We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Each to their Own'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“'Each to their Own'”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Loved Plantation, yes things may be a little run down and in need of repair and a spruce up, though staff are friendly and are proud and are trying to do their best with what they are provided from the property owners.

Awesome for kids, beautiful beaches and location, food is o.k., accommodation can do with a remodel though rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and air conditioned. The way we look at it is you are only sleeping in the rooms, you are walking out of your room and straight onto the white sand then crystal clear waters then it doesn't bother us!

Don't go with high expectations, you have to remember that you are getting for what you pay for, if you want 5* luxury stay elsewhere at the premium rate. On our latest visit to Fiji, we met family and ended up wasting 5 nights on Denarau prior to going to Plantation Island, we could not wait to get out of the place and experience the real Fiji. The 5 star major chain resorts may have all the luxuries but don't have the true Fijian hospitality, atmosphere or scenery. I would never stay on Denarau again, though I would stay at Plantation Island again in a heartbeat!

Our 6 year old enjoyed himself, loved the activities, kids club were awesome to him; and if he's happy, then our holiday is worthwhile!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want to pay for and what is 'You',
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Heysys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    645
    261
    131
    95
See reviews for
1,163
217
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This resort feels more like a kids' summer camp than a resort. We stayed in a beachfront room for $750 per night which was very overpriced, considering next door's Musket Coves' beachfront rooms are less expensive and the resort is far more civilized. We did not purchase meal plans (thankfully) as we ate here only once and were sick the next day. The buffet area and kitchen area do not look clean at all. Some staff were friendly but most were not. Walk up to the bar during the day and expect to wait a while before anyone notices you. We asked if we could get a refund for our remaining days and move to the resort next door but our request was declined; fair enough, but it may have redeemed them somewhat. Water in the rooms is not drinkable so we spent a fortune on bottled water, which may be the case for the whole island. Will likely never return to Malololailai.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with 2 adults and three children. The location is great, beautiful beach, tropical waters. Also the bures themselves are good, spacious, have aircon and are quite nice. However the resort itself left a LOT to be desired. It looks better in photos and it is very rundown (watch for splinters around the pools on the old decking and one person told us she stubbed her toe on the broken tiles poolside). However you could overlook all this if the food was decent. The breakfast buffet just passes muster (if you like basic, cordial type orange juice and getting your weetbix out of of plastic food storage container) but the lunch and dinner buffets were the worst we have seen anywhere The reviews we did read prior to going talked about bad school camp food and we thought they were exaggerating -- they weren't! Our funniest moment of the holiday was saying to one another maybe we were being too harsh about the buffets when two minutes later we get in the pool and hear one guy warn a newcomer about the food poisoning he got from the buffet and what not to eat to 'survive' his stay (his words)! Even our kids were squeamish at the thought of the buffet and they usually eat anything! We went to Musket Cove for lunch once and that was it - we were over there the last two nights (bliss!). Musket Cove was packed with 'refugees from Plantation' - all talking about the awful food, its woeful presentation and the lack of service (even though the staff are nice people). The activites weren't cheap (but the babysitting is), the kids club is ok (very rundown).The catamaran was so badly serviced the mast broke and fell on my husbands head (ouch) but we did enjoy the kayaks. Overall we had an ok trip. Would we go back - no, there are too many good options in Fiji! We did read the bad reviews before going but having been there 20 years ago (so we knew the location was good) we thought the people must be exaggerating about the resorts state (they weren't). If you insist on going, get a super super super cheap deal stay at Plantation, have breakfast there and have every dinner at Musket Cove. Good luck!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I travelled with my 6 year old son and we had an excellent time. The resort is geared towards families and children. We found the other guests friendly which meant all the children soon found holiday buddies to hang around with. The kids club is awesome. Very safe swimming in the calm, crystal clear waters, plentiful fish life, snorkelling was fun. At the boat shed you can hire kayaks and paddle around and tie up at the pontoon before jumping in with all the sea life and snorkelling. Also the resort has 3 pools to choose from. Kids pool has a slide. Other activities include organised trips, evening entertainment in the restaurant/bar, table tennis, golf, mini golf, games room, gift/craft stores, tennis court. There is endless things to do. Tips for people travelling to Plantation: Organise a cash card which you can load your FJD onto. This card gives you a remaining balance printout after each purchase at the resort. You can also charge to your room number account if you want. Ananda's restaurant is excellent, great food and friendly Fijian service. The buffet we found average and the hi gene was a little doubtful with the flies landing on uncovered buffet food. We preferred to eat at the snack bar for lunch or buy some supplies at Ananda's supermarket. Think about packing food and supplies from home rather than paying higher than normal prices for general goods. Be prepared for Island time at the bar as it can take sometime to get service. I also found the the 1 hour Kayak hire rule was silly especially if you wanted to plan a trip further around the island with a picnic lunch.
We would Definitely return to Plantation and loved this island paradise and everything outdoors the resort had to offer. Don't forget this insect repellant and plenty of sunscreen. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Try and request something on the beach front, we stayed in 305 and loved it. There is a mixture of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our first trip to Plantation Island and it is a great place for families, We travelled from 28the Dec to 6 Jan 2014. We stayed in a Beach Front Bure.
This is only a 3 star resort but it is still awesome for families to relax and swim. IT WAS HOT, VERY HOT. We still had a great time. We liked not having a tv and all the other stuff as we used them all the time - so that was great. The staff couldn't help us enough - we moved Bures so we could be next door to our friends. We cant complain about the staff or service.
Our daughter loved swimming, snorkelling and kids club, we travelled out to the sand bank and snorkelled around that which was AWESOME. We enjoyed the Island life and our time but we would only go for 4 to 5 days next time. The resort pools were like bath water as it was HOT, but it was still enjoyable the kids had a great time especially on the water slide.
We took our food for breakfast which was great, we took a toasted sandwich maker, water, soft drink and snack through customs without any problems. For lunch we got bread from Amandas, and made toasted sandwichs, we would have a slushy in the afternoon. For evening meals we checked out Amandas, the resort restaurant and Musket cove, we never made it to the adults only resort for a meal. We preferred the Musket cove restaurant, we took our daughter here and her meal was yum, they even drove us back to our resort which was good.
We were their for NYE and that was a great night - food was nice.
My only negatives are the air cons need up dating in the rooms - in our second bure it was working much better. And at the main restaurant would set up the buffet into the bays at 5.00pm and the restaurant doesn't start service until 6.00pm during this time the lids weren't on right and fly's were sitting on the food. We did not eat any buffet meals on the island anywhere because of this reason. We would go back because of where it is, but for 4 or 5 days. Great to relax, great for kids, which was nice. Great value for money too.

Room Tip: Bure's 306 was our second move and that was great. New bathroom and air con worked better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AskAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Forget star ratings etc. if you are in need of a holiday that will completely d stress you this is the place. No tv, no radio, no timekeeping, this is bliss. Blend in with Fiji time, slow go with the flow. I read 7 books in five days, swam a million times, snorkeled, fished, played billiards, cards, mini putt putt, etc etc. Fijian staff are wonderful, the Delhi brigade were not. Don't buy the meal package. I bought half board and this cost 75.00 per day. In reality, breakfast was 28.00 and dinner 40.00. Room was clean and huge. Air con worked a treat. My fussy 15 yr old son summed it.....pretty cool and how can anyone get upset with the lovely staff. Leave your expectations at home and just go slow and show manners. Some AUst and NZers were horribly unpleasant nd rude to the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank OzRobBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family of five adults was very disappointed in our stay during Christmas week..having said that, I can see why families with young children, or perhaps elderly parents, might really enjoy it. (Flat walkways well maintained, shallow, nearly wave-less ocean bay and three swimming pools, and a kids' club that looked like fun.) The bures/rooms were large, with a large double bed and two couches that could be single beds for children. Each room had a tea kettle and fridge and ac, and the rooms were kept clean. There was a scarcity of porch chairs and almost no beach chairs - staff were nowhere to be seen at pools or beach, so guests were lugging very heavy chairs back and forth from poolside to beachside, and competing for them. Plus they were very uncomfortable - reference was made to cushions but no one ever found any. Hammocks were few and missing many strands, so uncomfortable. There was a very very long wait to check in through a very inefficient process, check out was slightly better. The orientation to PIR was extremely scanty. Every day a lone man picked up litter in a desultory fashion, but it was all over the place - near the bures, on the beach, etc. The wait for food (except during buffets) was very long - many people, including us, waited three hours for even a first course. The food was of the cheapest ingredients, lots of starches, and yet very expensively priced at both restaurants. The two snack bars were okay. The meal plans were also very overpriced -- far better, if you go to PIR, to pay-as-you go, bring some of your own food and snacks, and buy some food in the two small shops. We gave up and walked to the neighboring resorts, where the food was equally expensive, but quite good. Kayaks were for one hour only and included, but we had to pay for paddle boards --why? The snorkeling trips were also more expensive than elsewhere in Fiji, and sadly, the three places we went to all had very dead reefs with few fish. Scenery to and from the sites was nice, if you like looking at different resorts. The putt putt golf course and tennis courts are completely degraded. The golf course must once have been nice, but is also run down, yet expensive to play there. The live music, done by very nice men, was sadly painful to listen to. We did enjoy the very good Christmas choir, although since it consisted of waiters and waitresses, our meal got even more delayed. While the staff constantly greeted everyone with "Bula" and a smile, this could not compensate for most of them seeming to be unhappy and lacking morale and service/customer oriented spirit. Since there is an airstrip just between PIR and the next resort, be ready for sound and sight of charter flights taking off and landing. Even though it was peak holiday season, about half of the rooms seemed vacant. Fiji has so much better to offer for the same price...

Room Tip: If you still want to go here, make sure you do not get a room near the jetty and activity center. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KareninFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
749 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
9.1 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,584 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing