We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Oneta Resort(Ono Island)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$1,389
$743
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $851/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Papageno Resort(Kadavu Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
200
37
9
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
37
9
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain bureother guestsmanta reefdive masterhoneymoon burefishlow tidedive stafflocal villagedive sitesorganic gardenhot waterworld classno electricitygreat divingkerosene lampsbug spray
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 259 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you are looking for the pool, town for shopping or touristy stuff this is not the place. It is quiet, unspoiled and the villages & people are lovely. The food is great and abundant here, I don't know how they do it in such a remote place. The service is warm and wonderful. The bures are clean and big and provide mosquitoe netting, but do bring bug spray just in case. I was bitten up by mosquitoes (as usual) but my husband was not....
The manta diving is unbelievable....we had over 9 Manta's playing all around us and the reefs are in fairly good shape. This side of the island can be windy but Matava is very protected so you may only hear it. Diving is spotty with weather governing it. 3mm-5mm wetsuit is suitable for the water.....I had a 3mm shorty and was warm enough. The water was 79F (26C), a bit cooler than usual. I should be about 82F (27.5C) at this time of year.
The reviews prior to me are accurate. We do much world traveling and diving, each has its ups and downs....this is a good place. It is "off the grid" as one stated.....no contact.
Any jungle is going to have bugs.....it is part of the package. Any remote tropical location is going to have minimal convieniences, especially eco-friendly resorts. Things break and qualified technicians are rarely available so it is a learn as you go to fix things.
In the USA you are expected to do three jobs, take no vacations and stress is high. Here you can learn to stop and take life easier. This is not a place for kids. Bring a book or two.
It is as close to seeing the real Fijian life as you will get. I suspect it will not be long before it is lost due to the discovery of this island.
Most of my photo documentaries are videos, so what I have posted is from a sparse few pictures.

Room Tip: The bures are hillside, so if short walks up hill are a problem ask for a lower bure. Bring the appropriate plug for your electronics (iPad, computer, etc) If you are a coffee connoisseur, bring starbucks instant or the like....hot cocoa works too.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divetraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for all your kind comments on our staff, food, diving and accommodation. Sounds like the weather was a bit 'ordinary' during your stay but I am delighted you got to see the mantas !
We thank you for fisiting our litle remote slice of the real Fiji and wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you want to still 'connected' with the rest of the world and be around lots of other people, do not go there. But if you want to get off the grid this is the place. The sun is your light during the day and at night you have kerosene lamps to light your dinner table. To get to your Bura you hike the steep paths lighted by your own torch, (english for 'flashlight') or the solar powered small desk light provided by the resort. There is only one small 12v floresent light in the bathroom that lights your bura at night. Power to the bura's is provided by solar planels that store the voltage, during daylight hours, for night use. No vehicles, no roads, just jungle paths to venture around on. Bring your bug spray, or the Mosseys, (english for mosquitos) will dine on you mercilessly. The staff, mostly natives from a village a mile or to walk from the resort are truely warm and friendly. By the second day they know you by your first name and always great you with a warm Bula which is catching and you quickly get into the Bula, Bula and Vinaka mood yourself. Most of the visitors are Aussies and Kiwi's so US citizens and others get a lesson in the queens english. Bura's are airey, literally. Thatched walls and roofs. No A/C, no fans, buring insect coils and your own bug spray, with deets, is your protection from the flying, bitting, critters. No TV, no radio, no internet for general use, you are out of contact from the rest of the world for your stay. Bring you own good book for the afternoons after diving or pick one up at their library in the main Bura if you are not out doing the afternoon dive or hiking the trails. With only 22 buras there are no crowded places, true quiet an peacefulness. The dive operation is well run. We were there in October the water was colder than we expected, 77F, so a full 3mm - 5mm is required. The food was wonderfully. They have their own organic garden that provided much of what you eat. Lunches and dinners were a treat every meal. Maggie made every meal an entertaining and funny experience with off the wall comments and dissertations on what we were eating. The only down side to the resort is getting to it if you live in the northern hemisphere, long plane rides, long layovers, long boat ride to get there. But then you are "off the grid".

Room Tip: Lower rooms are easier to get to, less of a hike.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captchris8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Bula Captchris !
Thank you for writing a review of your stay and we hope your comments will help other travellers considering a trip to Kadavu Island and a stay with us.
We are in the process of upgrading the resort's communications system and soon will be offering Wi-Fi services to guests.....As sign of the times unfortunately....Nevertheless, we will still recommend guest switch off that iPadGalaxyNote/Smartphone gadget, bury it in your travel bag, forget it exists and unplug from the Matrix for a truly relaxing break from the stressful modern world....Or I guess you can play Halo 4 under the palm trees...
I would rather go diving !
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks again for sharing your experiences.
Bula !
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The first week of a two week dive trip to Fiji was spent at Matava. This eco resort was just great. The staff are wonderful, caring people who go out of their way to be helpful. The spacious bures (cabins) have netted, comfy beds, clean bathroom and shower with "on demand" hot water. Bottled Fiji water is provided. Because it is an eco resort the electric lighting is minimal, supplemented by kerosine lamps in the meeting lodge and solar lamps for nighttime walks to the bures.
The diving was fantastic. Our dive guides, Weiss and Tay, are qualified Padi dive masters who knew where to find all the big and little creatures including the manta rays, sharks, and turtles that people expect. Joe took special care of one of our group who had not dived in a long time, ensuring that she was comfortable, safe and able to enjoy her return to diving.
The food was excellent with organic veggies from Sammy's on-site garden, freshly caught fish, scrumptious soups, and thematic dinners. One of our group has a food allergy and the staff accommodated her needs without hesitation.
In addition to the diving we enjoyed a trek to a local village, visiting the school, the chief's house enjoying (?) kava and exploits of the local boys at the waterfall. Our oldest group member was even piggybacked over the rough parts of the trail!
One evening the children from another village entertained us with Fijian songs and dances. It was delightful. One of our group had had the foresight to bring some balls and a pump which he presented to the young group - they were ecstatic!
Hopefully, if you are lucky enough to go to Matava you will have as wonderful a time as we did. Thanks to Maggie, George, Ta, Sita and the rest of the staff as well as Richard (one of the owners) for all the great memories.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAM2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Jam2344,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your group made the most of your Kadavu Island experience and had a great time. We have passed on your kind coments to our staff who all really do appreciate your thanks. We all hope to welcome you back some day !
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Sept. 2012. Kadavu is a beautiful place that, for me, is a place to see the "real" Fiji. What we liked: the staff, the location, the activities, the culture. What we didn't like: the mosquitoes, our bure, and some isolated incidents.

The staff here, particularly the Fijian staff, were wonderful. The dive guides, Weiss (sp?)and Té (sp?), were particularly outstanding. They were extremely attentive to me and made sure that I had an enjoyable and safe experience. Also, Athon (sp?) was probably the nicest person we have ever met, haha. He took us on our guided trek to the village and went out of his way to make sure my girlfriend didn't slip on the extremely muddy and slippery course. Also, Richard, one of the owners was really friendly and accommodating as well. The rest of the staff was great and seemed genuinely invested in our happiness and well-being.

As far as activities, the diving was pretty good, though not great. As previously mentioned, the guys working the dive boat were all fantastic, which significantly improved the experience. The weather was a bit murky most of the time, making the dives less colorful and a bit less dense with sea life compared to other places I have been, like Great Barrier, Belize, Carribean, etc. I did enjoy the manta dive and saw 4 mantas, 2 of which approached our group relatively closely. Also, my girlfriend went snorkeling for the first time, and the boat staff kept a watchful eye on her, which made me feel a lot better. The boat rides were very short, which is nice and the scenery is amazing. The guided trek to the waterfall and village was a nice change of pace, again, significantly improved by the quality of our guide, Athon (sp?). We booked a day kayaking trip with Tamarillo that was good. Again the Fijian guides were great, even going so far as to climb coconut trees, kick down some young coconuts, and then proceed to bash them on rocks for us. Talk about extra effort!

So on to the not-so-good: The mosquitoes here are relentless. Anyone who says they aren't getting bitten is lying, they're just not having the same histamine reactions to the bites that most of us have. Even though our bure had screens on the windows, there were huge gaps, up to 3" wide, all around the tops of the walls, essentially negating the window screens and assuring that there were always bugs in our room. The mosquito net around the bed was good for nighttime, but we actually got eaten alive mostly in the bathroom. I guess you don't really think of applying bug spray to your bum, lower back and upper legs, but I probably would in the future!

Food was a bit mediocre, especially given the cost. I'd give it a B- / C+. I really appreciated the fresh locally grown vegetables. We had freshly caught fish one night, which was far and away the best meal of our stay. I realize that there are severe limitations on Kadavu and I don't expect a fine dining experience, but a lot of the food was just ok, even when taking into account the restrictions of the locale. To each his own I guess.

A few other things were a bit of a bummer for us. One of the days, I was the only diver and my girlfriend was the only snorkeler. Rather than takes us out on the shaded dive boat, like they did when the owner's friend was the only diver ... they took us on a fiberglass skiff. Which we were fine with until we afterward realized that he had sustained massive sunburns during our surface interval, and that was on an overcast day on which we had applied sunscreen. Again, given the cost of the place and the precedent shown with the owner's friend, this slight decision for them had very uncomfortable consequences for us! Also, we not once had a hot shower in our room. Even though George was very conscientious about getting the hot water issue fixed, it never worked. Nothing like coming back from a dive or muddy hike and taking a hyper-venthilation inducing cold shower!

One tip I have is to not book your stay here well in advance if you plan on traveling off-peak. Flights into Nadi and Kadavu are rarely fully booked, and Matava frequently runs last minute deals. So if your travel dates are flexible, I would definitely look into booking a month out.

Hope this review helps you make an informed decision when choosing a place to stay in Fiji!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lenkarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hi Lenkarm,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences on Kadavu Island and your stay with us. We have addressed your mosquito point though unlike some reosrts, we continue to avoid spraying pestisides around the resort grounds. Unfortunately, you either spray noxious chemicals everywhere..or put up with some mosquitos....Regretably, the weather during your stay was rather challenging and our solar hot water systems were defaulting to gas back-up systems. We have replaced the entire hot water system on your accommodation bure and apologise that we were not able to fix it during your stay, an unfortunate consequence of being so remote. We would have given you a free upgrade but all the Honeymoon bures were occupied ! If you ever have the opportunity of staying with us again, we will ensure you enjoy one of those last minute specials...irrespective of the time of year.
I have passed on your gracious comments to all our staff and we hope you enjoyed a taste of the 'real' Fiji that most travellers don't get to see.
Safe travels,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Fiji. We had read all the experiences at Matava. The good the bad and the ugly.... All I can say is WOW, what an awesome time we had. The trip was arranged by Sharkbuds Dive Adventures!!! Thanks Bob for all you do! The staff at Matava made you feel warm and welcomed, from the time you step off the plane in Kadavu Airport until the time you leave. The staff is there to help you with what ever your needs may be. The Bure we stayed in was very clean and comfortable with plenty of room. The food was awesome, from fresh fish caught the same day to some very good soups. Fresh fruits and veggies on a daily basis. Freshly baked breads and rolls what more could you ask for. The staff was very engaging with the guests always smiling and greeting you by name everyday. Bula as they would say.

The diving was absolutley the best, The hard and soft corals, Manta's, sharks and fish everywhere. We had a great time.

Maggie is a hoot, always kept us laughing. Just a lot of fun. There was always good conversations going on between the guests and staff.

This trip felt like we were at a relatives for a Holiday not on a vacation with people we did not know. Thanks to Adrian, Joe, George, TAy and the list goes on, for a great time in a TREASURE of a place!!!!

We look forward to coming back to Matava when time will allow.

Room Tip: If you do not like stairs ask for a BURE on the lower end.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiteMeFiji, Manager at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Bula Ed,
Thank you for your kind and positive comments. It was a pleasure you have you and all the other Sharkbuds here and we very much look forward to welcoming y'all back one day for more diving fun in the sun !
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews