We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most awesome Fijian atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bobo's Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovalau Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bobo's Farm
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most awesome Fijian atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Bobo's farm is located on the western side of Ovalau, a small island off the east coast of Viti Levu. Bobo is an awesome guy. Very friendly, very knowledgable about the history of Fiji and very keen to tell you about it. Bobo and Karin have built there farm in the bush, it's very secluded and really beautiful. The guesthouse is 40 yards or so away from there farm, so you have a little privacy if you want. The cooking is amazing, all fresh seafood and very, very tasty. Bobo can take you out on fishing trips, snorkelling trips and all for a really good price.
If you are looking for a real, authentic Fijian experience and you don't want to spend your holiday in the big, fancy resorts, I strongly recommend you to go to Bobo. Me and my girlfriend only spent 2 nights here last June, but we definately would have stayed longer if we had more time.

One more important thing. When you buy your tickets for the ferry, make sure you buy your tickets to Buresala! Not to Levuka! This will save you a long busride on Ovalau itself; Buresala is closer to Bobo's farm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are looking for a Fijian resort holiday, look elsewhere. If you're looking for an authentic Fijian experience, Bobo's is the place to go.

Karin & Bobo have built their farm in the middle of a beautiful rain forest. We spent only 5 nights here and would have loved to have stayed longer. The accommodation is basic but comfortable and spacious and we were made to feel like family members.

Karin's cooking was a highlight using mainly home grown fruits, vegetables and herbs. It was a great introduction to Fijian cuisine and was some of the best food we've experienced on the road.

Bobo is a fount of knowledge and we enjoyed learning about the local history and culture. He has a wide range of activities available to enhance your experience but these are optional with no pressure to participate. He is an engaging character and nothing is too much trouble for him.

From Nadi it takes a full day to get to the farm on Ovalau by buses and ferry but it is an interesting trip and worthwhile. Bobo's was at the end of a 13 month trip for us and was a definite highlight. Go for it - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Bobo and Karin are excellent hosts and their property is a tropical garden hideaway. Karin is a very good cook which is important as their are no other options apart from cooking for yourself. If you do plan to cook for yourself there is a two burner with grill in the kitchen and you will need to take your own food as the local shop is less than basic. Bobo's house is about 2km walk from the water and village of Rukuruku. When we were there the ground was so damp vehicles could not get close to the property so all baggage had to be carried down the very long drive of through the stream path shortcut. Levuka town is a 20 minute car ride or a 40 -60 minute ride in the village truck. Length of trip is determined by the number of stops for passengers and breakdowns. The truck should be a must to get a feel for the people and their lifestyle. Rukuruku is a poor village and the rocky volcanic shoreline makes swimming difficult. Bobo will take you out in the boat where you can snorkel, fish and swim. If you want alcohol free seclusion with very little to do then this is for you. The accommodation is adequate with two double rooms with shared cold shower and toilet. There is also a warm outdoor shower attached to Bob's house but due to the rain while we were this was a muddy walk away.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, well ventilated with insect screens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful fortnight at Bobo's Farm near the village of Rukuruku, on Ovalau, Fiji.

We are a family of four with two boys aged 9 and 7 on a gap year together and have just spent a fortnight with Bobo and Karin. This was the only place we had booked prior to leaving home 8 months ago, based initially on the very positive Trip Advisor reports and subsequent positive correspondence with Karin. We were not disappointed. Bobo's Farm is truly unique.

First of all, it's the only place you can actually stay at in Rukuruku, so the only people you're likely to meet will be other locals from the 400-strong village or people from other villages passing through. Bobo is well-known and well-respected by the villagers and indeed more widely across Ovalau. With his help, you get a real insight into authentic Fijian village life.

Secondly, Bobo will tell you on arrival that you are not so much guests as members of their family whilst staying. Bobo gives much of his time to ensure that you are getting the most from your stay, but it is never 'too much'. We did things together most days but only two days of the fourteen did our trips actually cost anything, and these were modest contributions at most to cover petrol costs for long boat trips. There are numerous activities to choose from, and Bobo puts you under no pressure to do any of them, it really is up to you (although the tides and weather can also be influential!)

We enjoyed, for example, a boat ride to the beautiful white sand island of Moloi, surrounded with warm turquoise water, that doesn't even exist at high tide. Perfect for some fabulous snorkelling and a picnic with shells as plates. Or a trip up the river to the natural rock slides with a deep pool to swim in where Bobo showed our boys how to make a bamboo raft. Or a boat trip to Mystery Island where we went spear fishing and then roasted the fish we caught over a beachside fire. Another must is a ride in the local truck to the charming town of Levuka, the largest town on Ovalau, and former capital of Fiji until the late nineteenth century. Bobo is very knowledgeable about the town's history and is proud to share it with you.

Thirdly, the food at Bobo's farm is excellent. We opted for taking lunch and dinner most days, whilst preparing our own breakfast. Lunch can be taken as a picnic if you are out. You can buy food when you go to Levuka. Karin cooked super food for us, being very creative with local meat and fish, home-grown vegetables and flavours, we didn't have the same meal twice. Meals are taken across the garden on the deck of Bobo and Karin's house, with friendly dogs and iguanas as company.

Bobo's Farm has one cabin, it has with two bedrooms and a decent lounge and kitchen area, including a dining table. There is a covered deck outside with a hammock - and an unlimited supply of Mozzie coils. The location of the farm makes it exciting too. There is a river at the bottom of the garden, and the formation of the rapids provide a lovely natural jacuzzi in cool water. Because it's in the rainforest, your trip to Rukuruku involves crossing a stream, walking up a hillside and along a stony road, passing a few friendly locals along the way. We cannot recall passing a local person without being greeted with a genuinely friendly "Bula" - hello. People are proud of their village and interested in speaking with anyone who comes to stay.

As a family, this was such a great opportunity for our boys to experience life in a different environment to our home in England. One thing that really contributed to this was spending a couple of days attending the local Rukuruku Primary School. The Headmaster hosted a lovely welcome ceremony where all the school children sang songs for us and some of the older boys and girls respectively performed some traditional dances. Our boys were very much put at ease by the friendliness of the children and teachers, which made attending classes a genuine pleasure for them.

I would happily recommend Bobo's Farm for anyone who wants to unwind and find out more about Fijian life. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an amazing time at Bobo's and Karin's. They really make you feel at home. We stayed there for 9 days. We came a day to late because of delayed flight but this was not a problem and didnt need to pay for that night. Bobo loves to entertain, inform you and show you around. If you want more privacy you just need to say. You can walk up to their house at any moment and you will always feel welcome.
Highlights where meeting local people at the village. Drinking Cava and singing songs with the neighbours. The vieuw from their terras and the garden is amazing.
Bobos offers of a lot of activities such as snorkling at a sandbank (which was really nice),walks, goimg up to water slides etc etc.
If you want the real side of Fiji rather than beach and resort stay with Bobo and Karin.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manon-andAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Bobo is quite a character, seeks to set you at ease. If you need a little more private space, simply let him know. He is gracious about it. I liked th Fijan food, the hammock on the terrace and the dips in the pool. The beach ist not fantastic, but ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We recently spent five nights at Bobo’s Farm, and despite our group of six ranging in age from eight months to seventy-one years we were beautifully cared for by Bobo and Karin. The meals prepared by Karin, Oona and Artetha from the nearby gardens, creek and sea were delicious and nutritious, and whilst trundling us on various adventures to the village, the sandbar and exquisite reef, the waterfall/slide, and the beach, Bobo anticipated our every need and kept us entertained with jokes and wisdom. There was always a strong relation or two to help us with babies and luggage and lots of talk and kindness. The fishing was bountiful and there was a wonderful night of kava and song. Of our four locations during a fortnight in Fiji this was the one with soul.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovalau Island
22.4 mi away
Toberua Island Resort
Toberua Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Toberua Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bobo's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bobo's Farm

Property: Bobo's Farm
Address: Rukuruku Settlement | Ovalau Island in Lomaiviti, 57368, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Ovalau Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ovalau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bobo's Farm is an Eco-tourism Guesthouse on a riverbank amongst the rainforest in the beautiful Rukuruku Valley on Ovalau/Fiji Islands. Large tropical garden with small stone pool, large farmhouse with deck and hammock, a natural riverpool, crops and vegetable plantations, cats, dogs, iguanas and cows are to explore and enjoy. There is a 10 minutes trek to a black sandy beach and 15 minutes trek to a waterfall with large pool and slide ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bobo's Farm Fiji/Ovalau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing