We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leleuvia Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Having just returned from a family holiday to Leleuvia Island I cannot recommend it enough. Excellent beaches, good snorkelling, great service, excellent food and friendly staff. Colin and the team went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one and we cant wait to get back. The proximity to Suva is a high point for locals and expats but also I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to overseas visitors. 10/10

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 236 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Colin Philp and his team on Leleuvia offer the idyllic Fijiian island hideaway. A 40 minute boat ride from Bau Landing transports you to an island of charm and tranquility. You are met by friendly staff who take a personal interest in you, and ensure your stay is idyllic. The bures and facilities are clean and comfortable, and are right on the beach (actually, everything on Leleuvia is right on the beach - it's a very small island!). The snorkelling right by the island is superb, and there's no shortage of other aquatic pastimes. Dinner and drinks in the large central restaurant is also a social highlight. Leleuvia is definitely a "hidden gem" - and so close to Suva!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have just come back from 3 nights at Leleuvia and only wish I had had 2 weeks. Colin and the staff are all super friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Being only a couple of years old, all the amenities, boats and equipment are virtually brand new, which is great. Personally I love fishing and diving and the guys have all the gear and know exactly where to go.
The food is simple but great.
Can't wait to get back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I can't say enough for this incredible little resort. It had incredible food (sashimi caught and served in the same day with home made wasabi that blew my mind), a truly magnificent beach (pure white sand, crystal water), incredible staff who were among the nicest people I have ever met and who always know your name and great water sports available for free any time. Spend a few days here, you will not regret it. Vinaka!

Room Tip: I stayed in a dorm and it was very comfortable if also very hot at night. The bures looked very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at Leleuvia for almost 2 weeks and had a great time. The Island is amazing, the food is good and the staff is even better!

There is a lot of things you can do, like kayaking, snorkelling, fishing etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

...but you can't keep all good things to yourself.

Peaceful, beautiful, tiny island with an awesome friendly feel. Less than a dozen bures - we were there for 5 days, and we were one of just two families and a couple. Great food, the chef bent over backwards to accommodate our family's strange dietary habits (4 x pescaterians, 1 x only-eat-meataterian). Lots of watersports options, well maintained equipment, lovely snorkelling. Our family spent many hours in volleyball battles with the great Fijian staff.

Getting there is a trick and the website isn't entirely helpful in explaining. The process --
[1] Organise a pick-up time with the resort (usually 11am or 5pm). .
[2] From Suva get to Nausori (half hour by taxi or more by bus).
[3] From Nausori buses go every hour or so to Bau Landing - or stay on your taxi (another half hour). The bus is just marked "BAU".
[4] Bau Landing consists of a lean-to and a long-since abandoned car. And that's it. Don't bank on getting lunch there unless you plan to catch it.
[5] They will come and get you from Bau Landing in one of two big fast (and safe) boats. 45 minutes out to the island.

Can't recommend Leleuvia enough, especially for families / couples wanting quietness in paradise. This place is the opposite of the Yasawa mega-resorts. Thank God.

Room Tip: Beachfront bure is really the only option. There is a dorm, but it seems out of place - Leleuvia jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaeltbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great Fiji for your eyes soul and body, delicious food, a bit sandy on the rooms, but you don't complain in paradise, great atmosphere of pure relaxation. Wish I could be there right now. I still remember the sunset, walking to the sandbanks, and enjoying the beauty of the island, lots of small spots to chill with nice windy conditions, the transportations included is really safe.

Room Tip: Try the diving, its beautifull out there, the instructors are really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guillermo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leleuvia Island
24.7 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
12.9 mi away
Toberua Island Resort
Toberua Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Toberua Island
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namosi Eco Retreat
Namosi Eco Retreat
#1 of 1 in Navunikabi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leleuvia Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleuvia Island Resort

Address: Lomaiviti Group, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Leleuvia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Leleuvia Island
Price Range: $7 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleuvia Island Resort is situated in the Lomaiviti Group of islands, between the historic chiefly island of Bau and Levuka the first capital of Fiji, 90 minutes travel from Suva and away from the more frequented tourism trails. This resort is a relaxing 35 minute cruise, and a world away from the hustle of the mainland of Viti Levu, and the rest of the world. The island itself is incredibly beautiful and sits atop a marine reserve and boasts some of the best snorkeling in Fiji right off the beach. Romantic and completely refreshing, Leleuvia offers you the chance to experience your very own private island and Fijian cultural experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leleuvia Island Hotel Leleuvia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing