We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Looked great online, but surpassed every one of our expectations once arrived.........

We stayed in a Beachfront Villa which was large and always kept exceptionally clean. Irrespective of what we had heard from various sources about 'Fiji time' service, the staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly or attentive. The food was top quality and there was plenty to do if you managed to get off your sun lounger on the beach, or your daybed outside of the villa (we didn't)!

When you arrive they say "welcome home" and after staying at Likuliku all Xmas and New Year, I now understand why.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    53
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
18
759
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We chosse Likuliku on a friends recommendation for our 2nd honeymoon. We took the heli transfers from Nadi and were amazed at how fast we arrived there after getting off the plane- a great way to go if you can stretch to that. We stayed five days on the resort. We found the rooms nice and service was friendly but at times a little too relaxed with things being forgotten or arriving wrong and having to be reordered. The food was good and the chef creative with an interesting mix of local and international foods keeping us smiling with his array of different flavors each day. However with only one resturant 5 days was about right for us. We found it reasonably priced compared with similar style places in Thailand and Bali. We did a couple of dives which were ok but have had far better in Taveuni earlier in the year.

The only unfortuante thing was the music from the other Bures. On our third night a young couple arrived in the next Bure and played Duff Duff music until the early hours. When we complained at 1am and the music stopped . However the next night in the Bure on the other side another couple arrived and played more duff duff music all day and into the night. As the walls of the Bures are so thin the music travels right through and with each Bure equiped with a sound system with a sub woofer it doesn't take much volume to reach the next door.

We were happy to move and let the honey mooners have their own time but the front desk manger insisted on charging us another $400 so we stayed on his promise the music would stop. Unfortunately that promised was never kept so our we didn't get as much sleep that night as we had hoped to.

Likuliku is popular with couples and most people seemed to keep to themselves so if thats what you're after would be hard to find better place - just pack some ear plugs and hope you don't need them!. There are a few walks and day trips you can and the snorkling off the peer is also fun.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

This is simply THE BEST, MOST BEAUTIFUL, MOST RELAXING resort I have ever stayed at - no question.
1. The bures: Out of this world! We stayed at the deluxe beachfront and loved it. The bures are spacious and luxurious inside, beautifully decorated with flowers everywhere when you check-in. Location is steps away from the beach so the view from the room is just amazing. Also, the plunge pool and day bed are so perfect.

We got a chance to take a look at one of the overwater bures and, although we loved the deluxe beachfront, we really wished we had stayed here instead. Beautiful on the inside. Terrace is amazing. It has a glass floor where you see beautiful fish swimming under you. The feeling of having a room in the middle of the ocean is unbeatable. Worth every penny.

TIP: - If staying in deluxe beachfront ask for bures #40-44 - these are the ones with the best views and are located in at least tidal side of the resort.
- If staying in overwater bure the best one is #1. (#2 is nice too)
- Bring snacks just in case you get hungry in between meals (there is nothing in the resort)... and a good bottle of wine (or champagne) to enjoy in your bure ... or while you lie on the beach...

2. Food: so good! Very fancy. Three course meal for both lunch and dinner every day. We were there 4 days and the menu was always different (except the breakfast, which doesn't change). Everything was delicious not to mention how nice it looked when it was served. Also, the restaurant is located right across from the beach, making it an even nicer experience.

TIP: - Restaurant allows you to bring your own drinks/wine etc (with corkage fee if bringing a bottle)
- Book a nice table in advance
- You can order more than one item from the menu if you wish
- If you don't like what you order they are ok with bringing you something different

3. The Beach: Stunning. Yes it is very tidal. And yes lots of rocks, you will need shoes if you want to go in. But still beautiful. It was not even that sunny when we were there so I can't imagine how nice the ocean looks with lots of sun! The water is super clear and you will see the most beautiful fish swimming right next to you. Don't leave without going snorkeling- amazing experience.

4. The Service: Just excellent. Anything you want they will accommodate. Everyone is so so nice.

TIP: Don't tip. Resort encourages you to give money upon check-out for a "staff fund" instead, which they will distribute among all staff at the end of the year.

5. Transfers: We used the catamaran. It was the cheaper option and really, it was ok. It took 45 minutes to get there and 2 hours to get back (I think the time to get there or back depends on when you take the catamaran). The two hour trip wasn't even that bad (you get to see other islands/resorts along the way).

6. Others: Fantastic pool. View of the ocean from the pool is stunning. Really cool bar (go there at night and try the CAVA or learn to BULA dance). There's two computers that you can use for internet outside reception. Rent movies from the front desk if you are bored.

A few complaints:
- Asked for ice twice from the room and it never came
- They forgot to bring drinks we ordered during dinner on several occasions
- We paid more for the late checkout option (3pm checkout) so we asked for someone to come clean our room in the morning. Nobody came.
- Got a noise complaint for playing music too loud in our bure (it was 6pm and not that loud)
- It would have been nice if there was some sort of entertainment at the resort at night

If you are NOT looking for a relaxing quiet vacation DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL. Otherwise, stop thinking about it and book it, it will be the most magical place you will ever go to.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

we had our honeymoon at liku liku after we were married at castaway island.
we stayed in an over water bungalow which was spectacular, we could see the fish swimming underneath the table it was very luxurious.
Beautiful bathroom and huge big bath overlooking the water.
WHEN WE ARRIVED THEY HAD CONGRATULATIONS WRITTEN IN FLOWERS ON THE BED VERY SWEET.
The meals were beautiful, the staff were nice but not as warm or friendly as the people on castaway island.
we did a day trip to check out the other islands which was a lot of fun, the guys on the boat were really nice and very happy and friendly which made the trip even better.
The only thing I guess could of been better was a little bit more things for us to do, we had a lovely massage, but their could of been a bit more to entertain the guests.
its really a holiday for just laying around and relaxing in the sun.
But the over water bungalows were just stunning, just like they look in the brochure, you wont be disappointed if you stay in one of them thats for sure.
The only thing that upset us was our phone wouldnt work so that we could ring out to make sure our kids got home safe after leaving castaway island, and none of the staff seemed to know how to get our line out, eventually after alot of upset we finally were told that the plane back to australia arrived safe.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summernightsNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Likuliku is gorgeous! it has idilyic settings, a beautiful stretch of white sand with the cleanest, most amazing aqua water you will ever see.

My husband and I spent the first week of our honeymoon here, and were not disappointed. The staff cannot be faulted, they are welcoming, friendly and make your stay what it is.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are inclusive and are served in the resorts one dining area, which is amazing and overlooks the most beautiful part of the resorts beach. There are activities and free use of water sports.

If you are someone who always likes to be 'on the go' and doesnt enjoy sitting back and relaxing, it may not be the place for you. I would recommend no longer than 5 nights.

The food is very 'fancy' and you are given a choice of three different options for lunch and dinner. If you arent a lover of fine dining (which Im not personally, I prefer your every day type cuisines) you may struggle, and may want to discuss upon arrival as they can cater for you. If you are a lover of seafood - you will be in heaven!

breakfast, lunch and dinner are between certain times, so if you are like me and get hungry before 7pm each night, be sure to take a good stash of munchies and nibbles (the thing i regret not doing) as there is no where else there to buy or order food. If you miss breakfast or lunch - you go hungry! there is minibar but its very limited, and no room service, so be sure to stock up before you go!

If I could change anything about the island, it would be the flexibility in the menu and the eating times, I would also introduce some kind of informal all day dining to make life easier. Other than that, absolutely amazing!

Oh - also take your laptop if you want in room internet, otherwise they have 2 computers at reception that are free for all guests to use. The other disappointment was the garden beachfront rooms and the beachfront rooms dont have a DVD player, only the deluxe beachfront and overwater bures - as there is not alot to do at night you greatly benefit from this (they have DVDs you can borrow) so take a portable dvd player or your laptop, and maybe some board games!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessnsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

From the moment the helicopter flew into Likuliku we knew we were in for something very special. And we weren't disappointed. A warm welcome from Bill who collected us in the golf Buggy from the helipad and proceeded to give us a complete rundown on the resort on the short trip back to reception. We stayed in a Deluxe Beach Bure which was home for the next 5 days - not nearly long enough - next time we plan on at least 8 days. Very modern Fijian style accommodation - plenty of space inside with a gazebo and plunge pool looking out to the lagoon. Yummy fresh cookies and chilled Fijian water were delivered daily. The Bures are very private, making you feel like you're the only one on the island. (Any of the accommodation would be excellent.) The staff is always available with excellent and friendly service. We can't speak highly enough of the wonderful staff -they're always happy and they just make the stay even more memorable. We can't wait to get back and see them! We swam, sailed and snorkelled which is excellent off the jetty, And don't be concerned about bugs and mosquitos as there's Aerogard in the room and the whole resort is fumigated twice a day - we had no problems with bites. It's also worth a visit to the island school and village - definitely take some money with you as you can sponsor a school child and also buy local crafts, meet local villagers and drink Kava. Simone was a great tour guide and we had lots of fun. He's also a pretty good story teller.
Another highlight of the resort is the food - it's to die for! Every meal was different, presented beautifully with fresh, innovative dishes. Five star food with a five star view over the lagoon. In the past 30 years we have had some special holidays but this would be one of the best resorts we have ever visited.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fijifans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

I had been searching for a perfect Honeymoon and so did a good search ...and I knew that this place had the best reviews..n it does live up to it....simply amazing....
the staff r so friendly n the best service Ive seen...n ive been to most resorts around Fiji of various stars, this one was my 1 st five star experince and me and my wife just married was over the moon ...it had wonderful food and scenery...
we actually went on a 2 hour hike up around the mountain to Jonas point and great views.
we had a deluxe beachfront with plunge pool...great bedroom, living area n bathroom, outdoor shower, very nicely planned, as an architects point of view,
just so relaxing in the sunbed and quick plunge ....snokerled a bit ...good amount of fish, we also tried the spa massage n that was just great.

overall we cant wait to go back there....hopefully somtime soon....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
15.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,071 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
890 reviews
14.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likuliku Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likuliku Lagoon Resort

Property: Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Address: Malolo Island | Mamanuca Islands, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Likuliku Lagoon Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Likuliku Lagoon Resort is a multi award-winning, unique, luxury haven for couples only and the first and only in Fiji with over-water bures. A unique and special place, designed with integrity to cultural values, traditional designs and architecture and embraced by the renowned warmth of the Fijian people. From the water it looks like an ancient village, so traditional is the architecture. Likuliku embodies the richness of an ancient culture with vibrant present-day lifestyle touches. With over 18,000 stays and over 4000 return guests, Likuliku is a truly magical place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Likuliku Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Likuliku Lagoon Hotel Malolo Island
Likuliku Lagoon Malolo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing