We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantation Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Lomani Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
$434
$363
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
$237
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Six Senses Fiji(Malolo Island)
$820
$788
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Likuliku Lagoon Resort(Malolo Island)
$1,093
$1,002
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malolo Island Resort(Malolo Island)(Great Value!)
$343
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Castaway Island Fiji(Castaway Island (Qalito))
$595
$574
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$946
$883
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tropica Island Resort(Malolo Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mana Island Resort(Mana Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bounty Island Resort(Bounty Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,786)
Filter reviews
1,786 results
Traveler rating
594
690
269
132
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
690
269
132
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation islandgarden burekids clubmusket covefamily holidaycoral restaurantmeal planpoolside roomfishcash cardblack corallomani endcoco hutgreat familythree starfiji timebreakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,590 - 1,595 of 1,786 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We have just returned from an 8 day holiday on Plantation Island with our 5 yr old and 3 yr old.

We stayed in an ocean front Bure up near Lomani and it was pure bliss. We have stayed at Plantation last year in a garden bure and would only ever stay in an ocean bure from now on. We swam in the pools in the morning then went up to our bure and the kids played inside (if they had enough of the sun or swimming) or watched a dvd while we lay out the front or went for a swim. The kids could wander out and join us if they wanted to.

The kids ate free while we only had a breakfast plan. We found last time that the buffet everynight was just too much and it was not enough variation.

We ate at Dicks Restauarant on a Thursday night and had the best meal on our holiday, Suckling Pig with buffet and they had a Meke Performance as well. It was also good for a change of scenery.

We went island hopping by hiring our own private boat (which wasn't that much more than the scheduled price) which was great with the kids as we stayed as long as we wanted to on each island. It was a good way to have a look at a few islands. Having done this I would not stay at Mana or Malolo but would stay at Castaway (however the prices here are alot more than Planation, we tried to get into Castaway but it was booked out). Malolo seemed quite small and Mana quite old. We had a pizza at Castaway. (we were allowed to stay for 2 hours instead of the normal 20-30 minutes as we weren't in a big group)

We also went snorkelling and on the sub see which the kids loved. They have also expanded the kids park and added a few trampolines.

Near Anandas Restaurant is a supermarket and we often just bought fresh cheese rolls and put tomato on them. A nice change from restaurant food all the time.

Also good if you aren't on the meal plan are the salads and sandwichs at the cafe near the wharf.

Our flight home was at 3pm and we had to catch the 8.45am Malolo Cat.
What our travel agent didn't tell us is that you can go to Raffles hotel opposite the airport (also owned by Planation Island) and just hire towels for $5 each and swim in their pool. We stayed here for 2 hours which is much better than being at the airport with 2 young kids for 2 hours!

They have a very cool slide that the kids loved. We also had lunch here before going to the airport. There is a free transfer from Port Denaru to Raffles and the airport.

The staff were great. & just love kids. They just need to change the kids lunch menu and include simple things like vegemite or cheese sandwichs!

You just have to remember that this is a 3.5 star resort and you will have a great holiday.

We did.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsmacca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We just came back a couple days ago.
Friendly staff, great enviroment, the accomadation is ok, but food ...((. For couple without children perfect place for dinner is Lamani's Flame Tree Restaurant. Amasing food and staff

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank RitaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Bula! We stayed at Plantation for 10 nights in May with our 2 children aged 6 & 8. It was our 2nd time back and we absolutely loved it....again! We had good intentions of actually using their great kids club this time but found that we had too much fun chilling and exploring with our kids. Any activities the kids did do with the kids club we ended up doing with them as it was so great.

I've read negative reviews about the food and service but you know what? When in Fiji, expect things to roll on Fiji time...slow and relaxing....Plantation Island isn't 5 star so don't expect 5 star! We paid for the breakfast and dinner meal plan. For lunches, we either ate at the kiosk or walked 5 minutes to the shop to buy fresh bread and ate vegemite/peanut butter sandwiches. It freed up our time and we were able to eat lunch when and where we wanted. Nurse Sereana is also wonderful. Our son developed a very irritated and sore eye after having sand in it and she was absolutely wonderful with him.

Could we say one more thing? We found it disgusting the way some guests treat the staff. They were rude, demanding and treated the staff like they were low life slaves...very sad. Some of the staff are quite shy but if you treat them with respect, kind words and lots of smiles, they open up to you and you will discover how beautiful and fun the Fijian people are.

We love the Island, we love the people, we loved our holiday. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldCoastSmithFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Finding a place to cater for 10 adults and 11 children ranging from 14 years to 1 year of age was a challenge in itself. What can I say? Plantation was perfect for us! From the gorgeous ocean -we spent hours swimming, playing and snorkelling ,spotlessly clean garden bures, relaxed atmosphere, great pools, activities for the children, food (yes we all enjoyed the variety and quality of food- ), stuff for older children and adults - snorkelling, water skiing, sailboarding, kayaking, catamaran , fishing, swimming in ocean etc etc.
We were at Plantation for 7 nights and we could have stayed longer.....the island itself is interesting to explore (couple of hours to walk around the whole island) with spectacular views. A lot of the children in our party were in tears when we had to leave, the staff were relaxed and super friendly...and obviously adore children.
However it's probably helpful to know that we are used to holidays where we make our own fun...so in that sense we probably would have been just as happy if all these extra activities etc weren't provided. Our children had just as much fun trying to climb the many coconut trees, inventing numerous coconut games, crab games etc. Adults could relax in the many hammocks or be as active as we wanted.
All 21 of us had a fantastic holiday and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mottyNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Top Spot overall....and yes we would do it again. BUT, luckily we found this website and were prepared somewhat. We had a group ranging from 18months - 70+ yrs. The resort accommodated us all well with a variety of things to do. TIPS: take pegs, take less and wash- facilites are good and $5 for tokens, take wash powder, don't bother catching a "taxi" to gallery as they leave you at bottom of hill to find your own way and once there bit dissapointing., Rooms were spotless each day which makes a holiday for mums, kids club appeared to be a bit disorganised and kids everywhere, people looking after kids looked like they were "over it", booking a babysitter for the under 4's is a must at night but make sure you have a few magazines for them to read. A few hidden costs - if you keep snorkelling gear o/night it will cost you, if you do Island Hop trip it does not include lunch so you pay for trip approx $55-65 + lunch at a very nice resort but $$ so watch that one- but food at this stop would have been best we had all week!
Food- mmm, unfortunately a dissapointment, we had the Meal Plan 1 so we could choose. Problem here- kids went for fried stuff as everything else was ordinary, fruit dreadful, the fish all tasted the same and was not fresh, kids dinners at 5pm were often better so check it out to make a decision. Breakfasts - they do really well , their eggs are great and their pancakes so eat up and miss lunch. Fruit slushie from Cocohut is a light breakkie or lunch but they run out of fruit every day and you have to wait for the boat to come in at10.30am before you can get one. Desserts looked dreadful- go the icecream it was great. Most lunch meals come with chips, dinner vegies lots of spinach, tarro and a pumpkin thingy. 2 of us were ill possibly from under cooked chicken. Lovo Feast a good feed. Pork chops off menu also good. Staff excellent and very "keen" to keep you well watered from the bar. Drinking water supplied to room but pretty yucko so we bought from supermarket all can go on your account. Little boutique with some nice stuff, shop had the basics and medicines but cough mixtures etc take from home. Trip to Village was unguided which was a pity as all we really did was look at the wares the people were selling and almost felt you had to buy. Walking around we felt like we were invading their privacey - a guide and talk would have been good- even though a cheif lives there we saw hardly any men only women selling goods. Shop at Castaway and Muscat cove offers different things. We took over 900 photos and had a geat time and would go again. Beds were very comfy. Michael is excellent at running the activities- ENJOY..

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews