We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wakaya Club & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakaya Island
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would love to go back”
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We selected Wakaya for our honeymoon, and would go back again in a minute if we could. Yes, it's expensive, as other reviewers have pointed out. But we loved it. We loved the privacy and the freedom of being able to do whatever you wanted at a moments notice. We did it all - including booking the private beach where that Rolling Stone guy fell out of the tree. Actually, we booked both beaches during the course of our stay. Our favorite memories are of the elegant lunches on a private beach, snorkeling, catching fish, the wonderful friendly staff, the amazing fresh fruit, our spa treatments, the private bure with private yards... being able to say, "make us a fruity drink, suprise us," and always being delighted. My husband even bothered to go golfing because it was right there, although I stuck to the hammock. It felt like being 'home' in a beautiful exotic location. Maybe we're just easy to please or easily charmed the simple but thoughtful touches or the location, but it was exactly what we were looking for in a vacation. It's not made of marble and encrusted with gold, if that's what you're looking for. Go here if you want a romantic getaway, away from the rest of the world. It's a special place to be "alone together." We hope to go back again someday.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Can't be beat, but you really can't spend any more than this.Wakaya really is a private retreat where you and your guest are intentionally spoiled. It is enjoyable to be asked what you want for breakfast "because we have no menu", and have to use your imagination. Take a day trip to one of the beaches and have them prepare a basket lunch -- fantastic and there will be n one else on the beach. You radio for the hotel to pick you up. elegant and expensive!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This is a VERY expensive resort and what you expect to be delivered in terms of customer service, friendliness, food and overall satisfaction should surpass no other. This was NOT the case.

In our opinion Anyone looking to spend this kind of money can do much better elsewhere

We are seasoned travellers and have had no cause to write a review on tripadvisor but our overall experience was so bad that we felt obliged to pass our experience on for the benefit of others.

Yes the island is beautiful and there is a sense of calmness, privacy and relaxation however poor management, food not of the calibre you would expect from a resort of this type and an overall feeling from owners of total disinterest made it an unpleasant stay.

The wine list was basic and food choices average for the money paid (especially for anyone who doesnt like seafood and the resort had been informed prior to arrival by phone and in writing of this). Garden salad as a choice out of two entrees every night is pretty ordinary and other tripadvisor comments were correct regarding the fish on the menu - whatever the guests caught (and paid a lot for the experience) was served again and again for lunch and dinner until it did become a talking point.

The island has such potential but unfortunately the feeling we got was that we were not valued customers - perhaps you need to be famous .......

I cant imagine how the resort would survive without the fabulous locals - many thanks to them for their kindness and commitment.

Owners and management need to take a good hard look .......

  • Liked — Privacy and local staff
  • Disliked — Uncaring attitude of management
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank islander02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed at Wakaya for 11 days for our honeymoon in May. We'd just had a fabulous if hectic wedding and were looking for a piece of paradise to relax, with good food and activitities.
After having done a great amount of research Wakaya seemed the place. How I regret that decision.
Myself and my husband have stayed in some fabulous 5/6star resorts all over the world. This place does not come close to any of the inclusive island resorts that we are used too.
Ok so for a few days the weather was dreadfull (cold, wet and windy) which I know the club had no control over, but they did nothing to make the ruined honeymoon more pleasurable for us.
The rooms (rustic chic they are not) are stale with 10yr old wicker furniture, which combined with the damp weather, frankly stank. The bath (god somedays I needed a hot bath!) took half an hour to fill up (this was timed) the outdoor shower more of a gimmick than the wow factor.
Food was by our standards awfull. Only 2 choices of starters and main course for lunch and dinner. It tasted like it was made by a cook not a 5star gormet chef..........evidently it was one of the islanders who was 'head chef' with a couple of local girls helping him out. Some examples, linguine with shrimp came out as short noodles with a type of green curry packet sauce, we also went out fishing one day and caught a 30lb tuna which was on the menu (I kid you not) in many shapes and forms (mostly raw sashimi) for 6 days!!!! It was a running joke with us and some other guests 'Oh its our tuna again......' Mostly the food was cold getting to the table which was shocking considering it was only us plus 3 other couples most of the time.
The staff whilst pleasant and smiling, seemed to have no training, we left the restauant area many times to go to bed without any staff being around to say goodnight, they all seemed to hang around in the kitchen instead of keeping an eye on the guests. For this we blame bad managment. The manager here was one of the worst I've met, arrogant, patronising and not in the least bit helpfull. Frankly there was a bad atmosphere at the club and we got the impression the staff disliked him (this was later verified by one of the waitresses), He was also never around, like a good manager should be, checking guests were happy, things were getting done or kept up to a 5star rate, we often wondered where he went and what he was doing.
Other things, the beach picnic was ok.........more flies and mossies on the beach than anywhere else, plus not good swimming/snorkling. We were going to do our padi course but felt that by day 3 we didn't want to give them any more of our money (we even tried to get off the island and go to one of our favourite resorts in Oz but it was full and the Wakaya would not even contemplate giving us any kind of refund for the remaining 9 days)
So all in all we felt like we'd wasted a great amount of money and the perfect honeymoon at this place, our final leg of our honeymoon was in SanFransico at a PROPER 5star hotel. We couldn't wait to get off the island and once we got to SanFran, it only magnified the service/food faults at Wakaya.
PS The only champagne they had was Tattinger.......great if you like Tattinger but it just shows lack of choice and verve.
Stop living on the past 'celebrity' guests Wakaya and take notice of all of your paying guests, they are just as important.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
29 Thank Bumba49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

If you like adventure and like the feeling of being at a place that few get to see, then this is the place for you. The island itself if gorgous with amazing views and on sunny days it felt like paradise. The island is filled with wildlife that you just don't see anymore roaming freely around the island. But don't worry there are no posieous snakes or spiders on the island. It was our honeymoon and Wakaya was a great place to get off the grid. The service is not as fast or perfect as many 5 star hotels, but at the same time you really do create friendships with the staff and they always have the right attitude and that is half the battle. The decor of the rooms were ok, I understand that they are going for less is more and I am ok with that. The only part that is anoying is that the owner of the island is building a mega manision right on top of all the bures and it makes you want to drink less of the koolaide. The spa was beatiful and the treatments were ok. The food was amazing with an ever changing menu. The private picnic really sums up the experience. And the other guests on the island are some of the most interesting people we have ever met. In summary, I would higly recomind Wakaya if you are not looking for more the newest, bigest and most expensive place, but for a south pacific adventure that is truely one of the most romantic places we have ever been.

  • Liked — the island itself, the staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDUB212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

This is the most fantastic place we have ever stayed. Had a second honeymoon here, and could not have asked for anything better. Every meal was spectacular, activities were freely available and lots to do, and the staff is what made it so memorable--they are the warmest, most genuine people in the world. Definitely recommend it for a special occasion--it will not disappoint.

  • Liked — Luxurious, comfortable and super clean--they even do your laundry!
  • Disliked — wish we could go more often
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sf_bay012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bulafijitravel, Management at The Wakaya Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2008
Thank you for sharing your kind words about your vacation at The Wakaya Club & Spa.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This was for our honeymoon. We spent a long time choosing location for this honeymoon and also stayed in Vatulele and on the main island.
SSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOO expensive. You would expect to be treated like royalty and have amazing rooms and food.
We did not feel that at all.
The rooms were clean but basic and certainly not "wow".
The food was "OK" not fabulous.
The spa experience was messed up by them with treatments cut short, cold water shiatsu and no hot water in the shower. They did try and make up for this.
The spa does have a beautiful location and view.
You get to go to beaches for picnics but there is no "wow factor" in how they do anything.
If we were paying 300 dollars a night that would be one thing but for 2000 dollars a night,. you will get better on the other islands.
The staff are nice enough and the gym is good. It is more just a case of they are over-charging and not delivering the goods.

  • Liked — aesthetics of the spa
  • Disliked — lack of wow
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank bellatravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakayaMgr, Manager at The Wakaya Club & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
The Wakaya Club & Spa is very sorry that this client was not satisfied with the visit they had. We are glad to hear that there were positives and find it unfortunate that there were some mishaps that took away from the overall experience. We want everyone reading to know that this is not representative of the feedback we receive from the vast majority of the guests who stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wakaya Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wakaya Club & Spa

Property: The Wakaya Club & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 15424, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Wakaya Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakaya Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wakaya Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wakaya Club & Spa is a luxury private island resort unlike any other in the world. This serene retreat in Fiji offers gracious living, sophisticated cuisine and unparalleled leisure opportunities in one of the most remote and pristine corners of the world.Ten free-standing waterfront Fijian suites or bures. Each bure is a luxurious hideaway located just steps from the Pacific ocean and is designed to indulge you in the beauty of the island while providing every conceivable comfort. Rates include all meals, beverages and 2 dives per day per certified diver. Couples Breeze Spa Retreats, Golf, Tennis, Snorkeling, fitness centre, Village Church and much more to explore on this 2,200 acre private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Wakaya Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wakaya Club Hotel Wakaya Island
The Wakaya Club And Spa
The Wakaya Island Hotel
The Wakaya Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing