We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure Heaven”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just back from 10 days in Fiji. We spent the first 3 nights at Malolo and so wished we had spent the whole holiday there. Once you adjust to doing things in Fiji time this place was amazing everything you could wish for in a holiday, great service, beautiful accommodation (kids didn't even care that there was no TV), wonderful food and the beach was just amazing. The swimming is great, some of the best coral and fish spotting right at your doorstep. Reef shoes would have been good for the kids as the sand is quite shelly but they coped ok (they did sell them at the shop but at $50 AUD each we didn't bother!). Free use of non motorized equipment which was great fun (and once we got to the Sheraton in Denarau we realised a huge bonus as they charge for this type of stuff). Plenty of great food and the beach bar was the perfect place to unwind after an action packed day and enjoy a cocktail and again after going to Denarau afterward the prices were pretty good considering you have no other options (but do recommend you take a few bottles of your own). The kids club was fantastic, a beautiful setting and wonderful charming staff who are actually attentive and engaged with the kids, the activities where varied and they always had lots of fun my 5 and 3 year olds loved it. My only complaint was the price of laundry its ridiculously expensive when you consider that you can have a babysitter for $10 Fijian an hour but will pay a fortune to get some washing done. We put in 2 bags of washing and they wanted to charge us close to $100 Australian dollars plus they ruined one of my kaftans - it all turned out ok they were great and sorted it out but still they could improve on this and also provide a little fold away air dryer for the Bure so you can just rinse things out in the sink. Oh and the size of the coffee cups, my husband and I were dying for a nice decent large coffee each morning but whilst the coffee was nice they only served it in really small cups so we needed to have about 3 to sustain us! Overall though it was superb the whole ambience of the place is just wonderful, we went and stayed at the Sheraton in Denarau (DO NOT BOTHER) afterward and all we wanted to do was turn around and go back to Malolo it was just hideous compared to being on this island paradise. We are already planning when we can go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bure 13 and it was great, not so nice from the back but you didn't care as only wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    146
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
421
173
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marcus Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a recent 3 night stay at this resort and loved it all. After being welcomed by the staff as we came off the boat to settling into our bure we enjoyed every minute. After only a very short while the staff knew our names and looked after us so well. From the breakfast to watching the magnificent sunsets from our room it certainly is paradise. The beds were so comfortable and we slept so well. Would definitely take a shoe to wear into the water as the sand is Shelly and a bit sharp.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Still a great resort, and still the best family resort around.

Some good and some bad things since the upgrade took place (our last stay being two years ago, and before the recent upgrade).

The good. Restaurants are noticeably better, and the food has been cranked up a notch. That said, unless you know that there are two kids menus (the normal kids menu, and the "kids club" menu) you could be forgiven for thinking that there is limited choice for the kids. Ask to see the kids club menu (which requires advance orders) as it doubles your choices.

Same applies at the beach bar. The standard menu gets a bit boring by about day four - but ask about the "bar snacks menu" which isn't on display.

Kids club is wonderful, and you need to "get involved" to appreciate it. Be a dag, and get the kids involved in "Coconut Day" from the outset (9:30) until then close of the day. Timah and Ala are wonderful with the kids. Don't fret if it feels slightly disorganised - those ladies know what they are doing and the kids will have a great time. Best for kids aged 5 to 10.

Activities are what you make of them. Beach activities are great - but you do need to ask them if you want to do something: they will drag out the catamarans and the banana boat ride if you ask, and you can arrange handling fishing if you request it. Prices of some activities (power boat ones) have increased though, and I think Malolo needs to have a rethink on its pricing. The fact that no one uses the jet skis should tell them that they are over priced!

Freddy and the activities team are still great, and crab racing still the highlight. Lack of a lawn-side cava ceremony (which has been replaced by a less personal cava tasting on Saturday evening) is a sad loss, and hopefully in time Malolo will reinstate this.

Bures are all still good, although they have built a new family bure two-thirds the way down the beach which creates an over-crowding situation at that point. Always ask for a bure to the West of the bar, as those behind the beach activities centre are not ideally located. One criticism here (Malolo - if you are listening - the mattresses are too soft: and guests in other bures made the same comment. Not sure what can be done with that).

One major criticism is price, which has increased around 30% since the refurbishment, and the employees will happily tell you it is to recoup the costs of that refit. With this in mind, always opt for the full board package (all meals) as you will regret it (financially) if you don't.

We will be back (for stay number four) when we can afford it. Vinaka Malolo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the West of the bar, but not too close (half way along the beach is best).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sydneytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here in Ocenview Bure with the kids, 2 and 7 yo, and absolutely loved it. It's a perfect little family resort. The room was comfortable and spacious, very well designed.
The beach was great, best in the afternoons and sunsets. It is mostly coral sand, so reef shoes would be handy (we didn't have any and were fine). The water is absolutely pristine and perfect for snorkeling. On your first day you can collect free snorkeling gear and keep it for the duration of your stay. There were many other free water activities and equipment was great and in good repair. I would recommend kayaking to the little rocky island across the lagoon, some great snorkeling sites around there.
The food and restaurants choices were amazing. We took out a meal plan, which I think is better option and with the choices offered is quite reasonably priced. Treetops restaurant is a must, fine dining at it's best. We loved the relaxed feel of the beach bar and the breakfast buffet at the Terrace restaurant was just great. The food was fresh, tasty and we were spoiled for choice.
We really liked the idea of the separate, yet so close, kids and adults pools. We usually hit the pool in the morning and the beach in the afternoon, as the pools ended up being in the shade for most of the afternoon.
Spa treatment is a must, Eta will make you feel so welcome and relaxed. She truly has golden hands.
Mili and the staff at the kids club deserve a special mention. They really are all about the little ones. The kids absolutely loved playing here and doing the activities. Each day has been carefully planned with activities, including line fishing out on the boat or coral and fish viewing from the glass bottomed boat. I can not thank them enough for making the kids feel so special and so well taken care of.
And each night, the amazing and very talented music trio will make your dinner that extra special, with some amazing tunes and great voices. Boys, you were truly special.
If I had to be picky, the only fault would be the sun beds (at the beach and kids pool)... not the most comfortable beds, but no big deal (when everything else was just perfect).
We also went for a walk to one of the lookouts behind the resort, which I would highly recommend. Got a glimpse of the rest of the island and took some great shots of the lagoon and surrounding islands.
Each and every staff member was beyond welcoming and helpful, a true Fijian hospitality. We loved every minute of our stay and hope to be back next year with our friends and family for my husband's 40th birthday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cLeo140878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was very happy with this resort. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The food was great. Even though I do not have kids I really noticed how loving and caring the babysitters where. When I have a family I will bring them back here.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Pier are Quite but a 5 minute walk to the restaurants/bars/pools/activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just back from a week at Malolo and the resort was perfect for our family holiday. We were after a top end resort that had good, safe snorkelling off the beach. It was superb! The tide does not go out too far, and we snorkelled at all tides. At low tide entry off the jetty was best to avoid any coral damage from the beach, and the fish life at the jetty was abundant!!! There was a drop off to swim along, and loads to see. Corals were great, and fish diverse. We saw lion fish, octopus, string ray, nemo and friends plus loads more.
We also went on a trip to castaway wall which would have been great it wasn't so rough, the dive here was ok, but not up to normal Fiji standard - (probably a better snorkel site). The free loan snorkel gear is plentiful and good quality. (No need to take your own)
The resort has plenty of water activities with kayaks, paddle boards and a catamaran available free, including tuition. There is also skiing, knee boarding, banana boat rides and trips to the local village and school.
The staff are great, our bure was lovely, and spacious, and although we had a deluxe ocean view, as stated all bures are ocean view and close to the beach. One downside is they are very close to each other, and are actually grouped in 2's and the adjoining wall not very soundproof.
The resort is the only place to eat, and the nearby adult only sister resort is out of bounds for walking, snorkelling and eating.
The crab racing on Wednesday night was excellent entertainment!!
Overall - a great resort, great activities and staff, = an awesome holiday. Thank you Malolo!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murray_sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We loved it! Very romantic, secluded, and beautiful. We hired a local to give a boat tour which was great and we saw lots of dolphin and other wildlife. Arrival was great and there's nothing we can say bad about this place. Get there, relax, and take a kayak to the other islands.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NCNJM d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
3.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
683 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
866 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,312 reviews
3.8 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Property: Malolo Island Resort
Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing