We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwater hut was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overwater hut was amazing”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I recently went to Fiji & New Zealand for our honeymoon. We had a fantastic time in both countries but we both said that the highlight of the trip was walking into our overwater bure at Likuliku for the 1st time. Right as you walk in the front door there is a large picture window over looking the beautiful lagoon. We looked at each other in awe and couldn't beleive that we were actually staying here. And as we looked around the room, it got even better - from the large bedroom area with cut-out floor panels so you could see the water to our huge deck to the beautiful bathroom and soaking tub.
Yes, Likuliku is expensive - especially the overwater bure - but to us it was worth it. We only stayed 3 nights to save money but both wished we saved else where and stayed longer.
A few things to note before you go - as others have mentioned - the lagoon is tidal so you can't swim until around noon. This was ok with us as there is a great infinity pool at the main lodge. Also, it's a bit of a walk from the overwater bure's to the main lodge/restaurant, at least 10 minutes. This was also ok with us but wanted to note that. The dinner service is also extremely slow - not a complaint, just something to be aware of. Dinner took about 2 hours. But we really liked the food. We did not have problems with mosquitos at our bure but being a tropical island, take precautions when dining.
Everything and everyone was great. We really enjoyed the snorkel trip, sunset cruise and 'deserted' picnic to honeymoon island.
Can't wait to go back. We said maybe 5 year anniversary but don't know if I can wait that long!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jas925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    53
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
18
759
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Have just returned from a 6 night magical stay!! Fantastic location, great accommodation topped by equally great food!!! Our beachfront bure with plunge pool was ideal just metres away from the beach, ideal for snorkelling and swimming not to mention watching the amazing sunsets form your deck.
Service second to none from the minute you arrive you are welcomed with " Welcome Home" and made to feel as part of the family. From the gardeners to the chef service was hard to fault.Only wish we did not have to leave!!!
Special mention to the executive chef Ihaka Peri who presented us with tantalising menus changing everyday. If you want to go away and experience beauty,comfort, service,great food and just completely relax this is the place for you. We had a helicopter transfer from Denarau which gave you an amazing view of Liku Liku from the air.
Cannot wait to go there again.

Room Tip: Beachfront bures with plunge pool would be my tip but all accommodation have great views you cant go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wow...this place is just amazing. I can't imagine a more magical experience, there is nothing i would change. The service is second to none, everyone is so happy and can't do enough for you. The food is just incredible, every meal was a work of art and delicious. We stayed in both the beachfront bure with the pool and also without. Both were so beautiful.The resort activities are fun, paddle boarding, sailing, ping pong and some good walking trails and worth trying. But really the best thing we did was just soak it all in! I can't wait to visit again, we have traveled to many many places around the world and this will always be at the top of the list.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elysia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a MUST visit resort - the most amazing location, attention to detail and extremely hospitable staff.

My husband and I spent four days here in May 2013 and could not fault anything. It is hard to find words that do justice to this place - it is an out of this world experience.

We stayed in a Beachfront Bure which was secluded and private. It was a brilliant size, equisitely fitted out with every detail covered. The day bed was private and perfectly positioned to watch the sun set over the lagoon. Just a few steps from the Bure sat our own deck chairs on the waters edge.

The pristine and crystal clear waters of the lagoon were perfect for swimming, snorkelling and kayaking. The resort is doing a brilliant job to protect the corals and fish life into to the future. The infinity pool was also pristine and a great area to sunbathe, drink cocktails and swim when the tide was low. It was never too busy.

The grounds were immaculate. The staff worked tiressly to keep it in tip top shape. Not a leaf was out of place.

There was a great selection of activities from water sports, day trips, educational/cultural activities and spa treatments. The staff are so helpful, accommodating and informative.

The food was outstanding. The selection, variety and freshness of all the meals was brilliant. You will not be disappoint nor hungry! The bars also offer a great selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages. The waiting staff paid attention to every detail and offered a five-star level of hospitality. The live band at meal times was a great touch to the experience.

The staff truly MADE this experience. Each and every staff made a special effort to personally introduce themselves and greet all guests by name for the entirety of our stay. I really admired this personal service. They were always smiling and willing to assist. Nothing was ever a problem. They went above and beyond to make our staff extraordinary.

This is truly a benchmark for resorts world wide.

I would like to extend my gratitude to the staff of Liku Liku for making our stay the most amazing experience ever. We look forward to returning some day. Thank you.

L & M

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Words cannot describe the beauty of this place. We felt we were transformed to another dimension. The setting, the serenity, the food, the staff, everything was out of this world.
This is a couple's only resort. Perfect place for celebrating honeymoons and anniversaries.
We had the deluxe beachfront Bure with the plunge pool. We chose it because it was larger than the over waters. Gorgeous beach, almost private. The way the resort is designed, it gives you the feeling of seclusion.
Likuliku is a piece of heaven. If you are looking for a very special romantic getaway, this is it.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe beachfront bures that are closer to the spa on the far right side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The resort is amazing to say the least. The staff are wonderful and are the loveliest people in the hospitality industry anywhere in the world. One morning I asked for a certain type of tea saying that I really loved it then when I went back to my room there was a whole box of that tea waiting for me - now that is service and attention to detail. Meals - YUM, I don't think we had one bad bite the whole time we were there. The rooms are beautiful and the plunge pool very special, they are so lovely that you really don't want to leave them for the whole day....... BUT.... When you venture out the coral reef for a snorkel right outside your door... WOW.. The reef is so beautiful you can spend hours there gazing at the corals and fish, and because the reef has been protected, they fish are not scared of you and you can hold your hand out and have clown fish nibbling at your fingers!! Now that is something money can't buy. I suggest this be your last stop in Fiji because if you stay anywhere after you will be longing for LikuLiku.

Room Tip: The plunge pool bures further away from the main hotel seemed to have the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fussykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dural, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in 2011 and we couldn't fault any part of our stay. We were made to feel extremely welcomed from the moment we were greeted at the pier by a group of Fijian singers with refreshing drinks - and the high standard of service never ended!

We stayed in a Beach Front Bure, which was lovely. It would have been nice to stay over the water, but the price is considerable higher, and regardless of what room you have, you'll never want for anything. Beware: they put a full jar of freshly baked cookies in your room every day and our will power just wasn't strong enough to say 'no'!

Every meal that we had was divine. There were plenty of options and we certainly never went hungry.

As well as the heavenly location and amazing food and service - the staff made the trip memorable and were a continual source of fun and laughter.

The swimming off the shore is amazing or you can book diving and fishing trips further out if you want. The gym looked good, although we didn't use it - we were too busy eating cookies :-)

The number of guests at any one time is quite small, so you get a lot of privacy and are made to feel like a VIP.

I would love to holiday at this resort again one day, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Any room would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rellie263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
15.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,068 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
890 reviews
14.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likuliku Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likuliku Lagoon Resort

Property: Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Address: Malolo Island | Mamanuca Islands, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Likuliku Lagoon Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Likuliku Lagoon Resort is a multi award-winning, unique, luxury haven for couples only and the first and only in Fiji with over-water bures. A unique and special place, designed with integrity to cultural values, traditional designs and architecture and embraced by the renowned warmth of the Fijian people. From the water it looks like an ancient village, so traditional is the architecture. Likuliku embodies the richness of an ancient culture with vibrant present-day lifestyle touches. With over 18,000 stays and over 4000 return guests, Likuliku is a truly magical place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Likuliku Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Likuliku Lagoon Hotel Malolo Island
Likuliku Lagoon Malolo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing