We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantation Island Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lomani Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Six Senses Fiji(Malolo Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tropica Island Resort(Malolo Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Likuliku Lagoon Resort(Malolo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malolo Island Resort(Malolo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Castaway Island Fiji(Castaway Island (Qalito))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Navini Island Resort(Navini Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Tavarua Island Resort(Tavarua Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,786)
Filter reviews
1,786 results
Traveler rating
594
690
269
132
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
690
269
132
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation islandgarden burekids clubmusket covefamily holidaycoral restaurantmeal planpoolside roomfishcash cardblack corallomani endcoco hutgreat familythree starfiji timebreakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,041 - 1,046 of 1,786 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Plantation Island was very disappointing. It was only slightly cheaper than the 5-star resorts on Denarau Island but really is a 2, maybe 2 1/2 star resort. The worst thing is the food. It's all deep-fried, brown, very poor quality and the same every day. The 3 pools are all too deep for children to stand up in. Broken tiles everywhere, very slippery surfaces if any rain, very poorly lit pathways to room. Partying, drinking type atmosphere with music every night till midnight. Rooms had very loud air conditioners. The beach is not particularly nice either. It's still nice to be in Fiji, but spend a little more and stay in luxury on Denarau Island, eg the Sofitel.

Room Tip: Would be best to get a room far away from the entertainment area, but then you have a long walk over very poorly lit, unsafe surfaces.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Bula Shane,

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish you had mentioned your issues during your stay as we could have addressed many of the concerns that you had with the resort.

We actually employ a full time air-conditioning technician at the resort, and we keep spare parts and gas on property so that any problems can be fixed quickly. Noisy air-conditioners are not typical, and when problems are reported they can usually be rectified in as little as 20 minutes. We employed a new executive Chef in April, who has extensive experience with buffet and fine dining cuisine. He has addressed many of the food quality issues that we had with our buffet, and is currently working on menu improvements. I have passed your feedback on to the Chef, however if you have any further suggestions on how we can improve the food at the resort, please email us at info@plantationisland.com.

We offer 3 swimming pools at the resort. The children's pool has a very shallow paddling pool plus a deeper part for a slide. There is a ledge all the way around this pool for children to stand on. We have another "family" swimming pool that is only 1.2m deep all the way around with a raised platform in the middle. The third swimming pool is much deeper and is more suitable for adults. Apart from our swimming pools, we do offer safe swimming in our beach front which is perfect for kids of any age.

At Plantation we aim to create a fun, sociable atmosphere with lots of activities for both kids and adults. We encourage guests to interact with each other and with the staff. Most of our guests find that this is the highlight of their stay as they form strong friendships as a result of meeting great people.

Plantation is situated on one of the best white sand beaches in Fiji. It surely trumps the grey sand beaches on Denarau Island. There is no doubt that there may be cheaper accommodation of a higher star rating available on the main island of Fiji, but the trade off is the location and higher costs for food, drinks and activities. Plantation not only offers affordable accommodation, but we also offer great value for families with kids eat free/stay free/transfer free packages, complimentary activities including a free kids club programme from 9am - 9pm, and multiple options for dining and snacks including 2 mini-supermarkets. We offer a full range of offshore excursions, and our convenient island based location means that you can do multiple activities in a day such as dolphin safari, snorkelling trips, village tours and Scuba Diving for a fraction of the time and cost of the same activities taken from the main island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed for 5 nights and found the location to be fantastic, beautiful clear water, coconut trees and everything you would see on a post card. We stayed in a 'pool side' room which was fine with a king size bed and plenty of space. It was an upgrade but was well worth it.
Most of the staff were very friendly and great with our 3yr old girl, she loved the pools and swimming at the beach. The staff love kids and really know how to make them feel special.
The kayaks, snorkeling gear and other activities were all fine and we enjoyed the place very much.
The thing we had a problem with was the food which is of a very low standard, almost every one I talked to there had complaints about it. The lunch buffet is the worst of the three but dinner is not much better. A real shame, it was that bad I wouldn't return. Very disappointing as everything else is great.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great, be careful not to get a room too far from the shops and pools as you will be doing a lot of walking.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig_fisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friend & I travelled together & stayed here for 5 nights. Highly recommend the pooolside room which has 1 bed, 2 fold out couches & 2 bathrooms. If you are not going to engorge yourselves on the buffet definately reccomend the a la carte option instead which is the better deal for average eaters.
Take advantage of getting to know the staff and attending the free activities provided which include the guides, you find out all the inside information on the island & the best places to snorkel etc
The locals are extremely friendly but dont expect western service, everyone is on island time so the faster you get into the same groove the more enjoyable the experience will be.
The place could do with a spruce up but if youre tjere to enjoy the beach thats all that matters.
Recommend the tour to Musket cove, get to know the staff there on the way & definately worth having a meal. Lomani is perfect for a quiet meal for couples & the service is the best of the 3 resorts.
Plantation is where the fun is & where we will stay again! Vinaka guys!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have just returned from a family holiday at Plantation Island Resort with my husband, and 2 daughters (aged 3 & 6), my mum & dad, and my brother and his wife and 2 children (aged 4 & 7). Wow.. what a fantastic holiday. Although the resort itself could do with a little bit of TLC, the destination is incredible. The beach at Plantation Island is absolutely beautiful. The pools are fantastic (all the kids loved the waterslide at the kids pool and the island at one of the other pools) and the activities in the kids club were enjoyed by all the kids. We found the buffet food to be quite good, and when we did get a bit tired of the buffet food, toasted sandwiches, pizzas etc were available from the cafe. The Cocohut does excellent milkshakes and smoothies as well. We did purchase bread and vegemite from the supermarket for the kids, as sometimes the buffet wasn't to their liking. We found the staff to be lovely and they were absolutely incredible with the kids. We stayed in a ground floor beachfront hotel room, which was very clean and tidy and the perfect location in regards to the beach. The only suggestion I would have is to try and get one at the jetty end, as we were right next to the restaurant and it tended to get a bit noisy at night when the band was playing. All up, the food was good, the location 5 star, the hotel room very nice and the staff and activities fantastic. I would highly recommend Plantation Island Resort to any families looking for a relaxing, but fun filled holiday. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, Plantation Island may not be for you, but as long as you don't have 5 star expectations you will absolutely love it!!

Room Tip: Ground floor beachfront hotel rooms are in an excellent location, but get one at the jetty end away from the restaurant as they are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We returned to PI for another holiday but this time we had our 20 month old son with us. For me it was my 26 time in returning to the island and my wifes 6th time. We stay in the poolside rooms and we love it!! We could keep the inner door open and the outer door closed so our son was able to run between the 2 with out getting out and running towards the pool.

We mainly ate at the Black coral restaurant and also at Anndas as we really didn't think the buffet was value for money and we knew the staff at the other restaurants more :). The rooms were always made up and the cleaning ladies do a fantastic job! We had no other issues with our room or our stay.

On the down side it seems like the motorised water sports prices have jumped and from what we were told they have out sourced the work for this area. Compared to many other visits, it was vary rare to see the boats out with the Banana boat on the back or people water skiing etc. Its sad not to see the enthusiasm at the boat shed compared to what it use to be.. In saying this, we didn't use these services except for the boat going over to the village which is also outsourced.The boats they now use are great when heading over to the village as they make it a lot easier getting on and off.

Despite the above we had another awesome trip to the island and it was great to do nothing other than swim and relax!! And thats the great thing about the island, you can either do as much as you want or as little!!

Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kizza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews