We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome family holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome family holiday!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we travelled from NZ in september 13, with our 2 daughters 6yrs & 8yrs. We chose plantation island resort because of the kids club, but found that we hardly used it as we were so busy every daywith the activities. We took loads of snacks with us which was great for the kids, but there is a little mini supermarket (5min walk away) with most things. Didnt do the meal plan, but found we only really ate breakfast and dinner. I was really nervous about the food as im quite fussy with meat but i was most impressed with the food, it was delicious and lots to choose from. Kids buffet was pretty simple, but the kids were happy with it and ate sooo much mango icecream for dessert they never went hungry. Loved the black coral restaurent, enjoyed a beautiful meal. It is definately a 3 star motel and some of the older rooms could do with a spruce up, but it was clean and tidy. Lovely gardens, and I recommend the $15 boat trip to the sandbar for snorkelling, was amazing but much more enjoyable without the kids. Affordable holiday, great for families. Planning our next trip already :-)

Room Tip: We chose a room close to restaurent and facilities in the older hotel unit, but on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    641
    258
    131
    94
See reviews for
1,150
217
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is our third time to Plantation Island resort and last. Although my husband loves the beach which is located at an inlet, this place is run down and dangerous. My son sliced his foot on the inside of pool on one of the steps. My daughter stumped her toe on one of the playground equipment which was rusty. We had to call our doctor in Melbourne and see the nurse on the island to see if she needed a tetnus shot. The wooden umbrellas have nails sticking out of them and the pool deck chairs are losing pieces. The pontoon which the children use is falling apart with nails sticking out the side in the water. Another child cut his leg on the side. This is too dangerous and someone can /will get seriously hurt. The owners need to start addressing their duty of care to their guests, fix up the essentials and stop building bures to accommodate the masses. Also we went to eat at Lomani restaurant called the Flame tree. We were advised that the lobster would be sufficient for 2 people at a cost of $135FJ it should have been. It was tiny - very disappointing and felt ripped off. There are many resorts and beautiful islands in Fiji that are reasonably priced and will look after the safety of their guests. This one doesn't , so don't waste your time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anavicandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Plantation Island Resort is a great area. Plenty of room to explore, enjoy the sun, water activities and eating. The Fijians were very helpful and good fun. My sons enjoyed scuba diving, snorkelling, we had a fantastic time on the Island Hop visiting other islands on a day cruise. Water was cool and clean. Children enjoyed the slides at the pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Plantation Island Resort for 10 nights in late January 2014, as a family of 6 people including 3 kids aged from 18 months to 8 years old. It was our 5th trip to Fiji!

The best things about Plantation Island is the location amongst clean beautiful water and sand, and the Fijians themselves. The workers at Plantation island are typical Fijians, very friendly and great with kids. We decided on plantation because of the snorkelling, the 2 bedroom bure's, and free kids club.

You can snorkel at the resort, the best place I found was near the Lomani end near the yellow pontoon. Just find coral and you will see the fish. There is not much coral near the Ananda's side. There are hundreds of fish near the jetty, but you can't swim there or you will get a "new haircut"! I bought reef shoes with me, the locals said that there are stone fish and other nasties in the water. I wouldn't risk it without.

The sand bank snorkel trip goes for an hour ($15 [all prices are Fiji dollars]) and was excellent! There were so many tropical fish. You can stand up in the water so young kids are ok! You don't really even need flippers.

Another snorkel trip we did was the Modriki Island trip ($120), where the movie Castaway was filmed, we also spent time snorkeling at Castaway Resort, it has the best coral to be seen! Leave the younger kids behind for this one (baby sitting $4 per hour). It is in a speed boat and gets choppy out on the water. Snorkling is in 8ft of water.

I wouldn't bother with the meal plan, it is no cheaper than paying for what you use. They made a few mistakes in their favour which would have cost me $200 had I not checked the invoice. It was refunded, but who wants to spend an hour of your time on holidays doing this? If you are on a budget, you can bring food in from Australia, just declare it you will not have a problem bringing in cereal (just remember to bring bowls), chips etc. The full breakfast buffet was $35 and continental was $18. I smuggled a case of beer in my luggage that I bought duty free at Nadi, there are signs up at the marina not to take beer!

The water activities are good for kayaking but disorganised in other areas. They have 2 Hobie cats, but disappointingly both are broken. They have SUPs ($20), but are the plastic type. Getting sailboard lessons was near impossible, they were too busy doing nothing!

Be careful with the cots there, our toddler was able to climb out as the sides were too short.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family bure. It was very nice inside as it had been recently updated. I estimate about 30% of rooms had been updated. They rip everything out on the inside out and replace everything. Definitely go for the Lomani end. The other end near Anandas is not as nice. They have just dredged a new marina near the airport which is an eye sore at low tide. The beach front rooms on that side is a lot further back. Our room had water views whereas some others in the same category do not. I would not have been happy to have one of the old rooms with no water views and pay the same price!

Wifi internet is $80 for 7 days with Tomizone for 3gb (they have other plans as well). The same account voucher works at the airport and Raffles Gateway also. It is slow, but skype works well. You have to deselect wifi on one device if you want to use it on another.

The weather in January/February was generally good. We did have 2 days of the heaviest rain that I have ever seen (due to a "tropical depression"), but other than that we had blue skies for the remainder. It was hot but not as hot as it is on the mainland in Nadi. No thunderstorms/rain like they had on the mainland (you could see the build ups in the distance). Pool temperature was warm, but definitely not hot like others have said.

The kids loved the kids club! They have 2 ping pong tables and an indoor play gym, ball pit, and a toddler play area. They did watch quite a few movies but did other activities as well, like putt putt, tshirt painting, crab hunting etc. There were about 4 Fijians working for the kids club.

The golf course is picturesque but desperately needs maintenance. Most of the greens had not been mowed, and you could loose your ball on the fairway. Also weeds in the bunker, the sand was rock hard!

The resort itself really needs bulldozing, it looks like it was made in the 70's. There is 1 room with 4 different types of mismatched tiles! The tiles are very slippery in the wet. Unlike other resorts, if it rains they close the wooden shutters and you have no outside view whatsoever! There are no windows. Birds are constantly in the eating area. When the weather is good the view is spectacular!

The boat transfers from Port Denauru is quite expensive, around $500 return for us. I did see a trip posted on Plantation where you can do a tour of Lautoka and a couple of other places, for $70 per person one way, this may be of use when leaving Plantation, because it is about the same price for the boat transfer only.

The food is average at best. Most meals were served stone cold at room temperature. At a buffet, the food was sitting there so long that the fish dish was cold and rubbery! They do a good steak ($45) but it is served cold. Anandas is better (bring the aerogard!) but you get better food at your local RSL. Buffet breakfast is poor, you can have the scrambled egg that had been sitting there for 2 hours or a freshly made omelet, no other egg options. If they do the alacarte breakfast is is much better but this is not always the case.

There was a gastro breakout on the Island when we were there. Our entire family had gastro from day 3 onwards, and so did quite a few other guests. I just read a few previous posts and it looks like they had the same issues.... It may have been the filtered water they provide or the meal preparation. Either way, bring the Lomotil, you're going to need a lot of it (they sell it at the resort)!!

Not the best resort that we have stayed at. Of the resorts we have stayed, the better ones are for a similar price are:-

1. Shangri-La on the coral coast;
2.The Warwick on the Coral Coast;
3. Mana Island;
4. Plantation Island Resort;
5. The Naviti on the coral coast.
We usually stay at Raffles Gateway next to the airport, it is clean, and has a great kids water slide! The food is ok, but expensive!

We would go back to Plantation, but not in a hurry. I would avoid during the peak season as it is a very big resort and I don't think that the facilities could cope when there are 800+ guests.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Cavok123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is good fun. My second time back and yes it is a little dated and not 5 star, but it certainly makes up for it with activities and service. I don't know why Andrea W below would pay a fortune for bottled water when they fill your water for you free of charge. Further if you want to purchase it, it is only $2.50FJD for 1.5litres from any outlet on the island, the cheapest bottled water in fiji. Lost as to how she also managed to pay $750 for a beachfront room. We get 2 bedroom Beachfront bures there with meals for around $1200 for 5 nights, and that's for 4 people. The kids will love it and you will too. Always come back here for a few days at least when I visit fiji.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukeesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Loved Plantation, yes things may be a little run down and in need of repair and a spruce up, though staff are friendly and are proud and are trying to do their best with what they are provided from the property owners.

Awesome for kids, beautiful beaches and location, food is o.k., accommodation can do with a remodel though rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and air conditioned. The way we look at it is you are only sleeping in the rooms, you are walking out of your room and straight onto the white sand then crystal clear waters then it doesn't bother us!

Don't go with high expectations, you have to remember that you are getting for what you pay for, if you want 5* luxury stay elsewhere at the premium rate. On our latest visit to Fiji, we met family and ended up wasting 5 nights on Denarau prior to going to Plantation Island, we could not wait to get out of the place and experience the real Fiji. The 5 star major chain resorts may have all the luxuries but don't have the true Fijian hospitality, atmosphere or scenery. I would never stay on Denarau again, though I would stay at Plantation Island again in a heartbeat!

Our 6 year old enjoyed himself, loved the activities, kids club were awesome to him; and if he's happy, then our holiday is worthwhile!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want to pay for and what is 'You',
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Heysys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This resort feels more like a kids' summer camp than a resort. We stayed in a beachfront room for $750 per night which was very overpriced, considering next door's Musket Coves' beachfront rooms are less expensive and the resort is far more civilized. We did not purchase meal plans (thankfully) as we ate here only once and were sick the next day. The buffet area and kitchen area do not look clean at all. Some staff were friendly but most were not. Walk up to the bar during the day and expect to wait a while before anyone notices you. We asked if we could get a refund for our remaining days and move to the resort next door but our request was declined; fair enough, but it may have redeemed them somewhat. Water in the rooms is not drinkable so we spent a fortune on bottled water, which may be the case for the whole island. Will likely never return to Malololailai.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
740 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
869 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing