We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Papageno Resort, Kadavu, FIJI”
Review of Papageno Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kadavu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papageno Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Papageno Resort, Kadavu, FIJI”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

After spending 2 weeks volunteering at the Dilkusha Children's Home in Nausori, Fiji through Projects Abroad, I was looking forward to four days of rest, relaxation and pampering before returning to my demanding job as a public high school counselor in Northern, Virginia, USA. I also wanted something that was all inclusive, peaceful and beautiful. Extensive internet research convinced me that Papageno fit the bill.

As a solo traveler, I found the staff and the locals to be friendly and attentive. I took advantage of opportunities to get a massage, to visit Daku village, Vunisei District school, the Viseisei school up the road from the airport, to tour the resort grounds, to take warm solar powered showers, and to hike up to the resort's small waterfall. I was not successful obtaining cell phone reception so I passed the time reading through the resort's magazines and books in its small library, standing midcalf in the water (it was too cold to my taste for swimming during their 'winter') while the curious fish circle and nibbled me, lying in a hammock guarded by my personal rescue dog Freddy, trying to catch a glimpse of the wild parrots and other wild life (boars, etc. , napping, or just enjoying their wholesome meals and snacks.

My favorite memories of my stay at Papageno was:
drinking kava with the village spokesperson and villagers at Daku,
learning about Kava production-chief export of Kadavu,
touring Daku village and just talking with the people-I was not interested in scuba diving to see the giant clams,
playing games with the children at the Vunisei district school (they have solar panels but no computers HINT, HINT),
drinking kava with the men and getting them to sing a song for me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vcoLidks5_0
reaching Papageno's waterfall after a challenging hike,
touring the grounds, gardens, and the impressive physical plant of the resort,
having a seaside garden bure all to myself,
having a waiter (Civo and Saloti) to cater to my dietary whims,
fresh, organic food

My only regret is that I was not able to experience the gospel singing at Sunday services, to take the weaving class or to see the manta rays. Maybe next time around. A family of four shared the island with me during my short stay, but except for meal times, I only saw them in passing. I would recommend that a solo traveler bring along a laptop, musical instruments, and some reading material (which can be donated to the resort's library afterwards), hire a staff member to accompany them on the demanding and long hike to the waterfall because the diving, kayaking, watersports, ping pong, etc. did not particularly appeal to me. I would also have liked to have brought along some toys and educational materials for the school and village. I wish they would also install a dock at the Kadavu airport and the resort so that you don't have to get your feet wet traveling to and from the various attractions. The staff gathered to wrap a flower necklace around my neck and to serenade me with their gloriously harmonious rendition of the farewell song Isa Isa.

Papageno, I bid you aloha and hope to see you again during YOUR summer months!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starshadow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
60
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a great time. There are only 12 bure with only 10 guests there when we stayed. We were picked up from the airport by boat - no roads, well not where we stayed.

The resort is near a village - the villagers work at the resort. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Annalise is a paramedic which was useful for our friend who had back pain.
A doctor / hospital is a long way away.

The resort has a few boats that can take divers to the Astrolabe Reef or snorkelling nearby which is what we did. A fantastic place for wildlife. Saw the four rare bird species only to be found on Kadavu - they were all seen in the garden.

We walked up to the waterfall and felt like we were being followed but it was only the barking pigeon that seem to be everywhere.

Saw a sea krait near the beach - they don't look dangerous!!

The resort has kayaks which we used often.

A really great place to stay. The food is very tasty.

If you don't feel like the beach - there is always the pool room, library or just enjoy the spacious bure.

This is an eco resort which is great to see.

Thanks Annalise and Elisabeth.

Room Tip: Any of the bure are wonderful - doesn't matter which one you pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac59NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northcoastoz
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We took a group of 17 yoga students to Papageno this May. Everyone was thrilled to be in such a perfect environment to practice yoga. The atmosphere was peaceful in the bures and in the yoga room, not to mention the gardens and the ocean! We loved the delicious food and the happy staff who prepared and served it. People are already asking me when we will go back, so I had better get onto Elisabeth pronto and book for next year.
Elisabeth made sure that all our needs were met; scuba diving, visiting the village to hear gospel singing, Kava and mece ceremony with the staff, with whom we became friends, we felt very appreciative of the care and attention given to us and our group.

Room Tip: All the bures are stylishly decorated, spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogaaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

we loved our stay at Papagenos!! the staff was always friendly. The food was excellent and way more than we could ever eat.The veiw from our room was beautiful.We got up eary in the morning to watch the sun come up and in the evening we watched the sun go down. We have never seen such beauty.We loved the staff and made frieds with them all of course we did have our favoriets but loved them all.Elizabeth and Lydia were so kind to us and always asked id we were happy or needed anything.The walk to the waterfall was hot so be sure to bring plenty of water.TO go snorkling is just a fwe steps away from shore. We used the gear the resort had. We were able to see many beautiful fish coral and so much more.We both would love to go back to Papagenos.There was a fwe days of choppy seas so we played cards and read, after all that is what we were ther for rest and relaxation. Nap in your room or plop yourself in a hammock let the warm sun and cool breeze put you to sleep I sure did, man I think I need another vacation thinking of it!!Pam and Rick Scates

Room Tip: book early so you can get the ocean veiw it is the best we think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK-Skeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I need 24 hour electricity to power the fans. Many of the resorts in Kadavu such as Matava, Matana, Waisalima has a restricted window period where the power is on. Even if the bures are right on the water, there is no assurance that sea breezes will blow. At comparable rates, Papageno gives better value for money. I stayed 8 nights at Papageno which I consider too long. I would recommend 5 nights for future guests. The location is close to Kadavu airport, in between the eastern end of the island where Nagigia island resort is and the western end of the island where Waisalima is or the northwestern end where Ono resort is located. I was able to travel to Nagigia island resort for 1 day to enjoy the breathtaking views and dived at a site called Nabukelevu. This is at the base of a volcano and experienced to the surf conditions but the fish life is very good with shoals of trevallies and barracudas; but the size of these shoals is still smaller compared to the ones I have seen in the Vatu-i-ra passage and Madang resort (PNG). Nonetheless, I would recommend a dive at Nabukelevu. The dive at a site called Cabbage patch is average. I also spent 1 day at the Naqoro passage: fast currents and unpredictable fish life. Another day was spent diving near Ono island and snorkelling with the mantas. Please note that this is not a hardcore dive resort. The true blue dive resorts are Matana, Matava, Waisalima, Mai Dive. If you stay at Matava, you are not close to Nabukelevu and also a distance from Naqoro/Ono dive sites. Matana and Papageno are centrally located which allows you to travel in either direction. I also spent 1 day hiking to the Naikorokoro waterfall. The treks are slippery and the fall was not as nice/majestic as those in Taveuni. Regretted that outing. I was given a West facing room in the Royal Bure. If you can, choose an East facing room as it will not get hot in the afternoon. Bring a torch light with you to walk to the dining area at night as the compounds are not very well lit. Because there are so many plants between bures/buildings, it does cut off quite a fair bit of light especially in the dining area and also makes drying of clothes challenging. Also note that the bay does not get sunset views from the beach. The food on offer is mostly delicious, home-cooked and sufficient. Most memorable for me are the pineapple, guava, berry jams all home-made. The website indicates that juices are available the whole day but these are mainly garden-derived lemon juice. Previous reviews commented that it is difficult to swim during low tides. I disagree. During low tide, you simply walk farther out. If you are kayaking in front of the resort early in the morning when the tide is slow, you may come across a resident turtle that feeds on the sponges. Just pay attention to splashing sounds.
A tip when staying at Kadavu. Make sure that you do not have an international flight on the same day when you fly out from Kadavu to Nadi/Suva. The domestic connections can be unreliable. I would recommend that resort staff ensure that their guests are checked into flights before leaving them at the airport.

Room Tip: Stay longer and get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Synapsegaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed at Papageno after attending a wedding at the InterContinental on the mainland. As has been mentioned previously Papageno is a remote paradise. If your looking for a ritzy big city hotel than this is not for you. Honestly if you like nature, wonderful service, incredible scenery, amazing people and great 'real' food then Papageno is perfect.

Honestly, we have no idea how anyone can rate Papageno as being anything less than five stars. We are heading back in September this year to be married and are absolutely thrilled about it. Cannot wait! The previous review "Storybook Wedding" perfectly sums up life at Papageno.

We really struggle to compare our stay at the InterContinental with Papageno. There was nothing wrong with the InterContinental, but for us it just does not compare as a genuine, incredible, relaxing, and amazing holiday location. We have no desire to return to any of the 5 star resorts on the fiji mainland now that we have stayed at Papageno.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canberra123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I waited a long time to find Papageno.
Within 5 minutes of the boat transfer from Kadavu airport to Papageno we were joined by Dolphins and sighted turtles sunning on the sea surface. The welcome is genuine and the resort is very special.
Papageno is true to itself. One has a sense of being welcomed into a place that is sensitive to the environment and the culture that surrounds.
The bures are tasteful, in keeping with the Fijian landscape, and complete with local crafted furnishings.
The food is nutritious and plentiful and is presented with grace. The place settings are olde worlde and meals are shared with other guests, providing an opportunity to share experiences and learn.
I swam in the sea from the beach with fins and snorkel, I dived with great gear and the most personal dive experience ever, I fished and I hiked in the hills.
And I came away refreshed and excited to know that such a peaceful tranquil place still can be found.
Thanks to Elizabeth, Lydia, Annelisse and the staff of Papageno

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
0.0 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
708 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
0.0 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papageno Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papageno Resort

Property: Papageno Resort
Address: Malawai Bay, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Papageno Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papageno Resort, on the untouched island of Kadavu in Fiji, blends world-class scuba diving, fishing, cultural activities and an array of other adventure experiences (snorkeling, free diving, spearfishing, waterfall hiking, kayaking, stand-up-paddle, surfing, etc.) all within a secluded, tranquil and unique oceanfront hideaway with a lush, tropical rainforest backyard setting. Papageno Resort is truly a one-of-a-kind getaway spot that caters to both those looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay or those looking for a bundle of adventure-level water and land experiences, whilst making Papageno feel like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papageno Resort Fiji Hotel Kadavu Island
Papageno Hotel Fiji
Papageno Resort Fiji/Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing