We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on Earth and welcoming of all people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Malolo Island Resort is divine! From the moment you step onto the long pier greeted by the friendly local band, to the shaded entrance of the impeccable lawn and gardens up to the three-story white terrace restaurant and pools, Malolo continues to surprise and delight all its visitors - Honeymooners, large families and small, this is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday.

The resort itself was one of the most beautiful we visited as a young couple traveling through the Fiji Islands. The accommodation was by far the best with your typical mod-cons and air conditioning, to modern bathrooms made from pebbles and stones, to your own private veranda with lounges. The smallest detail has been given towards comfort and class. Even the shampoo bottles were made out of pastel-coloured ceramics, not that plastic crap that comes in most hotels. The lawn which stretches the entire distance across the resort (which is more like a tropical village), is lined with comfortable hammocks, about 30 in total so you never a go a day without nabbing one. Many other resorts had only one or two.

Malolo also boasts many fun activities and being surrounded by impressive coral reefs (one literally at your doorstep) the other at Honeymoon Island - a short boat ride away, this Island never gets boring! There are also tiny islands dotted a few hundred metres away, accessible by kayak which is so much fun and adventurous as you have to cross a beautiful reef to get there.

The other highlight was the food. It was unbelievable. Coming from a previous "party island" where food poisoning should be on the menu, Malolo was an unexpected delight offering all kinds of international cuisines, not just Fijian bbq's serving chunks of meat. The seafood here was divine and always fresh, everything had loads of flavour and usually buffet style so you could help yourself to more. Dessert included homemade cakes, pavlova, delicious cupcakes and fresh fruits. They present you with a meal plan upon arrival where you pay $150F ($81AU) a day for B, L & D. So put that into your budget. There are two restaurants to choose from, one on the beach: Open Lunch & Dinner serving thin crusted pizzas, burgers, sandwiches (your typical westernized food but a much healthier spin on it all.) And the three-story white terraced building towards the back of the resort amongst the trees. Here, you have views over the whole resort, with a swim up bar pool at the front where they make the most lethal cocktails. A children's pool is located below with an adventure playground also. Nanny's can be hired for only $4AU an hour!

Also hidden amongst the trees is the most beautiful day spa: http://www.maloloisland.com/spa.cfm
Where you can relax, unwind with your partner beside you in an open Fijian hut (think straw roof, no walls) facing the rain forest. Completely private but completely open to the sounds of the forest. A full body scrub cost me approx $60AU, couples massage around $100AU ea.

And finally, the staff. What a wonderful bunch of people we couldn't thank enough. The manager Joe is hilarious and such a character. Every staff member encourages you to learn the local lingo of the day and loves to have a chat. This is a really open, friendly environment. They even invited us into the staff village/quarters to drink Kava with them and kick back into the late ours of the night.

Unfortunately they don't do room service, but this is the kind of island that encourages you to mingle with people, snorkel every day and enjoy the surrounds as it really is the most beautiful place and you shouldn't confine yourself to your room. Internet access is FREE (no other island offered free we-fi.) And a general store/gift shop is available on site with all your baby & pharmaceutical needs.

Stay here for no less than 3 nights. I'm planning on coming back and staying 2 weeks.

Room Tip: If traveling as a couple, request an Ocean View Bure instead of the Deluxe Ocean View Bure which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Codydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 726 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently returned from an 8 night stay at Malolo Island Resort and absolutely loved it. We have three girls (4-8 yrs), so we stayed in a Family Bure which was extremely spacious and just beautiful. It was more than enough for the five of us, and if we had 7 people it would still be very spacious. The Bure's were cleaned to perfection each day and were heaven to return to after a day out. We found Malolo to be very well maintained, clean, small, and intimate. The service was relaxed but faultless really - everyone was very friendly, and we were very quickly on first name basis with a number of staff (thank you Ace, Lai and Ala!). We really enjoyed the food - there was a great variety between the beach bar and the other two restaurants - the quality we thought was excellent. We didn't do the meal plan and our children were on a kids eat free program and we felt that we came out well ahead. We loved the trips on the boat away from the island - site seeing, snorkelling at honeymoon island and at the Malolo Sand Bar, as well as the trip to the local village. The activities on the island kept us more than amused - we felt like we were running out of time to fit it all in towards the end of our stay. The kids really enjoyed the kids club and I think they do an awesome job of remembering all the children's names and making them feel very welcome. We were really impressed with the quality of the children's activities and variety of things for them to do each day. They loved eating with the other children at night - at first we felt guilty as they weren't with us, but then soon realised that is what they enjoyed doing. Overall we loved the intimacy and beauty of the resort and would love to head back there again on our next holiday. I couldn't imagine going to one of the bigger resorts now that we have been here. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank boorisae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have recently returned from an 8 night stay at Malolo with my husband and 5 year old daughter. Also travelled with 2 other adults.

Arrival - taken to tables at the Beach Bar with a cool drink and given paper work to complete. We arrived with a very large group and this was handled very well. Then given a quick tour of the resort and back to the Beach Bar to wait for your rooms. Check in is strictly 3pm.
What we will do next time is to make sure that we put on sunscreen before we get on the 9am ferry to get to the resort (we got sunburnt) and have our bathers packed at the top of our suitcases so we can get changed after our island tour. Towels are available and your luggage is safe and secure. We arrived at the island about 11am and it was a very long wait for tired travellers - next time we will be better prepared as we now know what the "drill" is.
Please note the public toilets are kept very clean - had to comment on that as on an island hop trip (see below) I had to use the facilities and they were woeful.


Rooms - Our travelling companions had an Ocean View Bure and we had chosen the Deluxe Ocean View Bure - both immaculate rooms. In hindsight, due to our childs age we could have just had the Ocean View as the door for the bedroom was really not needed! Next trip planned in August 2013 is what we will be booking and our travelling companions have decided that they will try for one of the more remote bures designed for honeymoon couples.
Our bure was #4 and was close to the action - it suited us perfectly. it wasn't noisy at all. This section did have to 'share' hammocks but that worked out fine - however a family arrived on our last day or two and put their towel on the hammock every morning - I just ignored it!

Food - The food was excellent! Having stayed 2 years ago at a different resort where the food was absolutely ordinary we had chosen Malolo due to the reviews on Trip Advisor and the positive comments about the food quality. The buffet dinners were fresh and the food at the Beach Bar was great. We didn't take up a meal plan and that suited us as we have added up our bills at the end of the trip and wouldn't have been any better off. Wish they had a drinks plan! Next time we will investigate the Kids Eat Free option - our travel agent didn't really give us much advice on how that worked. So we will be dealing with Malolo directly to make our bookings and have our questions answered.

Staff - The service was excellent also with nothing being too much trouble. Our companions ordered a crayfish twice and it was delicious. We had to remember to make our dinner reservations and actually never had dinner at the Beach Bar - something we will try on our next visit.

Kids - The kids club was fantastic also and the lunch and dinner they served for the children was great. I was a little bit concerned about leaving my daughter to have dinner at kids club (purely as it was a family holiday and I did want to spend time with her! and didn't want to feel like I was taking a holiday and just putting her in a space on her own) So she ate with us at times but really wanted to be at the kids club. After dinner they had activities to do and ended up with a presentation of some sort at the Terrace Restaurant and were handed out certificates of participation etc and then handed back to their parents. Some of the activities at Kids Club had a cost involved - tshirt painting, some off the island excursions but they weren't excessive. If you didn't take part there was still plenty to do at the Tree House.

Entertainment - After dinner and kids back with their parents, we would then head on down to the Beach Bar to take part in the planned activities there. Hermit crab races, trivia night. These were great fun actually with putting people into teams according to their nationality. So we had team Australian, New Zealand, Fiji, Italy etc etc. Sometimes you just adopted a nation.

Loved the live music at the Beach Bar that took place at lunch and around the time Happy Hour began.

What to Bring - No need to take beach towels or hair dryers (we took towels due to experience at other resort and lack of towels available) next time we will leave our towels at home. Do take some reef shoes or crocs as the beach is quite rough on your feet. We had our duty free wine and if that was to run out you could buy a bottle at the Beach Bar to take back to your room. Our companions had taken duty free spirits and purchased tonic water at the port and then had a bottle of wine from the Beach Bar if they wanted that to drink. We did buy some Fiji water at Denaru but it was also available to purchase on the island on your room # or at the shop.
We had packed items such as gastro stop, panadol etc and didn't need it as you can purchase it at the shop.

Extra Trips - We had 4 trips off the island, one was a dolphin safari and snorkelling trip to Malolo Sand Bar (take your kids with you!) the other to the local school, a snorkelling trip to Honeymoon Island and an island hop which totally proved to us that Malolo was the best place to stay. (public toilets on one of the islands weren't clean and the buffet lunch in no way compared to the quality of food at Malolo). Ray who drove the boat was just the best - Thanks Ray!

The pools are split into kids only and adults only and really are separate which we enjoyed.

This was a great resort with the mix of families and couples and other extended family groups travelling together.

We do not have a bad word to say about this place. You absolutely get what you pay for and it was worth every cent. 8 nights wasn't long enough so looking for minimum 12 next time.

Malolo Island Resort - thank you for giving us such a great holiday. We will be in touch to book next years trip very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank emr180507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I recently visited Malolo and got engaged there and it was a fantastic resort. I was a bit sceptical as it is a family resort, but I never felt like it was noisy or overbearing. If you are a couple with no kids I highly recommend this resort. It's a great balance between families and couples as a couple retreat can sometimes be too isolated and lonely. We visted 4 other Islands, Castaway, Mana, Tokoriko and some other island not worth mentioning...and I can honestly say Malolo is the best. Tokoriko is great for couples, but it feels too resorty and a bit over the top. Castaway I thought was amazing for beaches, but the Bures didn't grab me at all. Mana is a place to go when you're 18 and want to get drunk.

Malolo is really neat, quiet, very organic and down-to-earth. You have 3 places to dine which adds a nice variety. The Bures are amazing. Clean, very modern and comfortable.

The only downside is the beach. It's fantastic for water-sports and snorkeling. But not for lying on or swimming. It's very "corally" and if you don't take along swimming shoes, you'll cut your feet. The beach is very "shelly" too. But there are plenty of deck chairs so it's still great to lay on.

It can get a lot of wind, but it's not terrible.

I think if you're a family and you want a small quaint spot. This is it. They have an amazing kids club and it's a very intimate island. Unlike Castaway and Mana and some of the bigger islands.

If I was a couple I'd either go here or I'd go around the corner to Likuliku, which is a bit more, but very private.

I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you're a couple make sure you get the rooms right at the end of the island. It's away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have just returned from the most amazing week's holiday at Malolo Island Resort with family! Practically every element of our stay was perfect.

We stayed in a deluxe ocean front bure which was about 10m to the beach! The room was spacious and well laid out - the only downside to the bright, open & airy feel is that there is no noise or light barrier between the living area & bedroom (and vice versa). Not having WIFI in the bures helped enforce the relaxed, holiday mode I needed (though it was nice to have the convenience of WIFI in the restaurants and lounge!)

We were on the meal plan which was super convenient and good value given how much we ate! There are three different restaurants to eat at - the premium & kid-free Treetops, the Terrace and the relaxed Beach Bar. Our lunches were split between the Terrace (which was a la carte at lunch and both a la carte + buffet at dinner) and the Beach Bar, although we found the portions at the Terrace very generous for lunch so preferred the casual Beach Bar. Two of our seven nights were special dinners at the Terrace (buffets offering grilled meats & seafood, salads, and various other hot dishes) but the remaining five nights we dined at Treetops where the a la carte menu changes daily. Whilst the food here was delicious, at times I felt it was trying to be a 5-star dining experience but not quite hitting the mark - the food was at times over-seasoned, or slightly overcooked (medium steak served medium/well). There is a daily happy hour at the Beach Bar which is a nice way start the evening (only the standard cocktails & spirits are half price - not the specials or wine).

The activities at Malolo were the highlight of my trip. Most days we either kayaked or paddle-boarded and snorkelled. Whilst snorkelling is free at the island, with a good variety of fish & other sea life, we also opted for some of the paid snorkelling trips. We did a dolphin cruise + snorkelling at Malolo sand bar, and a Castaway Wall trip. I'd highly recommend the Malolo sand bar - even if you're not keen on snorkelling, which was pretty easy there, the sand bar is stunning with white sand & crystal clear water. As there were six of us, we did a (second) private trip to the sand bar and paid the same for the standard group tour. My only very small gripe is that there were only three paddle-boards and the activities coordinators were didn't seem to care that some guests would take a board in the morning to use on & off through the day when they weren't sun baking - they either need to get a few more boards, or police it a little better so that they're shared around.

I don't think I can do justice to the friendliness and warmth shown to us by all the staff. The are all so incredibly friendly, helpful and hardworking (most do a couple of different jobs on the island) and the love & care they show for kids has to be seen to be believed!

Our holiday was fantastic and I can't wait to return to Malolo again (already looking at dates for next year!)

Room Tip: If you want a beach front bure, chose the deluxe bure - whilst none of the rooms are far from the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I with 2 teenagers just spent 3 glorious nights at beautiful Malolo Island resort. Having been to Fiji 3 times, this is definitely the most beautiful and perfect island resort. The welcome was beautiful - perfect in every way. We stayed in an ocean bure which was a little smaller than the deluxe version and I must say our bure was the furthest from the beach, BUT it was still more than perfect. The island is a dream. It's small and intimate but with plenty of options and variety. The resaurants were all lovely, pools crisp and clear and decadent and the water sports all free and always available. We went jet-skiing (have to pay for motorised) and it was the best experience ever. Kayak your way to the island off the main beach or to Castaway if you want. The hammocks on the beach were a dream.

For food, we bought beaky stuff in Denarau and had breakfast on our beautiful varandah each morning. We had sandwiches and snacks during the day in our room (including beers bought in Denarau) and then had dinners at one of the restaurants. It was pretty cost effective and we had plenty.

The staff at the resort are all beautiful, happy, welcoming people. We felt in heaven.

Take the walk up to the lookout (behind the treetops restaruant) for simply supurb views of the island and surroundsLast but not least, visit the school on the other side of the island. If you're not there on a day you can take an organised visit just ask the staff as we did. They'll take you in a private boat for peanuts. The schools in Fiji all need help. Take money, clothes, stationary etc - whatever you want to give. They are all so grateful. The kids sang to us and showed us the school - even though we just turned up unannounced. Give what you can to the people away from the resorts. They really are quite poor - but beautiful, genreous and happy folk.


We can't wait to return to this beautiful island. It really was a dream.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We had the one furthest from the beach and it was still perfect. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaneMack66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhuraFiji, Director of Sales at Malolo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear JaneMack66,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are thrilled you had a great time at Malolo. We appreciate the good advice and tips you have given prospective travellers, but for the benefit of those people, we just need to clarify our BYO alcohol policy.

Malolo Island is not a BYO establishment. As a Resort Destination we only allow standard carry-on duty free liquor to be brought onto the island which can be consumed in the privacy of your own room only. Cartons of beer and wine are not acceptable and in the case of wine, the total amount cannot be over the allowable duty free amount of 3 bottles per adult person. Unfortunately we have had to enforce this policy due to it being severely abused. We will allow special bottles of wine to be brought to meals with a corkage charge of F$30 per bottle.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malolo in the future.

Kind regards
Team Malolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Me and my partner spent a week at malolo island resort and enjoyed the whole experience- from the secluded villa,to watching the blue waves just literally footsteps from your door step,the lovely tropical fish and underwater beauty to the food and the lovely staff-everything was great.
Would totally recommend this place for a bit of tlc!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pinkpepper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
626 reviews
0 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
762 reviews
0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
947 reviews
0 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
905 reviews
0 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range: $391 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing