We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musket Cove Island Resort saved our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Musket Cove Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Bula,
Sorry for writing my review so late.

We rented a house that is managed by Musket Cove Island Resort from July 28 to August 12. I will not go into the details of the house, Villa Malolo, I would prefer if you would send me a private message to get the details. Let's just say that not a lot of the things where right with this Villa. The pictures on VBRO are NOT representative of what you will get. Mold, dirty pool, soap dish riped off the walls, the bbq outside did not work, buttons missing. The stove light could not be turned off unless you unplug the stove.....so on and so one. The Villa is not well maitained it is very sad because the location was beautiful.

I have to be honest and say that the issues that where there in July might have been resolved. Just make sure to get updated pictures of the Villa to know exactly what you are getting for your money.

The real purpose of this review is to say once more THANK YOU Musket Cove for saving our vacation. They manage the villa and do it with the most professionalism. They took the time to listen to our complaint and negociated with the owner for a solution.

The Musket Cove restaurant was awesome. The service was so great, we meet great staff that I will remember for the rest of my life. The pool, the restaurant are well maintained and very nice. What about the pig on the spit...miammmmm so good. Don't miss that. Reserved ahead of time if you want to make sure to get some.

Once again Thank YOU Musket Cove, you will always have a special place in our hearth


Vinaca!
Alex

Room Tip: Please make sure you get updated picture of any Villa you wish to rent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexandrasks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 789 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

This resort is simply outstanding. The villas are amazing, come fully equipped with all amenities, including cooking utensils and crockery. Its the only resoort i know which activiely encourages guests to cook their own meals if they don't want eat at their wonderful restaurant (they havea well stocked supermarket at the resort where you can buy meat and pretty much anything else). The staff are attentive and friendly in a non-intrusive sort of way. They learn your name and those of your kids (very helpful) very quickly. The food is excellent value for money. The resort is well spread out, so there isn't the crowded atmosphere you get in some Fiji resorts (especially the Denarau properties). In fact, you feel like you have much of the resort to yourself, and only meet the masses at meal times. My wife enjoyed her massage treatment, while my 3-year old wouldn't get out of the pool. All in all - a simply superb resort!

Room Tip: Pick a villa, cocmes with a jacuzzi, BBQ grill, and wall mounted LCD TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanehussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a great time. Bures were really nice and quiet. Food was a bit limited, not many choices on the menu but you can eat at Anandos with more options and Lomani Resort. Plantation Island food was not to be recommended. The staff seemed a little tired since our last visit 3 years ago. some were excellent some very uninformed so not helpful. Excellent service from the SPA, diving and fishing staff. The beach staff while lovely people were hopeless with their recommendations. We went snorkeling on the sand bank. No safety briefing or instructions were given by the boat chap. Once arranged a huge boat load of 50 people came from another resort. Really crowded people standing on the coral.. hopeless. Also went to Sunflower reef as we have been before. Not very good unfortunately sparse corals and fish another boat driver but gave no instructions. We picked the Island hop as it was "Pick of the Week" Obviously not the week we were there. Didn't go where advertised. Brochure says on Engeriser but we had our group of 6 but put onto a big boat with at least 20 other people mostly little kids. Told excellent snorkeling but it was not.
Did the dolphin trip too. Disappointed that it was not on the big cat as it used to be. Did ask for the Take a break dolphin trip but was not told it was on another boat. Again this boat a different one was filled up with families from Plantation Island. Boat roared around for several hours. Didn't see the dolphins which was probably ok but didn't snorkel the barrier reef as advertised so again really disappointed with the snorkel site chosen. No information like on our last trip which was excellent. Did try to tell the staff about our experiences and were referred to the manager who was the one who told us the snorkeling was the best on the Island hop when she booked us in. She wasn't interested in listening so were disappointed in her attitude. No wonder the Fijian staff didn't seem to care.
Did really enjoy the 1/2 day cruise on the big cat. We picked this trip as we knew they would go to the best snorkel places. Got more information from their sightseeing than from the Island hop the snorkeling is world class. I have dived and snorkelled around the world.
Great to be able to walk over the island, buy snacks from the shop, meet the yachties at the Island bar but generally relax. Its really quiet. Beach bathrooms were dirty especially the shower

Room Tip: Beachfront look beautiful right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in a garden bure but had a lovely view of the sea about 100 metres away across the grass. The bure was very spacious with a king bed and two singles, and two large cane chairs. The bathroom and shower were also very large. The pool area was nice with a large pool good for lap swimming and next to the beach. No good for swimming when the tide is out. We had just come from Hideaway Resort on the coral coast where the staff were amazingly friendly with a great atmosphere. We thought the staff at Musket cove were not as friendly and generally not as willing to assist and poor communication. The meals were fine but nothing outstanding. What we really enjoyed were the complimentary snorkelling trips to the sand bar and rocky point by small boat. Great way to spend a few hours and we saw some lovely tropical fish while enjoying the warm clear water. Also the trip to nearby Mololo island by boat ($3) was worth it as we got to see the school and the village and of course the obligatory market stalls.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiaOra08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in early September this year.
We ahd come from Taveuni and Coconut Grove cottages which is verysmall and homey and were rather overwhelmed at first by the size of Muscat Cove. However we did have a pleasant stay and can echo allthe other positive reviews on Muscat.
We had the Lagoon bure and enjoyed watching the fish under our Bure each day. Maybe we would go for the Beachfront Bures next time to be closer to the ocean.
Do try Dick's Bar for a drink - and the bar b que packs from Traders ...great value and a lovely way tohave dinner.
Do go over to Lolomani for dinner one evening. Adults only nd a fair walk but absolutley magical.Fabulous food.
Do walk up to the little craft shop on the hill above the resort. a great walk and views to be had AND great locally made sulus etc.
All in all a pleasnat stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This review is a bit delayed - I stayed at Musket cove for 8 nights in total back in March. To start with, Fiji is just amazing in General. Great people,great atmosphere and overall, a beautiful place to be.

The rooms are fantastic. We stayed in a bungalow located on the beach, only a few metres of grass before you hit the sand. The bungalows are very spacious. One tip - make sure the air conditioning is left on as the heat can be very overwhelming and the bungalow will be just as hot as the outside! The food was FANTASTIC! make sure you try the seafood hot pot, it is delicious! The staff at Musket Cove are amazing. They are extremely friendly and will even stay back at the bar any time of night until you have finished drinking etc.

We were unfortunate enough to be stuck on the island when the fijian floods hit which meant the last couple of days were not as enjoyable as we would have liked as it did not stop raining. It also meant we were stuck on the island for an extra two days as boats could not go back to denarau. Having said that, we were able to go into the movie room and watch movies with the off duty staff and other people who were on holiday. The staff did everything they could to ensure that it felt like home and did everything they could to get us back to Denarau in order to get our flight. The only issue that we had in regards to the flight (nothing to do with Musket Cove), our flight was delayed by 24 hours due to the floods and the only thing we could do was stay at the airport and sleep on the ground. Unfortunately, Air Pacific did not offer us any type of food vouchers etc while we were there although all Qantas passengers were offered these incentives. We were lucky enough to have company by some friends we made during our stay who also has a flight delayed (which ended up being a 3 day delay in their case so we were lucky!)

Even though we were stuck on the island during the floods and we were delayed, i had the most amazing time at musket cove and wouldn't change a thing. I definitely recommend it and would go back in a second if i could!

On the island, you are able to go around and see all three resorts. Musket Cove is the best resort by far and when we saw the other resorts, we were so happy we stayed at Musket Cove as it was the best one.

The day activities that Musket Cove offer are fantastic. There is island hopping, a sunset cruise and a trip to a local village by boat (which was very eye opening). Unfortunately we did not get to do the island hopping cruise due to the floods although it gives me more reasons to go back and visit!

We are a young couple and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We also made friends with the other people who were staying there - all ages.

If you want a place where you can just chill out, have a beer or cocktail, lay by the pool and read a book whilst over exploring the island by bike and doing fantastic day cruises and eating an amazing breakfast, lunch and dinner every day - this is the place for you.

Thank you so much to Sharon, Max and all of the staff at Musket Cove. I had the most beautiful holiday!

p.s. The pictures do not do the resort enough justice - so much more beautiful in real life!

Room Tip: Get a beach bungalow. Only every second one has a hammock too. We didn't have one but it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 954bec_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a Beachfront Bure, sadly bad weather arrived as we did onto Plantation Island where Musket Cove shares part of the Island.
With no TV, no Telephone we had to brave the horizontal rain to get to the shop to buy a book as there were no magazines and felt there was no communication from staff on anything to do in very wet weather :((
Unfortunately although both evening meals arrived well presented but not hot, and pork is not very pleasant being served cold. They had also run out of the specials of the day and it was only 7pm.
The beds were quite hard so not really a comfortable sleep for older bones.
Great photo locations and parasailing available with sunset cruises a bonus.

Room Tip: Great place if the weather is good, Bures are traditional and the tea/coffee and toaster are certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,757 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
957 reviews
3.7 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Malolo Island
730 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musket Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musket Cove Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $196 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Musket Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Musket Cove you'll find the pace of life smooth and unhurried. The resort consists of 55 bures and villas scattered along the beachfront and throughout our tropical landscaped gardens. All rooms are spacious with separate living rooms and quality inclusions. What sets Musket apart is space, with 400 acres of rolling hills and palm fringed beaches to explore there is never a sense of crowding. Muskets world class marina offers a vast selection of water-sports and activities. Or for those wanting to relax, our dedicated Makare Day Spa is a true haven of tranquillity. Musket offers several gourmet-dining options headed by renowned chef Peter Becker and over 150 warm and friendly Fijian staff ready to welcome you to our island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Musket Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musket Cove Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Hotel Musket Cove Island
Musket Cove Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing