We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lomani Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
$474
$396
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
$313
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Serenity Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
$161
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Six Senses Fiji(Malolo Island)
$1,098
$1,058
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tropica Island Resort(Malolo Island)
$512
$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Likuliku Lagoon Resort(Malolo Island)
$947
$824
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malolo Island Resort(Malolo Island)(Great Value!)
$348
$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $408/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Castaway Island Fiji(Castaway Island (Qalito))
$652
$512
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,861)
Filter reviews
1,861 results
Traveler rating
620
715
279
143
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
715
279
143
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation islandgarden burekids clubmusket covefamily holidaycoral restaurantmeal planpoolside roomfishblack coralcash cardlomani endcoco hutthree stargreat familycopra shedbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1,770 - 1,775 of 1,861 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Had read prior reviews and got a bit freaked out so glad to report that this is a great place for families for holidays, we had a fantastic time from start to finish with our 4 and 5 year old.
Bures in the 200 series are amazing, great views, close to warm water. Clean and tidy and well kept.
We had breakfast and dinner meal plans and after 5 days I was wishing that we had only done this for 3 days as would have like to try something off the a la carte menu, like caesar salad, as the buffets were tasting all the same.
Pools great, activities great and service laid back but great.
Would definitely book again but personally I didnt realise how many people were going to be on island, 670 people and arond 300 kids so was quite a busy place at nights (during the day everyone is away doing their own thing), and this may make me want to book to a smaller island, but then again you might not get the large variety of pools and activities.
Best family holiday ever though.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank stod100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

2 adults & 12 & 10 yr old. We asked for a Garden View Motel room (as this was the cheapest option) and they seemed to be quite new. Rooms 260 - 264. We were really surprised with how big they were, 2 single beds, couch, 2 armchairs & small table in front room, fridge/bathroom in middle and then king size bed in back room. You can't drink the tap water here but a big container of fresh water provided every day. The rooms were cleaned really well and staff were friendly.

Loved the temperature of the sea & pools, you could just walk straight in - not freezing but not too warm. The free snorkelling trips were great - big sand bar out at sea. There are also snorkelling areas off the shore - they are marked by red buoys - at low tide you could almost walk up to them.

We had a meal plan for breakfast, lunch & dinner. My 10 yr old was able to eat free but got sick of only being allowed to eat the buffet for lunch. Next time I would only get a meal plan for breakfast & dinner as there is a snack shop & the supermarket for other options. In the main restaurant you are not allowed to be wet as the chairs all have cushions which was a bit of a pain at lunch time as you had to either make sure you were dry or get changed out of swimwear.

There are quite a few other resorts on this island and some private properties - quite interesting to check it all out. I think Plantation is in the best position.

Be careful swimming in the new tiled pool as the tiles can cut your feet - especially kids who like to run around - this problem is solved by wearing reef shoes.

Towards the end of the first week both kids got severe ear infections. We saw the nurse who prescibed ear drops but when we went to Naviti the 2nd week the doctor gave antibiotics as it was getting quite bad. Apparently this is a very common problem - they suggest that the kids get their ears cleaned of wax by a doctor before they come as water makes the wax swell which traps water in the ears and leads to infection. Something I didn't think of.

Overall we all loved it, found most people to be friendly and would love to come back. Be aware that not everything is perfect, it's not 5 star, be patient and friendly and you wont have any problems.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Demunja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We went to Plantation Island with an extended family group.
The hotel rooms were a bit shabby and the bathroom could do with a makeover, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway, the rest of the group were scattered from one end of the resort to the other but they all had good accommodation.
The small store down near the airstrip had quite a good selection of bits and pieces and lunch foods, insect repellents and sunscreen, we had taken things like that as the reviews said it was expensive, but it was no more expensive than a dairy in NZ.
Anandas restaurant was our favourite, but we also ate at the main restaurant and they provided a cake and the staff all came to sing happy birthday to one of our group which was really nice.
We booked all our activities on the first day for the week, so had no problem waiting or missing out on activities, we had a great time doing everything that was on offer and could have spent longer there and not been "bored", the place doesn't shut down at 6pm like we had read in the reviews and we were happy with the entertainment, the kids were kept amused in the evening while we would have our meal. We would get the kids meals ordered in the evening then have a drink and found "Fiji time" ok to deal with as we had been warned and were in no hurry as we did go there for a holiday!!
The staff were friendly and mostly helpful. we did have a child who cut her leg open and the medical centre wasn't equipped to deal with it and suggested flying her back to the mainland but fortunately there was a Dr staying as a guest and he had seen the accident and offered to help if needed so he stitched it up and checked on her the next day, so we could continue our holiday.
Over all this was an excellent place for a family holiday, and I would recommend it to families with school aged children.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annmarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Have travelled quite a lot over recent years, but this was our first visit to a "tourist resort". Myself, Wife and 10y.o. daughter.
Arrived Nadi 0730. Cat to island arrived around 1100. Very warm welcome from staff. Great room (Bure #206) just 25' from water edge.
Room clean and tidy. Drinking water refilled every day. Fridge, Fans & Aircon. Hammock and seats out front on beach. Uninterupted view to the west. Great sunsets. Small supermarket near airport runway is much better than resort shop.
Bought the "5 day meal deal" for us adults. Daughter eats free, but must eat dinner between 1700 and 1830 for free meal. After 1830 we had to pay for her meal! This was a problem 'coz we were not ready to eat at such early hour, and she was ready for bed by around 1900. Meals were ok. Set menu each night (meal deal) with variety, but breakfast/lunch was same every day (boring). Drink prices varied depending on who served them, but local bear FJD$4.50, local spirits around FJD$5.50. Cocktails FJD$15. A la carte meals from around FJ$25 (main course). Set menu FJD$28 (3 courses)
Staff are fantastic with kids -especially "Watson" -a really nice bloke. Kids Club suited younger age groups (up to around 8-9). 10y.o. was a bit bored. Some of the free adult activities suited her better. (basket making, coconut craft, crab hunting etc).

Overall, thoroughly recommend (especially for young families). Great snorkelling. Fantastic views. Some bures face toward Musket Cove and miss out on some of the views. Make sure you spend the extra for an oceanfront bure. Try for Bures 202 to 218 -most are great.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WazzaAndCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

Plantation Island is the best island in fiji.

The service is spectacular, the location is spectacular, and the food is delicious.

The rooms are clean and large so very comftable.

The snorkelling day trips were excellent. Very nice coral and fish for snorkelling.

The resort pool area is set in a very pleasant way.

The resort overall is wonderful, very organised and extremly pleasant. When going to fiji again, we will stay definately here again.

Great place

  • Stayed: May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank addictedtotravel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews