We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon at Malolo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon at Malolo”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The accommodation is nice and cosy we were in a beach front villa. The beautiful snorkel worthy beach was only a 10 second walk away. We had a lovely meal at the adults only tree top restaurant.

The resort has free water sports activities included in the accommodation like rafting and snorkel gear. We also booked a jetski for a few hours which was heaps of fun.

This resort was very family friendly but not crowded with kids (they all go to kids club during the day). The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Will definitely be back one day soon hopefully.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    150
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
430
175
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a week at Malolo with a two year old, ten year old and grandparents. Everyone was catered for and really enjoyed their stay.

Kids club was lots of fun but outside of school holidays the age range was more 4-7. The babysitting was perfect for the odd morning we went out on a boat trip. The babysitter spent the morning with the kids club so out two year old felt part of it all.

The adults only restaurant suited my parents especially for breakfast when all of the kids were at the buffet. Overall the food was very good.

The dolphin and snorkeling safari was a highlight as we played for an hour with a pod of 20 or more dolphins and had a look at a Club Break the surf break off Namuto Island, unreal!

Snorkeling off the jetty and beach was good but you have to go slowly to appreciate the tiny fish hiding in the coral.

We used the paddle boards a lot and explored the neighboring island and mangroves.

The only thing I'd criticize was that Fiji time sometimes applied to dinner service so you just have to chill out! Oh and the shop is outrageously expensive! Save your shopping until you're back on the mainland, even the airport is better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 32elouera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I went there in early Sept for 5 days. Not sure what to expect, but it turned out fantastic, not a heap to do on the island itself (teens would soon be bored) but enough just to break the day up, go kayaking over to crab island and do some snorkelling or just snorkel off the beach. Accomodation was exellent, meals were first class, staff were brill, just couldn't do enough for you. Going back in 2 years, so that must be some sort of reccomendation.

Room Tip: Wine is expensive. Take a book or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogi8294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wow! What an amazing holiday!

Malolo is not Fijian for 'guaranteed unbelievable family holiday', but it should be!!!!

We travelled with our five (Mia) and three (Ollie) year old for six nights, and had an absolute ball. Everything about the resort says luxury for young families. The staff were all so attentive and caring (big Bula to Kali, Lai, Freddy, Pesa, Tima, Pethy, Letitia, Sue, Ben, Taito, Miti, Jerry, Orisi, Ala, Joe, and so many more!!!!).

The food was very good, and accommodating for kids. We had a few intimate meals whilst the kids were entertained. The small touches in between courses such as an amuse-bouche or palette cleanser were great. If you are staying more that five nights then make sure that you use the kids eat free package.

The pool was clean and safe, and partly shaded. The rooms were gorgeous and just what we needed (we had an ocean bure by the beach bar - no. 9 - we recommend it). The activities for both adults and kids were structured and a lot of fun. We had the kids in the, simply, fantastic kids club for the morning from 9 to 12 and the evening from 6 to 9. They loved it. This gave use the chance to seriously relax, snorkel (five meters off the beach and their is an abundance of coral reef fish), kayak, paddle board and sail. All these are complementary. We also went on the dolphin safari. This was well worth it. We saw loads of dolphins right by the boat and then snorkeled for an hour around the Malolo sand bar and reef.

We would recommend buying some reef shoes ($10 from Target) so you can explore at low tide and also investigate all the sea creatures on the little island a kayak away. The kids enjoyed the chance to play with hermet crabs etc.

We could go on. If you are working out where to go in Fiji. Stop. Forget the mainland now, head to the islands and stay at Malolo Island Resort.

Vinaka Malolo!!!!!

Room Tip: Bure 9 was perfect. Near the pool, kids club, the beach and the beach bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kai_and_Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our flight with a toddler was not pleasant... But then we arrived at heaven! From the moment we arrived we felt like family. Our children were treated like princesses and given unconditional endless hugs! The bure was more than we expected and we had the ocean view deluxe bure which was five steps from the beach and our own hammock!
The food was basic pub grub, but tasty and lots of options. The views.... Incredible. Kids club was more suited to our 7 year old, not our 10 year old. But they loved getting their hair braided.... Just make sure you have time!
Happy hour was amazing - half price cocktails, watching the sun set, whilst kids ate their dinner! Then they played on the beach until we went up and had ours!
Kids in bed and we sat on our balcony listening to the water, playing 500 or reading our books.
Bliss!
There is heaps to do if you want to... Or else nothing if you wish!
We will be back!!!!!! Definitely 10 day minimum!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank FiN38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We enjoyed 4 wonderful nights in an Ocean Front Suite at Malolo with our children 8, 6 & 17 months. The resort facilities are beautiful and well maintained. Our kids had a ball at kids club and we couldn't fault a thing. This is our fourth visit to Fiji and our fifth resort - we would have no hesitation in recommending it to other families. The big bonus for us was the excellent food which some Fijian resorts are lacking. If you have time book into Leilanis Spa for a treatment! We caught a sea plane from the resort to the airport to make our international connection - an indulgence but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Malolo for 7 nights in the Oceanview Beachfront Bure. The moment I got off the South Sea Ferry (after a scheduled 2 hour that impromptly turned into a 3 hour ride), I was greeted by the staff at Malolo who picked me up in the resort's speed boat, to take me back to the pier on the island. When the boat was close to the pier, the staff warmly welcomed me with a song and a lei made of shells!

After walking from the pier to the island, I was greeted by Joe, the Guest Services Manager. Instead of standing in line at the reception area, Joe took me to the Welcome Table (with beautiful Hibiscus Flowers, cold refresher towels and a glass of welcome cocktail) to check in to the hotel. It was the best check-in service I've ever experienced!

Every time the staff walked passed, they would say Hello in Fijian ("Bula!") and introduced themselves so we got to know all of them.

Our "room", the oceanfront Bure was surprisingly nicer than I anticipated. It was very clean, big, roomy and kept a nice tempreature (between the louvre windows, the two doors, the two ceiling fans and A/C. The front porch overlooked the beach and had a nice outdoor furniture. The bathroom was also very nice, with a big shower area.

I was also surprised by how the beach surrounding the resort was surrounded by beautiful coral and marine life. Who knew that the most gorgeous marine life (azure blue starfishes, black and white striped fish etc) lived only a few steps from the beach!

There are 3 restaurants. The Beach Bar (open for Lunch and Dinner), The Tree Tops restaurant (Malolo's "fine dining restaurant" for adults only for Breakfast and Dinner), and the main restaurant that serves buffet style meals (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner).

Best tip is to go to Beach Bar for lunch. You will be taken care by Jerry (our favorite host) and Simi (The Beach Bar Chef) who makes the best reliable food at Malolo!

For couples who want to getaway from the children at Dinner and Breakfast, go to Tree Tops restaurant where you will be greeted by Jerry as the restaurant's host. The dinner menu is pretty good offering of seafood, lamb and steak. The desserts are also awesome.
When ordering "off the menu" at Breakfast, the language could be a barrier. The servers are great, but there might be a little miscommunication with the chefs! No worries though, everything there is delicious!

The main restaurant is also great for buffets, but you must get there early! One night, we were told that they were booked out, so our reservation was at 8pm... big mistake! By the time we got there, the buffet looked more like leftovers from last night. We found out the hard way that the buffet service is definitely catered for the families, so get there early!

On one of the days, we also took a boat out to the "Sand Bar Island" to what we thought was, the "Private Picnic package"... turns out there was a another group snorkeling on the same Sand Bar Island at the same time as us! Not such a good deal after all.

The biggest gripe was amount of kids there at the resort. We were told by our travel agent that this is a good resort for couples... couples who like kids, that is! There's a lot of them running around and screaming. Luckily, we can always escape to the Tree Tops restaurant for a quiet(er) meal.

Overall it was an excellent stay at Malolo, despite their being a hurricane-like storm for the 2 days we where there, but that didn't stop them from the daily Happy Hour at 5.30pm and serving us a wonderful 3 course meal at dinner!

Vannaka!!!

Room Tip: Get a corner Ocean Beachfront Bure if you can and if you want privacy, get the rooms that are furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happycamper1978x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
0.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
580 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
890 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
3.8 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Property: Malolo Island Resort
Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing