roti $2, very tasty.
Most accommodation is due for a little spruce up, but in saying that they are all very spacious, clean and well presented. We stayed in a Lagoon Bure this time which we were extremely happy with.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donny777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeler11, General Manager at Musket Cove Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Wow, thankyou for such a glowing review. Our team will be delighted.
Some exciting news is that we intent upgrading the island bar and installing gas BBQ's and a general spruce up. Having this unique outlet offers guests yet another island experience. Not many places you can cook your own BBQ with sand between your toes.
And yes, we are committed to delivering a fantastic guest experience. By continuing to improve. both the overall facility, service and attention to detail.
Vinaka vaka levu. Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
736 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
609 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,712 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
3.7 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musket Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musket Cove Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $292 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Musket Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Musket Cove you'll find the pace of life smooth and unhurried. The resort consists of 55 bures and villas scattered along the beachfront and throughout our tropical landscaped gardens. All rooms are spacious with separate living rooms and quality inclusions. What sets Musket apart is space, with 400 acres of rolling hills and palm fringed beaches to explore there is never a sense of crowding. Muskets world class marina offers a vast selection of water-sports and activities. Or for those wanting to relax, our dedicated Makare Day Spa is a true haven of tranquillity. Musket offers several gourmet-dining options headed by renowned chef Peter Becker and over 150 warm and friendly Fijian staff ready to welcome you to our island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Musket Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musket Cove Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Hotel Musket Cove Island
Musket Cove Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing