We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Plantation Island Resort for 4 nights in May. We loved it. We stayed in a Beach Front Bure and would really recommend staying here. It was a whole 10 steps to the water at high tide. The snorkelling is ok from the beach however a quick boat ride or a good work out on one of the kyaks for a 30 minute paddle out to the sandbank at low tide will give you a most remarkable snorkelling adventure. We tied up our kyaks to a handy rope that the staff have anchored so they didn't float away when the tide came up and spent over an hour snorkelling around the reef that surrounds this lovely little sandbank. We had a school of Garfish follow us the whole time we were out. One of the highlights was watching 3 little sea horses graze on some seaweed! We played a couple of rounds of golf on the islands 9 hole golf course and found it to be great fun. We were the only ones out playing so had the course to ourselves.
We went out with Paul, one of the local guys, who runs a boat out to the surf breaks. It was about 20 minutes to Namotou Lefts and Wilkes Passage and was very reasonably priced. We both surfed Namotou Lefts which was fun and while my partner surfed Wilkes I snorkelled with one of the other passengers. The snorkelling again was incredible. It was quite deep here and the fish much larger with different species everywhere. They were not as friendly as the fish around the sandbank but really worth the experience.
Our room was clean and tidy with a pretty comfortable bed. The meke performance was hilarious. The kids all enjoyed it along with the staff and participated enthusiastically.
It was a bit noisy early in the morning with kids waking up and ready to play in the bures around us but that is to be expected in such a great family resort. It didn't bother us with our stay.
Overall this is a gem of a resort. 5 star location!! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank friendlytravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,364 - 1,370 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our second trip to Fiji. We love Fiji, but not Plantation Island Resort. The resort is run-down, there wasn't enough equipment to go around, the food was poor but probably the staff's morale was what made the holiday so poor. The staff there aren't happy, not what we'd experienced before in Fiji. Our previous trip to Fiji we had stayed at Castaway Island which was a completely different experience. Castaway is superb in so many ways, - the people, the wildlife and sealife, the beach, the tranquility. so we were even more disappointed by Plantation Island in comparison.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peta51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Bula Peta51! We are sorry that you did not enjoy your trip to Plantation Island last October. We have made a number of improvements and have renovated the main facilities in the past 9 months. Most of the comments that we receive regarding the staff are usually very positive. The morale issue that you mention could have been due to a few key staff members having to take unexpected leave during the month (e.g. due to bereavement or sickness). In any case, we are sorry if this caused you any inconvenience or spoiled your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Travelled with friends for the Easter Break. Having travelled to Fiji many times previously would really consider going back there.

Beach lovely but the resort is very run down and tired.
Airconditioning in rooms do not work. Room often didn't seem that it was cleaned well.
Bar staff ambivilant and quite rude.

Fly's everywhere in the dining room for breakfast. Place did not seem clean.
Lack of sun lounges with mats on them so very hard and uncomfortable.

Completely bitten by sand flies and mosquitos as I did not see any spraying for insects in the whole time we were there. (This used to be carried out daily in previous trips)

The island may seem like a bargin in terms of price, but suggest you do not go.

D Wilson

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank donnaw268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

We are sorry that your Plantation Island Resort stay did not meet your expectations. We have passed your feedback onto the relevant departments to see where we can make improvements. We are in the process of upgrading the resorts rooms and facilities, which you would have noticed during your stay (e.g. the refurbished dining room).

We are sorry that the air-conditioning in your room was not working properly. If you had reported this to our Customer Care manager Niven, this could have been easily rectified. Niven actually checks all of the rooms prior to check in to ensure that they are in good working order, and if a problem should arise, he will see to it that the issue is fixed in a timely manner.

We do have a pest control programme on the island that includes setting fly baits and fogging for mosquitoes/sand flies every afternoon. Unfortunately we had an exceptional amount of rain in the early part of the year which resulted in an increased number of mosquitoes and sand flies. We are happy to report however that this issue was only temporary, and we have managed to control the mozzies with regular fogging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 9 have just returned from Plantation Island Resort, staying early May 2011 for six nights. As many fellow TA members have said, the negative reviews made us a little worried about what we would experience, but we were not disappointed in the least. Temps were around 30 degrees every day, and humidity was not too bad. We had a couple of storms at night, but temps were never cool. Umbrellas are available from Reception if you are unfortunate enough to experience wet days/nights. We had requested a room on the 200 side of the island, and very happy that our request was fulfilled. There was plenty of lovely beach, also is a bit protected when the days are a bit too breezy. Even when the tide is out, the beach is still lovely. Our room was a little way from the main restaurant and hub of the resort, but the short walk was not a problem. We stayed in a Beachfront Bure (216), which had plenty of room for our family, with a queen and two single beds, a lounge and two chairs, plenty of space for suitcases and clothes, bathroom and bar fridge (not stocked), ceiling fans and aircon. We also took plastic plates, bowls and cups, as well as a bit of cutlery, cloth to wash up with, and tea towels. These came in handy for making our own lunches, which we either ate in the room, or on the beach. The room was clean, yes the furniture is perhaps a little dated (cane and florals), but was also clean, and windows fully screened. Although there are no walls/dividers between our bed, and kids beds, we were ok with that. Be forewarned, there is no TV. We knew this, but some other guests were not so pleased to find this out. As soon as we were in our room, those mozzies found us ... there were loads of them. Door to the bure is not screened, so they get in when the door is opened. I would even suggest that as soon as you are on the island and waiting for your room keys, put the mozzie spray on. We took two Raid mozzie plug ins, and had them switched on 24/7. They will last for 10 days when switched on for 24 hours. Once they were plugged in, we saw no mozzies in the room for the whole stay. Take plenty of mozzie spray for when you are outside - even on the beach, there is a mozzie or two. They are not in plague proportions by any means, but they seem to be lurking around. Our room was right on the beach, so we basically walked out the door, across the sand path, and deck chairs right on the beach were awaiting us. The beach is lovely ... clean sand, beautiful clear water, palm trees to sit under. The kids played on the beach every day, hunting for hermit crabs and starfish, feeding the little fish by the shore edge, snorkelling, kayaking, and making new friends. We didn't venture near the pools at all, but they looked lovely also, and the kids did spend one afternoon having fun at the pool with the water slide. Towels and deck chair cushions were readily available, and can be changed once a day. You do pay a deposit, but that is credited to you when they are returned on your last day before checking out. Towels don't dry that well because of the humidity, so using theirs and changing them is a good idea. We took our own snorkelling gear, but again it was readily available to hire, and it all looked to be in pretty good condition. We also took pegs to hang wet togs on the clothes line outside our room. You can snorkel off the beach, although you do need to go out a fair way to see coral and fish. Not the best coral, but it is nice for an easy snorkel, and the water really isn't that deep. We also did the Brigham Reef snorkel, which was good (FJ$20 each/half price for kids); and the Outer Reef snorkel (FJ$26 each/half price for kids), which was even better. It was a long way out, but the reef itself is only about 1.5 metres deep. There was much more interesting coral to see, more colour. An underwater camera is a good idea. We didn't do the handline fishing that many other TA members have mentioned, as they are now charging for this. It is FJ$45 each, and you may not catch anything. I believe there is also a charge is you want the fish you caught cooked for your dinner. Other prices that might be of interest: one hour massage for FJ$65, cocktails FJ$18, full hair braiding for a short bob FJ$55; coffees and milkshakes from the coffee shop about what you would pay here in Australia, toasted sandwiches, hot chips and hot dogs from the snack bar also about whay you would pay in Australia. We took the Meal Plan 2, which was breakfast and dinner only. It was absolutely enough for us, and we made our own lunches. The kids ate from the kids buffet earlier in the evening - some of the meals included chicken schnitzel, chicken drumsticks, rice, chicken stirfry, sausages, some veges and ice cream for dessert. Some of our meals (themed buffets) included Mongolian Night (which I was not too keen on, but once my food was cooked, I could have had another plate); Curry Night, Roast Night; and pig on the spit. The food was good, easy meals and quite tasty. Plenty of desserts on offer for after dinner. Breakfast was always the same, but was good, and nicely cooked. Scrambled or fried eggs, bacon, sausages, baked beans, pancakes, muffins, fruit, cereal, toast. We bought some items from Nadi before going over, as well as some other items from a small supermarket at Port Denarau before our transfer. It is a good idea to take over what you think you might need for lunches if you are not on the full meal plan. There is a small supermarket next to Anandas restaurant, where you can buy fresh apples, bread, biscuits, long life milk, juice, soft drinks, chips, lollies, peanut butter, etc as well. When you are on the island, looking out to the water, Anandas is up on the far right hand side of the island, and Lomani Resort is on the far left of the island. There is also a small "supermarket" next to the boat shed, just near the jetty. Again, soft drinks, bottled water, chips etc; you can also buy a newspaper there if hubby needs to read the news from around the world. We didn't venture up to Lomani's for dinner, as we were quite happy with what Plantation had to offer. You can use your Meal Plan vouchers at either Ananda's restuarant or Lomani's, but it is only $25 value - and the same if you decide to choose from the Menu at Plantation instead of eating from the buffet. We did this on Curry Night, and ordered Chicken Linguine and fish in coconut sauce. Again, quite nice. The kids went to the kids club at least once a day, sometimes only in the evening. It depended on what activities were on. The activities board near the Old Copra Shed (restaurant area) shows what activities are on each day, whether it be kids club, or trips to go on. The kids enjoyed some of the activities, but others not so interesting. In general, we found all the staff to be friendly; but like anywhere you are, even at home, some people are more friendly than others. Everyone was very helpful, and generally staff seemed happy to always say "Bula" whenever they see you. As others have suggested, take plenty of suncream and mozzie spray. Do book as soon as you can for activities, including hair braiding and massages. Please have respect for the grounds, and put your rubbish in a bin. The staff really do work very hard to keep the grounds and gardens extremely clean and looking beautiful. We saw some guests who didn't seem to care, and I was annoyed, but still picked up after them anyway, as I can't stand littering. And smokers, please do the same, as we also found some families with babies who were picking up cigarette butts on the beach. But all in all, this was a wonderful holiday, and Plantation does really grow on you. Although it is rated 3 star, and some areas of the resort do need some upgrading, those things should not make a big impact on how much you enjoy the resort. Go with an open mind, don't let little things annoy you - life on the island is just too beautiful to get upset over little things. There is something about this resort that truly makes you sad to leave. You can relax and do not much, or you can do many of the activities on offer - either way, I am certain that you will fall under the charm of Plantation Island Resort.

Room Tip: Email resort directly for advice/requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank roanyroanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We travelled with two families and a total of five kids under 5. Kids club was awseome and opended from 9 until 2100. we tended only to put ours in for the evening so we could eat together and then hired babysitters for late evening post 2100 hours so we could eat and be merry (babysitter $3 FJ an hour - so make very frequent use).
The island itself is so beautiful it is without peer and i need not go on about it. The snorkelling etc is great for all ages and my kids under 5 all snorkeeled with life support buibbles on their backs as they are not great swimmers.
To be fair the hotel accomodation and ammenities genberally are a little dated but it really does not make any difference becuase you will be to busy swimming eating and just relaxing.
Food was great. we had buffet every meal. Hot chips and stuff for the kids and for the adults i guess i would desrcibe somewhere in bewtween Sizzler and an upmarket city hotel buffet?? But food was very nice, particularly if your an aussie bloke who enjoys meat. Not sure how you vegies might fair.
We had a wonderful hoiliday and I would not chnage a single thing. I read every review on here before i left and was very worried. But I think there are alot of people out there who are just to hgeard to please. This place was great and i think an absoloute must for families. (honeymooners should stay upo the beach at the adults only one).
Finally there is no need to smuggle beer across if you are worried about beer prices. The local beers are $6 Fj which is about $3 Australian. There are three to choose and they are all excellent. One tastes like VB and the other pure blonde. Dont waste your money on the imported stuff wehn their beer is good. You can (and I did) buy some beer from the grocery store at Denaru Port before your ferry arrives. If you do this you will get beer for about $1 FJ.
We stayed for 5 nights. I wish we had stayed for about 7 nights. 5 was a little short. We had No rain and temp was about 30 every day

Room Tip: Beachfront Buree is a most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ozhopper2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

A group of 11 of us stayed at Plantation Is over the Christmas-NYE period 2010-2011.
We had such a fabulous time. The rooms were very basic and need make-overs. However, the location certainly made up for it. The beaches were picture-postcard stuff. We hardly spent any time in our rooms. We spent all day in the water or on the sand soaking up the amazing views.
The Fijian service over this period was pretty bad. At times we were clearly invisible while staff walked around you.
The resort was 100% full and so the staff were stretched to their capacity and unfortunately it makes for very unhappy workers. I'm comparing it of course, to Asia where the locals love being busy. I think Fiji could benefit from some customer service orientated training. The staff sighed with relief when the numbers on the island started declining after NYE. In saying this, not all the staff were unhappy. We met some amazing people while we were there for 2 weeks. And it is their smiles and faces that I will remember for years to come.
My friends and I stayed in pretty much all different types of accommodation on the island. The beach-front bure were definitely the best. Amazing location, and the rooms seemed newer too. We had a garden terrace bure, and it was spacious but furtherest from the water and restaurants, etc. Two more of our group had a hotel room. The hotel room upstairs was private and quiet. The hotel room right beach front was the most near to the restaurant. It was probably the busiest location with much traffic going past, however, it was super central. All the rooms bar one (I think it was a studio garden room) had enough room to sleep 4 adults. However, noone sharing accommodation had much privacy as the ceiling is all open so noise travels. The toilet is the only totally enclosed room. Take extra money (no ATM on island), sunscreen, insect repellant and hard alcohol. Beer, bread & junk food is cheap from the two mini-marts in the resort.
Being a big island there's heaps of activities and heaps of room to spread out. Even when 100% full there was plenty of room to escape.
Oh, and get a massage. It's not on the beach, but it's a couple's room with candles & inesscents.

Room Tip: Go beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bee_and_Kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Fiji, our second trip to Plantation Island. I decided this time that I wanted to have a look around the mainland for a couple of days but all we did was waste our money....we should have just gone straight to Plantation.

As we went here 18 months before hand and had such great time we were a little scared that our expectations from last time wouldnt compare. Well we got off the boat to a welcome beyond what we could have hoped for. The staff immediately recognised us and it was like we were their family returning...wow, it still brings tears to our eyes.

Our room was nice, big and comfortable. It was cleaned everyday, beds made and clean towels even if we told the housekeeper that she didnt need to (we are adults and can tidy up after ourselves) we would come back and she had done it. Our room was nice and close to the main area as we had asked. We were in a block which had 4 units which was perfect because we like to socialise and meet new people. A big vinaka for this room.

The meals were great. We only had dinner in the restaurant, ate lunch at the cafe and breakfast well our teenagers dont eat it anyway. Dinner time was great. We would go to the bar and have a drink first. We would tell Naomi (the restaurant manager) that we would like a table and she would come and get us when it was ready. If you leave the restaurant hungry you only have yourself to blame. Every night there is a new menu (which is put up at lunch time so that you can check it out). Some nights it was a big decision what to have as there are so many choices.

Every night there is different entertainment on. Frog races, bingo and the list goes on. Our favourite was Mr Plantation which is a fun night. Male guests get up and the lady guests decide who is the hottest guy there (not sleazy just very very funny). And every night there is a disco and some of the staff get up and dance with guests which is heaps of fun. Even if you dont dance it is good fun to watch. Bill from the bar is the greatest dancer I have ever seen.

The daily activities are great. There are written on the activities board at around 6pm and you can then decide what ones you want to do the next day and there is always something for everyone. If you like golf there is a great competition 3 times a week and my husband and son had the best time. Thanks to Michael and Billy for taking the boys off our hands for a while so that my daughter and I can have some girls time and have our massages, pedicures and manicures.

It really annoys us when we see people write negative reviews on Plantation Island. If you have any problems, management is always out and about speaking to their guests and asking how things can be improved and if you are enjoying your stay so there is no need to go home and whinge.

The resort is only classed as a 3* but really we have stayed at 5* resorts and Plantation is so much more better. Where else can you have dinner right on the beach and be treated so personally.

When it came time for us to leave the staff all came to say good bye and sing a song. We cried most of the way home we were that touched.

Plantation Island, we miss you and cant wait to come back to our new family next easter. Vinaka to everyone involved, especially Api, Miri, Niven (management team), the bar staff Nancy, Josh, Joe & Oscar for keeping us well hydrated, the restaurant staff Semi, Naomi, Marretha & Va for keeping us well hydrated, Mr B and all of the housekeeping staff and Joe the security man for keeping us safe at night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank BrisbaneBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
765 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
927 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,623 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
11.7 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $140 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing