We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you picture Fiji to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you picture Fiji to be”
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We spent 5 nights at Plantation Island in July 2008 after having spent 5 nights at The Navit Resort on the Coral Coast. We travelled in a group of 16 consisting of 8 adults and 8 children ranging in age from 9 to 14.

Plantation Island is everything you picuture about Fiji. Sun, hammocks near the beach, water activiities, palm trees etc.

We had a garden burea which overlooked the beach. The burea was good size and clean and comfortable. The water activities were great. If you are going snorkelling go and your snorkles early in the morning and book in a day or 2 before for snorkelling and scuba lessons as they can get booked out. It was great being able to swap beach towels whenever we wanted. There was a clothes line outside our burea which was great for drying swimmers etc.

The food was very average in the main restaurant particularly after coming from 'the all inclusive package at The Naviti". The docket system was frustrating and could have been run better. It was easier to go with the flow than let frustration ruin our holiday.
We ate 4 out of the 5 nights at Ananda's and the staff were great and food was pretty good. They gave you a $25 credit per head for adults if you were on the meal plan option at the resort and kids meals were free if on the resort meal plan.

We wanted to buy beer at Port Denaru but our transfer was late thanks to Fiji time. Definately much cheaper to buy it at the port than on the island. We took our duty free and the guys paid $4.50FJD x 24 for a case of beer (they don't discount on the island). We bought our mixers at the supermarket on the island and had our own happy hour each night before dinner.

The snorkelling trip was really good and we went twice. Coral is starting to die off but saw some spectacular fish.

Just before we arrived they introduced a $6 per head petrol levy on all motorised water activities but it was still worth it. Please note as you need a boat to get to the reef the snorkellling trip gets charged the $6 levy.

Really enjoyed the 5 days there. Just enought to feel relaxed. Great way to wind down

  • Liked — Looked liked a fiji brochure
  • Disliked — Food and having to come home
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    645
    261
    131
    95
See reviews for
1,163
217
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My Boyfriend and I just returned from Plantation Island and fell in love with it.
I wasnt expecting such an amazing island with such friendly staff, it definately exceeded my expectaions. The weather was perfect and our studio garden bure was awesome (room 305 was infront of the beach.)The bwater was crystal blue and meal deals were great value for many..
We will be definately be going back next time for 10 days!! Who knows might even make a wedding out of it!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Djcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Just returned from 7 days at Plantation Island and it was fantastic. We went with kids varied in age from 4, 13, 17 and 20 and everyone enjoyed it. My 13 year old made a friend straight away thank god so they were just off doing their own thing the whole time which was great.

We had an interconnecting bure on the 200 series side (which is the best bures) just one step back from the beach - our rooms were 231/232. it was great having your own space and 2 of everything, 2 living areas, 2 bathrooms etc. The rooms were spacious and quite nice. The beach is fantastic, high tide is best for swimming, but low tide is good for snorkling. We went snorkling straight off the beach most days, but you can get taken out to the sandbar not far off the island and go snorkling there, it's much better. Clear water and beautiful fish. We also did an island hop with going to Mana, Malolo, Castaway and Walu (which we ended up opting out of Walu as it looked terrible!) Mana was pretty nice and Castaway was beautiful (5 star resort though) but we were only allowed to stay there for 1.2 an hour so that was a shame. It did make us realise that Plantation was pretty good though comparing the other resorts, the beach at Plantation is fabulous, the activites and the size of the island and the other resorts to nosey at are a bonus. I would say Plantation is excellent value for money and we were more than happy to be there after seeing the other islands.

I wouldn't recommend the meal plan. We got Breakfast and Dinner meal plan, and it was a full american cooked breakfast as well as the continental which was just too much and the continental breakfast wasn't impressive at all. After eating such a huge breakfast you don't need lunch as it lasts you till dinner. The meal plan only allowed the buffet dinner or the chefs special which we got really sick of the buffet and would have liked to have been able to pick of the menu or just have an entree if desired. I actually think it would work out cheaper to just pay as you go with the food and at least you could choose what you wanted instead of feeling like you had to get your moneys worth out of the buffet which is $31 anyway, the most expensive. Anandas restaurant on the resort is really worth going too, I would highly recommend it, the food is far nicer than the main restaurant. This was the only thing we would definately change.

Take snacks with you for sure. The iced coffees and smoothies etc are really nice. Some things are really overpriced, others arent. The little supermarket next to Anundas restaurant has bread and rolls and ham etc so you can keep it in your room if you feel peckish. Be careful with the water though, we all got crook tummys!

I would definately go back to Plantation, the staff are friendly, the facilities are great and the kids just love it.

  • Liked — Fabulous beach, great activites, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Buffet food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NewZealandSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Prior to going to Plantation Island Resort I have to say that I was slightly dubious about it being a 3.5 star property. Now that we have been, I thought it was absolutely fantastic and wouldn't go anywhere else for value for money.

We travelled with our 3 sons (14, 9 and 7) and another family with 3 kids of similar ages. We took the Malolo cat to the island and the welcome was lovely! A short talk/tour and then into the lounge for a fruit cocktail. We kept our kids togs in a separate carry bag, so they all got changed and swam straight away. We were taken to our rooms which seemed miles away. When the guy opened the door, I nearly fainted! The room was awesome! We had booked a Garden Studio Bure, but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom Garden Hotel Room. This room had a front lounge, kid’s room, parent’s room and back lounge!! Amazing and very clean and tidy. Incidently we were in rooms 250 and 251. Talking to others it sounds like the 200 rooms are the newest.

We took a 5 day meal plan and we stayed for 8 nights. This meant we could dine elsewhere if we wanted to, which was great. Our meal plan was for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We probably could have left out lunch, but it was so cheap that it didn't matter! Kid’s meals were pretty good. By the end of the holiday we had all had enough of the food, but that is not a reflection on the quality, just the whole, 'ready for home cooking' thing!

The Coconut shack did awesome Iced Mocha's and Chocolate. The cocktails were excellent! And at $14 not too expensive. We went to Ananda's a couple of times and had mixed reactions to the food. I had their steak and it was beautiful! Hubby liked their Chicken 'Gordon Blue' (Spelt that way in the menu!). Kids didn't like the baked beans that came with every meal.

We had dinner at Lomani Resort (adults only) and it was excellent. Both families hired a babysitter each, which worked really well. Neither of us could bring ourselves to pay the ladies $3 per hour per room, so paid them extra.

The pool we spent most time at was the big one beside the kid’s pool. That way the kids could go back and forth. We snorkelled off the beach up the Lomani end and it was very good. We went on the free snorkelling trip which was also very good. The two Dads took the teenagers deep sea fishing. Didn't catch a thing! The other Mum and I did the Island Hop. We went to Mana, Castaway, Malolo Resort and Walu Beach Resort. It was after this trip that I realised just how good Plantation was. All of us went on the Dolphin safari and luck was on our side, we were treated to a huge pod of Spinner dolphins, then a Snorkel at Brigham Reef after, which was superb!

Overall, I would have to say, if you are expecting something flash, don't go. If you think people should serve you quickly, don't go. If you want to go somewhere where your kids will have a ball, go. If you want a holiday too, go. If you want somewhere clean and tidy, go.

The staff were all very friendly, but I think that has something to do with the way you as a visitor treat them. Bear in mind that this is a BIG resort. When we left, the resort was 85% capacity and there were 535 people.

We will definately return, just wish it was now!!

  • Liked — The fantastic room we ended up in! It was far enough away to be peaceful too.
  • Disliked — The long walk to the pool and dining area.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bizzygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Plantation Island Resort had everything I imagined in a South Pacific island getaway.

After spending one night in Nadi, my 14 year old daughter and I flew to Plantation by helicopter. A little expensive perhaps but a trully spectacular way to begin our holiday. We opted for a beach front bure on the 200 series side of the resort (based on advise from previous reviewers) and could not have been happier. There is something special about waking each morning and opening the window shutters to find the Pacific Ocean beckoning at your doorstep.

There is a reef some 50 meters from the shore line than drops away dramatically into a much deeper boating channel. The snorkelling along this reef was spectacular, with thousands of multi coloured fish (yes - even Nemos) feeding off the reef, particularly on the incoming tide.

The staff were warm and wonderful, always helpful and clearly loved their jobs (who wouldn't). Food was always plentiful. We opted not to commit to a meal deal to leave our options open. Each evening you can choose between an a-la-carte menu, a set menu or the daily themed buffet.

The accommodation was comfortable and serviced daily. The furnishings were not plush, but I had not expected them to be. There was no television, but after a day in the sun, a three course evening meal, and a variety of nightly entertainment, a comfortable bed was all that was required.

Plenty of water activities freely available as well as island hopping trips and visits to local villages for a small cost. We stayed six nights and were lucky enough to strike perfect weather the entire time, which enabled us to experience just about all that Plantation had to offer.

If you are searching for paradise without a five star expectation, you really could not go past Plantation Island Resort in my opinion.

  • Liked — Beach front bure
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BigAlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Just got back from a wonderful family holiday at Plantation Island Resort.
Kids (aged 8 and 10) were busy all day either snorkelling, kayaking (free loan) swimming or at kids club, where they made lots of friends. Movie nights (7.30 to 9) meant we got some peace and quiet for an after dinner drink!
We had a 2 bedroom garden bure, which turned out to be 2 studio bures with an interconnecting door - prob overkill but our kids are noisy sleepers so we need a separate bedroom!
Pluses - the setting (stunning) range of activities (and we didn't even get round to all the trips you could do...) and the relaxed feeling - this is a real 'holiday'. My husband and I did the round island (guided) walk which gave a real perspective of the island and we flew back to Nadi, which was much better than the Malolo Cat.
Minuses - the food at the resort - DON'T do the meal packages - there are other restaurants to explore and you can buy food from the little supermarkets and they don't save you much anyway and the check in procedure.
Recommendations - take a box of water , and softdrainks/snacks wth you (buy from Nadi supermarket) and just chill out and forget the rest of the world exists.

  • Liked — Scenery, activities, laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — Food, check in
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WindyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

bula, got a 7 ngt pkg 2 ngts at raffles good transit hotel 15 min ride to nadi nice pool rooms clean staff friendly food a bit pricey. 5 ngts at plantation resort in large clean tidy pool view room took meal pkg cont. bfast buffet lunch and dinner found this too much food next time bfast and dinner would be enough. food was great with a big selection and a different theme each ngt. nightly entertainment from a nice band then crab races ,bingo, frog races and a fire dance one night which was great. a fun place for all loved the snorkeling ,surfing namoto lefts it was pumping. daily activities for kids and big kids were full on join in if you want or laze around the pools or hammocks on the beach. try a curry rotti from the shop yum. ten of us went there for my birthday and everyone had a ball. the staff arranged our celebrations with a lovely cake balloons and the band sang me happy birthday. a Big thankyou to Sue and Mana (restaurant) and to Tillo (house keeping) for making our holiday very special

  • Liked — size and quietness of pool side rooms
  • Disliked — we only stayed 5 nights
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sterlingcentralcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
748 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
9.1 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,583 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing