We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Certificate of Excellence
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 26, 2009

This place is a little slice of heaven. However, if you are the type that likes to be entertained or have schedules then this isn't the place for you. We spent 5 days here and didn't dive or fish but we were busy. We went kayaking, hiking, exploring the mud flats, snorkling (it's quite good right out front of the resort) and just relaxed and slept. A much needed rest.
The food was great and all staff were friendly and helpful. Oh, we did take the kayak trip to the remote village and although our guide didn't seem super pumped to be out there with us, we had a fantastic adventure with him. he was knowledgeable. The village was a highlight and the voices of the children singing to us while we hiked to the waterfall is one of my favorite memories. It was hard to leave this place.

It's rustic and wonderful, our type of place.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stompinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    29
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
116
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I visited this resort with a group of friends for a week of diving, and found it a really neat experience. We had some great dives out on the Astrolabe reef, where we saw and photographed some wonderful sea-life. The staff were a really helpful, fun-loving lot, and Richard made us feel at home, and ensured we had plenty of time to recharge our camera batteries, and laptops etc. The food was fantastic, and the whole place clean and tidy.
I had read in a review that at night it could get a bit cold, but we found there were blankets if you needed them, as well as a mosquito net over the bed, so we had lovely snug, pest free sleeps and were able to recharge ourselves ready for the next days activities. I loved the remoteness of Matava, the wonderful bush walks, seeing a nearby village, and their way of life. Some of the staff came from there. I thoroughly recommend the place to anyone with a sense of adventure, and a positive attitude.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dont-look-ethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This place makes you forget about the rest of the world. The staff & management are so friendly, the views are amazing, but you have to put in mind that an enviornment friendly resort means its running on solar energy power, so dont expect ACs or fans, just clean pure air !

I'll be visiting Matava Resort again in the upcoming fishing season for sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I loved this resort! Keep in mind this is an eco-resort, if you expect the same generic rooms and service that you get from any hotel or resort then this is not for you. But if you love adventure with more than enough luxury to satisfy anyone's basic needs then this is the place for you. The bures are clean and private. The staff are fun and colorful and very willing to help you with whatever you would like to do for the day. You can enjoy your day diving, hiking, fishing, visiting a native village, kava drinking, or just hanging out in the common area, the patio, or your private bure. The meals are shared in the common area with some of the staff and the other guests. Every night was different and interesting getting to meet new people and learning about different cultures. The diving is excellent and the dive masters plan the day according to the weather and dive experience. All in all this place is fantastic. I came with a friend and we had a great time, but this place would be excellent for couples as well. There was a variety of different people staying there while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtlechole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We have just returned after ten days, 8 days diving, at Matava. We had a great time, the staff are excellent and interact with the guests as much as possible. The food is very good and there is plenty even for big eaters like us. The diving was great, Manta Reef we absolutely loved even though the manta were not present, the reef and fish there is breathtaking. There were also a lot of non-divers at the resort and they were having a great time as well with the village walks etc that you did not have to dig deep in your pockets for unlike a lot of other places that we have been.

The only tips we have is to take something warm in the winter for the nights and on the boat when you are out of the water, and, have a guide with you for the waterfall at the village. Overall we highly recommend the resort to divers and non-divers especially if you would like some peace and quiet with no television, phones, internet and a small number of guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danceaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stayed at Matava for 5 days on a diving trip specifically to see the Manta Rays and wasn't disappointed at all having seen at least five swimming with us for nearly the whole hour we were underwater. Yes, some of the dives were average but I have done average diving all over the world. The dive equipment at the resort is rather average though and they don't rent computers so you may want to rent elsewhere.

I enjoyed staying at Matava as well as all guests tend to eat and socialise in the main bure for meals and we had a great group of people and great service from Maggie and crew. The location isn't for everyone and so if you need more comforts then this place isn't for you as it is a bit remote and I think can't always compensate for that. But this is the true fiji and away from it all. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eur0Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Our trip consisted of 5 nights at the Matava Eco Resort on Kadavu, three nights at the Pearl South Pacific, Pacific Harbour, Nadi and six nights at Paradise Tavenui on Tavenui.

The three islands each offered a different experience, which combined to make a wonderful trip.

On arrival in Kadavu, we were met by a member of the Matava staff and driven to a small harbour for the start of a 45 minute boat trip to the resort. We were warned that that the trip would be a wet one, so duly donned the wet weather gear provided. Whilst it did prove to be a wet journey, we enjoyed every minute as we anticipated our arrival at Matava. We weren’t disappointed. We were met by Maggie with the offer of a hot or cold drink (alcoholic or non-alcoholic) and lunch. After a few formalities, Maggie escorted us to our Bure. With its wooden deck overlooking the ocean, it was the perfect setting.

The Bure was simply furnished. The dominant feature being the queen sized bed. It was clean and well-maintained.

In the evening (using Oil Lamps to light the way) we met the other guests and began to get to know them and the staff over a few drinks and our excellent dinner.

The following morning, after a simple, but more than adequate breakfast, we went out on our first dive trip.

The boat was suited to around 6-8 divers. It had an awning to provide shade and protection from the rain (which we experienced quite a bit of throughout our stay in Fiji), but no facilities for cameras. That said this didn’t prove a problem.

We undertook 10 dives in total. The only site which we dived twice was Manta Point, which was on our final day’s diving. On our first dive of the morning we were privileged to witness a solitary Manta, which spent around 20 minutes in the area. The dive site, with or without mantas, was the best we experienced on this bit of our trip. The corals were in excellent condition and the fish life was abundant. We’ve never seen so many anemone fish together in a single area. It was very special. This sentence really describes Matava for us. We loved the fact that it was out of the way, that you had to make an effort to get there. We liked the simplicity. The staff were great. They were helpful, courteous, friendly and fun to be with. They genuinely wanted their guests to have the best possible time that they could.

It is certainly on our list of places to go back to.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandeville1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
12.5 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
6.6 mi away
Tiliva Resort
Tiliva Resort
#3 of 3 in Kadavu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Property: Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Address: Vunisea | PO Box 63, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matava - Fiji`s Premier Eco Adventure Hotel Kadavu Island
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing