We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malolo Island Resort is AWESOME in every way!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Malolo Island Resort is simply the best of the best! There really is nothing negative to say about this place! We stayed in a beachfront bure wich was immaculately clean (the beautiful housekeeping staff came twice a day!) and had the most comfortable beds and airconditioning. The whole resort was spotless wherever you went and there was always someone on hand to help you with any request! They even organised a special visit to the village for us as we were leaving on the day the tour normally went.
The staff were amazingly friendly, even by Fiji standards. They knew all of our 5 kids' names by day 1 and were always happy to take them off to play or learn something exciting. You couldn't find a better place for a family holiday!
The food at Malolo is top quality every meal and could compete with any 5 star restaurant in the world.
The snorkelling was really good right out the front of our bure and there were lots of other tours and activities going on all day and in the evenings.
I really could go on and on about this place as it really is the best resort I've ever known for so many reasons. We felt like we were leaving family when we had to go home. We've stayed at other Fiji resorts but will be going back to Malolo from now on. You won't find any better!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mumsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 712 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

Fabulous accommodation, gorgeous view and wonderful snorkelling but aside from the diving all the other activities where soooo expensive, snorkelling trip for an hour was about $50 per person, at Matamanoa it was $7.50 a glass of wine was FJ$16 ouch. Food was average and disappointingly the service was erratic. Kept running out of stuff in our bure and having to ask to get it replenished. Some staff where OK, some where bordering on rude and appeared bored, on occasion we would have to ask several times for an order. LOTS of sand-flies and mossies much, much more than previous island. Couldn't complain about the beautiful bure and a pat on the back for protecting the coral and fish, but felt the resort was aimed at Australian families. They did have a fine dining area which needs a revamp as it was looking quite shabby, also when it rained they couldn't use the balcony and when it didn't rain and did use they balcony it was so hot you sweltered as there are no fans out there. Overall I don't believe it was value for money and wouldn't go back, I would recommend Matamanoa Island.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Auit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We arrived back from Malolo a few weeks ago and absolutely loved every minute of it. In fact it just got better the longer we were there (10 nights) !!. We stayed (husband and our son who is 8) in a Deluxe Oceanview Bure, well we felt like kings as Bure 31 was THE closest bure to the beach and has an extra large deck, which we lived on late most afternoons (west facing so great sunsets).

The bure was large, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. It greatly exceeded our expectations. Kids club was wonderful, the meals were surprisingly good (and a lot of meals in Fiji are very average), the staff at the boat shed amazing and there were lots of daily excursions to choose from (we did the school visit, went island hopping, hand line fishing and Castaway Wall snorkeling). The snorkeling off our bure was wonderful, the paddle boards huge fun, in fact other than patches of rough coral on the beach (rather than fine white sand) we could not fault Malolo.

We would definitely consider returning and after island hopping to Castaway, which has a stunning but small sandy beach, were relieved we had chosen Malolo as the bures were far superior and with less people on Malolo it was more peaceful, relaxing and un-crowded.

Malolo we loved our 11 day stay with you, let's do it again some time soon !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJPKEM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We travelled to Malolo Island Resort December 6th 2011 for three nights as a couple. It was really quiet at the resort they were only at about 50% capacity.
We received a beautiful Island welcome song and fruit punch on arrival.
Our Bure was right at the end of the beach number 33 - we were in a corner bure which obstructed a porton of our view which was a bit dissapointing however we still had a sea view and the bure was beautiful! I would give it 5 stars, the bed was really comfy too! Only negative is that I did notice the walls are a little thin, we had noisy people next door for one night.

We spent most of our time in the loungers on the beach in front of our Bure - the whole beach in front of the bure's is beautiful. Not white sand but quite shelly - i'd recommend you take those water shoes or what ever you call them. Down the end where we were it was a little rocky but it was not a problem.

The restaurants were pretty good, the beach bar had fairly basic food although we didn't get a chance to eat dinner here just lunches. Treetops is fantastic, great food and it was wonderful to get some peace away from the kids.
Down below Tree Tops where the families ate we had a Seafood BBQ buffet one night - I would not bother with this it was not good at all, this evening was also spoiled by the staff seating us right between two families (one with four very loud young boys) which proceeded to run around our table and jump about like crazy. I could not quite understand why they seated us here, the restaurant was half empty, plenty of other places to put us?!

Pool was nice, great to have an adults and kids pool - it was always empty though as the beach is so much nicer! Watersports were great, good selection of things to do paddle boarding etc

Overall a great holiday and OK for couples at Malolo, we enjoyed ourselves but I would be carefull in busier times as the noise may get to you if you are travelling without kids and want somewhere quiet.

Room Tip: You can't request a room at Malolo you just get what your given, but I will say the Tadra Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Wow, am I glad I chose Malolo out of all the Fiji island resorts on offer. I stayed here with my 21 year old daughter for 6 nights in mid November for 6 nights. I wish we were still there. We stayed in a Deluxe Oceanview Bure (#41). Just devine. So quiet and peaceful as it is away from the main foot traffic. Not that there is much of that. Snorkelling here is amazing. You only have to step off the beach in front of your bure and you are sueeounded by myriads of colourful fish.However, snorkelling around the jetty is the best. We had the Meal Plan for B,L&D and thought it was well worth it. We ate at The Beach Bar for most lunches and are dinner mainly at Treetops(Kid-free) but did have some dinners at The Terrace. We alternated breakfast between Treetops and The Terrace. Food and service was great at all venues. Beware the cocktails at The Pool Bar. They should come with a warning. LOL. We swam in the adults only pool when we were not in the ocean which seemed to be most of the time. Saying that, even though there were a lot of kids there during our stay, you hardly new they were there. Most of them seemed to be enjoying rhe activities at The Kids Club. The staff there seem to really enjoy their job, then again I fot the impression that all thwe staff enjoyed their jobs. I have read a review that the "Bulas" seemed empty and not heatfelt, I have to disagree. We made some great fiends amongst rhe staff and can't wait to cartxh up on our return some rime next year. We went on an island hopping excursion visiting the 5 Star Tokoriki Resort, Amanuca Resort, Mana and Castaway for lunch. We couldn't wait to return to Malolo where we were greeted with "Welcome Home". Vinaka vaka levu Malolo :)

Room Tip: Bures away from the Beach Bar. #41 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Libster1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have just recently got back from our first trip to Fiji. After much research we decided to spend it on Malolo Island resort. We could not have asked for a better place. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome and my 2.5 year old daughter fell in love with the locals. The accommodation is of a very high standard and exceptionally clean. We loved being on a small Island, where you could do a variety of activities, day trips or just read your book relaxing in one of the hammocks over looking the ocean. The food was good but not outstanding but what can expect being in the middle of nowhere. The kids club and Nannies are great for little ones and our daughter had a fun time, while we got to spend some time away snorkeling and even had a child free dinner. We are already in the process of booking again for next year. If you want a nice relaxing holiday, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnydays2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I were married on Malolo Island in November 2008. We had about 30 guests with us as well as our small children. If you want a beautiful, hassle free wedding then this is the place to do it. John the island wedding coordinator was so amazing and easy going, nothing was too much trouble. Our guests all agreed that the staff on the island are wonderful, they really looked after everyone and went above and beyond to help out with our children. The meal plan we had was fantastice and the food was absolutley beautiful. There is nothing negative I can write about the island, we are planning on going back next year and can't wait.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
0.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
894 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,461 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range: $408 - $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing