We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAKAYA PARADISE PERFECTION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wakaya Club & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakaya Island
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We have just returned from a week in a paradise called Wakaya.Total perfection. Everywhere you look is a vista which will take your breath away - especially at sunset. The island itself is naturally beautiful, but the club and spa which have been created on Wakaya are more than first class. They are in fact in a class of their own - perfection! The Fijians who work at Wakaya are the most attentive, smiling beautiful people, always ready to satisfy your every desire. I wish I could bottle their serenity. Wakaya gets into your soul and when those beautiful people sing to you as you depart the island you are so moved that you don't want to leave, promising yourself that you will definately return.

Room Tip: all the bures are beautifully appointed ,spacious with abundant closet space, Beach bures are of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillybula, Owner at The Wakaya Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Many thanks for your glowing review of The Wakaya Club & Spa. We are so pleased that your stay with us met your expectations, and we look forward to having you back on Wakaya, in the near future.
Lolomas,
Jill Gilmour
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 51 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

This trip is one of our top 2 romantic couple’s trips of a lifetime !

We landed at the airport in Nadi, Fiji and were instantly met by a resort representative who guided us directly to our private plane and pilot to take us to Wakaya. This private twin engine 6 seat plane is extremely well kept and very clean. The views on the way to the Wakaya Resort and Spa are not to be missed, so keep your camcorder and camera ready!

Landing in Wakaya we were met by the resort driver and truck ready to take us from the private landing strip to the resort. Driving down through the volcanic mountains and pathways, led us to a change in scenery where thousands of palm trees stand in a meadow of perfectly manicured grass, flowers, and hibiscus. Our road wound through the trees and island greenery, past the beautiful 9 hole private golf course, and tournament croquet course, past the well kept tennis courts, and revealed the entrance to our Wakaya Resort and Spa. Talk about making a spectacular entrance!

We were greeted with a refreshing specialty drink and a welcoming staff of very friendly people who showed us around the resort. Everything here is kept so perfect; it's almost too good to be true. The entire resort faces the ocean in a westerly view. The ocean is very, very calm as this area of the island is protected with a very long reef that extends about 3/4 of a mile out from shore. This provides a spectacular view during each night of Wakaya’s one of a kind picture perfect sunsets.

My wife and I were showed to our ocean view bures. This island cottage would be our home for the 8 days we would spend here. Our standard ocean view bure was about 1700 sq feet, and featured a full length front porch full of furniture facing the ocean, a large living room with ample full size wet bar and fridge, whole house music system and zoned air conditioning for each room. The bedroom was huge! It featured two double closets, a king size pedestal bed, and a double length desk. There was also a door that opened out to the front porch.

The bathroom was huge too! This featured a large soaking tub with a view to the ocean, two sinks with large mirrors and vanities with ample closed storage. The middle of the bathroom has a very large 8 foot glass door that opened outward to a private 10x6 foot huge outdoor shower! This shower is built into the earth, and made with the islands beautiful black volcanic rocks. The hot and cold water flow out of the rocks as you look upward to the island sky and listen to the ocean. The shower is lightly screened at the top to avoid bugs interfering with our enjoyment.

Whenever we changed clothes, we put the dirty ones into a clothes hamper in the bathroom. Our clothes were picked up each day by our "ninja" house keeper (we called her that because we never saw her and she would be in and out of bure several times a day and we could never catch her), and brought back cleaned, ironed, and pressed the next day ! Seriously...when you pack for this trip, don't over pack. Your clothes will be cleaned and ironed "daily" and placed back on your bed in a basket, or hung on hangers in your closets. Imagine for a moment…....at the end of your trip...returning with all of your clothes cleaned, pressed, and folded, with no laundry to do upon your return. We were very surprised!

All your meals are prepared by Wakaya's five star chef, who is absolutely amazing! This outstanding food can be served anywhere you want it to be served. Room service...no problem. Romantic dinner or lunch on a private beach...no problem. Dinner and drinks outside under the stars...no problem. Formal or casual dining inside the beach restaurant...no problem. One reviewer mentioned that they did not like the “catch of the day, eating what guests caught”. What we found out is....should one of the guests on the island go deep sea fishing and catch say, a large blue fin tuna…..the chef would (at the guests request), offer this tuna as a optional added item on the menu. This happened to us. A guest caught a large blue fin tuna, and the chef prepared this as some Ahi and Sashimi tuna for the bar appetizer, and grilled tuna for dinner. You can’t get any fresher than that! The restaurant bar is very well appointed and staffed to make your drink any way you want it…..anytime of the day or night!

The Wakaya Spa is second to none. Every spa treatment for a woman or a man is offered here. The spa sits across a beautiful walking bridge very close to the resort bar. The front doors open to several treatment rooms that all open privately to face the ocean waters and breeze. Couples massages are a must and I bet you will do like us, and want at least two! The 3 hour romance massage features your choice of drinks and a meal to be served privatly after your two hour, multi treatment couples massage.......(not to be missed).

Make sure you check your all inclusive package details, because you can quickly forget how much you can do, when you are surrounded in such beauty and luxury. Diving here is amazing, and something everyone should at least try. The reef diving at Wakaya is world renowned, and 2 tanks of air per person, per day, come in your package!

Make sure to visit the native village at Wakaya. This village is where all of the 100+ island staff and their families live. Attending the Sunday church service and hearing all of the children sing for you will touch your heart, and is emotional. Also stopping by the children’s primary school is a treat that you will remember forever.

You will also want to tour the breath taking home of the island’s owners, David and Jill Gilmour. Bring your camera or camcorder along, as this one of a kind home features postcard type views of the island. Inside their home, our eyes and senses were treated to a beautiful concert of interior design that incorporates the soft island light and moving ocean views. Each room speaks of Jill Gilmour’s amazing taste of art and personal design touch, along with David Gilmour’s unique use of rare building materials only found in remote places of the world. We were very lucky to meet the Gilmour’s while we were there, and you may too as they spend quite a bit of time on the island each year. We found him to be a very reachable and friendly man with a magnetic attraction and savvy business mind. I would not be surprised if his mind is constantly thinking up the next big product or business opportunity that will make our world a better place to live. Jill Gilmour can stop a room by just walking in to it. She has stunning beauty, poise and presence. Conversation with them both is very caring and genuine. My wife and I wish we would have had the honor of just a few short hours to share a signature island gingerita cocktail, and talk to them. Everything that makes Wakaya island the only place like it on Earth, was discovered, preserved, and now shared with others by David and Jill Gilmour. Thank you both for enriching our lives.

Right now you may be finding yourself unsure of where to stay in Fiji....and trust me, so did we! We were so confused as to where to stay and where to go, because every website claims they have the best accommodations and food. If this is the case for you, I hope this little piece of knowledge helps. One day while we were searching Fiji, we came across a guy named Hiapo Cockett at McCoy Travel. We found their website at www.mccoytravel.com. This guy KNOWS Fiji and answered every single question we had about Wakaya, along with other islands in Fiji, and told us what to expect. This helped us soooo much! Hiapo made one comment to us that wound up ending all of our searching. He said "If you guys want to do Fiji right....you must go to Wakaya". He was certainly right!

At Wakaya, you will NEVER hear the word "No". Every request, every desire, is met with a smile. We tested this out the first day we got there. I asked for a bottle of Absolute Vodka, fresh limes, soda water, a bottle of good red wine, and a chilled bottle of white to be brought to our room. It was all there along with a bucket of ice in five minutes. Now THIS is service!

Every single person at the Wakaya Resort and Spa was friendly and smiled and wanted every detail of our stay to magical…..and it sure was!

We saved for many years to get away and just re-connect as a couple in a romantic location by the ocean. What we found was one of the most romantic, private, luxurious places to stay on Earth! We have sincerely missed our short time at the Wakaya Resort and Spa, and my wife will tear up almost every time we begin to speak about how this most romantic, magical place, reconnected us as husband and wife.

Someday…we will go back…we must go back toWakaya…..Bula !!

Room Tip: All ocean bure's are privately hidden from each other. All are the same great choice. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jhaleyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed 7 heavenly nights at Wakaya for our honeymoon. Words can hardly describe how amazing this resort is. I didn't even feel like I was at a resort. It felt like we were at a friend's uncle's house and he let us use all of his stuff. Anything you wanted to do, eat or drink was answered with an "of course"... but you hardly had to ask for a thing because they literally thought of everything you could ever need... EVER. The people who work here are some of the nicest humans I have ever met.
Every meal was like eating at a 5 star restaurant. The only person I would not recommend Wakaya for is picky eaters. You can always order a burger and fries but why bother? We even took a brief tour of the kitchen and the chef was friendly. The rooms were very well appointed with so much space. Awesome bathrooms stocked with everything you could need. You could come here with nothing but a bathing suit and be completely fine.
I would 100% recommend that you be a certified diver or at least have some experience because it's supposed to be the best in the world. We only snorkeled because we didnt want to dive without the proper instruction. The snorkeling was unbelievable so i couldn’t imagine with diving would be like. Also, be sure to take Joe up on his offer to take you on a few morning hikes. He's informative and such a nice man... and it's a great workout with amazing views. If he asks you, hike in the brush and not on the road. Another great activity was the house tour. We saw each of the upgraded Bure's in addition to the island owners old and new homes. And of course, a must is the private picnic.

Overall, best trip ever. It felt like home. I cried when we left and we can't wait to go back.... It’s worth the trip, even from NY.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with another couple, you should stay at the Ambassador's Bure... it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Wakaya is a special place that is unlike any other destination. Our experience of spending a week at Wakaya for our wedding anniversary was wonderful and special. The theme that runs through everything at Wakaya is an extreme attention to detail that focuses on the unique desires of each guest. To be sure, Wakaya has everything you would hope for in a private island: the amazing beach setting, private villas, on-site and unbelievable scuba and snorkeling, golf and tennis, romantic dinners, beachfront spa and and secluded, private beach picnics. But what truly sets Wakaya apart is how the trained staff effortlessly tailors and adjusts everything to suit the unique desires of the guests. And they are happy to do it. You wake up from a nap at 2pm and want a massage at 3pm, done. You want a private Scuba refresher lesson in the water right in front of your villa, no problem. You want to have dinner in your room and have a special request for the food, just mention it. It is very clear that the staff are trained not to only deliver specific services, but to please the guest.

I rarely write reviews, but Wakaya was so unique and spectacular that I had to share my thoughts on the place with others. Below are some more specifics.

Food:

The owners of Wakaya have purposely emphasized eating locally grown (much of it on the island) organic food. Part of our objective for this trip was to “recharge our batteries” and at each meal we sat down to beautifully presented, healthy and delicious cuisine. Each fruit, vegetable, fish, meat, or dessert blended the freshest local ingredients for a discerning international palate. I did find out that in Wakaya’s organic farms they grown two kinds of papaya for two different uses, one specifically for eating, and one specifically to make juice. Being from New York City, we are accustomed to eating very well, and the chefs at Wakaya consistently exceeded our expectations.

Service:

Wakaya manages the difficult balance of attentive service to demanding clients (which we are) without being intrusive. As the whole point of trip like this is get away and truly relax, what we found was that we had staff ready to provide (and anticipating) anything we needed while also leaving us to enjoy as much peace and quiet as we wanted. Ancedote: While I was on my morning jog the first day, I was on one of the back roads of the 2200 acre island and one of the managers appeared at the top of a big uphill stretch and handed me a bottle of Fiji Water. I was impressed.

Activities:

What is great about Wakaya is they have everything you could want in terms of activities and it is all extremely convenient. But there is no pressure to do any of it! Both my wife and I have done Scuba in the past, but often find we skip it on vacation because it is often an ordeal between finding the dive shop and getting gear to getting out to the dive site and back. At Wakaya, the dive shop steps from the villas and everything is there ready to go! The amazing dive sites are 2 to 5 minute private boat ride away. All of the gear is right there. The quality of what you see is remarkable. We saw 2 Napoloan Wrasse that were unlike anything I've seen and I have done over 200 dives.

Conclusion:

Wakaya as closely as possible replicated the experience of having our own private island (if we had spent years developing and training staff, chefs, scuba instructors), and allowed us to spend a perfect week. It was wonderful for our anniversary. Because of the intimate size, it would also be a wonderful place to "take over" for a wedding or a couples trip or a family reunion. We will certainly be back.

Regards,
Benjamin G.
New York, NY

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

delicious food, extremely polite, friendly & courteous staff, very comfortable accommodations only 10 yards across the lawn to sand and lagoon. The most peaceful and relaxing place i have ever stayed in - been there 5 times and can't wait to return - STRONGLY recommend

Room Tip: all cottages have same excellent view, all quiet, all have a separate living room with bar, beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This island is a slice of heaven. The resort is fabulous. The people are so gracious and your every whim is indulged. Timeless and elegant. Top notch scuba diving and snorkeling too!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have just spent a week at wonderful Wakaya for the 5th time. It just gets better and better.

Accomodation is luxurious - and so well thought out. We are told the owners aim to make their guests feel they are sataying in the owners' home! They certainly succeed....
This time we stayed in the Ambassador's Bure - with another couple who travelled with us. This bure is HUGE - two enormous suites plus our own massage room and spa pool.
Meals and wine are first class with wide use of island grown produce.
Challenging 9 hole golf course and great walking with guide to visit historical sites
Fully catered private picnic at secluded beach was a highlight.
Above all the staff are wonderful - nothing is too much trouble - and a visit to the village church on Sundays is a must. The choir provides a highly emotional experience!

Wakaya is not for everyone - only those who seek and enjoy the very best!

Room Tip: All bures are of equal high standard. For even extra luxury there are Governor's & Ambassado...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wakaya Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wakaya Club & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 15424, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Wakaya Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakaya Island
Price Range: $1,900 - $7,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wakaya Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wakaya Club & Spa is a luxury private island resort unlike any other in the world. This serene retreat in Fiji offers gracious living, sophisticated cuisine and unparalleled leisure opportunities in one of the most remote and pristine corners of the world.Ten free-standing waterfront Fijian suites or bures. Each bure is a luxurious hideaway located just steps from the Pacific ocean and is designed to indulge you in the beauty of the island while providing every conceivable comfort. Rates include all meals, beverages and 2 dives per day per certified diver. Couples Breeze Spa Retreats, Golf, Tennis, Snorkeling, fitness centre, Village Church and much more to explore on this 2,200 acre private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Wakaya Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wakaya Club And Spa
The Wakaya Club Hotel Wakaya Island
The Wakaya Island Hotel
The Wakaya Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing