We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed at Plantation for 6 nights booked direct as part of their package pay for 5, get one of the island and one at Raffles free so it was a good deal. We had a 2 bedroom bure though it was one of the 400 series, older but very spacious. We had booked a 200 so I was bit annoyed. It was basically 2 units opened into one with two queen beds in seperate rooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 toilets and 2 sitting rooms with 4 single space sleeping couches. It had 2 patio areas with 2 hammocks, so very big for our family of 5. It was close to the foodstore, Anandas restaurant, putt putt, tennis courts, large kids pool and not far to the beach. It had a kitchen area but only a kettle and a few cups, no microwave or cutlery which was a pain for heating milk, or spreading sandwiches. Previous reports of cuts from the tiles in the big pool are correct however they are sanding them down at the moment so it should help, though my kids wore reef shoes.
The better beach area is right up near the main restaurant near the watersports and pontoon, crystal clear with tons of fish. There is alot of dead coral but if you go out from the pontoon in the deeper area area is still nice and there were tons of blue starfish and we could handfeed clownfish with bread. The kids loved that. Service was not great at reception, restaurants, etc , though everyone was extremely laidback and friendly but different staff told us different things everyday. We did the breakfast/dinner mealplan with worked out a good option as the snackbar was very pricey for lunch for 5- $40 plus and it was a long walk to Musket Cove for a toddler. They had hot chickens for about $8.00. Bring plenty of cash for snacks, etc as their are no price stickers at the foodstores and some things are a fortune, a bag of treat size kit kats for $14.
If you are diving they are a bit backwards, regulators didn't work well, back ups non existant, boats ran out of petrol and they couldn't find moorings.
My kids didn't use the kids club which is free except for some night time activities and then a movie which my older two enjoyed. However the nightly torch lighting along the beach at 7pm is the highlight of the kids night.
We did get a stinky smell right outside our bedroom one night, I think a pipe had burst but they could only give us a smaller room so we just aired it out for a few hours and it was gone.
It was a great place for our family though and if you forget about all the little things it was the best location of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brissiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,629 - 1,635 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2008

We are a family of four and stayed at Plantation island from the 11th July 2008 for 5 nights.

We were booked into the upstairs hotel rooms, after the long checkin routine we were shown to our room, we were disappointed with the room on first seeing it but decided that you don't spend alot of time it and anyway we were in fiji and it was sunny and warm so make the most of it..

That was until we went to give the children a shower and thats when we had the first of our problems with water, when we turned on the hot water tap nothing came out, this went on for two days with maintenance coming and trying to fix the problem, after two nights of no hot water we asked to be moved, which was granted the next day, We later found out from reception that there was a water pressure problem on the island, this could be more of a problem when the new conference centre is completed and more demand generated.

The food was average, we always found the food ok not nothing to write home about (that if they didn't forget you as happened to us on our last night and having to ask three different waiters about it) The Chairs in the main resturant have seen better days with back chair pads missing and small tacks sticking out, which caught our clothing on more than one occassion.

Service was slow, more so for drinks with most of the time we were up to the end of the main course before our drinks arrived and twice at lunch we had finished lunch and still no drinks.

The beach, the weather and location were perfect.

We were dissapointed with the staff in general terms with staff often turning their heads away so they would not have to acknowlege you, after having come from a large resort on the main land where you could not walk past a staff member and not get a friendly and heartfelt bula this was a let down, even more so for the kids, who always loved this at the other resort.

In gerneral we had a good time but i think it was more the location and the weather and the people we meet rather than the actual resort which is looking rather tried and in need of a
little TLC.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonggirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

My partner and I have returned from 4 wonderful day/nights at plantation island. The weather was amazing and the staff, atmosphere and location are things we wont forget in a hurry. There are plenty of activities, from golf & snorkelling to sunset cruises and island cruises. We had an amazing time and the food/drink was great. The staff work hard at ensuring that you are not waiting around for anything!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keen2_travelnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We spent 5 nights at Plantation Island in July 2008 after having spent 5 nights at The Navit Resort on the Coral Coast. We travelled in a group of 16 consisting of 8 adults and 8 children ranging in age from 9 to 14.

Plantation Island is everything you picuture about Fiji. Sun, hammocks near the beach, water activiities, palm trees etc.

We had a garden burea which overlooked the beach. The burea was good size and clean and comfortable. The water activities were great. If you are going snorkelling go and your snorkles early in the morning and book in a day or 2 before for snorkelling and scuba lessons as they can get booked out. It was great being able to swap beach towels whenever we wanted. There was a clothes line outside our burea which was great for drying swimmers etc.

The food was very average in the main restaurant particularly after coming from 'the all inclusive package at The Naviti". The docket system was frustrating and could have been run better. It was easier to go with the flow than let frustration ruin our holiday.
We ate 4 out of the 5 nights at Ananda's and the staff were great and food was pretty good. They gave you a $25 credit per head for adults if you were on the meal plan option at the resort and kids meals were free if on the resort meal plan.

We wanted to buy beer at Port Denaru but our transfer was late thanks to Fiji time. Definately much cheaper to buy it at the port than on the island. We took our duty free and the guys paid $4.50FJD x 24 for a case of beer (they don't discount on the island). We bought our mixers at the supermarket on the island and had our own happy hour each night before dinner.

The snorkelling trip was really good and we went twice. Coral is starting to die off but saw some spectacular fish.

Just before we arrived they introduced a $6 per head petrol levy on all motorised water activities but it was still worth it. Please note as you need a boat to get to the reef the snorkellling trip gets charged the $6 levy.

Really enjoyed the 5 days there. Just enought to feel relaxed. Great way to wind down

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My Boyfriend and I just returned from Plantation Island and fell in love with it.
I wasnt expecting such an amazing island with such friendly staff, it definately exceeded my expectaions. The weather was perfect and our studio garden bure was awesome (room 305 was infront of the beach.)The bwater was crystal blue and meal deals were great value for many..
We will be definately be going back next time for 10 days!! Who knows might even make a wedding out of it!

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank Djcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Just returned from 7 days at Plantation Island and it was fantastic. We went with kids varied in age from 4, 13, 17 and 20 and everyone enjoyed it. My 13 year old made a friend straight away thank god so they were just off doing their own thing the whole time which was great.

We had an interconnecting bure on the 200 series side (which is the best bures) just one step back from the beach - our rooms were 231/232. it was great having your own space and 2 of everything, 2 living areas, 2 bathrooms etc. The rooms were spacious and quite nice. The beach is fantastic, high tide is best for swimming, but low tide is good for snorkling. We went snorkling straight off the beach most days, but you can get taken out to the sandbar not far off the island and go snorkling there, it's much better. Clear water and beautiful fish. We also did an island hop with going to Mana, Malolo, Castaway and Walu (which we ended up opting out of Walu as it looked terrible!) Mana was pretty nice and Castaway was beautiful (5 star resort though) but we were only allowed to stay there for 1.2 an hour so that was a shame. It did make us realise that Plantation was pretty good though comparing the other resorts, the beach at Plantation is fabulous, the activites and the size of the island and the other resorts to nosey at are a bonus. I would say Plantation is excellent value for money and we were more than happy to be there after seeing the other islands.

I wouldn't recommend the meal plan. We got Breakfast and Dinner meal plan, and it was a full american cooked breakfast as well as the continental which was just too much and the continental breakfast wasn't impressive at all. After eating such a huge breakfast you don't need lunch as it lasts you till dinner. The meal plan only allowed the buffet dinner or the chefs special which we got really sick of the buffet and would have liked to have been able to pick of the menu or just have an entree if desired. I actually think it would work out cheaper to just pay as you go with the food and at least you could choose what you wanted instead of feeling like you had to get your moneys worth out of the buffet which is $31 anyway, the most expensive. Anandas restaurant on the resort is really worth going too, I would highly recommend it, the food is far nicer than the main restaurant. This was the only thing we would definately change.

Take snacks with you for sure. The iced coffees and smoothies etc are really nice. Some things are really overpriced, others arent. The little supermarket next to Anundas restaurant has bread and rolls and ham etc so you can keep it in your room if you feel peckish. Be careful with the water though, we all got crook tummys!

I would definately go back to Plantation, the staff are friendly, the facilities are great and the kids just love it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NewZealandSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Prior to going to Plantation Island Resort I have to say that I was slightly dubious about it being a 3.5 star property. Now that we have been, I thought it was absolutely fantastic and wouldn't go anywhere else for value for money.

We travelled with our 3 sons (14, 9 and 7) and another family with 3 kids of similar ages. We took the Malolo cat to the island and the welcome was lovely! A short talk/tour and then into the lounge for a fruit cocktail. We kept our kids togs in a separate carry bag, so they all got changed and swam straight away. We were taken to our rooms which seemed miles away. When the guy opened the door, I nearly fainted! The room was awesome! We had booked a Garden Studio Bure, but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom Garden Hotel Room. This room had a front lounge, kid’s room, parent’s room and back lounge!! Amazing and very clean and tidy. Incidently we were in rooms 250 and 251. Talking to others it sounds like the 200 rooms are the newest.

We took a 5 day meal plan and we stayed for 8 nights. This meant we could dine elsewhere if we wanted to, which was great. Our meal plan was for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We probably could have left out lunch, but it was so cheap that it didn't matter! Kid’s meals were pretty good. By the end of the holiday we had all had enough of the food, but that is not a reflection on the quality, just the whole, 'ready for home cooking' thing!

The Coconut shack did awesome Iced Mocha's and Chocolate. The cocktails were excellent! And at $14 not too expensive. We went to Ananda's a couple of times and had mixed reactions to the food. I had their steak and it was beautiful! Hubby liked their Chicken 'Gordon Blue' (Spelt that way in the menu!). Kids didn't like the baked beans that came with every meal.

We had dinner at Lomani Resort (adults only) and it was excellent. Both families hired a babysitter each, which worked really well. Neither of us could bring ourselves to pay the ladies $3 per hour per room, so paid them extra.

The pool we spent most time at was the big one beside the kid’s pool. That way the kids could go back and forth. We snorkelled off the beach up the Lomani end and it was very good. We went on the free snorkelling trip which was also very good. The two Dads took the teenagers deep sea fishing. Didn't catch a thing! The other Mum and I did the Island Hop. We went to Mana, Castaway, Malolo Resort and Walu Beach Resort. It was after this trip that I realised just how good Plantation was. All of us went on the Dolphin safari and luck was on our side, we were treated to a huge pod of Spinner dolphins, then a Snorkel at Brigham Reef after, which was superb!

Overall, I would have to say, if you are expecting something flash, don't go. If you think people should serve you quickly, don't go. If you want to go somewhere where your kids will have a ball, go. If you want a holiday too, go. If you want somewhere clean and tidy, go.

The staff were all very friendly, but I think that has something to do with the way you as a visitor treat them. Bear in mind that this is a BIG resort. When we left, the resort was 85% capacity and there were 535 people.

We will definately return, just wish it was now!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bizzygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
772 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,378 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
789 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $134 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing