We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We travelled in march 2013 we stayed in a 2 bedroom garden bure which was huge large bar fridge. We expected budget accommodation so there wasn't too many surprises. The resort is old and needs a lot of work done to it the resort employs locals which was nice so nothing happens quickly but things do get done eventually. The service was fast we ate at Anandas or bought food from the supermarkets which had everything. Best advice is to take a pack of plastic cutlery bowls and cups they have every cereal available for the same price as australia fresh bread cheese rolls daily we made our own meals a few times Anandas BBQ buffet lunch was great huge range of steak fish and chicken. The holiday is what you make of it if you can look past the old worn buildings evening shows were great the island was beautiful. Musket cove resort looked tidier but snorkeling was closer from plantation island resort day trips were excellent especially she'll village. Walk over the island and down the hill it's beautiful and snorkeling off the beach is amazing. Staff were all friendly which adds to the character of the place. If you can handle a run down caravan park in australia then you wil be fine staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay on the island. We experienced a category 4 cyclone in December last year and minor flooding at the beginning of March, which is why the resort looks a little run down. We are working on improvements to the main facilities and gardens at the moment. Last year we opened our new Boat shed and the snack bar for this will be opened in a few weeks. We also re-roofed some of the Beachfront Bures and replaced the patios of the poolside rooms and some of the 1BR Garden Terrace rooms. We are building some new 2BR Bures which will be ready by June, and after that will look at refurbishing the existing bures. Over the next 12 months, you should see a big improvement in resort facilities, especially the main restaurant and accommodation bathrooms.

It's interesting to read that you found the secret snorkelling spot on the island! Not many travellers stumble upon that little gem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    611
    248
    125
    88
See reviews for
1,094
207
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Arrived on the 6th of March 2013 to a warm welcome. Unfortunately they had had alot of rain a few days prior and the bar and restaurant on the waterfront was completely boarded up and closed due to it having being flooded, it did not reopen again while we were there for the following 5 nights even though we had fantastic weather. The food at Plantation is extremely basic, especially for the kids and whilst not bad I got sick of the buffet pretty quickly. It was pretty quiet in the resort so didn't feel like many people there due to it being low season, hardly anyone on the beach. Lomani's adults only restaurant next door was lovely and the food great, and also was Musket Cove, really great food here and only a walk along the beach and if you don't feel like walking back in the night after dinner they were more than happy to take us back to Plantation Island reception via buggy (this was great when my 4 yr old was asleep!) Sandbar snorkelling was excellent for kids as it isn't too deep and beautiful clear water. The doesn't seem to be enough lighting on the paths back to the beachfront bures. I would highly recommend a beachfront bure, although basic again inside they are in the best position and it was great of an afternoon to sit back having a drink on the verandah and watch the kids playing in the water only about 20 steps away from us. There are two pontoons which are both great and great snorkelling around one of them. We travelled as a family of 4 with our children being 4 and 7, the kids club was okay although ours never went, only to watch a movie on one or two nights which runs from 7pm till 9pm. We had a babysitter which is crazy cheap, $4 Fijian per hour per child, so around $2.15 aussie. I wouldn't get the meal plan although if you can use the credit at Ananda's again pretty basic but decent food or Lomani's then that isn't too bad. You can't use the credits though at Musket Cove which for me was the best option if travelling with kids. This place has heaps of potential if they spent a little money on it, in saying that it definitely grew on us the longer we were there! Take your insect repellant as you can't go outside at night without being eaten alive!

There is a little shop at Plantation and also down at Ananada's which sells bread, alcohol and all the things you need, our children just had a vegemite sandwich for lunch most days with some snacks. Fiji Bitter was only about $4 Fijian so just over $2 aussie, cheap for takeaway. I would recommend this resort for families and you would enjoy yourself if you want great water and location and not too fussed on the finer things.

Room Tip: Definitely go for beachfront bure in 200 series
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeandjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Bula Lee and Jas! Thank you for your feedback. We did experience flash flooding in early March which is why we had to relocate the restaurant to the convention centre. We have a new Chef arriving in a few weeks who will be tasked to reinvigorate the buffet and all of our restaurant menus. Unfortunately Musket Cove is owned by another family which is why our meal plan credits are not available to use at their outlets. Plantation guests can however enjoy the restaurants and facilities over there. The benefit of the meal plan is that 2 kids under 12yrs can eat free and Mum and Dad have the option of eating with them at the main buffet OR dining at Ananda's, Black Coral or Lomani.

We will look at getting more path lights put in at the back of the beachfront bures. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the bure's beachfront location and the affordable baby sitting. We hope to welcome you back to the island one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in early Feb 2013 for 6 nights. I think it may have been low season because there really wasn't many people! I think it would be better is there was more people otherwise take your own group to party with at night :) Overall, it's about what you'd expect from a three star resort, and as we came from a five star resort on the mainland you really felt the difference.

The pros
- Beautiful island with a lovely view
- Snorkel straight off the beach. There was a really good spot just off the beach near the coco hut which we spent ages exploring
- Enjoyed the cultural show
- Anandas supermarket. Cheese buns and cream buns fish everyday for about 50c each! Saved us a lot of money when we just wanted something to nibble on.

The cons
- Tired. Everything was just so tired looking. There seemed to be a lot of mould in our bathroom and mould growing on the lampshades. The tea spoons were rusty. Broken light fittings. The towels must have been used at the kids cliub because I kept getting towels covered in brightly coloured paints! There was nothing that would spoil the trip, but all the little things became very noticeable and would bother some people.
- The meal plan. I regret booking it. The breakfast wasnt enjoyable...buffet breakfast was mediocre and often cold- toast was per made and in a pot so it was always cold an soggy. There as one really awesome buffet dinner on a night there was a few more people but the other nights we had to pick off a set menu to the value of $40 which got pretty boring. It is probably better just to pay as you go, at least you have choice to go to another resort or just get fresh buns for breakfast from the supermarket.
- Noise. We stayed in a garden bure. There was a construction site right near our room which started early and went until late in the day. I also thought it was odd that even though the resort is so big the 3 rooms either side of us us were always full so it was noisy because of all the activity from the other rooms. I thought that maybe they would have spread everyone out a bit. Anyway, it was hard to relax or sleep in the room so if you could find a hammock that wasnt broken it was nice to sleep in the shade of a palm tree on the beach :)

If I had kids and was on a budget, I would return (and hope the food quality improved). If you are low key Plantation Resort will be adequate enough.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a free standing bure so you get peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happygrinspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

travelled march 2013 arrived denauru, 50min trip to plantation, great welcome fijians singing on the wharf and presented with a shell necklace excellent,then we were mustered together and allocated our rooms the first room a construction site out the front no thank you,next room run down and very very tired mosquito plagues inside and out generally needed maintenance ie paint replace rotting timber mould in shower the list was endless no thank you, next room pool side excellent every thing was great so the third and final room in 24 hours time to settle in , if you complain about anything they do go out of there way to help you which was great,the food was ok we had a meal plan for breakfast and dinner , dinner could be used at 2 other resorts on the island lomanis or anandas which we found were both great,activities surfing cloudbreak 3 to 5 foot cost was 80 fijian dollars 3 of us out surfing priceless,kayaks good for a cruise around the lagoon, tennis ,putt putt golf , plenty to do in the day ,night time fire dance , disco, bingo,cultural show , and consuming the local beverages,if you like a drink take your duty free saves you heaps, all in all this place needs to be upgraded starting to get very run down , but they have started in certain parts but i think it will be a while before there is a improvement,slowly slowly due to fiji time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sterlingcentralcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Plantation for 4 night from March 2-6. Unfortunately while we were there, we were hit with a huge storm. We were in a garden bure and woke up with the entire bure filled with ankle deep water. When we gave them a call at 5am, they moved us quickly, but I was upset they had not been proactive - getting those people in low lying areas out before the rain started. At any rate, the manager was very apologetic and compensated us fairly. Aside from the bad weather, we had a really nice time. It is not a 5 star resort - but a really good 3 star for families. We bought our breakfast at Ananadas supermarket (yummy chees buns) and then ate lunch at Anandas (which was excellent). We had dinner at the buffet all nights - it was pretty good - something for everyone. The pools were nice, the bure was nice too. There is certainly some wear and tear on the property and I think some upgrades are needed. The laundry facilities are nice to have - especially when you are washing and drying things from a flood:)) All in all, an excellent choice for families who want a low key, laid bakc Fijian Vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lsdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was supposed to be a family trip of a lifetime and what we got was a nightmare. As a family with 6 people it cost us a fortune to go in peak school holiday time and what we got was a bure backing onto a construction site with bed bugs. For 10 days from early in the morning to late at night the workers woke us up and went to 7pm at night plus weekends, then four days into our holiday our 2 and half year old son had bites all over his stomach which over the days was getting worse. I took him to the nurse and after I suggested it could of been sea lice he agreed. Our son started to get bites all over his body and I couldnt work out why he wasnt sleeping well until my husband and I started to get bites and we could feel the bed bugs biting us at night.
The resort wants nothing to do with this but I want people to be aware how bad the situation was, my poor son's body has scars from this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are very sorry for the confusion regarding the bed bug complaint. We did respond to your email on 11 March, and did not hear back from you so we assumed that you had sought out a second opinion for your child's rash.

We did not receive any bed bug complaints from while you were at the resort, and have not found any evidence of bed bugs in the room that you were occupying. After viewing the photos of your son's rash that you emailed to us, it appeared that your son was actually suffering from impetigo, not bed bug bites. Impetigo is a very contagious rash caused when a cut, bite or scratch becomes infected. It is very common among kids and is usually referred to as "school sores". Impetigo has a very specific look in that the sores are crusted or scabby, and these can spread over the body and from person to person through physical contact.

We urged you to seek a second opinion because if you had been using a cortisone based cream to treat what you thought were bed bug bites, this would have actually caused the rash to worsen and spread. Impetigo can be treated very easily with bactroban or other antibacterial cream.

We do have construction near to where you were staying and we are very sorry if this disturbed your stay. We did not think the noise would carry to where you bure was located, and we have not had any other complaints from other guests who had stayed in this bure. If you had mentioned to customer care that you were unhappy, we would have moved you to the other side of the resort where there is no construction noise at all. The construction workers have been given strict instructions not to begin work until after 8:30am and to finish before 5pm, so we apologise if they started earlier or finished later than these times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

After a successful holiday last year we returned this year for two weeks in Feb. Not much had changed and still a fantastic spot for a family holiday. The studio garden bures are well maintained with a fridge and regular cleaning - worth taking along a few bottles of duty free wine as we did, as the wine prices are pretty steep. The island Vonu beer is well worth it though and good value.

Kids loved the kids club again and one of the attractions of this place (and probably any other in Fiji) is that the islanders are genuinely interested in the children. Fantastic for them. Awesome beach and stunningly picturesque.

As mentioned by others the food is reasonably average, and probably really the only downfall. Over the two weeks we were stuck with the a la carte menu as occupancy was low. For the kids, this meant relatively restricted menus - always accompanied by chips. But it is what it is. A bit of time spent reviewing the menu would be money well spent. Service is generally good, only one hiccup in the 42 meals there so that is not bad really. Steak cooking was variable - the medium rare could come out well done, or could come out looking like it was used to wipe the skillet. The curries on the other hand were constantly great.

Surf access was good and spent 6 of the days surfing perfect cloudbreak and wilkes. Wonga the boatman is a top bloke. Best family activity is the sandbar snorkel - although they would benefit from a bit of a talk about the value of coral on the way out and not stepping on it. Mike the DJ has been putting a lot of effort into trying to protect the coral and encourage the coral so it was surprising this wasn't covered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing