We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
$234
$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Lomani Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
$472
$394
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Serenity Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
$132
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Six Senses Fiji(Malolo Island)
$1,093
$1,054
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tropica Island Resort(Malolo Island)
$444
$343
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Likuliku Lagoon Resort(Malolo Island)
$821
$768
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $884/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Malolo Island Resort(Malolo Island)(Great Value!)
$346
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Castaway Island Fiji(Castaway Island (Qalito))
$557
$510
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$972
$835
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,860)
Filter reviews
1,860 results
Traveler rating
619
715
279
143
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
715
279
143
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation islandgarden burekids clubmusket covefamily holidaycoral restaurantmeal planpoolside roomfishblack coralcash cardlomani endcoco hutthree stargreat familycopra shedbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1,742 - 1,747 of 1,860 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed at Plantation Island Resort for 7 nights family of 4 (kids aged 2 & 4). The Fijian staff welcomed us with a bula welcome song as we got off the boat and were so loving towards our kids from the moment we arrived to when we left the island. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We received a free upgrade due to the hotel rooms being renovated, so that was lovely. The rooms were spacious & cleaned everyday. All meals were really yummy and there was a large variety. We had the meal plan which was great, however our meal plan was only for the basic breakfast, so there was just cereal, banana scones and my husband was hoping for bacon & eggs. There was plenty to choose from the kid's buffet also & ice cream was served every night with dinner & lunch.
There were plenty of free activities for adults & kids to do, as well as the extras that you pay for. We did the village tour, if you are just stying on the island you can pick things up a little cheaper from here, however if you are staying on mainland or go in Nadi, you can pick up souveniours a lot cheaper in Nadi & Sigatoka, however the experience was interesting, only costs FJ$11. We also did the subsea, but that wasn't very good. It gets very hot down there, & the coral was all dead. We did the island hopping & visited 4 other islands. Mana, Walu Beach, Mololo & Caastaway. That was a good day out on a fast boat, we really loved Mana Island Resort.
There were 2 free nightly entertainment shows of dancing, they were great! We were lucky we stayed here before going 2 Shangri-la, as they had the 2 2 shows, only 1 of them had the firewalking, and they charged FJ$75 each person, & at the island we saw them for free. Also included in the price was dinner, but I don't think it's worth $75 for dinner.
The band was great, bula song every night and farewell song was fun which was played each night! Great fun for families, people wanting to relax, however during school holidays it would probably get very busy. I can't wait to go back, we will probably go back in 2yrs!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SydneyMumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Our family of 4 ( 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 14) have just returned from 5 nights on Plantation Island. This is a fantastic island to visit if you are travelling with kids as there is so much for them to do. Ours enjoyed the free sports of kayaking, snorkelling and wind surfing, and the water is so warm for swimming. They also swam in the kids pool and painted a t- shirt at the kids club.
Our beach side bure was spotlessly clean when we moved in and cleaned beautifully daily. We did start in a garden bure when we first arrived, but as it was close to the pool and dining area I found it a bit noisy. We were able to move to the beach front one and that was just perfect !
We loved the food and found purchasing the prepaid meal plan a really good idea . Drinks are also reasonably priced. And the Fijian staff are just lovely, especially with the kids.
My only reservation would be the high level of noisy babies and younger kids at meal times. Overall- great though !!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank maggiesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We have just returned from our 5 night stay at Plantation Island Resort in Fiji!.

We took the Malolo Cat over there which took about 45mins.Apon arrvial at the resort all the staff came out onto the wharf to greet us with a Fijian song! complete with guitars! soo cool! Then we all dis embarked the boat onto the wharf where the staff put shell necklaces around our necks! very nice ! then we were directed to the restaurant and given a free arrival tropical juice! so so tasty! we sat in the restaurant waiting to be told what to do next for about a half an hour which was the downside of our trip! i dont know why it took so long but evetually we were handed registration cards and asked to fill out our details. About 45mins later we were directed to our Garden Terrace room. The room was quite large. Everything appeared pretty clean except the bathroom. The one part i didnt like was the spider webs complete with spiders on the ceiling and below the counters. Besides this the room was great. The housekeepers changed our sheets everyday and cleaned everyday as well.

The restaurant was fab! we had meal vouchers for $200 for all meals for 5 days,This was great value! the food was very good and the staff was excellent! Especially liked that we got to sit at a table on the beach for dinner. Every night they had Bula time at 8:30 which involved singing and dancing and telling of jokes! great fun! Was only disapointed at breakfast when the coffee machine wouldnt stop pouring hot coffee and i burnt my entire hand! however the staff were great and got me a bag full of ice!

The beaches were excellent! no complaints there! gorgeous gorgeous sunsets! so romantic! BUT IF GOING OUT AFTER SUNSET BEWARE OF MOSQUITOES!

The down side of our trip was the kayak we took out from the resort. lol. We took out a double kayak and were kayaking along for quite a while when our kayak just sank! we had our digital camera with us and it broke. But i guess thats my own fault for bringing electronics on a water related activity!

On either side of plantation Island we Stayed at Raffles gateway hotel. i LOVED this hotel! However the staff werent as friendly and helpful as on the Island. The waterslide at Raffles is WICKED! such a fun slide!

All in all I truly loved my First trip to Fiji, it was a trip i will never forget. I reccommend everyone give Plantation Island a go!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Hotel_girl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Returned on the 1/6/08 after a memorable stay at the resort. Memorable for mainly good reasons. First I did not expect 5 star treatment or accomodation as we were travelling (2 middle aged) on a very good package found on the Travel.com site. The island is a great place for chilling out and has some great walks and quite places to escape to. Our accomodation had a little veranda that we sat on nightly and enjoyed our duty free during sunset. (ask at the bar for ice) We purchased a meal plan and found the majority of the food was good and healthy if you wanted that, We were fortunate that we had good weather and the seas reasonably calm for day trips. The staff were generally well mannered and responded gratefully to a small tip. (Pay rates are low there) They also responded well to a laugh and mutual respect. I noted some people being very rude to staff. In all we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay, but have included the following that could be improved.
1: If you are a couple looking for a romantic holiday, I would suggest lomani (next door)
2: If Plantation is OK check that you are not placed next to a family with small children. They rise early and the incessant crying and adult chastising voices can be a bit much.
3: Take insect spray for the beach late afternoon. The midgies are hell. Take cream for cuts and plenty of sun lotion etc.
4: For your return flight confirmation have the phone number and flight details ready for reception to confirm. (I don't know why reception doesn't have all numbers on speed dial?)
5: Make sure you empty the water out of the hull of the kayaks before use. Each one is missing it's bung plug.
6: Check you account before paying. (I was overcharged by $74 for drinks that we didn't have) My guess is other residents are quoting wrong room numbers or staff may not understand due to different accents. Reception are very good at keeping receipts and each should be signed by you.
7: There could be more music in the dining areas. Although there are musicians they seemed reluctant to continually play. Having said that they did play request. My suggestion to management is to pipe calming Fiji music throughout the meal areas on CD at meal times.
In all just go there with an open mind and please be tolerant. It's not 5 star, but is really relaxing if you allow it to be. Take the day trips (Be aware that they are governed by the tides and may clash with meal times-therefore your pre-paids may be wasted) Have your afternoon drinks (or whatever) and chill out before going to dinner. Be friendly to staff and give that small tip (they work hard).

Happy Aussie. (Back to the cold and rainy weather)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Ozzie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Are slightly behind the eight ball in submitting my review ! But since we are heading back to Plantation again in September thought I should get me act together. We travelled with our children ( then 4 & 8 ). We booked a 2 bdrm garden bure which was a bit of an overkill to say the least.. it was just 2 single bure joined together !! So we had double of everything we needed. This time we have booked a 1 bdrm garden bure, more down towards the main pool/restaurant area. We absolutely loved Plantation albiet we had a couple of yuk days which we couldnt do alot, we stayed for 5 nights so this put us on the back foot with trying to do all we wanted. This time we are staying for 8 nights.
I would recommend as others have in taking your own snorkelling gear. If you can get the "kids eat free" deal this certainly is a dollar saver !.. only thing is that the kids do have their own eating time, although this does allow to have some time out as adults to enjoy your own meal while the kids are entertained watching a movie etc. We loved it hence we are returning.. I think a lot of the more negative comments are from people not realising that this is not a 4/5 star resort and does not advertise itself that way either.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank NewZealandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews