We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We had our first trip to Fiji this year and fell in love with Plantation Island. My husband and I and two kids aged 11 and 15 all had the time of our lives swimming and snorkelling in the beautiful crystal clear water. The staff were very friendly and we made friends with Inoke, Tomasi, Alissi and Avito and the food was fantastic. The magic starts when you land at the jetty and are greeted by the staff singing and handing out shell necklaces and it just gets better from there. We have already booked our next trip for the same time next year and can't wait to go.

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — The room was too far away
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fijiheavenGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    624
    254
    127
    91
See reviews for
1,115
215
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

We were at Plantation Island for about one week, it is my 5th time to the island and my parents 4th time. It is just the best island! The water is a lagoon so it is nice and warm and calm and you can lie in the water and relax, chat or read. There have been a few changes to the resort, such as the CocoHut which i was totally obsessed with i visited it a few times per day. The owners Melisa and Reardon and the two ladies are just wonderful. They make yummy drinks such as bananarama, summer slush, iced teas, coffees, iced coffees, even a kids menu with babyccino among others. The massages are done inside a beautiful cool relaxing room in the hair salon (no longer on beach). My massuese was great, giving me a wonderful massage covering me in Pure Fiji Passionflower moustiriser and Pure Fiji Pineapple massage oil.
The band that play at dinnertime were fantastic, they are so talented and have beautiful voices and sing lovely songs.
I believe the hotel rooms are getting upgrapded so this time we were in a deluxe garden view room, i was very impressed. it was really nice, the room was very similar to the room i stayed in at Lomani Island resort (which is just a short walk up the beach). It is lovely to have dinner at Lomani it is a adults only resort and at night there are beautiful lights throughout the trees. Its also lovely to have lunch there too. I recommend the cocktail 'heaven' it is just delicious!
At plantation i was very impressed with the menu as I mostly eat vegetarian and there were so many options for me to choose from! The lunch menu had some changes too which was great. We had fantastic weather just some rain at night which didnt last long, as during the day it was so hot! They have many fantastic staff at plantation, caroline, kay, teresia, junior, richard, joe. (there are a few joes at plantation and all of them are lovely). At lomani emily and tevita are great. i was really sad to leave as i love this place so much you can do little such as lying in a hammock and going swimming or you can go kayaking, paraflying and there are many many activities available everyday. you defintely have to go out to the sandbar when you go snorkelling and we took some bread to feed the fish it was amazing having them eat out of your hands and swimming all around you. i cant wait to go back. i wish it was tomorrow!!!

  • Liked — It was nice clean and spacious and didnt take long to get to the beach and restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank AzucarRubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2007

We have recently returned after our fourth stay at Plantation Island and I cannot say enough about this special piece of paradise. There have been some improvements to the resort since we were there last, one of them being the new CocoHut, which is where the bar was outside the main dining room. The lovely staff will whip up your coffees, and fruit slushes, they also do kids drinks and will be selling gelato. My favourite was the Bananarama, just divine, and my daughter's was the summer fruit slush, she also enjoyed their iced fruit teas. This is a really welcome addition when you feel like a cold drink or a coffee. There is so much to do at this resort, or if you don't want to do anything there are the hammocks to lie in or just laze in the warm waters of the lagoon. The blue hues of the sea and sky are quite spectacular. Snorkelling at the sand bar is a must, take some bread and feed the fish, an amazing experience. We found the meals really good, especially breakfast with all the lovely fresh fruit every day. If you want a really special dinner, try Lomani Resort further up the beach, it is highly recommended. The staff at Plantation are great, especially Caroline, Teresia, Kay, Richie, Inoke, Junior and Joe, and add to the the laid back relaxed feel that is Plantation. We had such a fabulous fun time we didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back again. Thanks for having us Fiji.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank frangipaniFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We have just come back from our holiday on Plantation Island and it was fantastic! My husband and I could not find any faults with our poolside room, it was huge and cleaned every day. The pools were terrific, especially the new pool with the island in the middle.
We decided not to pay in advance for our meals and were happy with our decision. The restaurant at Plantation or at Anandas were well priced with a good choice of meals and very tasty.
The staff everywhere were so friendly and helpful. They are such happy, easy going people!
The resort was running on about 1/5th capacity but that didn't stop any of the activities offered. We went snorkeling every day (the snorkeling gear from Plantation was new) and the dolphin safari was wonderful! We were lucky enough to have about 9 dolphins playing around our boat!
The shell village tour is a wonderful eye-opening experience! The fijians have such a simple lifestyle but are so happy. It rained while we were there and we were very warmly welcomed into their homes to shelter and listen to stories of local folklore.
We had caught the Malolo Cat to the Island and flew off in a light plane which was great to see the island and all the reefs from the air.
Finally, we couldn't find any faults with our holiday on Plantation Island and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday . We will certainly be returning!

  • Liked — Spacious, clean & views
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We just got back from Plantation Island resort today. (4th of Nov) after 6 nights on the Island and one in Nadi either side. There were 5 of us (my wife and I, & 3 kids 10,7 and 5). We all agree it was pretty close to the perfect family holiday for us! For a start it was fortunate that we missed the Aussie and Kiwi school holiday time as the place is packed during school holidays, but when we arrived we found that it was only at about 1/3 capacity. This meant that there were no hassles with going on activities or using the island's equipment. - as we had read in other reviews.

The snorkelling on the free boat trip each day was great, warm crystal water and loads of tropical fish and coral (ask for some left over bread from the resturaunt as the fish will eat it right from your hand). This trip became an after breakfast ritual for all of us except the 5 year old who was happy to be left in Kids club for the hour we spent snorkelling.

Dinner for the kids between 5.30 and 6.30 was a great idea because it meant that from 7-9pm the kids were looked after in kids club while we had a peaceful relaxing dinner for 2 by the waters edge each night. Adult meals were quite good however the kids menu became a bit mundane although they didn't really complain.

The staff were relatively friendly and professional as you would expect of a large resort, but my wife and I were spoilt many years ago (before kids) on Matamanoa Island Fiji which was small and intimate, and for us set the bench mark in personal service from warm, friendly Fijian people.

The tiles on the floor of the new pool have some sharp edges that will cut your feet - better to swim in the other two pools which were fine. BYO snorkeling gear to be on the safe side, esp. if you want to go regularly and/or during peak periods.

In summary, a great family holiday destination especially if you love the water and sun, and want value for money.

  • Liked — The Location, Activities, Kid friendly and Value for money
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank S_D_Rom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed at this resort with our 1 and 5 year old kids. We like a bit of space so we booked one of the new 2 bedroom garden terrace bure. The bure was huge, a sitting area in front, a large kids room and behind that a seperate bedroom with ensuite and then another sitting room out the back. The aircon was based in the sitting room and it was'nt really enough to cool the whole bure in the heat of April, so we also used the fans. The bure was on the 200 side which is a nicer part of the beach.
We did'nt get the meal vouchers, so we could dine at Anandas or Musket Cove if we felt like it. The food on the island varies
between O.K and very good.
Our 5 year old used the kids club and enjoyed it. They were in the process of constructing a new kids club at the time and I think that will be a big improvement on what they have.
We used babysitters for our one year old at night so we could dine togeather and a couple of times during the day. We had the same ladies and they were all very good. When we took our son out for walks around the resort, alot of the staff would call out our sons name, because the babysitters had pushed him around the resort during the day.
We really enjoyed our stay, it's a perfect place to take young kids, while not five star what kid remembers a holiday for the toiletries or turndown service anyway?

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank fijitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

After reading some of the other reviews I admit to being a little worried about what we were going to get when we arrived at Plantation. I need not have worried. I travelled with my husband and 3 daughters aged 6,4 and 1. We stayed a night in Nadi on the way over as we were lead to believe that there were no transfers meeting up with our flights. This was completely untrue and the stay in Nadi, while fine, was unnecessary. Check flight/cat times as there are several cats a day and one can almost always meet up. This prompted us to change our stopover in Nadi on the way home (also unnecessary) and stay an additional night on the island. If you need to spend any time at Denarau Marina, there are places to sit and have a drink and something to eat and it is all very new and clean.

We stayed 10 days on Plantation in a Beachfront Bure (200 side). It was beautiful and cleaned daily and with gorgeous views of the beach. The water REALLY is as clear as it looks. Yes, the beach is tidal, but this suited the watersports and was great for our girls as we knew the water would not be too deep. 200 side of the island did appear to be the better side of the island. We had air conditioning and fans in the bure and really apprecitated them. I am not sure how well we would have coped without the aircon. I was told while we were there that by the end of the year, ALL rooms will have aircon, not just the beachfront bure and the hotel rooms.

Our kids LOVED the slide pool, although it was not as nice for parents to sit around as the other pools. Kids also like the "new pool" but did get small cuts on their feet from the tiles. I thought Kids Club was a bit run down, but our kids did not seem to mind too much. They did not spend much time in the actual room, more getting out and doing the activities - crab hunting, fish feeding etc. We used the babysitting for our 1 year old and while I was initially concerned about leaving her with someone both she a I didn't know it was fine. In fact, she loved it as the Fijians LOVE little kids. Our 1 year old got a lot of attention!!! If you are taking a child that require a cot, I would recommend taking your own. We did and were very pleased we did after seeing the cots. While they are clean, the sides are not high enough and I would not recommend the cots for any child who can pull themselves up or stand.

Overall, we had a fabulous holiday and would absolutely go again. Yes, the resort is a little tired in parts but they are working on it and it in no way detracted from our stay. If you can afford it, I would recommend the beachfront bures. They were spacious and very comfortable for our family of 5. My kids already want to go back!!!!

  • Liked — Location close to the beach
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank CanberraNatB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing