We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Island when the weather is good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Musket Cove Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Island when the weather is good”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a Beachfront Bure, sadly bad weather arrived as we did onto Plantation Island where Musket Cove shares part of the Island.
With no TV, no Telephone we had to brave the horizontal rain to get to the shop to buy a book as there were no magazines and felt there was no communication from staff on anything to do in very wet weather :((
Unfortunately although both evening meals arrived well presented but not hot, and pork is not very pleasant being served cold. They had also run out of the specials of the day and it was only 7pm.
The beds were quite hard so not really a comfortable sleep for older bones.
Great photo locations and parasailing available with sunset cruises a bonus.

Room Tip: Great place if the weather is good, Bures are traditional and the tea/coffee and toaster are certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    234
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
271
288
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from 1 week at Musket
Cove, fantastic, it was better than the pictures. We stayed in a Lagoon Bure, they have all been freshly painted and I think all the ocean bures have also been re done. The weather was great, we bought water on the mainland but was not necessary as they gave you bottled drinking Fiji water 1 litre per person per day replenished all the teas and coffees and all the ammenities. Service was great, the traders market was great to buy things with home made sausage rolls and pies and bread made daily at there bakery, also cheap. Dicks restaurant was great with prices very reasonable. We are certainly going back. Also the snorkelling was great on the sand bank.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent a week at Musket Cove in August with our family of 5. The resort and staff are excellent and there is lots to do (or not do, depending on why you go). We have two teenage daughters and an 11 year old and they all loved it. The pool was perfect for them.
We stayed in the resort villas, which were perfect for our family of 5. Lots of places are great for a family of 4 but not 5. The Resort Villa we were in had a king bed and 3 singles plus a couch that would make out into a single, so don't hesitate to book one if you are a family of 6. There was a small kitchenette where we could cook if we wanted to, which we did a few times. There are two small stores on the island. One at Musket Cove and one at Plantation Island. Both were reasonably stocked and most things were reasonably priced, especially when compared to Australia. There are a couple things that are a little dated, but its a well looked after place overall.
There is an activity centre on the island, so you can get out and snorkel, scuba, parasail, island hop or whatever. There are several restaurant theme nights during a typical week (stir fry night is a really good value) and a weekly sunday barbeque on the "island" where the yachties hang out.
There are locals playing music everynight at Dick's Place restaurant with a great variety of Fijian and western acoustical music to enjoy. There is also a night where a group of Fijians put on a short song and dance performance, which was really entertaining. All in all a great place and a great vacation for our family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a thoroughly great time at Musket Cove. Booked a garden burre, which was spacious. Comfotrable queen bed and 2 singles with a small screen in between. Good size bathroom with separate toilet and shower areas; lovely toiletries provided. Kitchenette had a sink, fridge, kettle and toaster. They provided tea & coffee and mineral water; we bought bread & jam/peanut butter and cereal at the shop on site and ate our breakfast on our patio overlooking the garden each morning.

Decent swimming pool next to the restaurant where we could have cocktails/beers/fresh coconuts (our 2 1/2 yr old's favourite); and only a few metres from the beach. Tidal, so the water was very shallow and warmer than your bath! Kayaks, windsurfers and snorkelling gear free to use. There's a daily (free) trip to a small sand bar (10 mins by boat) from which you can snorkle over shallow reefs and take in the tropical fish. The only (very minor) criticism that we can think of for our entire week, is that the boat staff should have given a coral safety briefing (i.e "don't stand on it, you'll kill it - oh yeah, and it hurts like hell if you do scratch your feet on it") as there were a few numpties that did one or both of those. Whilst we took it in turns to snorkle and look at the fish our son preferred to build sand castles on the sandbar.

All the staff were superb; and we took advantage of the babysitting services (FJ$5/hr) a few nights. Its worth booking for the restaurant so you get a seat outside, food was pretty good and reasonably priced.

As well as the main pool restaurant and bar there's also a cafe/mini mart& bar at the other end of the beach serving the yachties. You can buy a BBQ pack (salad & BBQ tools included) and take advantage of the wood fired BBQs at the beach bar (we didn't, but probably wil next time we come back).

In summary - well worth a week in August to get away from NZ winter, and we expect to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kUD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was actually our second visit to Musket Cove resort – our first visit was in 2009, and we booked without hesitation when we had an opportunity to visit again.
It is still is a wonderful island with beautiful grounds and good options for activities and food but a couple of things that we weren’t expecting that I guess we were disappointed with:
So many more children this time around: we were really surprised, particularly the unruly behaviour in the restaurant and around the pool. Not a problem if you are with children or don’t mind children, but completely different to our first visit and something to be aware of if you think there won’t be kids. It was still peaceful outside our beachfront bure during the day so we hung out there rather than around the pool area. Request a table for dinner at the front by the pool to get away from the noisy groups and kids.
Large Wedding Parties: If you are expecting a quiet and peaceful island experience (as we were), check first if there will be a wedding party during your stay. There was a large group (maybe 40) during our stay so at times we felt like they ‘took over’. We don’t be-grudge anyone a good time on their wedding but it changed the vibe of the island for us. We were kept awake after midnight on a couple of nights due to the large get-togethers before the wedding.
Room Maintenance: Still love the location of the beach bures and they are a great lay-out inside, but they really need some attention now. Just a spruce up – fresh paint, re-surface the vanity tops, new cushion covers and fresh thatch on the outside. Little things would freshen them up 100%.
I really don’t want this review to sound too negative, as there is so much that Musket Cove offers. We enjoyed the snorkelling trips, great island bar, good food, beautiful beach, Traders shop. Musket is maybe becoming more popular, and with that brings a wider variety of guests and large groups (especially due to all the different accommodation types), and this has changed the dynamic of the island compared to how we experienced it last time. We may try a smaller island next time.

Room Tip: Would only ever stay in a beachfront bure, they have an amazing outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ozkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

You know I have been meaning to write about Musket Cove for some time and have just gotten around to it so I’m guessing nothing has changed.

We have holidayed at Musket Cove now 4 times and every time we have come away feeling refreshed and relaxed.

Musket Cove Island Resort is a 1 ¼ hour ride on the Cat from Denarau Port, located on the same Island (Malolo Lailai) as Plantation Island Resort and Lomani Island Resort. Each of these resorts are distinctly different.

Musket Cove is a well spread out resort offering a range of different accommodation styles. We pick the Lagoon Bure and it has and did continue to work well for us. The room is located over a man made tidal lagoon. Don’t worry about low tide as the water never empties out totally, so no bad smells etc. In fact really the water is so clean up there low tide is not an issue anywhere, more over its something interesting to watch as you lie by the pool etc. The bed configuration in the room is 1 King and a Single bed. The lounge in the room I think opened out to form a sofa bed which I guess is good if you have a couple of kids to accommodate. The main bed is divided off from the living area and the other beds by way of a sliding set of doors. (If the kids snore you will hear them and visa versa!) A small kitchenette with a fridge, kettle and toaster is included, and the bathroom spacious and more than adequate... the girls all like the Pure Fiji Soap that is left each day.

The resort pool area has been renovated over the last year and provides for a really comfortable place to sit and spend the day. The Pool is great. Its big, and deep enough to enjoy, not one of those shallow over crowded numbers you find in resorts on the Coral Coast.
The main bar and restaurant area are adjoined to the pool area. Bar service is available around the pool area and or on the beach area in front of the pool, which is really nice and typically Fijian. Food is another thing. I continue to struggle with the fact food quality couldn’t be a bit better than it is. I say no more other than to tell you that there is a trading shop near the marina and barbeques at the $4.00 bar.

Re the trading shop. The ship has a cafe adjoined and is good for a cuppa and a sausage roll or Pizza. The cost of fresh food at the shop is something you won’t forget. We almost paid FJ$18 for a Cos lettuce and noted a box of Special K cereal cost around FJ$50 per box (from memory). On the flip side a freshly baked sausage roll won’t set you back more than $2.00 and things like Ice Creams for the kids or a cooked whole chicken were pretty cheap. You need to do the sums and maybe consider bringing some basic stuff with you from the store at Port Denarau. The basics we took included Tea bags from Australia and Instant Coffee because the local stuff just doesn’t taste the same.

The $4.00 bar (or should I say the $1,000 Bar , cause that’s how much it cost at the end of 10 days) is a highlight. Great staff, excellent atmosphere and really, really casual. Located on a small linked Island and home in the evening to most of the resident boaties the bar is real melting pot of people and stories that does go on past the Yachties Mid Night (8.00pm). Go and experience it, I’m sure you will enjoy.

As far as activities go, well how long is a piece of string? Snorkelling trips, fishing, diving, golf (at the 9 hole resort course shared by the other resorts) or just exploring the Island and or Islands that adjoin Malolo Lailai.

Not a lot has changed in 4 years, and I’m guessing this will be our last trip to Musket Cove, but not because it’s bad, simply because a change is beckoning. If you have never been, than go and enjoy.

Room Tip: The beach side rooms are good but I'm not sure they are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank L_D_HSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have stayed at Musket Cove many times and our recent holiday confirmed that this resort is one of the best in Fiji. Fiji is different to Bali, in Fiji the people are beautiful, friendly and you are welcome. You can relax and they will look after you. Musket Cove is not overbooked so visitors have their own private time and space, the staff are happy and genuinely know the guests and care for them. However there is so much to do that guests have difficulty doing it all, I have been travelling to Fiji for decades and this is my favourite place in Fiji. It is well worth visiting, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: It is hard to decide, the beach bures are right on the beach, or the lagoon bures are back a bit but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PeterV771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
706 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,068 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,660 reviews
3.7 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
859 reviews
15.3 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musket Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musket Cove Island Resort

Property: Musket Cove Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Musket Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Musket Cove you'll find the pace of life smooth and unhurried. The resort consists of 55 bures and villas scattered along the beachfront and throughout our tropical landscaped gardens. All rooms are spacious with separate living rooms and quality inclusions. What sets Musket apart is space, with 400 acres of rolling hills and palm fringed beaches to explore there is never a sense of crowding. Muskets world class marina offers a vast selection of water-sports and activities. Or for those wanting to relax, our dedicated Makare Day Spa is a true haven of tranquillity. Musket offers several gourmet-dining options headed by renowned chef Peter Becker and over 150 warm and friendly Fijian staff ready to welcome you to our island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Musket Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musket Cove Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Hotel Musket Cove Island
Musket Cove Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing