We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Well firstly we were blown away with the overall experience of Plantation. Having read so many negative reviews prior to going. From the time we stepped onto the wharf till we left we were treated like royality, yes we have had better food but it was better then average, and really we didn't go for the gourmet fair. Value for money you would be hard pressed to beat Plantation. We had five nights on plantation then seven on another resort close by at 3 times the cost, We are booking at plantation for next year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    611
    248
    125
    88
See reviews for
1,094
207
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have stayed at Plantation Island for approx 2x a year for a few years and even had our beautiful beachfront wedding with 48 guests in 2008. We keep coming back as we love it. Its not 5 star but its 5 star in the location and staff. They welcome us like family each time we turn up. The surf boats go straight out to Cloudbreak where my husband surfs for many hours a day. We have stayed in nearly every type of bure/room except the pool bures and have always found them clean and comfortable. The staff are fantastic and very happy. There are always lots of children here as they have a wonderful kids club with many activities. We have never had any problems with the food there and they have many choices. You can even dine at Anandas which is half way around to Musket, or go to the sunset bar at the marina and cook your own bbq with an icy cold fijian bitter. The ocean is fabulous for swimming especially at high tide. I would recommend this definitely for a family holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

12 nights from 11th-23rd November, i can say is loved it so much already planning next years trip!!!
People have mentioned sewerage smells, bad food, cracked pool mosaics people getting sick and Fiji time service, well i smelt the sewerage once only through the shower drain, so i shut the door came back later and it was gone, the hotel rooms are a little older so the system would be as well. Food was great, didn`t have buffet every night it didn`t always appeal so we went to Black coral it was beautiful.We went up to Anandas once but didn`t really enjoy the meal, much better at Plantation. I thought that the overall maitenence of the place was great for such a big resort, yes there were a couple of deck chairs that were broken so youd jump into a different one no big deal. There was always guys fixing something so you could see they really are always improving or maintaining. I felt a little off for a few days but i was eating food that i don`t normally eat like bacon and eggs and baked beans, so no wonder, after a few days of plainer breakkies and lunches i was good, none of this got in the way of a few beers in the pm. I thought the Fiji time service was great, it was only at the busiest time im the night where thay get a bit swamped, but you`d get that at your local club also. We were moved to beachfront motel from poolside due to maitenence and we were very happy it was so close to everything without any noise 15 steps to the ocean it was handy when you forgot something or the 9 year old wanted to go play the laptop for some R & R if he had already seen the movie that was on for kids club, while we sat out the front enjoying some duty free!!! All in all would be there right now if i could, loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 198Suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Plantation. Our kids are heading towards teenage years, but we could still send them to the evening kids movie and get away for a private dinner. There is heaps of choice for food, as you are also close to musket cove and Lomani (adults only). We especially liked the relaxed family feel of plantation. We did the island hop and visited other resorts, but I would still come back to plantation to base my activities from. The room was made up so nicely every day, swept, mopped etc.. despite the pigsty we left it in (you know what kids are like!). We will be back next time without the kids! Plans are underway...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The resort is full of friendly staff, exciting activities and breathtaking view. The resort is well maintain, the room is clean and air-conditioned. Food in buffet is change everyday.
Would like to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VgChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We have recently returned from 7 nights on Plantation. It takes a little bit of time to work out how things operate on the resort, but after about a day and a half we had worked it out and relaxed into a wonderful holiday of our children swimming for hours in the pools and lots of snorkeling and eating etc. The location is stunning. We had a half board plan and though the food was fine, we preferred the a la carte menus from Anandas and the Black Coral Restaurant. Possibly would not do meal plan again, might just pay as we went, though half wasn't a bad option. Our children happily ate from the kids buffet. The staff were very friendly and I loved how our room was serviced so well each day. We did sand bar snorkeling, which was great, could have done that twice and it was $45 fjd for our family to do. Did the island hop, great to see the other resorts. They were all different, it confirmed for us that Plantation was the right choice for this particular family holiday. We would happily return again. We found the Fijian people very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Positives:
1) BEAUTIFUL island!! Ocean is divine!
2) Lovely, friendly staff
3) Clean, air-conditioned rooms
4) HEAPS to occupy the kids
5) Garden bures were perfect for our family of 5. Next time will get a beach front bure, just to mix it up a little.
6) No cleaning or preparing food required of you for the entire bloomin' trip!! Woot!!
7) Buffet meals perfect for kids. Even fussy eaters will find something they like. It's like pub grub. Always veges on offer too.
8) Kids club lots of fun

Negatives:

1) Shell Island tour was a waste of time. Basically just market stalls with cheap wares. Would rather have stayed at Plantation all day and snorkelled with the kids.
2) GET CASH OUT ON THE MAIN ISLAND!! You cannot get cash out anywhere on Plantation, which kind of sucks when the babysitters only take cash, and most bars/cafes on the island only take cash. This is a big one! Do NOT forget!!
3) Drink bottled water or you will get a funny belly :-)

HIGHLY recommended. In fact, we are returning next year for more.

Room Tip: Beach bures look best to me, followed by garden bures. Pool side bures lacked privacy and were noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoodleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing