We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 days of relaxation and good food”
Review of Tiliva Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiliva Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thank u Kemu, Barbara, Masi and Siteri for making our 10 day stay memorable. Travelling with 3 children the youngest 14 months was going to be interesting but it was no problem at all. We were happily accomodated in one bure which were spacious, clean and modern for the area and having hot water for the kids showers was definitely a help. The kids loved looking for the hermit crabs and swimming out the front and the youngest love seeing the Kadavu parrot every morning. There are ample books and games available to play and the grounds are wide and spacious for energetic kids. We did bring a laptop for the kids to watch the odd movie and the oldest had a daily journal to do for school which was great for reflecting upon the days activities so there was plenty to do for the kids when we weren't out fishing near the reef, exploring neighbouring bays or visiting relatives in other villages. One of the highlights of the trip was attending the church service at Tiliva Village as was the 3 wonderful cooked meals a day and the five star service by Masi. Barbara and Kemu were happy to provide us a take away lunch for the days we spent doing other things. Would definitely recommend Tiliva as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gidget73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a magical place. We were met at the Kadavu airstrip by Tulala, a boatman from Tiliva Village. We had a wonderful hour and a quarter boat ride through the clear waters between the island and the Astrolabe Reef. At the resort private beach we were greeted by owner Kemu, and Masi & Siteri. The resort has five spacious bures, surrounded by lovely gardens and coconut palms. Being off season, we were the only resort guests, and enjoyed the serenity of this wonderful resort. Kemu's wife, Barbara, arrived the next afternoon, having been in the UK. We enjoyed evening chats with Kemu and Barbara, a very interesting and caring couple. At all times we were well taken care of by Masi. During our five night stay, all of Fiji experienced stormy weather, so we were never able to get out on the water to kayak and/or snorkel. But we visited the Tiliva Village, and read lots of books. One of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had.

Room Tip: All five bures are essentially the same with the exception of the location of the "honeymoon&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived after a hour's journey by boat to be greeted by a pod of dolphins! That magical welcome set the scene for a really relaxing and enjoyable stay at Tiliva Resort. The bures are spacious and comfortable and the private beach, white sand and palm trees, was our own little piece of paradise. Our perfect hosts, Kemu and Barbara, were friendly and very helpful, and the food was fantastic. We adored Masi, who looked after us so well with his naughty smile and charming demeanour. He even took us into the village to meet the children at the school and the impromptu rugby game was inspiring! And best of all, the diving on the Astrolabe Reef was simply breathtaking. A wonderful place to chill out and enjoy some incredible diving.

Room Tip: Book early as there aren't many rooms to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobcat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place is absolutely beautiful. The gardens are stunning and beach is like your own private piece of paradise. The hosts Barbara and Kemu are extremely kind and helpful, along with the main staff member Massey who is very polite and courteous and will always greet you with his warm and welcoming smile.
The rooms are large, clean and spacious all with their own good size verandah, and set apart from each other for the privacy of all guests. The meals are delicious and the peace and tranquility this resort offers is perfect for anybody needing time out on their holiday.
If you do need activities to keep you interested the village is only a ten minute walk from the resort. There are diving trips you can take - which apparently are fabulous, fishing trips or stay at the resort and just enjoy the great snorkelling there.
Definitely a place to visit and recommend to your friends !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Tiliva Resort & Kadavu Island are special places in Fiji. As frequent visitors to Fiji, our stay was made special by the wonderful hosts (Barabara & Kemu) and all the staff particularly Masi who made us feel very special & were great company. Coming from working in a high pressure professional jobs this was the most relaxing place we have ever been to in Fiji. The food was wonderful, we will miss Kemu's soups, the fish and the wonderful use of eggplant & cassava. Being keen on fishing we had a lot of fun with Joni & Kemu - trying out "popping" over the beautiful Astrolobe reef catching GT's and Coral Trout. The village visit was enjoyable & the views from the climb above the resort are spectacular. The accommodation in the Bure was extremely comfortable and nothing seemed to be too much trouble to the hosts. The snorkelling was the best on many visits to Fiji & I expect diving in the area would also be special. Enjoyed relaxing on the comfy lounges after excellent meals, reading from the library or chatting with the friendly staff. A great to relax for peace & quiet and to enjoy Fiji's natural beauty

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite it is on the beach with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I visited this resort in February 2012. A very authentic resort, next to Tiliva village with wonderful people leaving like 100 years ago, from gardening and fishing. Barbara and Kemu are distinguished hosts, very friendly and interested that you feel well, the food is excellent, bures very confi, nice and clean. What a pity that I didn't have enough money, otherwise I would have bought this resort. Very original place with no roads and cars around and stress seems to be forgotten. I enjoyed very much the fishing, the snorkeling trip and the village. After spending five weeks in total in Fiji (6 days on Kadavu) I would say Tiliva resort is a must see.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at Tiliva on Kandavu in November of 2010.We visited Taveuni on this trip also.
I am the diver half. I found the diving to be absolutely spectacular on the Astrolab!!!
Tiliva resort staff picked us up by boat from the airport and it was an hour boat ride to the resort.
We were welcomed by Barbara and Kemu and treated like family. I would actually describe our visit there as a home stay. We loved the freshly grown veggies and home style cooking. Kemu made a pepper soup that was heavenly! We loved the isolation and back to nature type of stay-
peace and tranquility-except for the bats at night that raided the mango tree. Way cool!!
I enjoyed the usual land crabs and bird watching.There were lots to look at snorkeling just off shore. Our bure was comfortable-king size bed,sitting area,running hot and cold water and safe to drink.
One thing I cannot stress enough BRING DEET!! and if you think you have packed enough
PACK MORE! We ran out 2 days after arriving and my husband was almost eaten alive.

The diving was not princess diving like I'm used to and the boat captain found himself pulling the "fat lady" into the small boat like a fish he had caught. I saw some really old growth coral, huge sea fans,leopard shark,large schools of potato cod,turtles,pipefish,a scallop that was probably about 2 feet from top to bottom,pufferfish the size of basketballs...There was SO MUCH to see.
We also took school supplies to the neighboring village and the teachers were very grateful.
the whole village seemed to come out and say hello to us. We also bought some Kava from the the villagers-brought it home and our Fijian friends in Canada said it was excellent quality.

Tiliva is a special off the grid type of place. It takes a "different type" of traveler to appreciate
the isolation and serenity. Or perhaps just a dive nut like I am?

Room Tip: We had the bure right at the beach with the nice sundeck! Good for tanning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ymihere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
6 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
6.6 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
19.2 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
63 reviews
182 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiliva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiliva Resort

Address: c/o P O Naleca, 679, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiliva Resort is unlike any resort in the Fiji Archipelago. With little noise, light, pollution or people to distract you, your vacation with us will be one of the most peaceful and relaxing that you will ever have. To see the Fiji that dreams are made of, Tiliva Resort is the answer. Tiliva Resort is situated on the pristine island of Kadavu. The resort grounds are situated on a primative archeological site, surrrounded by flora and fauna native to our island. Tiliva Resort is a Padi resort with local DiveMasters to provide the Ultimate experience. If fishing is what you are looking for Tiliva Resort will provide a local guide for a special fishing experience. Snorkeling and Kayaking are free at the resort. Guides and day tours are available for those who desire. Waterfall tours, Birding and Village tours are available for those that have interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiliva Hotel Kadavu Island
Tiliva Resort Fiji/Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing