We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights on platation island. We were travelling with our 6 and 9 year old boy for our first overseas holiday with kids.
Overall this was a wonderful holiday. We were lucky to have fantastic weather and this showed off plantations true natural beauty, the water really is as crystal clear and blue like the post cards.
We received great service, welcoming song, necklaces, easy check in. We were very happy with our beachfron bure which was spacious and comfortable and in a great location. The resort was doing ground works on the beach front to repair damage done by recent storms while we were there and customer service suggested they move us further along the beach front so our holiday would not be affected, this was greatly appreciated.
Our kids enjoyed the pontoon, kayaks and most of all snorkelling both out the front of the resort and out at sandbank and bringham reef which I would highly recommend.
The location of the restaurant is great situated right on the beach and our kids would run and play with the other kids as soon as dinner was finished. The evening kids club was basic but well used by our kids the younger one especially enjoyed it. Michael was great.
The food was average. We made a mistake with the buffet meal deal .. 3 buffets per day is too much and you cant transfer your vouchers on this deal. The kids did not really like the lunches and we would have liked some other options which are offered on the 1/2 and full board meal deals.
We got a babysitter and had dinner at Flame tree restaurant at Lomani resort for our 10 year wedding anniversary and this was fantastic. The food and service were both excellent and I would highly recommend it.
My husband surfed most days getting the 6am boat. This was very convenient however it would be improved with 2 boats so that a choice of reefs could be offered.
Some areas for improvement - kids club in the day was a gloomy place. The ladies here do not seem to be suited to this job as you barely get a bula out of them and they dont seem to interact with the kids at all. We were there out of school holidays but there didn't seem to be much on for the older children eg 9 and up. 1 day there was beach volleyball. This and similar activities would have been great on some more days.
Overall this resort suited our family . if you want to relax, snorkel, surf and are not too fussy about food and organised kids club activities in the day you will enjoy this tropical paradise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megsapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    611
    248
    125
    88
See reviews for
1,094
207
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

There was nothing "Soft" about the "Soft Refurbishment" that was mentioned on their site which and was to be completed by start of April but was not when we travelled at the start of May.
You would expect this to be maybe some painting or carpet changes, NO... it was a re-tilling of the kids pool and demolision and rebuild of the mini mart.

I am sure the resort was amazing 20 YEARS AGO as that is about how long we think the last 'refubishment' took place. Everything was outdated and was broken. Both pool tables were out of order, the games room was locked up, the 'adults pool' (which was being used as the kids pool while the "soft refurbishment" took place) had rotted decking and boards that were not secured well and flicked up in your face when you stepped on one end and there was building rubbish left everywhere aound the pool. The 3rd pool was disgustingly dirty to the point where the water was cloudy.

There was only a handful of staff who were happy to see us, the rest seemed to be obligated to help us and say "bula" - no feeling at all

For a country that prides itself on being on "fiji time" and being a relaxing place to visit, Plantation Island has sooooooo many processes in place that it made your head spin. You had to line up to present your meal voucher to get another voucher to go to collect your food, you couldn't go to the bar to get a drink, you had to order it and then wait for the waiters to bring them to you (once they found you that is !). To get a massage or get your hair braided, you couldn't just walk into the spa/salon to see when an appointment was available, you had to go to reception and get them to call the spa/salon and make an appointment, they would give you a receipt with your appt time on it, then you needed to go to the spa/salon and fill in another form for the actual treatment

From the moment we stepped off the boat the staff member who greeted us "hearded" us into an area and gave us the drill in a monotone that would put anyone to sleep, she had obviously said the speach hundereds of times and it showed. When asked a question to clarify something that was said, we got a roll of the eyes as if it was a hassle for her to repeat it.

There was only a couple of nights where the dinners were interesting - the stir fry night and the Indian night, other than that the meals were average and lacked variety

We never had enough towels - and house keeping was non-existant (we asked for more towels numerous times and they never arrived)

Best part of the resort was the Island Hopping Day trips - well worth it

Very dissapointing end to our holiday in Fiji - we will never go back to Plantation Island.
We also stayed on Coral Coast (at The Naviti Resort) which cost us the same amount and was all inclusive (including drinks!) and we had an amazing time there.

Room Tip: Garden Bure was run down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbsiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Bula Hobbsiet! We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us in May. Unfortunately the kids pool re-tiling was quite urgent for safety purposes, and so adequate notice was not given to the sales and marketing department to pass on to our travel agent partners. This kind of renovation is not the norm, especially during peak season, and we are very sorry if it disrupted your holiday. We did send out a notice for the boatshed/minimart/snack bar roof construction, and yours is the first complaint we have received regarding this project. We have temporarily relocated the mini-mart, boatshed and dive shop so there are no disruptions to services (snack bar menu is running out of the Black Coral Restaurant), and we are mindful that noisy construction work is done off site or during the day while everyone is out and about. We have completely surrounded the work site in coconut leaves so you wouldn't even know what was going on! This project is expected to be completed by the end of June. The boatshed is the only major construction project occurring at the moment.

We do endeavor to have all our equipment in good working condition. Last year we replaced most of our equipment (e.g. putt putt clubs, tennis racquets, kayaks, snorkelling gear). We even completely re-felted/refurbished the two pool tables! Unfortunately with so many kids visiting us, they like to put things in the coin slots which of course renders them out of action. The technician who fixes them has to come from Nadi, so no doubt it would have taken a few days to fix during your stay. The machines in the games room have all been damaged in the same way beyond repair which is why the room is locked. At the moment we are looking at turning the games room into a movie room or "hang out" room for teenagers, and if we put gaming equipment in there it will be the indestructible kind :)

The rotten pool decking is a new development, and may have arisen due to the unprecedented amount of rain we received from January to April. We are currently assessing the situation, and if the decking needs to be completely replaced, adequate notice will be given to our travel agent partners and through our facebook page. Our three swimming pools are cleaned twice daily, but I will pass on your feedback to maintenance regarding the cloudy water in the third swimming pool and I will ask our assistant managers to follow this up.

regarding procedures on the island, unfortunately we do have to have a few due to the size of the resort, but we do review these on a regular basis to try and improve our guests' experience. We are currently trying to do away with the voucher system through upgrading our hotel software. This should hopefully happen in the next few months. The salon doesn't have a point of sale machine, which is why payments need to be made through reception prior to services. I will ask management if there is any way we can rectify this by putting in a point of sale machine. The island briefing is considered by some to be passe, but we get complaints if we don't do it (definitely a case of you're damned if you do, damned if you don't!). I will ask reception if they can spruce up and condense the spiel so that it is more palatable for those who don't want the whole 9 yards, and maybe introduce a more in-depth resort briefing for guests who would like more information.

Regarding the meals, it's a shame you didn't try our other restaurant outlets at the resort!! We now have a total of 3 restaurants including our brand new Black Coral Restaurant. Guests also have the option of dining at Lomani's restaurant (without kids of course!) or Musket Cove's restaurant. Our island in fact has the most choices for food and dining options that any other island in the Mamanucas.

We're sorry that Plantation didn't meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed your time in Fiji and the island hopping. Your feedback is appreciated, and hopefully you will make it back to our shores one day to see all of the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at Plantation Island for 10 nights in April. It was a truely wonderful holiday. My Mum who is 86 got to read, knit, play cards and enjoy the nightly entertainment. My 16 year old daughter made some great friends and was kept busy with all of the activites on offer. I totally relaxed, swimming and snorkeling in front of our beach front bure no 217, then laying on the sun lounge reading. The staff are fantastic and as a Teacher, I was in awe of the total trust between the children and resort staff. Richie is just a super star and his paddle boat song with the children was amazing. We had the meal plan which I probably wouldn't do again as it was just too much food for us all. Even though there were a reasonable number of families there, I sometimes looked around and wondered where everyone was as it was never bustling busy. Plantation Island is highly recommended. It is not 5 star and pretentious but 3 star, clean, friendly and welcoming, allowing guests to choose what they want to do and at what pace they want to go at. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Gaden bures near the pools for families and Beachfront for a true Fijian experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful family trip to Plantation and can't wait to go back! The two bedroom bure was newly renovated, extremely spacious and comfortable. The food was three star - kids were very happy. The buffet was tasty most nights and the desserts were average. What we loved was there are four restuarants close by (no more than10 mins walk) that were lovely. With the fabulous babysitting service, popping along the beach to another restuarant was easy if you are a foodie. The pools were nice, Musket cove pool is even better and we enjoyed a few cocktails and a swim on our walk around to there. The shop on the islands and at Musket stock everything you need from nappies to sunblock and everything in between. The prices are not cheap but neither would you expect them to be. They shop at plantation sells delicious cheese buns but get in early as they sell out fast! They make a great lunch with a bit of Ham and cheese which is also avaliable. Loved that they encourage you to drink you duty free booze - thye even supply free ice at the bar to take back to your room. Worth taking a wine glass! Loved teh Island hop - take along the snorkles from the resort. Also really enjoyed Shell Village - there is time to explore teh village if you can get past teh stalls, you just need to make freinds with a local. Take treats for the kids as this was where we saw loads of children. great place to buy cheap jewellery.

Room Tip: Had a two bedroom Bure in the 200's which was rennovated and lovely. May need to ask for a renno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bells73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just to give you full picture first of all, I am grateful for the package I purchased giving my sister & I 4 nights with some bonuses at Plantation Island resort. I am also glad we did not pay the $315 a night they wanted for any extra nights. I didn't even research this place too much as I felt I had such a bargain. I could write a book about the appalling service incidents and things that did not run/ happen. Basically I thought other than the amazing a la carte food at the Black Coral restaurant, the other food was gross. The resort was full of kids and rowdy groups and the closure of the kids pool & subsequent daily skill saw going next to the adults pool was kinda not zen! The snorkeling to the left of the wharf is magnificent & the location, garden setting & friendliness of the staff just great. Lesson learnt - research first & don't go somewhere kid focused if you want a brief peaceful break. I am sure those with kids had a ball as the club seemed to cater for activities well. The hotel was kinda tired in parts but there were renovations going on so you never know...In short I will not return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZenShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Bula

We visited Plantation Island Resort mid April and had read a lot of reviews pre leaving, some of which I think were pretty low considering the price/deals you get at the Resort and the total experience you get being at such a beautiful location. We were personally greeted with necklaces/music and let to the Bar where a drink was waiting for us and then led to our room straight away - extremely stress free!

We stayed on the mainland at the Radisson Denarau which is always fabulous but should be at FJD$680 per night plus taxes! We paid FJD$450 per night at Plantation but if you stay 5 you get 2 for free which equates to FJD$321 per night. Also the kids eat free for the entire stay and we got a FJD$200 credit to spend too. Sure the resort is only 3 star and some improvements could be made but lets be real here people the price is 3 star too!

On the subject of improvements, towards the end of our stay they were demolishing the Supermarket/Snack Bar/Water Activity Centre and completely rebuilding it (estimated to take a couple of months). They have set up temp quarters for these until finished. Also, they were re-tiling quite a few areas around the pool etc and looked to be generally working on sprucing things up.

The kids ate free and I freely admit I was a bit apprehensive about what would be on offer (nuggets and chips) but was most pleasantly surprised to see full buffets for them with a variety of veges and hot meals on offer. We ate at the Main Restaurant most nights with the nightly Buffet on offer (changes daily). Good variety again of salads/veges and hot fodder on offer. Perfectly ok. We also ate at the Chopra Restaurant at Plantation and all meals we had there were fantastic - definitely recommend the Kokoda!! The staff are very attentive also.

The Main Bar has a fabulous atmosphere and the 'Fantastic Fijian Cocktails' a must !! LOL

The kids were ecstatic with the kids club on offer (10 & 8) and although they hung with us throughout the day they would sometimes disappear to join in the 'Tug of War' or 'Volleyball' etc. At night after their dinner there would always be a nightly activity to keep the kids happy (Crab racing/show/Limbo) which was in the Main Bar so the parents could watch if they wanted to. After that finished the kids all took off to the Kids Club room to watch a movie leaving the parents in peace - yay!!

We went on the Sandbank Snorkelling trip which was fabulous for FJD$10, not very colourful coral but the fish make up for it. We took our own gear but they had a lot on offer for free too from the Resort.

We used both the cash card and room charge and both worked absolutely fine.

We usually go away overseas a couple of times a year and when asking the boys where they wanted to go next they blurted out in about 1 second flat that they wanted to go back to Plantation - so that says it all ! We're off there again in November.

Vinaka!

Room Tip: Take some pegs to hang your washing out (they provide the line). Some mozzie stuff (although they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MaureenAndPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

BULA, Absolute Paradise! The perfect place to kick back and suck in the atmosphere, plenty of activities and tours for everyone. The kidsclub was great at keeping the little ones entertained aswell. Our family had an awesome time on our recent stay. We are already planning another visit! Big shout out to Viena Vinaka.

Room Tip: Beach front Bure will not disapoint!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kerrianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing