We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White sand and blue lagoon !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Nadi, Fiji
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“White sand and blue lagoon !”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The title of this review would fit any island you visit in the Mamanuca chain. They are all equally spectacular ! Let me start out by saying that we had no problems with hot water or water pressure, it could have been because we were in the 100s block close to the resort, but no interuptions at all. The resort itself is fun, especially for the kids. But there are places to get away from the hustle and bustle if u are honeymooners or parents who just want to have a few hours alone while the kids are at the kids club. If you want a quieter , more private pool then just walk toward musket cove, where the poolside rooms are located. If you want a quiet stretch of beach, face the pier and turn left and walk toward the more private bures, on the southwest side.. We were suprised that the food was as good as it was, we werent expecting much for the price, but the mongolian night was very good, as were the other dinners. We skipped the lunch buffet and ate at the beach shack , very good pizzas, fries, ect, and very reasonable prices. I really liked the fact that in a resort where drinking water is limited, they sell bottled water as cheap as the supermarkets in Nadi do, no gouging on the price. They also offer purified rainwater for free, which we opted out of because the bottled water was cheap.We will return again and again, we didnt want to leave, but work and school took precedence. One note of advice, this is a cashless island and with good reason, i would suggest that you heed that and either charge to the room or purchase a cash card which can be used anyplace on the island, they will redeem it for whatever u didnt spend at checkout, and give u cash back. We had a wonderful stay, next time we agreed it would be a much longer one, staff were friendly, and service was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kavalange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    638
    257
    131
    94
See reviews for
1,147
217
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miles, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent seven days here with two kids and a baby in a beachfront bure. Fantastic relaxing holiday, kids were in paradise, Sun, sand and water is all you really need, and this has plenty.It seems lots of places in Fiji will charge you a fortune to stay in Five star luxury with gourmet menus, and drab beaches ie Denarau which you can do in Australia.The beach and the water on this authentic Tropical island where exceptional, the staff where very friendly and the accommodation very comfortable.The beachfront bures actually have three distinct if badly separated rooms(think they should board up the space between the kids and adult bedrooms above the wardrobes, is impractical in terms of noise and light(the kids kept telling us to switch of our lights and keep quiet).Think there should also be some sort of screen between the lounge and main Bedroom.Is a lovely authentic Fijian style but a waste to have the rooms seperated without the benefits ie adult time this usually brings.The buffet was mostly pretty hit and miss, but found out youcould have the ala carte for the same price at the ol copra shed.Had one of the best steaks ever there on the last night.Despite the Food generally and the design of the beachfront Bures I am still giving this resort five stars, because as a family resort its unmatched anywhere.

Room Tip: Beachfront bures are well worth the extra cost 200 series are brilliant if further from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chris7440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just returned from Fiji yesterday, 5 days on plantation island (+4 days at Sofitel) with our 2yr old daughter.
I had read some pretty poor reviews before booking Plantation, but found most of these comments not true, we loved it.
Sure the buffet was [--] (but we only had breakfast there once, but for what it cost it sucked) I had read reviews saying the same thing so we didn't get a meal plan.
We ate breakfast at black coral the fruit pancakes for 16-17 bucks I loved, we had dinner here to get the curries they were nice plus the soups another good option (I tried pasta but Fijians are not known for pasta so don't waste your money,Fijian-Indians make really nice fruity - cocconuty curries so eat what they eat)
Kids club, our daughter is two so we had a one on one nanny for her, it cost 4 Fijian dollars an hour (how good is that) we would only put her in for 2-3 hours a day while we had some time in the sun, t-shirt painting cost $8 and our daughter just loved her nanny.
Over all we are beach people and loved the beach and plantation was a great family holiday (maybe not a honeymoon spot) make the most of your days like what we did and you will have a ball, get out there and chase those frogs with your kids and smile

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariofromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After reading some not too positive reviews of plantation island we weren't sure what to expect when we arrived but found that our doubts were totally unfounded. Sure the bathrooms in the rooms could do with updating but you're on a beautiful tropical paradise so how much time are you going to spend in the bathroom! The rooms themselves were very spacious and clean and were serviced every day. The staff were friendly and helpful most of the time, perhaps some were a little grumpy at times but this didn't effect our stay. I was pleasantly suprised at the standard of food, it was plentiful and tasty, definitely not gourmet but appetising and always something there for all of us to eat. The only minus would be the lunch selections at the buffet for the kids, some sandwiches or cold meats might be a good idea as there wasn't much they would eat. The kids club was fun for our two kids aged 6 and 7, a bit disorganised at times and my two weren't that keen on just playing on the small playground but the organised activities were good. Dinner service was a bit slow but after seeing how it worked on the first night we made sure we were there early to get seated and served quickly. The big pool was great, we spent hours in it, the other two smaller pools (kids and adults) weren't that great we found as they were far too deep for younger children and they couldn't stand but they loved the round pool with the island in it. Yes you have to remember this is a 3.5 star resort but you couldn't ask for more. We loved it, the kids loved it and hopefully we will be back next year! Thanks Plantation for making our fiji holiday ad great one!

Room Tip: Garden studio bure was very spacious, we were on the musket cove end which was a fantastic location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After reading the reviews we didn't have too many expectations arriving at plantation. We had booked a garden bure and were surprised when our garden bure turned out to be beachfront! There were some lovely staff, but felt there were a lot of unhappy staff here, working very hard.

The Bure was fine, everything you would expect. Clean enough, and serviced daily. Tea/coffee facilities and fridge. Didn't spend a lot of time there apart from a rainy day.

We (2 adults and 3.5 and 5 yr old) did a few trips, the kayaks are free, so a couple of the days we kayaked to the sand bank (500m) and about 20 min. Put the kids and bag in a double Kayak with an adult and headed over. This is where the 'sand bank' snorkel trip goes. Recommend going yourself, because you can get over there before all the boats arrive and have the place to yourself.
My 5 yr old and dad did the parasailing and the dolphin safari. Both were excellent. On the dolphin safari they saw heaps of dolphins, turtles, and a reef shark, with some fantastic snorkelling too.

We tried some things at the kids club, although it was so busy, the littlest ones get left behind with everything. Best to get a babysitter for these ages and they can properly care for them in the kids club. The main part of the kids club isn't air conditioned, and the kids would get very hot there on a sunny day.

I think what everyone else has said about the food I agree with, pretty rubbish food at the buffet, but seemed to best option with small children. Need to book early to get the first sitting which is 6 pm. The kids were exhausted every day so you don't want to go any later!

There was also good snorkelling off the beach on the Lomani resort side near the pontoon. Great to head out with the kids and see plenty of fish.

The pools are good, although catering for slightly older children, my 5 yr old couldn't reach the bottom in any of the pools. In the largest pool, there is an island in the middle but pretty shallow. I saw people with 1-2 yr olds having no fun chasing them around the middle part before they would jump off the edge into the deep part. They really need a designated toddler pool. I would recommend some type of inflatable or a life vest for under 5s, and maybe some water toy, there's nothing there. Also sand toys and reef shoes would be a must. Sunglasses, plenty of snacks, maybe some cereal.

We were close to Ananadas shop, and they had some really nice cheese rolls and other baked goods if you are early enough.

My youngest got an ear infection here, there is a nurse a available all the time in the medical centre which is great. They had all types of medicines etc, got antibiotics here. The nurse said around 4/5 kids per day come in with ear infections. I think earplugs would be worthwhile. Also heaps of really good waterproof sticky plasters and tape to tape the sticky plasters on with to keep them on.

I think if you are happy with 3 star you will be happy here if you are prepared. Have a great time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotwxsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We (my husband and our two kids 12 and 8) recently stayed at Plantation resort (April 3) for 5nights. We have been to Fiji many times for family holidays and normally stay at Treasure Island then at one of the hotels on Denarau (Sofitel or Radisson). Due to the cyclone last December, Treasure was closed so we decided to try Plantation. We found ourselves comparing Plantation to Treasure and while Plantation as a larger resort can offer some benefits I think we realised just how much we missed Treasure.

Rooms: We stayed in a beach front bure, the most expensive option but by far the best, the bures are all meters from the beach. A good point is that these bures have a separate room for the kids (unlike Treasure), and the bure was spacious, the bathroom adequate although could do with a re-furb. Small things to note, the shower door wouldn't close properly and we had a crab visit us several times in the toilet - apparently they travel up the plumbing! There was only one lounger per bure so we had to go hunting to find another. Other rooms at the resort, the hotel rooms look simply awful, the garden bures look very similar to the beach front ones but you can end up a long long way from the beach, the restaurant and the pools, and the outlook from those garden bures is the back of another bure not garden.

Food- there is good choice on the resort when it comes to dining - this is a definite plus over Treasure, however the buffets (both breakfast and dinner) at the main Old Copra restaurant were a really poor selection - probably the worst buffet I have ever been to. The Black Opal restaurant had just opened when we were there (I gather it is seasonal) and it provided a good option for breakfast and dinner, but has a limited menu so eating there once or twice is probably enough. The other good eating option is Ananda's between Plantation and Musket Cove. We ate there twice for dinner (you can charge back to Plantation) the food was great, and the menu was also good. You can also buy lunch and breakfast food at Ananda's supermarket, coffee and smoothies at the coco-hut at Plantation, and plantation also has a snack café for pies and toasted sandwiches. While the range of food is better at Plantation the quality of food was much better at Treasure.

Pools - there are three pools but they are quite spread out and with little shade around them and only a handful of loungers. They seemed to miss out on the whole opportunity of doing bar and food service around the pools, so the pools were somewhere you went for swims and then packed up when you wanted to go for a drink or get some food. The kids pool with slide was good - entertained many kids (again limited space for adults to sit around and watch their kids).

Overall - the resort is really large and sprawled out. They are building even more garden bures but the resort is badly in need of a re-furb in the dining areas and around the kids and adult pools. I had read about the free snorkelling trip - there is no free trip unless it is included in your package - instead you have to pay, but I recommend it as it is worthwhile, there is also tennis and mini golf. There is a meal plan but it works out exactly the same as if you paid for each meal - so why bother? I didn't see anyone in the kids club or any of their activities. The staff were efficient but never stopped long enough to chat, and sometimes the smiles just weren't there.

All in all to those families travelling to Fiji, I would always recommend trying to get to one of the island resorts for the beaches and snorkelling (Denarau is great but you really could be at any hotel anywhere in the world). Plantation is probably a good option if you have a very big group. But for those of you (like us) who want to get to know some of the staff and maybe some of the visitors, who want to be greeted by your name when you walk around and have the kids go and make friends with others or join in on games then this resort just didn't deliver. Its too impresina

Room Tip: Bures in the 200 range (beach front).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

MY first trip to Fiji and one I will never forget.
What a great place. As soon as you arrive with the greeting of them singing onto their island you feel so special and at home so I say A5 star experience.
This resort turned out heaps better than what some poeple have said on this site.
So I do recommend that you take it with a grain of salt with some of the comments that have been made as their reviews are to picky.
This is only a 3.5 star resort and it has just been voted the second best family resort in the world, so what does that tell you (AWESOME PLACE TO STAY).
Staff are the most friendliness people that I have ever meet and they went out of there way to make sure everything was alright and could not do enough for us.
This resort provides everything that you need to have a great relaxing holiday and the snorkelling was lovely and the water was just beautiful to swim in.
The shows at night were great and they also have children shows which was always great to.
There are different places you can eat at which I would recommend, but do remember the food is only standard, but some of the meals were beautiful ANDTHEY HAVE JUST EMPLOYED A NEW HEAD CHEF TO BRING UP THE STANDARD OF FOOD.
The rooms were clean and they came in every day and cleaned and changed towels.
I would say take reef shoes with you as you need them for swimming in and they make it easliy for walking around.
No need for much clothes as you live in your togs all day.

GREAT GREAT GREAT Holiday (5 Star) and I will be going back heaps of times.

Room Tip: We had a Beach front motel room and it was excellant Room136
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bricar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
739 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
869 reviews
15.4 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing