We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leluvia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leleuvia Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Leluvia”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It's a pretty island, bures very comfortable, food fine. There's a little white cat there who is on her own and staff won't offer her any leftovers, yet she could be a bonus in terms of making the island a nicer place, she was brought over and left by someone, the way animals abandoned in Fiji is very distressing and lack of humanity equally distressing.
We had party central in the bure next to us which made sleep hard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin P, General Manager at Leleuvia Island Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Vinaka Rosemary for your valuable feedback on Leleuvia. Further to our recent e-mails, we have taken your advise and "Whitey" the cat has responded well to regular feeding by the staff even when I am off island. I apologise for the noise from the other inconsiderate guests but hope you will visit us again soon outside of the festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    41
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
30
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

this very small island offers a chance to relax and enjoy yourself, in and out of the water. We, 3 adults and 2 children, spent 5 days there and wished we could have stayed longer and will be going back. The Bure had new beds, and that was pleasant for me, the 3rd adult who usually has a lumpy children's mattress at other places I've stayed. The staff were attentive to our needs, the food was adequate, (if you are used to gorging yourself at a 5 star resort, you will notice the difference, but who needs all that food). The resort was fully occupied while we were there and everyone was enjoying themselves in their own way. yes the shower water is cold, but that means you save water which is a precious resource on the island. As someone who has spent enjoyable times camping at a beach, this evoked the same memory,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senior39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

to Viti Levu. Pick up on Levuka side was already messed up - but ok can happen. After a two hours wait in the rain I was eventually picked up. Was promised lunch in the resort: I got a meagre sandwich, service was unproffessional and slow - though friendly enough. Had a quick walk around the island - hardly any people there, bures looked ok from outside, but I guess after a day you get terribly bored. Trip over to Viti Levu was ok, but I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The resort is located all by itself on this special island. They have their own scuba diving center and their own off shore reef. This resort is special indeed. Joe the bartender is really nice, perhaps a little slow, but it is island time...who cares! "Thank you Joe for all you hard work!!" The food is excellent and if want something specially made for you, just ask! The showers are adorable sea shell shaped rooms. Water could stand to be warmer, but what can you expect. This isn't your average plumbing! The best thing about this resort is the people. They welcome you with open hearts and generousity! Jim helped me carry my bags to the dorm, and helped again when it came time to leave. "Thanks Jim!"
If I ever get a chance to return to Fiji, I would have to make a special trip just to pay my respects to my new friends. They treat you like one of the family!!!!
Oh, and I can't forget "Snowball" the cat who made me miss my own two kitties less. She cuddled right up with me! And oh boy does she have something to say......so cute!!!! She even came on our walk around the island with us. Just for the company!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relishtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've visited twice this year (we live in Suva), and the transformation since last time is amazing. New thatched bures, new dorm, and a breezy, new restaurant under a massive thatched roof among the coconut palms at the tip of the island.

The care, creativity, and energy put into this previously rather dilapidated island by the new managers (Colin Philp and Lee-Ann Lee) is fantastic. This seems to be their next project after a previous forays into sailing, boating, and diverse sport-related business. They recently sailed around the Pacific on a traditional dual-hulled canoe (pacificvoyagers.org), and hosted the Fiji Hobie cat sailing championship on the island a few months ago. Colin sailed for Fiji at the Seoul Olympics, it turns out. Due to Colin and Lee-Ann's connections, for example, we were treated to guitar and voice duets by some young Suva artists during dinner on Saturday evening.

With the beautiful islet (couldn't design a better one for a postcard), the yummy food, good atmosphere, free wifi, and included snorkel/paddleboard/kayak use, this place will certainly be among the best of the budget resorts.

Having the right expectations is key, particularly as far as accommodation. The bures are decent square set-ups with tasteful thatch and pole designs, but have simple plywood floors and nothing else inside but wooden slat beds or bunks with (thin) foam mattresses under the sheets. I was a bit sore in the morning, but more comfortable than camping! They face the south-east beach and its trade winds, which were blowing strong both times we were there - a welcome refreshment in summer heat, rather chilly in the cool season. Don't be surprised if the breeze blows the door brusquely in bringing leaves and sand with it (perhaps the doors should have been on the side or back?).

The toilet and shower block is in the centre of the island, between 50 and 200m from the bures, and has four toilets and four showers for each gender, in a clever, artsy, 'tribal' inspired architecture (you could be at a budget safari camp in South Africa too!). Cold water only. Bring soap, shampoo, towel.

The lee-ward side beach is fantastic for snorkeling (head right off shore), and protected from the dominant wind. A friend used his kite-surf off the southern point with great success. As a resident of rainy Suva, it is nice to be in the sun here and look across at the clouds over eastern Viti Levu.

The boat ride from Bau landing (45 min. drive from Suva - or bus or taxi) has improved lots with the purchase of a newer, higher hulled boat with a bigger motor. But if it rains, you will get wet, and if it is windy, the waves may occasionally splash you. Pack your stuff away in the hold and bring a simple rain coat, just for this (after 45 min. of wind and wet, it can get cool). And the spine-pounding of the boat hitting waves (grin and bear it) makes arriving all the more sweeter. That's the price for being away from cars and other main-island distractions...

The island is pretty much equidistant between Bau landing (15 minute drive east of Suva's Nausori airport) and Levuka, the historic town on Ovulau. 45 minutes each way on their new 200 Hp boat. As Lee-Ann told me, given the awkward ferry timings for Ovulau, they hope people might use their transfer services and their island as a stop-over point. Makes sense to me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stian91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawkes bay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This small island is everything anyone dreams about as a child - persian blue skies, white sand, coral reef fringed, thatched bures lining the sea shore, sitting in warm sea water eating pawpaw or mangoes . . . This is not the 5 star luxury resort you get on the mainland, but it is special. You get personal attention from the gregarious and fun loving Fijian staff, fed three yummy meals a day, use of a range of water toys including snorkelling gear, and there is a dive shop and qualified instructor. A range of options for the more adventurous - long boat to Ovalau Island, dive and snorkelling rides to exciting reef sites, picnic lunch of the small sand islands, deep sea fishing off the edge of the reef ... Or just pull up a deck chair and lye under a coconut tree reading and sleeping and watching the kids play on the shallow warm water ...
The bures are basic, and there is a limited range of snacks so take your favourites with you. The new bar-restaurant is exquisite and a great place to eat and meet.
Colin and Lee-Anne, and all the staff, thank you for a great tooshortabreak!

Room Tip: All the same! 2 to a room is luxury, but they can sleep 6 using bunks, and there is a dorm for the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frog8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

In general it's the very place to relax'reading swimming diving hiking without disturbing.We lived in dormitory spent$65per night includes3 meals a day.they serves buffet for breakfast'includes fruits breads beverage'The jam tastes good

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leleuvia Island
24.7 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
12.9 mi away
Toberua Island Resort
Toberua Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Toberua Island
345 reviews
15.8 mi away
Naigani Island Resort
Naigani Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Naigani Island
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Namosi Eco Retreat
Namosi Eco Retreat
#28 of 68 in Viti Levu
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Leleuvia Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleuvia Island Resort

Property: Leleuvia Island Resort
Address: Lomaiviti Group, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Leleuvia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Leleuvia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleuvia Island Resort is situated in the Lomaiviti Group of islands, between the historic chiefly island of Bau and Levuka the first capital of Fiji, 90 minutes travel from Suva and away from the more frequented tourism trails. This resort is a relaxing 35 minute cruise, and a world away from the hustle of the mainland of Viti Levu, and the rest of the world. The island itself is incredibly beautiful and sits atop a marine reserve and boasts some of the best snorkeling in Fiji right off the beach. Romantic and completely refreshing, Leleuvia offers you the chance to experience your very own private island and Fijian cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Leleuvia Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leleuvia Island Hotel Leleuvia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing