We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We have just returned from the most relaxing 8 days ever. The Resort is just great. It is small enought to be personal and get to know the Fijian staff who are all wonderful and so happy, as well as other guests- and we met some great people.

There is as much as you want to do or as little, you can sail, kayak, snorkel, banana boat rides, swim or just laze on the loungers (which there were plenty of). There are some organised activities if you want to join in and we loved the fun ones at Happy Hour and later in the evening - like the crab races - its always a bonus when you win a bottle of champagne too.

The bures are just lovely, very spacious and very well maintained - and I was wrapt to find everyone gets an ocean view - awesome.

Now the food - its amazing - The Chef Christian is passionate about his craft and you are in for a real treat with cuisine that is top notch (They are an awesome family & our boy Kris had lots of fun fishing & swimming with their son George).

While we were there the weather was beautiful with water temperatures 28. We would recommend you do the Dolphin Safari, that is such good value as you get to so snorkelling as well at one of the reefs and we actually did get to see 2 pods of dolphins which was so cool - a highlight was when a baby dolphin did a little flip for us.

We can't wait to return and neither can our son who reckons its one of the best holidays he has ever had - the kids club is great for kids under 12 but even so the older ones still had fun.While the kids are playing you can treat yourself to the beauty spa - you have to try a massage or facial - blissful in a delightful outdoor setting.

All'n'all everyone had a great holiday and we loved this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ExmanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 731 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2007

We have just returned from Malolo where we spent a much-needed relaxing six days at the end of April on our way home to Australia after a hectic driving tour around south-west US for three weeks. Generally we were very happy with our stay and it was almost everything we had hoped it would be – beautiful beach, quiet, warm and friendly (very similar to our previous experience seven years ago on Treasure Island) but we did have a couple of complaints that I will mention later.

The accommodation - Our bure #37 was at the far end of the beach – a beautiful spot only steps from the beach and very quiet. (In fact I think the previous reviewer was actually our neighbour for the first few days of our stay and I can only say that I wish she stayed longer
as our new neighbours made our last few days quite awful – more later…) It was about a 5 minute walk to all the action from here so if you have small children or don’t like to walk much you may prefer a bure closer to the jetty - #1 to #20. The bures are spacious and comfortable, with overhead fans and air-conditioning (which we didn’t
need to use much at all but it did work well when we did), nice bathrooms with large showers. There is a small fridge to keep any drinks cold that you may bring from the mainland (my advice is to bring some soft drinks and nibbles so that you don't have to pay the expensive resort prices when you just want to relax in your bure.)

The facilities – Didn't use the adult lounge or kids club so can't comment on these. Leilani’s spa is beautiful – my husband and I had a wonderful 30 minute couple massage (that actually went for 40) for only $90FJD – and is situated at the rear of the resort nestled into the hillside so it is quiet and open to the trees at the back. There are two pools – one for adults only. The adults pool has a pool bar and a waterfall joining it to the other pool below. This second pool is covered partially by a sun-shade and has a gradual, beach-type approach at one end making it ideal for toddlers but also has a deep end (about 8ft?) so that it is also suitable for older children and adults. There is a dive shop and a watersports hut where you can hire snorkelling gear to keep in your bure for the time you are there and organise any other water activities (kayaking,
sailing, fishing trips, snorkelling trips, dolphin spotting trips). The small boutique/shop sells a range of island clothing, souvenirs and basic necessities. There are double hammocks spotted along the front of the bures in the shade of the trees and lots of plastic lounges along the beach for sunbaking.

The food – The three places to eat are the Beach Bar (casual meals like wedges, salads, pizza available most of the day) the Terrace Restaurant (more substantial meals for lunch and dinner and the breakfast buffet) and the Tree Tops restaurant (fine dining). We didn’t eat at Tree Tops because it is for adults over 18 only and we have a 13 year old but ate at the other two and thought the food was great. We chose not to take the meal plan as we are not big eaters and couldn’t possibly eat a full breakfast, lunch and three course dinner every day – especially since most of the day we spent relaxing
so didn’t use up much energy. The food is quite expensive but we still think we spent less than we would have on the plan. The bottled
wine is very expensive so if you plan on drinking a bottle nightly with your dinner I recommend bringing some duty free - the restaurants charge $15 FJD corkage but it still works out much cheaper. The Beach Bar has a 'happy hour' every day between 5.30 and 6.30 when drink prices are reduced (cocktails $13 instead of $16 so we naturally took advantage of this!) and you are given a dish of fried coconut to nibble on. We found the food was varied enough for our six days, very fresh and tasty and can only commend the chef and his team for their good work.

The beach – other reviewers have commented on the fact that the beach is no good for swimming at low tide. We didn’t have any problems with this as we stuck to swimming or snorkelling at high tide when you can swim straight over the coral (and not damage it or yourself) and at low tide we rested on the beach, went kayaking, etc
– no problems. The sand is a little course but it didn't worry us as
we didn't spend much time just 'walking along it'.

The staff - Generally we found the staff to be very friendly and smiling and those that weren't I think were shy rather than unfriendly. Al at the bar kept us amused with his cries of 'happy hour!' every evening and 'more signatures!' to encourage us to sign orders for more drinks. Eloni entertainingly shared his knowledge of the coconut and medicinal plants. Anise provided us with lots of fun every evening at happy hour with his 'champage games' - hilarious games for all to play with the prize being a bottle of champagne. He also challenged our son to many games of table tennis, which he appreciated as he is in that in-between age - too old for 'kids club'
and too young for just lazing around or sitting at the bar.

Now to our gripes - We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers so we booked a Deluxe Ocean View Bure because it was supposed to have a separate king bedroom and we were looking for a bit of privacy after our long trip. Unfortunately the bure we were given had no divider at all between the beds. We didn’t complain when we first moved in because we had already waited at the beach bar in the heat dressed in
our jeans and shirts for a couple of hours and by the time we were finally checked into our bure all we wanted to do was get into our bathers and hit the water. After we had already settled in this much and unpacked some gear we didn't want the hassle of moving so just made do. However, when we got back home and checked their web site again it bothered us that we had paid for a deluxe, two room bure as advertised and got one large room instead. We emailed them (they were very quick to respond too) and were told that our particular bure didn’t have two rooms but that most people didn’t complain because of the perfect location at the end of the beach, the logic of which we fail to see. I suggested to them that they may want to update their web site to avoid future confusion (or update the bures…) If you really want separate bedrooms you should state this when booking as I’m not sure how many other bures are like ours.

Our other complaint (which I did make while on the island) was about the noise coming from our new neighbours at #38. The couple (and their constantly crying baby) had apparently come to the island to get married, and they had brought about another 30-40 people with them. I have never come across such a noisy, rude and inconsiderate group of people before, even in America! (I am ashamed to say most of this group were Australian but some were English). Not only did they insist on congregating next door and on the beach out the front but they made so much noise while doing so, without any thought whatsoever to any other people around them. On one occasion a large group came down to snorkel (at low tide when most of us know you shouldn’t be in the water damaging the coral) and insisted on shouting to the group on the beach while they were about 30 metres out. We were forced to leave the previously quiet beach, where we were trying to read, to find peace elsewhere. After putting up with their noise for a day or so I complained and was told there were no rooms available to shift to (we didn’t ask to be shifted anyway – why should we as we had already been there 3 days and we shouldn't have to be put out) but that they would have a word to #38 about their noise. I don’t think anything was said at all because the next afternoon they actually all came with their chairs, bottles of drink, chips, music etc and settled in to have a party! I would have thought that at a small resort of this type, large group parties in the bures would be a no-no, surely the public areas should be used for this purpose if the island is to accommodate such large groups along with couples and families wanting a quiet island holiday. I guess you can get loud groups like this to spoil your holiday anywhere you go but the fact that management didn’t do anything to encourage this rude group to be more considerate of other paying guests has slightly dampened my enthusiasm for the resort.

Apart from these two complaints though, we did have a lovely time at Malolo and would recommend it to families wanting a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank AussieDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank Karen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

3  Thank Conrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RRBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank bronstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

5  Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
0.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Malolo Island
649 reviews
14.6 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
3.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Malolo Island
914 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range: $371 - $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing