We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the shrimp and grits” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wintzell's Oyster House

Wintzell's Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Saraland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the shrimp and grits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is on my radar to visit again. I tried it for the 1st time in Orange Beach, AL. Had to try the Saraland location. Staff and Management was very friendly. The food was awesome. Love the shrimp and grits. Spouse had the special red fish, it taste like lobster. Must eat dessert which is the bread pudding, nothing on this earth like it, all it needed was ice cream on top.... Gotta have it again. We will be returning. You will also love the signs they have on the walls, hilarious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LStravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    65
    33
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

3:00 to 7:00 EVERYDAY!
They have a awesome Happy Hour.
16 oz Miller Lite Draft - $1.50
$6.00 per dozen raw oysters Fresh = Delivered Daily!
$5.00 Fried Oysters
$5.00 Buffalo Shrimp
+++ More ...

I try to Visit Wintzells every time I visit Mobile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

A nice casual place to eat. Very friendly and very good food. I had fried oysters and fish. I will eat there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food defiantly worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped overnight outside of Mobile. We wanted to eat local and we were fortunate to find this place. The onion rings were a great way to start. We all tried something different : fried catfish- good flavoring not fishy, I thought the cole slaw was also very good. The red beans and rice with sausage- spicy good and the chicken sandwich - a lot of chicken and good. Lastly the oysters were very good only complaint with the food was the order was short one. I thought a strange thing with service was the server brought out the cole slaw before the appetizer of onion rings came out. I usually get that with the fish maybe it's an Alabama thing not a big deal just odd.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“"Very Accommodating"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Ordered Oysters Sampler. Ask if I could order it my way. Robert said no problem. Ordered BIENVILLE & CHAR-GRILLED OYSTERS. CHAR-GRILLED were very good, BUT the BIENVILLE were Unbelievable, cook and seasoned just right.
Hurray For Wintzell's

I WILL BE BACK!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donsallstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Wintzell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing