We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will not go back.”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Just got back from 5 nights in Shangri-la and 3 nights in Plantation. Although the location is amazing and views are breathtaking, we did not like the place. Our garden terrace room was very far from the beach and resturant, there was a terible smell of sewage on the way, room is very poorly facilitated and beds are not comfortable. Breakfast is boring and service is very slow. Again, the beach is amazing, athmosphere is relaxed and nice, fridnely. However I will not go back, nor will my kids who didn't like it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    639
    257
    131
    94
See reviews for
1,148
217
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Dated facility with failed sewage plant emiting noxious odours daily, contributing to
a host of health issues that followed us home.
Visitor health and safety is non-existant would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Butmord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I'd like to say this is one of the best holidays i've been on - the place was amazing and was total paradise - Ignore the people that give it bad comments.

We paid 1100NZD for 7nights in August - Prettty good for that time of season.

We were greated with Fijian staff singing as we got off the ferry and was given a shell necklace. Our room was lovely - we stayed in a bure it was very spacious. We did have a few cockroaches on the first 2nights but we learnt to leave the lights on when we went out - for some reason if we turned the lights out then came back and put them on the cockroaches would come out. We also had a lizard in our room one night - Im a girly girl and screamed haha - im sure they dont bite but i tucked myself up in bed that night.

The food was good - more choice at the restaurant near the supermarket. Service is FIJI TIME but thats what you expect on holiday and shouldnt be in a rush anyway. The food wasnt that expensive - I'd say average about 20-25NZD for a main meal. Cocktails were quite expensive - I'd say take some wine from home and have a drink in your bure watching the sunset.

There were lots of activities - lots of watersports, day trips, kids club etc. We went on a day trip to Castaway Island - OMG sooooo nice, I'd love to stay there one day. I had my hair cut in the hairdressers on plantation - was a good cut and only 25nzd for ladies long hair.

I'd def recommend this to anyone - any questions give me a shout.

Rach

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We have just returned from a great 10 day break on Plantation Island. The people are wonderful and caring and the island is simply beautiful. We originally booked a hotel room (agains advice from my travel agent), but when we arrived we had been upgraded to a duluxe garden terrace,which was fantastic. I had a look in the hotel rooms and they were not as bad as I expected but were close to main ammenities and may have been a bit noisy. Our garden terrace was close to everyhting but away from the noise of night club etc. Our room had 2 seperate bedrooms with bathroom in between. It was very spacious with a settee and 2 arm chairs.We opened lourve windows and had ceiling fans going and were kept cool on the warmer eveinings. We did have airconditiong but chose not to use. The room was serviced daily and very efficiently.
When we arrived at the island I was blown away by the crystal clear turquiose water and the beaches. Also there to meet us were the staff singing, it was simply out of this world.
Whilst we were at the resort the occupancy was between 80 - and 95% but because the resort is so big it didnt feel crowded. You could always find a hammock or sun lounge.
Our children aged 13 and 10 enjoyed the many activities. Ritchie was certainly a hit with the kids and the fire torch lighting was good to watch. There are plenty of things to do, there is a new mini golf course which is great, tennis, kayaking, snorkelling, fishing etc. We experienced good wheather with only 1 and 1/2 days of rain.The children had there hair braided at the salon and Glenda and Salaseini were just lovely to them.
We were on a meal plan but after about 6 days we became tired of the meals, next time I would definetly only have meal plan for half the time.We ate at Lomani twice (adults only restaurant) and it was fantastic. We were able to get $25 discount per person on these meals because of our meal plan.
One of most enjoyable experiences was a visit to shell island.Whilst there definetly go and visit the school. We took some items for the childrenand they were very much appreciated these.
The free snorkelling trips were also good.
When booking your holiday just watch out for your transfers as we arrived at airport at 6.05am and had cleared customs etc by 6.30am but were not able to catch our transfer bus to marina till 9.30am. We were very tired so we got a taxi and went to marina, so that we could have breakfast.It would have been along wait sitting at airport.
We had a magnificent 10 days on Plantation and will definetly return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robynTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We have just returned from a 9 night holiday staying 7 nights at Plantation Island... What can I say.............truly beautiful.. Both people and place. We are already talking of returning next year. The water is amazing. The coconut trees are beautiful. The people are very friendly and don't seem to get stressed even when island is 94% booked out.. Food was good.. Pools great for both us and kids. We travelled with our 7, 5 and 3 year old children. They also had a ball. Even our 3 year old liked to say "Bula and venaka" to everyone. Terrific place and will definantely stay again. We stayed in a garden bure and would stay there again. Rooms were cleaned everyday which was a nice luxury... thankyou from a well rested family....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florintine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Just got back from a family holiday. Great location and more than happy with the level of accommodation (we stayed in a Deluxe Garden Terrace, 2 adults, one small child). Room was clean and spacious, although the generator or water pump or whatever it was that runs out the back 24/7 did impact sleep from time to time). We went there on the recommendation of friends, who had been there in the low season, I think occupancy was around 30% at the time. I believe it was somewhere around 95% when we were there however (early Sept). A key reason for selecting Plantation was the Kids Club ... but this was a bit of a fizzer .... we ended up paying a babysitter to go with our son the few mornings we sent him there .... despite some reviews, the Kids Club is not a childcare centre. There are no doors / gates / obvious staffing ratios, and your child could easily wander off. That said, the babysitters are FJD3/hr, so not a big deal, but no guarantee of continuity (you can request a specific person, but you may or may not get them). We gave up not long into the game and just opted for the odd evening babysitter instead. Kids Club has some activities, and while I appreciate it is hard to cater to a range of age groups, given the number of kids on the island, a bit more of in the way of age-appropriate programmes could be organised. Some things ran for maybe 30 mins then kids back to their own devices in ball pit / bouncy castle etc. Things like crab hunting were a hit, but littlies really need someone else along for this.
Mealtimes were generally a zoo (generally reflecting the sheer number of people I think, rather than any direct criticism of Plantation ... ). Kids eat earlier, and then get bored while you try and eat. If you want to send them to kids club then that works, but I'd be wanting a babysitter also ....
The bufffet and 3-course meals do change daily, but the a la carte doesn't, and it all gets to be a bit of the same after a while. We also dined at Ananda's (airstrip end) - far quieter, and a bit cheaper, and Lomani's (no kids however) which was a step up quality wise, tho not significantly pricewise (but you need to book a few days ahead). .
Activities - again, a reflection of the place being swamped ... avg 3 day wait to get a massage, island hopping, shell village visit etc etc.
Worth a walk down the beach to Musket Cove (much quieter when we were there).
Other hints we took from previous reviews - take pegs, UHT milk (tho can buy there) and whatever food/drink you can; as it's generally overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InSearchOfSunNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Had a great time once again and we keep looking forward to returning even after travelling there since 1990, about 12 times. Each child has gone just before/after 1st birthday and oldest is now 14. Great value holiday for mum and dad as kids, as long as they can swim seem to amuse themselves.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackTweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
740 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
869 reviews
15.4 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing