We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beachcomber Island Resort
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went here a last part of the a study abroad trip with about 30 students from age 21-23. We didn't stay in a bungalow but the large bunk rooms so I can't comment about the bungalows. The room we stayed in was more for budget travelers and lots of backpackers. But that's just what Beachcomber mainly is; backpackers. While it's amazing to be on small island I wouldn't recommend for families or couples looking for a romantic retreat, but singles and young people looking to hang out with other young people and party at night. Also, they do offer things like scuba, para sailing etc and very reasonable prices. The bar is also very cheap as well which makes the night time fun for kicking back some. They also provide three times a day a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

All in all one of the best three days I've ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJSundevil55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 578 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

So, I went to the island for 3 nights. I think 2 would have been better. I went travelling with my boyfriend and friend and I must admit (all between 21-23), it is the best place for young people. We stayed in a lodge and it was less than par. Old, not very clean and Value for money sucked and 2 out of 3 of us got sick from the food. We met some awesome people (2 of the 4 were bedridden for a couple days as well from what we believe to be the food)

All in all, the island was pretty fun, the only island dominated by young people but good in small doses i reckon. I wouldn't recommend spending more than a couple days on the island though a must if you are young and keen for some fun.. just be prepared for what you are in for.

Room Tip: go for a bure if staying on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I went here with my boyfriend last year and oh my goodness was it amazing! Our luggage got lost on the transfers and the staff were incredibly helpful and gave us a cocktail while we waited for our bags. The water was crystal clear and everything very clean. We got new fresh flowers in our room everyday, and everyday they had different activities on for all the guests! I highly recommend everyone go here, absolutely amazing! we are returning this year!

Room Tip: The ocean view room is basically beach front, so to save money book that instead of the beach front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Lovely place friendly staff our first night here was a bit quiet not much happening but the party took off the second night and was very enjoyable. Stayed in a lodge room so didn't experience the dorm and also didn't hear the generator very much. Snorkeling was great as was the boat trip pub crawl even if it left and hour late and we only got 15 mins on each island instead of 45 as advertised as one of the participants needed to be back to get on the yellow boat! tried parasailing for the first time and would try to fond somewhere else to do it as only got 3-4 mins each (my parents on a neighboring island got about 10 each for the same price) food wasn't the best but not the worst either!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstyg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I confess that I have been to Beachcomber perhaps too many times: around 10 stays between 1995 to 2010, normally long ones, anywhere from 5 to 15 days at a time.
This is a very tiny island with a great and intense atmosphere, geared mostly but not only towards young people looking for fun.
Keep in mind that you are in an island resort, but you are also in a Fijian village. Things run smoothly most of the time but sometimes they don’t (such as the internet connection to the mainland). It’s an ideal place to understand Fijian ways, from drinking kava to the importance of religion.
This is not a 5-star place and the island is a bit overbuilt. But you can feel full luxury in bures 1, 2 and 3, the most expensive and in the best location on the very quiet side of the island. If you stay in that side of the island you will not see many people the whole day and will not hear any noise from the bar. As usual, you get what you pay for: in the dormitory there may be noise, chaos and smells. In many other places you will hear the engine/generator running in the center of the island, which may or may not disturb you. Overall, Beachcomber has options for everyone and for all budgets, including families and honeymooners.
In the 1990’s nobody was going onward to the Yasawas and people tended to stay longer. With the start of the ‘yellow boat’ and the opening of countless resorts in the Yasawas, I believe the average stay in Beachcomber is now much shorter, and this has somewhat affected the character of the island and its dynamics. Young people now get disappointed because in some nights the party does not really get going; that is normal, and it may take a full island to have a guaranteed party. And it also depends on the band boys and how good they are in making it happen.
The daily routine includes sunrise, breakfast, the arrival and departure of the day trippers, boats to Denarau and other islands, meals, snorkeling around the island, rugby time, parasailing time, diving time, happy hour, sunset picture time, and many more items. There is quite a lot to do. If you are diving and staying a few days, the unlimited package is a great deal. It is also excellent for PADI courses: I have done mine here.
If you are a foreigner just concentrating on other foreigners and in drink you may or may not enjoy the place. Do not overlook the Fijian culture and the island itself. It’s a lot of fun talking to the locals and secretly joining them in the staff quarters at night for kava; buy kava in the market in the mainland before coming to the island to be able to offer you sevusevu.
The breeze at sunset time is so nice. Excellent photos can be taken: sunrise, sunset, Viti Levu, snorkeling, you name it. You can easily see reef sharks around the island while snorkeling. The Fijian food is filling and good. Night entertainment is sometimes performed by the staff (cleaning ladies, boat boys, etc), which gives it an authentic feeling. in other nights professionals come by boat, including the hula girls and the fire eaters. And then there’s the hot tub.
You can make good friends: a staff girl recognized me 10 year later. Day trips by boat are a good idea to see the island group, Lautoka, Nadi, and understand better that you are in a unique place and not in one of those posh boring resorts around, much more expensive but without character. Just take a kayak to Treasure island to confirm how uninteresting it is.
Going to Fiji and not staying at Beachcomber is like going to Rome and not visiting the Vatican. It might not have the full magic it had a decade ago, but Beachcomber is still the island resort that everyone else has been trying to copy. Nobody has yet come up with a better place.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
5  Thank Triturator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked here for the night leading into my partners birthday and was in the lodge room, which was beautiful but so it should be for the price. In the afternoon there was a scheduled snorkel trip which we prepared for and waited at the beach along with 8 other people for 20 minutes before anyone acknowledged us. The dive guy said that the boat had already gone and we had missed the trip. This was a lie as we were the only group which hired snorkels at the time for the trip. So we went out on our own only for my partners snorkel to get caught in the current and to be lost. We let the dive guys know and they insisted it was my partners fault and he was to pay $20 to replace it. The snorkel tube would have been worth no more then $5 so after agreement with the manager we had the charge dropped.
Later in the evening at happy hour the staff seemed more then unhappy to serve us. The dinner served was of Fijian Tradition and was tasty but portions were rationed and seconds were needed to feel full. And the Meke dance that night lacked enthusiasm and killed the 'party vibe' of Beachcomber.
The Island and accommodation is beautiful but there is a lack of character and enthusiasm from the staff.

Room Tip: Ensure activities are running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimbobgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Nothing better than getting up at 6am to watch a sunrise and then watch England in the world cup on tv as you just sit on the sand drinking a nice cup of coffee. We stayed here in June 2010.

This island is tiny and can be walked around in 10 minutes. The sand is stunning, the water incredible and truly, a paradise island complete with palm trees and views across to neighbouring Treasure Island. I loved just sitting in the sand, dozing under a palm tree with a cold beer.

This island was 'THE' party place in Fiji about 15 years ago, but now is looking a bit tired but still attracts the young backpackers who just wanted to get wasted and bring back their drunken conquests to the dorm.....not nice when you are the guy in the bunk next to him.

The dorm is enormous and sleeps about 150 with a wall in the middle separating girls from boys. Otherwise it is pretty much open to the elements on the outside walls so wear plenty of mosquito spray and anyways the party always goes on to the early hours so dont expect much sleep here.

Excursions to nearby islands including the one where Castaway was filmed can be arranged. As can snorkelling and fish feeding trips.

Nice location but if you are a couple or over the age of 25, I would recommend booking a bure to avoid the nightmare of the dorm.

Room Tip: Dorm is massive and open to the elements. Not recommended for couples, however bures are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elmadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beachcomber Island
3.6 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Resort
Treasure Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Treasure Island
878 reviews
9.5 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
0 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,640 reviews
11 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Island Resort

Address: Vuda Rd, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Beachcomber Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beachcomber Island
Price Range: $19 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s so easy to get here, yet so hard to leave… Experience the magic of Beachcomber Island just once and you’ll want to come back year after glorious year; it does that to people. Come and join us on this “dream island” and share memories that will stay with you forever. Situated on a picturesque marine sanctuary in the heart of the Mamanuca Islands, Beachcomber Island Resort is just 19km from Nadi International, Fiji’s National airport. It’s an island that’s easy to get to yet so very hard to leave! Our resort is unique, spectacular and fun – there’s nowhere else quite like it in Fiji. Beachcomber Island Resort is for both the young and young at heart. If you love a great time in the sun with great company in a casual, relaxed atmosphere, then this is the place for you. Travellers worldwide ensure they come and stay at Beachcomber on their way to New Zealand and Australia, as this is the most sought after destination in the South Pacific. We look forward to welcoming you into our Beachcomber family to share the experience of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Island Hotel Beachcomber Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing