We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
216
41
9
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
41
9
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bure other guests dive master manta reef fish low tide dive staff local village dive sites organic garden world class cocktail hour great diving spent a week no electricity bug spray days diving
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 284 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2009

This place is a little slice of heaven. However, if you are the type that likes to be entertained or have schedules then this isn't the place for you. We spent 5 days here and didn't dive or fish but we were busy. We went kayaking, hiking, exploring the mud flats, snorkling (it's quite good right out front of the resort) and just relaxed and slept. A much needed rest.
The food was great and all staff were friendly and helpful. Oh, we did take the kayak trip to the remote village and although our guide didn't seem super pumped to be out there with us, we had a fantastic adventure with him. he was knowledgeable. The village was a highlight and the voices of the children singing to us while we hiked to the waterfall is one of my favorite memories. It was hard to leave this place.

It's rustic and wonderful, our type of place.

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stompinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I visited this resort with a group of friends for a week of diving, and found it a really neat experience. We had some great dives out on the Astrolabe reef, where we saw and photographed some wonderful sea-life. The staff were a really helpful, fun-loving lot, and Richard made us feel at home, and ensured we had plenty of time to recharge our camera batteries, and laptops etc. The food was fantastic, and the whole place clean and tidy.
I had read in a review that at night it could get a bit cold, but we found there were blankets if you needed them, as well as a mosquito net over the bed, so we had lovely snug, pest free sleeps and were able to recharge ourselves ready for the next days activities. I loved the remoteness of Matava, the wonderful bush walks, seeing a nearby village, and their way of life. Some of the staff came from there. I thoroughly recommend the place to anyone with a sense of adventure, and a positive attitude.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dont-look-ethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This place makes you forget about the rest of the world. The staff & management are so friendly, the views are amazing, but you have to put in mind that an enviornment friendly resort means its running on solar energy power, so dont expect ACs or fans, just clean pure air !

I'll be visiting Matava Resort again in the upcoming fishing season for sure.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I loved this resort! Keep in mind this is an eco-resort, if you expect the same generic rooms and service that you get from any hotel or resort then this is not for you. But if you love adventure with more than enough luxury to satisfy anyone's basic needs then this is the place for you. The bures are clean and private. The staff are fun and colorful and very willing to help you with whatever you would like to do for the day. You can enjoy your day diving, hiking, fishing, visiting a native village, kava drinking, or just hanging out in the common area, the patio, or your private bure. The meals are shared in the common area with some of the staff and the other guests. Every night was different and interesting getting to meet new people and learning about different cultures. The diving is excellent and the dive masters plan the day according to the weather and dive experience. All in all this place is fantastic. I came with a friend and we had a great time, but this place would be excellent for couples as well. There was a variety of different people staying there while we were there.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtlechole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We have just returned after ten days, 8 days diving, at Matava. We had a great time, the staff are excellent and interact with the guests as much as possible. The food is very good and there is plenty even for big eaters like us. The diving was great, Manta Reef we absolutely loved even though the manta were not present, the reef and fish there is breathtaking. There were also a lot of non-divers at the resort and they were having a great time as well with the village walks etc that you did not have to dig deep in your pockets for unlike a lot of other places that we have been.

The only tips we have is to take something warm in the winter for the nights and on the boat when you are out of the water, and, have a guide with you for the waterfall at the village. Overall we highly recommend the resort to divers and non-divers especially if you would like some peace and quiet with no television, phones, internet and a small number of guests.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danceaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews