We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, food isn't so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, food isn't so great”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed for 5 nights and found the location to be fantastic, beautiful clear water, coconut trees and everything you would see on a post card. We stayed in a 'pool side' room which was fine with a king size bed and plenty of space. It was an upgrade but was well worth it.
Most of the staff were very friendly and great with our 3yr old girl, she loved the pools and swimming at the beach. The staff love kids and really know how to make them feel special.
The kayaks, snorkeling gear and other activities were all fine and we enjoyed the place very much.
The thing we had a problem with was the food which is of a very low standard, almost every one I talked to there had complaints about it. The lunch buffet is the worst of the three but dinner is not much better. A real shame, it was that bad I wouldn't return. Very disappointing as everything else is great.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great, be careful not to get a room too far from the shops and pools as you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig_fisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    645
    261
    131
    95
See reviews for
1,163
217
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My friend & I travelled together & stayed here for 5 nights. Highly recommend the pooolside room which has 1 bed, 2 fold out couches & 2 bathrooms. If you are not going to engorge yourselves on the buffet definately reccomend the a la carte option instead which is the better deal for average eaters.
Take advantage of getting to know the staff and attending the free activities provided which include the guides, you find out all the inside information on the island & the best places to snorkel etc
The locals are extremely friendly but dont expect western service, everyone is on island time so the faster you get into the same groove the more enjoyable the experience will be.
The place could do with a spruce up but if youre tjere to enjoy the beach thats all that matters.
Recommend the tour to Musket cove, get to know the staff there on the way & definately worth having a meal. Lomani is perfect for a quiet meal for couples & the service is the best of the 3 resorts.
Plantation is where the fun is & where we will stay again! Vinaka guys!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Schank
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have just returned from a family holiday at Plantation Island Resort with my husband, and 2 daughters (aged 3 & 6), my mum & dad, and my brother and his wife and 2 children (aged 4 & 7). Wow.. what a fantastic holiday. Although the resort itself could do with a little bit of TLC, the destination is incredible. The beach at Plantation Island is absolutely beautiful. The pools are fantastic (all the kids loved the waterslide at the kids pool and the island at one of the other pools) and the activities in the kids club were enjoyed by all the kids. We found the buffet food to be quite good, and when we did get a bit tired of the buffet food, toasted sandwiches, pizzas etc were available from the cafe. The Cocohut does excellent milkshakes and smoothies as well. We did purchase bread and vegemite from the supermarket for the kids, as sometimes the buffet wasn't to their liking. We found the staff to be lovely and they were absolutely incredible with the kids. We stayed in a ground floor beachfront hotel room, which was very clean and tidy and the perfect location in regards to the beach. The only suggestion I would have is to try and get one at the jetty end, as we were right next to the restaurant and it tended to get a bit noisy at night when the band was playing. All up, the food was good, the location 5 star, the hotel room very nice and the staff and activities fantastic. I would highly recommend Plantation Island Resort to any families looking for a relaxing, but fun filled holiday. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, Plantation Island may not be for you, but as long as you don't have 5 star expectations you will absolutely love it!!

Room Tip: Ground floor beachfront hotel rooms are in an excellent location, but get one at the jetty end away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We returned to PI for another holiday but this time we had our 20 month old son with us. For me it was my 26 time in returning to the island and my wifes 6th time. We stay in the poolside rooms and we love it!! We could keep the inner door open and the outer door closed so our son was able to run between the 2 with out getting out and running towards the pool.

We mainly ate at the Black coral restaurant and also at Anndas as we really didn't think the buffet was value for money and we knew the staff at the other restaurants more :). The rooms were always made up and the cleaning ladies do a fantastic job! We had no other issues with our room or our stay.

On the down side it seems like the motorised water sports prices have jumped and from what we were told they have out sourced the work for this area. Compared to many other visits, it was vary rare to see the boats out with the Banana boat on the back or people water skiing etc. Its sad not to see the enthusiasm at the boat shed compared to what it use to be.. In saying this, we didn't use these services except for the boat going over to the village which is also outsourced.The boats they now use are great when heading over to the village as they make it a lot easier getting on and off.

Despite the above we had another awesome trip to the island and it was great to do nothing other than swim and relax!! And thats the great thing about the island, you can either do as much as you want or as little!!

Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kizza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last year for 4 nights. When we got to the island we were greeted by singing and shell necklaces, a very nice touch. Then we were all taken to the hotel bar area to sit down for a welcome cool drink and check in. It seemed rather disorganised and while we had booked a 'bure' style of accommodation they took us to our room which was a garden terrace room at the very back of the resort, the furthest point away from the beach in a room that was very spacious but close to what I think was some sort of sewerage facility and so the smell was bad, and we felt we had been put at the back of the resort in a room that we didn't book. When we complained the staff weren't very helpful, and after about 20 minutes of complaining and talking to a number of staff at reception, they moved us to a bure right near the jetty that was small and very average quality. The bar fridge didn't work and the bed was uncomfortable. This didn't really bother us too much I spose as the location was right near the beach, we could see the beach from our little front porch. When we would walk from our bure to the main restaurant/bar area there was always a terrible smell like fertiliser/chemicals which was overbearing and made us feel quite ill. I'm not sure what it was, but we guessed it was some sort of gardening/weed killer. As others have said - this is a 3.5star resort so you can't expect 5 star facility - and I realise this, but unfortunately this resort is extremely run down and the staff at reception aren't very friendly & helpful.

We didn't eat at the main restaurant/buffet as it looked quite average and the food looked like it was sitting there for ages with flies buzzing around it. We had also read a number of trip advisor reviews suggesting that the food at the main restaurant was average, so we were glad that we had not opted for the room + meals deal. I highly recommend that if you do stay here, don't eat at the main restaurant/buffet area. We ate most of our meals up the road at the Musket Cove restaurant and the food there was beautiful.

The Plantation Island resort is run down and in need of a good overhaul. I wouldn't stay here again, if we went to this island we would stay at Musket Cove next time.

Room Tip: if you stay here the beachfront bures near the jetty are probably the best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AvnMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hi all,
Me and my partner stayed here, and what a wonderful location it is!
This is as far as it goes -
We were greeted and given a welcome drink then shown to our room. (great so far)
When we got to our room we were right next to the wharf and the dive shop, so we decided to have a sit down and relax before putting our bags away. In that time multiple vehicles came back and forth from the wharf only a couple of meters in front of us, then a few minutes later the dive shop about 5 meters away started emptying their dive tanks.
This continued for our entire stay.
We decided to ask reception if we could move to somewhere quieter.
They did not look impressed and the receptionist told us to wait for the manager. 30 minutes later, the manager came over and was quite rude and said "what's wrong!!" no introduction, straight to the point.
Anyway we decided that it was too much hassle and didn't want to upset anyone so we said its fine and left back to our room.

Now the next strange thing:
I heard a electric saw cutter going at about 9pm from our room, and decided to go investigate, Would you believe it there was a gentleman cutting tiles and replacing them at 9pm at night! only about 30 meters away from our hotel room. I feel sorry for the people who had a room even closer than us.
Then the same guy the next night started again during the cultural show! so you could barely hear the performers over the saw and hammer. UNBELIEVABLE!!

Anyway i took some photos of the guy and a video if anyone is interested to see.

I would recommend choosing a bure room as your only option, however they are pricey.

Good luck with your stay!

Room Tip: Choose a bure room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just got back from our first holiday at plantation island and it was fantastic. First I would like to address some of the more negative comments I have read in the reviews. The sewage smell I experienced once and this was after a couple of hours of heavy rainfall which obviously raised the water level. It was a faint smell for about 24 hours then it was gone. I guess maybe some rooms got it worse than others and perhaps it would also depend a bit on the weather. There were definatly some areas of the resort which needed attention ie the deck around the adult pool. This did not bother me in the least as it was one part of the deck which we never went to and we didnt spend much time in that pool as we had a poolside room (highly recommended) and the kids preferred the slide pool. The food was good, not amazing, but there was something to suit every one in our family and it was healthy and nutritous. We had a meal at Anandas and i can easily say it was the worse meal i have ever had. We didnt eat at musket cove or lomani as we had booked the full meal plan at plantation but we heard from other guests that the meals there were fantastic. The staff were AWESOME!! great service, rooms cleaned by lovely ladies everyday, best massage ive ever had, kids very well cared for and smiles from everyone. This is a family resort and you feel comfortable with your noisy fun loving kids there (possibly not the best place to go for a romantic get away lol) See you next year Plantation Resort

Room Tip: We had a poolside room after the school holidays so it wasnt noisy. It was perfect for us. 3 mins sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizandWoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
749 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
9.1 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,583 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing